Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 135 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

135 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

135 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
34
3 stars
4
2 stars
11
1 stars
8
1-20 of 124 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 124 total reviews
1-20 of 124 reviews
Good Bang for the Buck
12/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Ok, the only three drawbacks that I've seen so far are, no software to restore the machine, the video card is a little lacking but will do the job and the monitor is a little flimsy. Other than that, you can't get a better deal. An i5-3330 processor, 8GB RAM, 1TB Drive, built in wireless, and a 23" monitor. Running multiple applications with no issues at all, not even coming close to touching the 8GB of RAM. After opening up the box, There is an open bay to add another hard drive as well as another DVD+/-RW drive. You can also upgrade the video as there is an empty slot. You also receive a limited on-site warranty through Dell for about 1 year and 3 months. =0) Very happy with the product and would definitely recommend to a friend or family member.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Compared to my old computer it is very fast.
3/12/2013

Customer review by reandlit

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by reandlit
by reandlit

I am just trying to learn Windows 8. So far I really like it. Compared to my old, seven year old, PC it was like going from a crop duster to a jet. I compared prices several places and I think it was a good value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reandlit
Deland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The perfect computer with current technology
12/25/2012

Customer review by HHRgeek

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by HHRgeek
by HHRgeek

I bought three of these for our sub-division computer lab. One was badly damaged when received. With the help of a great Wal-Mart customer service person, it was quickly replaced. There is NO substitute for good service.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HHRgeek
Lake St Louis MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great choice for an upgrade
3/14/2013

Customer review by Patwhack

4.0 stars 3/14/2013 by Patwhack
by Patwhack

My computer arrived in less than 24 hrs, I was shocked, considering delivery wasn't suppose to be for 1 week. Unfortunately, it did not work.....Dell dispatched a service tech within 12 hrs to replace the faulty hard drive. How surprised was he, when he popped the panel off to find that the hard drive was NOT plugged all the way in. He replaced the hard drive "just in case" and it was all uphill from there for me. I love the computer, I'm slowly but surely learning Windows 8 with the help of the Dell support team. The 23" monitor is awesome!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patwhack
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/4/2013

Customer review by kikilu9

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by kikilu9
by kikilu9

super nice set up for this price. couldnt ask for any better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kikilu9
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dell 6986BK Inspirion i660 with Intel Core i5, 8GB
12/19/2012

Customer review by PocketAces27

4.0 stars 12/19/2012 by PocketAces27
by PocketAces27

First the monitor is a huge step up from my older flat screen monitor. The core i5 is very fast and the 8 GB of memory is probably necessary for windows 8. I really like the computer, it is fast, responsive, and brings me up to date in my PC technology. It is a good value. The drive does make a little noise that I am not use to, chug, chug, chug, kind of weird, hope it is normal. What I had a hard time with was Windows 8. My PC is NOT a tablet or cell phone, ugh. Best way is to use the desktop app and go to your programs. Apps are NOT programs no matter what they say, you can not manipulate them to your specific uses. You find that many programs including Microsoft products are not compatible with Windows 8. Do some homework here. My old computer was corrupted and took 5-10 minutes to open. Now in 30 seconds I am on the web. Nice.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PocketAces27
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
issues since I got it, I expected sound, WRONG!
3/31/2013

Customer review by Squeak1966

1.0 stars 3/31/2013 by Squeak1966
by Squeak1966

Got it shipped to my home and received it 4 days earlier than expected ( the only good thing) Hooked everything up and speakers did not work...tried my speakers from my last dell...still no sound. Bottom right corner said "no audio device installed" Called Dell, spent 90 minutes trying to fix the problem...to no avail. They sent out a tech to my house and replaced the motherboard...still don't have sound. The hardware said the soundcards are installed, software still says "no audio device installed. Reinstalled windows 8...still no sound. They are sending a tech on Monday and putting in another motherboard and bringing new speakers. Is it too much to ask if they include speakers for sound to come out????

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Squeak1966
Milford, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer for home or small office
12/19/2012

Customer review by AMarcu

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by AMarcu
by AMarcu

This desktop PC is an excellent purchase. It is excellent for home use and is easy to set up. I would recommend this to anyone looking to purchase a desktop.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AMarcu
Middlesboro, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not complicated!!!!
12/10/2012

Customer review by Tulka

2.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Tulka
by Tulka

When I got the computer and opened the box, I realize that i don't have keyboard in the the box...Then I called to Dell they transferred me over and over again nobody knew what to do then finally told me that Walmart combine the parts for the order!!! Now I need to go to store. This is unpleasant experience .

Was this review helpful? (4) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tulka
Renton
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD PRODUCT AND PRICE and good service.
6/14/2013

Customer review by KBJUNKMAN

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by KBJUNKMAN
by KBJUNKMAN

This is a very good computer. It does everything I need for a computer. It is also at a very good price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KBJUNKMAN
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/23/2013

Customer review by thehealdsburgkid

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by thehealdsburgkid
by thehealdsburgkid

PC works good. I don't care for windows 8.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thehealdsburgkid
us
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love the speed and monitor clarity
5/22/2013

Customer review by Bomeister1

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by Bomeister1
by Bomeister1

It has a real cheezy cheap keyboard and mouse. I swapped them out with the old ones.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bomeister1
Aberdeen, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Thing Ever
1/21/2013

Customer review by SkwerlyMike

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by SkwerlyMike
by SkwerlyMike

This is the single best computer I've ever owned, and I've had a lot. This does everything I could possibly ask of it. I've had it for about a month now, and can't find a single negative thing to say about it.

SkwerlyMike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
2/2/2013

Customer review by KPvegas

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by KPvegas
by KPvegas

I bought this computer back in Oct since my All-in-One was dying. Price was very reasonable. Performance was excellent. Took the option to buy Windows 7 (known quantity) with an option to buy Windows 8 later on. Have since upgraded to Windows 8 and the performance is even better! I would recommend this computer to anyone looking to get a new one. It's nice having a computer that you can use as your main workhorse and have no issues.

KPvegas
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ilove it sure is fast
2/4/2013

Customer review by pastbuyer1

5.0 stars 2/4/2013 by pastbuyer1
by pastbuyer1

I love windows8 this computer rocks that is the pro about this computer I have no cons at this time

pastbuyer1
US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great new family PC!
2/23/2013

Customer review by RogerP

5.0 stars 2/23/2013 by RogerP
by RogerP

Bought our new 660s to replace our 7 year-old full size Inspiron desktop. Ordering online was very easy, and delivery was quick and free, thanks to joining Dell's Advantage Loyalty Program. Setup was a breeze, and the updates that were needed ran quickly. It was our first time using Windows 8, but was able to figure it out quickly. I set up the new Start scree easily enough, and used the traditional desktop interface for more familiar program installations. It is so much faster and quieter than our old PC. And the small form factor case uses very little space on our desk. It has been great so far...no complaints.

RogerP
Little Rock, AR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good machine and excellent value
2/26/2013

Customer review by pvcdroid

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by pvcdroid
by pvcdroid

Purchased this desktop to replace a nine year old Dimension 4700. I like all the features and provided software- especially the Hotspot app that turns the WiFI card into an access point. I do wish the PCI Express 16 slot was 3.0 instead of 2.1 but not a big deal and it will run dedicated graphics cards that are backward compatible. I did replace the dedicated NVIDIA 620 card that came with the machine with a NVIDIA 650 TI OC card for a better gaming experience. The 300 watt power supply provided will have to be replaced which you can do with any ATX type out there and they do fit the Inspiron box without issue. It took me awhile to figure out that you must disable Secure Boot in bios for the system to recognize the new video card. UEFI still works and boot time is very quick. I'm getting used to Windows 8 and it is more efficient, fast and less resource (RAM) demanding. This is why you see less RAM in some of the newer machines being sold with Window 8. If you are worried about Windows 8 and all the complaints just install a substitute Start utility which gives you the old Windows 7 or prior look and functionality. There are too many whiners out there who don't realize the improvements Windows 8 provides. The machine is very quiet compared to my old Dimension. I know that I couldn't have built this machine for less than what I paid for this Inspiron 660 I5 3330, 8GB ram, 2TB 7200rpm drive. This is my fourth Dell purchased over a 10 year period. I"m also very satisfied with Dell's customer support.

pvcdroid
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Happy
4/2/2013

Customer review by Tina8188

5.0 stars 4/2/2013 by Tina8188
by Tina8188

I upgraded my desktop and am very happy with the Dell products. A good price and meets all of my needs. Would recommend to my friends and family.

Tina8188
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great PC
4/1/2013

Customer review by HoneyDell2013

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by HoneyDell2013
by HoneyDell2013

Its going good! I am a newbie to this PC. I am trying my best not to harm this PC. I had it for three months now and start to used it in March. All in all, this PC is going good no problems.

HoneyDell2013
Lakewood Township, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very satisfied
9/14/2012

Customer review by recentpurchaser

5.0 stars 9/14/2012 by recentpurchaser
by recentpurchaser

I wanted to upgrade my parent's computer (a dell dimension 3000, ca. 6-7 years old). They use their computer mainly for email, newspapers, bbc, skype, photos and the occasional video, so I was looking for a solid performer, to be 'future proof', but it didn't need to have the highest spec, as this would be a waste of money as they wouldn't need it (no gaming etc). I also didn't want something chunky and noisy. The most important aspects to look for are the processor (the brain) so Intel i5, is intermediate, and the RAM (ability to multi-task) = 4GB is sufficient (although I pondered whether 6GB or 8GB would be better in the long run. I'm no expert and figured dell have combined the appropriate combination of spec). Also the Inspiron 660s is quite small, so doesn't take up much space. Memory is less important, 1TB is fine; they'll never use anything close to this. Computer arrived on schedule. Very easy to assemble. Switched the computer on, and it worked straight out of the box. Exceptionally easy (I read some of the earlier comments prior to purchase and was worried I'd have difficulties). Although, microsoft office was pre-installed, you still need to type in the code number on the card to get it started. I was pleasantly surprised how quiet the computer is. Parents seem happy. So all in all after a few weeks I am very happy with this purchase.

recentpurchaser
UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 124 total reviews
1-20 of 124 reviews