Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 385 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

385 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

385 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
219
4 stars
112
3 stars
21
2 stars
8
1 stars
25
1-20 of 315 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 315 total reviews
1-20 of 315 reviews
The 660s Good computer Bad Windows
6/7/2013

Customer review by tricatrack32

4.0 stars 6/7/2013 by tricatrack32
by tricatrack32

Its a great computer have one myself and would tell any one to get this computer.

tricatrack32
Elizabeth City, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Right for Me!
12/9/2012

Customer review by Jayjae

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Jayjae
by Jayjae
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for a small-sized desktop computer to replace an older HP model. I did a lot of online and in-store research before settling on this Dell. For the power and features, the price is right. I am a basic user (not into "gaming") so with this computer I can continue to do everything I am used to doing. I am happy that it found a wireless connection very quickly. The Windows 8 OS is very different from Windows 7 but I adjusted within a week. Be sure to buy the Walmart protection plan. No one can match that offer. $44 for three years is an exceptional value. I had purchased the plan for my HP five years ago. When a serious problem emerged, I made a call to the Walmart service center and an appointment was made for an in-home appointment. The tech arrived, took the computer apart on a table, made the repair and the computer was up and running. I could not be more satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jayjae
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Needed a New Computer
11/20/2013

Customer review by JayCA

3.0 stars 11/20/2013 by JayCA
by JayCA

The 660s model I bought is my first new Dell computer in 8 years. I decided on this model for it's price & midrange technology. It's not the fastest model to choose from, but it's no slouch either. It runs pretty quietly & doesn't take up a lot of space, which is nice, since my old computer had a loud fan & took up a ton of space. There are plenty of USB ports, including two USB 3.0 ports, so I don't have any problems connecting peripherals. I did run into a couple problems, though: 1) there was a registry issue I had to get fixed to get the CDROM to operate 2) I've had a few random error screens surface & had to reboot from a recovery drive a couple times. Beyond those annoyances it usually runs quite well. For the performance & price, I'd recommend giving this system a look if you don't have a lot to spend and need a simple computer. If you have a larger budget, & need something a little more sophisticated, I'd go with a different model.

JayCA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great processor...lightening fast speed!
1/19/2013

Customer review by NRM2013

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by NRM2013
by NRM2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received this item as a computer bundle. It processes information quickly & moves from screen to screen with ease! It over exceeded my expectations! I am very happy with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NRM2013
Vicksburg, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Parents LOVE this PC
11/20/2013

Customer review by AKEsB

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by AKEsB
by AKEsB

My husband and I purchased this PC for my parents. The PC they were using was quickly on its way out, and it was a total dinosaur! I was having to spend so much time at their home trying to "fix" their PC, which was really just putting patches on a swiftly sinking ship. Anyhow, we wanted to get them a PC with ample amounts of memory, and that would be fast enough for their small amount of internet surfing & word processing activities. This 660s fit the bill perfectly! Plus, the price was right! Their peripherals were modern & functional, so we only purchased the tower. Lastly, we wanted to get them a PC with an operating system they are already familiar with, so being that DELL offered this wonderful machine with Windows 7 we jumped at the opportunity to buy it. My parents LOVE this PC! They continually comment to us about how fast it boots up and how much of a pleasure to use. Thank you DELL for yet another wonderful machine!!!

AKEsB
Eagle River, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/14/2012

Customer review by momofcourage

4.0 stars 12/14/2012 by momofcourage
by momofcourage
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have only had this Dell computer for a couple of weeks, but it is working well. The Windows 8 is taking some getting used to. We have had HP for our last two computers and both were riddled with problems. So we are hoping this Dell will stand the test of time and shine in comparison...so far so good!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momofcourage
Arlington, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A pleasing replacement for my retired Dell Dimension 3000
1/25/2014

Customer review by Ed56

4.0 stars 1/25/2014 by Ed56
by Ed56

I purchased this Inspiron 660s as a replacement for my old Dell Dimension 3000 that I bought back 11 years ago. It had been acting a little erratic lately, so after basically 12 years of service with no major problems, I decided to go with another new Dell product. After the MS recent announcement that they would no longer be supporting Windows XP come April, 2014, that pushed me to finally invest in a new computer. I hope that I made the correct choice by going with Dell again, but with the good life I got with the Dimension 3000, it seemed the logical choice. The only thing that I wish about this new computer is that I didn't have to leave the comfort of my old tried and true XP OS and venture into the unknown (For me) world of Windows 7 that I find my self faced with...as you can see, I'm far from any kind of expert with computers, and I miss my old "Comfort Zone". But, I guess that's life and change is inevitable.

Ed56
Enfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty much exactly what I needed
1/13/2013

Customer review by Marcus234

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by Marcus234
by Marcus234

I only got this because I'm a student who's strapped for cash, not being able to afford a laptop with decent specs and i had a monitor and stuff from my old computer. But god i wasn't expecting it to be so good. The 3rd gen intel i5 and 6gb RAM make for a super smooth and generally just a nice experience that lets me be productive and get some work done. I was kinda concerned about the relatively low end graphics card but it can still run my CAD programs without having to wait half an hour for it to render and plays Skyrim at medium-high settings over 30fps which i was pretty shocked about. Only concern now is that the relatively small case(also a good thing) and the fairly tiny PSU will rule out many possible upgrades in the future. But right now it's perfect for what i need and I do like to tinker in my computers so who knows I might squeeze in a better graphics card or an SSD in the future. :)

Marcus234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice compact box
1/29/2013

Customer review by LeadershipCoach

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by LeadershipCoach
by LeadershipCoach

It is nice to have a lot of power in a small box. One thing to note is that it comes preloaded with Windows 8 even though the specs say that it is loaded with Windows 7.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeadershipCoach
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
My new Dell 660s
3/7/2013

Customer review by Les4

5.0 stars 3/7/2013 by Les4
by Les4

Two years ago I replaced my my Dell Dimention with All-in-one Lenovo and this 'thing', however cute and working fine, totally died last November 2012. Luckily, I still had my old Dimention in the closet, plugged it in, updated and used it while looking for a new PC. "Grandpa Dell" as I fondly referred to my old PC, served me well for about 3 months while I was researching and looking for a new PC. I knew I wanted Dell after my bad experience with Lenovo. It was difficult to find a PC with Windows 7, but I found Dell 660s! It has all features that I need. Brought it home, set it up, did all the needed updates etc. and it works great. Quiet, very quick and I hope I'm set for the next 5, 6 or 7 years. :) "Grandpa" Dimention is back in the closet and I think it's time to rycycle it, besides, it has a winows XP and it's supporting time is running out...

Les4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy
3/30/2013

Customer review by Denny37

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by Denny37
by Denny37

I brought my computer around President's Day. The price was higher then. I should have waited another month to order. I'm happy with the computer though. It's fast, and I like Windows 8. You have to get use to it like anything else. You can select the apps you want and save them on the screen to see and open. I use a mouse, and it's no problem. You Tube has good tutorials on how to use Windows 8. I learned through a little trial and error. Dell's tech support is pretty good. They're very supportive. I had problems very the anti-virus. They fixed the problem, and I had problems setting up my email. They couldn't fix it. They told me to call my service provider to get some information. I haven't done that yet. They did try their best to fix my email problem though. I would definitely recommend this computer especially since the price has gone down.

Denny37
Jamaica, Queens, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Basic Computer Use and Surfing the Net
11/19/2013

Customer review by Mickey1964

4.0 stars 11/19/2013 by Mickey1964
by Mickey1964

I bought this unit for my son so he would get off my computer. I was NOT looking for a top of the line, all the bells and whistles type of computer. This one seemed to fit the bill. I stayed with Windows 7 because one of the reasons I bought this for my son was for some of the games he plays. However, in this capacity the "out of the box" unit had a few shortcomings that I should have known about. The computer itself runs fine and overall is a good unit, but for any kind of gaming (light gaming) it falls a little short. My son plays 2 games - Sims and Minecraft. Both games tend to use about 75 to 80 percent of the 4GB RAM this unit came with, which made for a frustrating game experience. So I had to bump the RAM to 8GB. As well, the on board graphics card was a bit wanting as well so I bought a video card. Video card options are limited with the Power Supply that comes with the unit. So again - these are things that I should have been aware of so if you are thinking of this unit and there's any gaming involved, make the appropriate changes during the configuration process of the order. Otherwise - nice unit for the price.

Mickey1964
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't get it with Windows 8
11/29/2013

Customer review by Brian01

1.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Brian01
by Brian01

Seriously, do not get this machine if it's running Windows 8. When I bought it several months ago, "downgrading" to Windows 7 was not an option. Windows 8 is really awful on a desktop. I tried to like it, but I just don't. Since the 8.1 update, my USB port stops working for no good reason. I'm afraid that it is going to corrupt my financial files when I edit them off of my USB memory stick. I've seen other people post similar problems. I tried updating the BIOS and chipset, but it does not seem to help. Enough already with the Dell applications, too: Dell Product Registration, My Dell Support Center, PC Checkup, Dell Digital Delivery, Dell Shop. Can I get just one small service that periodically checks for driver/software updates. I have had good experience with Dell in the past, but I truly regret buying the Inspiron 660s.

Brian01
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great computer for the money
11/20/2013

Customer review by BP59

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by BP59
by BP59

This is my fifth Dell computer, and it is a great example of why I am a loyal Dell customer; this has proven to be a great computer so far. The tower is nice and compact so it doesn't take up a ton of space. The computer is really fast- andI initially thought that 4GB of RAM might not be enough but it seems to be just fine for my every day home and home office use. I got it with a 1TB hard drive- more than I'd ever use in a lifetime. It's also really quiet- I've had to look over to make sure it was still running. I had a little trouble figuring out how to open the CD/DVD drive, and because it's a vertical drive, you have to make sure you put the disc in just right so it won't slip out before you close it and jam the door. Overall, a really good purchase- I am extremely happy with it.

BP59
Westford, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This desktop fits the bill!
11/21/2013

Customer review by Judy70

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by Judy70
by Judy70

I am a 70 year-old lady and only have limited knowledge of tech stuff. I do know that for the purposes that I use this for, it "fits the bill". I use it for e-mailing, surfing the web, videos and some games. And, I do quite a bit of shopping & buying online, as well. Honestly, I was forced into buying another computer when my old one absolutely died on me. I didn't want to spend a lot. This one came out on top when I started checking reviews within my price range. I was very pleased upon receiving it to notice how much slimmer it is than my old one. I like that! I find it to be fast and efficient with plenty of memory for me. Would definitely recommend to someone who doesn't want to spend a fortune but still get a decent computer.

Judy70
Central, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for basic computing | Underperforming video
10/9/2013

Customer review by MVO74

2.0 stars 10/9/2013 by MVO74
by MVO74

So far this computer has run pretty well with office functions. But it really under performs with video streaming. I can't even broadcast mlb.tv or nhl gamecenter through this little box. (Seems strange, since a $60 Roku box can handle these things flawlessly when streamed to a digital television.) Programming is herky jerky, stalls, and cuts out. Has handled parts of amazon prime movies appropriately, however, although I have noticed pixelation with dark scenes. The monitor I use is an HP Compaq LA1905 wg monitor. If I had a couple of hundred extra dollars to spare, I would probably return it and upgrade, but since it is the computer I am supposed to use to get work done, I will probably just keep it since it works well for that.

MVO74
Madison Heights, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bought for my husband, but wouldn't mind one of my own.
5/9/2013

Customer review by teepee12

5.0 stars 5/9/2013 by teepee12
by teepee12

It's a Win7 machine and I was unwilling to even consider Win8. My husband has enough trouble with an operating system with which he is familiar, much less putting him into something he would (I assure you) absolutely HATE. But he really like this. Actually, the best part of it was that it moved seamlessly into his world. Aside from having to learn how to use a new version of Outlook and Word -- which fortunately are not that different -- he was able to continue to function without trauma. He's a light user and transferring is data was no more than one flash drive. The rep who helped me buy this was a peach and the system runs perfectlly and hopefully will serve my husband as well as the former system did for the past 6 years!

teepee12
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful
12/28/2013

Customer review by toadcrystal

4.0 stars 12/28/2013 by toadcrystal
by toadcrystal

I bought this to replace our 8-year-old CPU. Wow, what a difference! I can't believe how fast I can get stuff done now. No long waits for warm up, switching between apps or any of that stuff. It doesn't freeze while scrolling through Facebook or crash repeatedly. It's compact, speedy and so far very reliable. My only disappointment is the printer is not connecting. I'll have to get some help from chat to get this done as I think there is a missing patch or fix to get my old 924 to talk to Windows 8. So far uninstalling/reinstalling hasn't worked and I'm not sure the software change for it to Windows 7 won't screw up my Windows 8 for everything else. All the other hardware sync'd up fine without a lot of fuss.

toadcrystal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Choice!
1/2/2013

Customer review by njohnson88

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by njohnson88
by njohnson88

I am super happy with the choice I made with the 660s. My husband needs to surf the web, check emails and do documents and spreadsheets. This is the perfect size for his needs. It was delivered sooner than expected which was great for the holidays. The set up could not have been easier and Dell was available to answer any questions we had. I was really surprised that the call was answered as quickly as it was. The Windows 8 OS has us a little confused and we are looking for an on line course, but that is to just better inform us. I also recommended it to someone else and they purchased it for a family member. I trust Dell to make things right and follow through with the promise they make for quality!

njohnson88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great home computer!!!Not for Gamers
12/7/2012

Customer review by mexicomatajotos

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by mexicomatajotos
by mexicomatajotos

Before I start my system is an Windows 8 Desktop Inspiron I3 6 gb ram Integrated video card..I purchase this computer 1 week ago and so far I'm very pleased, It's very quiet and fast, I use Photoshop a lot and so far I haven't found any major issues, I'm also a gamer and I have another system to play games like medal of honor and battlefield 3, I installed the games on this computer just to check if they'll run, I was kind of surprise that they actually did run , But I'm sorry to say that they Lag A LOT, just to much for this System, I test some older version of the same games with less graphics requirements and they run just fine..Overall I'm happy with my purchase and the price that I pay for It...

mexicomatajotos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 315 total reviews
1-20 of 315 reviews