Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 385 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

385 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

385 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
234
4 stars
108
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 stars
14
1-20 of 377 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 377 total reviews
1-20 of 377 reviews
Dell Inspiron 660 is Quiet and Fast!
12/10/2012

Customer review by TallBill2

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by TallBill2
by TallBill2

Pros: Since this system has an Intel i5 processor (4 processors), it is extremely fast compared to my old system (766 MHz Pentium III machine). It boots up to the login screen in 15 seconds and I am up and running applications in about 1 minute! Even after adding a 2nd internal hard disk drive, this machine makes no noise at all. Cons: The Dell Support Center (web app) is not a re-sizeable window, and lacks much of a border, making it hard to see sometimes. Also, attempts to get answers leaves you feeling like you are going in circles. The support web site does not recognize my Service Tag. Another big beef of mine is that there no CD-ROMs or DVD-ROMs for the software (Windows 8 and Office 2010) that was installed on the system I purchased. You have to use the Dell Backup and Recovery utility to create your own backup disks, but this event typically occurs a week or 2 after you have already had the system and I think you have to upgrade to the Pro version of the software (I don't know the cost yet).

TallBill2
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My first Dell desktop
12/22/2015

Customer review by bywater

5.0 stars 12/22/2015 by bywater
by bywater

An excellent computer. It has been used for hours every day for 4 years without a problem. Highly recommended!

bywater
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent value
12/25/2012

Customer review by jcbrown

4.0 stars 12/25/2012 by jcbrown
by jcbrown
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The CPU is incredibly quiet. You really cannot hear it. Only a small light confirms it is on. Excellent value considering it has wireless connectivity build in and a CD drive (read and write). I don't like Windows 8 though. This is the reason I marked the overall rating as good. From the apps screen, you can click on the desktop to get a screen that is more familiar, however the desktop doesn't have a start button to pull up the control panel. As we use it, I guess we will figure it out, but the built in tutorial is not helpful. I would really prefer this unit with Windows 7. It would be much easier to load software and access control panel.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jcbrown
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inspiron 660
12/17/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/17/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

To many problems with the inspiron 660.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good, Basic PC
12/2/2015

Customer review by WD

4.0 stars 12/2/2015 by WD
by WD

This desktop is a good, basic PC that should satisfy most households. You may be disappointed by the budget Celeron processor; you get what you pay for. Opt for a bigger processor such as a third generation Core i3 Dual-Core oreven more powerful if you are a gamer..

WD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
12/2/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/2/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love this computer, its got all the speed for what I need. the graphics arent slow or laggy. even though it's not a gaming computer it runs my games just fine aswell

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It takes a bit of getting used to.
12/2/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/2/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The difference between Windows 8.1 and 10 is dramatic as to how the home screeen is set up

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap computer that can run modern games.
6/27/2012

Customer review by Experiment

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Experiment
by Experiment

My review will mostly be about gaming. If you can't afford an alien ware computer but you still want to play game such as Assassin's creed, skyrim or MW3 then this is a good computer. i had no problem running assassin's creed on high graphic however when playing skyrim i had to set the resolution to the lowest in order to play without any problem. However i personally think there is too much applications that are installed by dell already I had to uninstall plenty of useless application in order to run my computer.it takes so long for it to start up because of that. All this applications running all at the same time when you start your computer isn't really nice. On the other hand, the design is really nice even though i chose the black color. The USB port at the front are really useful. I would not recommend this computer to a beginner but if you know how to manage your application and uninstall some of them then this computer is great.

Experiment
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Needed a New Computer
11/20/2013

Customer review by JayCA

3.0 stars 11/20/2013 by JayCA
by JayCA

The 660s model I bought is my first new Dell computer in 8 years. I decided on this model for it's price & midrange technology. It's not the fastest model to choose from, but it's no slouch either. It runs pretty quietly & doesn't take up a lot of space, which is nice, since my old computer had a loud fan & took up a ton of space. There are plenty of USB ports, including two USB 3.0 ports, so I don't have any problems connecting peripherals. I did run into a couple problems, though: 1) there was a registry issue I had to get fixed to get the CDROM to operate 2) I've had a few random error screens surface & had to reboot from a recovery drive a couple times. Beyond those annoyances it usually runs quite well. For the performance & price, I'd recommend giving this system a look if you don't have a lot to spend and need a simple computer. If you have a larger budget, & need something a little more sophisticated, I'd go with a different model.

JayCA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid Value
8/31/2012

Customer review by BahbW

4.0 stars 8/31/2012 by BahbW
by BahbW

Pros This is a well built machine. I got the Core i5 with 8GB RAM and 2TB hard drive and there is definitely a lot of room to grow into. Having the built in HDMI and Wireless is nice! Cons Do yourself a favor and upgrade from the base keyboard. The keyboard that is included features laptop style chicklet keys instead of full keys. My keyboard also featured a space bar that would squeak if you hit it with your left thumb (but not if you hit it with your right thumb). Since I'm a lefty this got annoying really quickly. I gave up and ditched the included keyboard for a Logitech K260 which I purchased separately. The built in sound is rather basic and insufficient to run my old 5.1 speaker system, so I'll be upgrading the sound soon. If you have basic speakers, the built in sound is probably sufficient. If you an audiophile, you'll want to upgrade the sound. Review There's a lot of value to be found here with an affordable price tag. However, don't be afraid to visit the add-ons section when you configure yours. You'll be glad you did.

BahbW
Joliet, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
660 i5 Desktop in Florida
1/7/2013

Customer review by ABEMAN

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by ABEMAN
by ABEMAN

I replaced an old Dell 2400 desktop with the Dell 660 Desktop with an i5 processor, 8 Meg of Ram and 1 gig hard drive. I still plan to use the old Dell as a stand alone game computer for the kids to play with. First of all the price was excellent and with the free shipping and free McAfee, it was a no brainer. After a month of use, I find the computer is extremely fast, and especially quiet in all aspects its operation. The setup was fairly easy to do and Windows 8 perhaps has too many features. However, I am disappointed with the lack of free software such as an PDF acrobat reader. And I had to find a USB to retrofit the parallel port that is now missing from the computer. Also the computer should have more available USB ports. My keyboard, mouse and backup hard drive take up three right of the bat. The front USB ports are a bit tight fitted. I am using a USB Hub but not all devices work on it. The Pros are the value, overall speed and internet speed. The cons are a need for more USB ports and lack of free software such as a PDF reader.

ABEMAN
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Parents LOVE this PC
11/20/2013

Customer review by AKEsB

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by AKEsB
by AKEsB

My husband and I purchased this PC for my parents. The PC they were using was quickly on its way out, and it was a total dinosaur! I was having to spend so much time at their home trying to "fix" their PC, which was really just putting patches on a swiftly sinking ship. Anyhow, we wanted to get them a PC with ample amounts of memory, and that would be fast enough for their small amount of internet surfing & word processing activities. This 660s fit the bill perfectly! Plus, the price was right! Their peripherals were modern & functional, so we only purchased the tower. Lastly, we wanted to get them a PC with an operating system they are already familiar with, so being that DELL offered this wonderful machine with Windows 7 we jumped at the opportunity to buy it. My parents LOVE this PC! They continually comment to us about how fast it boots up and how much of a pleasure to use. Thank you DELL for yet another wonderful machine!!!

AKEsB
Eagle River, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A pleasing replacement for my retired Dell Dimension 3000
1/25/2014

Customer review by Ed56

4.0 stars 1/25/2014 by Ed56
by Ed56

I purchased this Inspiron 660s as a replacement for my old Dell Dimension 3000 that I bought back 11 years ago. It had been acting a little erratic lately, so after basically 12 years of service with no major problems, I decided to go with another new Dell product. After the MS recent announcement that they would no longer be supporting Windows XP come April, 2014, that pushed me to finally invest in a new computer. I hope that I made the correct choice by going with Dell again, but with the good life I got with the Dimension 3000, it seemed the logical choice. The only thing that I wish about this new computer is that I didn't have to leave the comfort of my old tried and true XP OS and venture into the unknown (For me) world of Windows 7 that I find my self faced with...as you can see, I'm far from any kind of expert with computers, and I miss my old "Comfort Zone". But, I guess that's life and change is inevitable.

Ed56
Enfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very satisfied customer so far
12/15/2012

Customer review by Gordon2002

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Gordon2002
by Gordon2002

Have only had this computer for a couple days, but I wanted to submit a review to say that I am very happy with this computer. It is very quiet, fast, and a big improvement over my old Dell Windows Vista computer. I was sort of hesitant about going to Windows 8, but it is really not that complicated, but then I am an advanced computer guy. I can see where someone not so computer savy could have trouble. In just 2 days time I had the new computer & monitor up and running and all my files transferred from the old computer. Of course that was all day for 2 days (retired). Probably the best good comment is how fast it boots up compared to my old computer. Right now I can't really think of any cons. I have had Dell computers for about 15-20 years now and the only negative thing was that I had to replace a DVD/CD RW drive in one of them after it went dead. I would recommend Dell computers very strongly to everyone.

Gordon2002
Statesville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty much exactly what I needed
1/13/2013

Customer review by Marcus234

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by Marcus234
by Marcus234

I only got this because I'm a student who's strapped for cash, not being able to afford a laptop with decent specs and i had a monitor and stuff from my old computer. But god i wasn't expecting it to be so good. The 3rd gen intel i5 and 6gb RAM make for a super smooth and generally just a nice experience that lets me be productive and get some work done. I was kinda concerned about the relatively low end graphics card but it can still run my CAD programs without having to wait half an hour for it to render and plays Skyrim at medium-high settings over 30fps which i was pretty shocked about. Only concern now is that the relatively small case(also a good thing) and the fairly tiny PSU will rule out many possible upgrades in the future. But right now it's perfect for what i need and I do like to tinker in my computers so who knows I might squeeze in a better graphics card or an SSD in the future. :)

Marcus234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Monitor question
11/29/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/29/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I like to computer, good buy. Does anyone know how to enlarge the picture on the monitor so that the hole monitor is used. Mine has about 2" on each side where it is just a black screen? Thanks

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Brunswick, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PCI-E Slot Not Working
1/1/2013

Customer review by MadJayhawk

2.0 stars 1/1/2013 by MadJayhawk
by MadJayhawk

This computer is a good value for the money and works well. HOWEVER, the PCI-E slot is defective. It will not recognize a Dell Supported video card. What I went through to get the problem diagnosed was pure torture. The problem was never solved. First tech, ran through the standard checks, then ordered a new motherboard. The tech who brought the motherboard said the video card would not operate because I had Windows 8 and would not install the motherboard. I installed Windows 7. Still would not work. I installed every driver known to man. Installed new power supply. Every time I called tech support my call got dropped. Finally got through and the tech spent half the time apologizing to me and told me it was my fault and that although the PCI-E slot was there I wasn't supposed to use it because Dell didn't support it. He didn't say exactly that but that is the gist of what he said. I finally told Dell, after more than 10 hours of torture, I wanted send it back because it either had a bad motherboard or the PCI-E slot was defective. They MIGHT take it back. Do not buy this computer if you want to use the PCI-E slot.

MadJayhawk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great computer overall!
8/6/2012

Customer review by JulianW

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by JulianW
by JulianW

As a student about to enter university, I decided to keep the laptop that I am currently using and decided to get a new desktop for several reasons, including my budget, functionality, and security purposes. This desktop from Dell is quite the product. The specifications are more than enough for any ordinary university/college student (excluding those requiring intensive graphics or gaming). The Intel core i5 processor is very fast and the 1 TB hard drive is extremely useful for storing large amounts of data/files. I was quite surprised at how quiet the system operates at and the computer does not over heat at all (that being said, the fan is also quite quiet!) Although the USB 3.0 ports are a bit inconvenient to reach at the back, the 4 available USB 3.0 ports that Dell offers beats any other brand's desktops (other brands usually have 2 or even none). The DVD/CD drive, as well as the front USB/SD card/audio input slots are all hidden nicely. All in all, I would strongly recommend the Inspiron 660 Desktop to anyone in the market for a desktop computer, especially those about to begin their post-secondary careers.

JulianW
Toronto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My new Dell 660s
3/7/2013

Customer review by Les4

5.0 stars 3/7/2013 by Les4
by Les4

Two years ago I replaced my my Dell Dimention with All-in-one Lenovo and this 'thing', however cute and working fine, totally died last November 2012. Luckily, I still had my old Dimention in the closet, plugged it in, updated and used it while looking for a new PC. "Grandpa Dell" as I fondly referred to my old PC, served me well for about 3 months while I was researching and looking for a new PC. I knew I wanted Dell after my bad experience with Lenovo. It was difficult to find a PC with Windows 7, but I found Dell 660s! It has all features that I need. Brought it home, set it up, did all the needed updates etc. and it works great. Quiet, very quick and I hope I'm set for the next 5, 6 or 7 years. :) "Grandpa" Dimention is back in the closet and I think it's time to rycycle it, besides, it has a winows XP and it's supporting time is running out...

Les4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy
3/30/2013

Customer review by Denny37

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by Denny37
by Denny37

I brought my computer around President's Day. The price was higher then. I should have waited another month to order. I'm happy with the computer though. It's fast, and I like Windows 8. You have to get use to it like anything else. You can select the apps you want and save them on the screen to see and open. I use a mouse, and it's no problem. You Tube has good tutorials on how to use Windows 8. I learned through a little trial and error. Dell's tech support is pretty good. They're very supportive. I had problems very the anti-virus. They fixed the problem, and I had problems setting up my email. They couldn't fix it. They told me to call my service provider to get some information. I haven't done that yet. They did try their best to fix my email problem though. I would definitely recommend this computer especially since the price has gone down.

Denny37
Jamaica, Queens, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 377 total reviews
1-20 of 377 reviews