Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 382 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

382 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

382 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
228
4 stars
105
3 stars
21
2 stars
14
1 stars
14
1-20 of 372 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 372 total reviews
1-20 of 372 reviews
Dell Inspiron 660 is Quiet and Fast!
12/10/2012

Customer review by TallBill2

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by TallBill2
by TallBill2

Pros: Since this system has an Intel i5 processor (4 processors), it is extremely fast compared to my old system (766 MHz Pentium III machine). It boots up to the login screen in 15 seconds and I am up and running applications in about 1 minute! Even after adding a 2nd internal hard disk drive, this machine makes no noise at all. Cons: The Dell Support Center (web app) is not a re-sizeable window, and lacks much of a border, making it hard to see sometimes. Also, attempts to get answers leaves you feeling like you are going in circles. The support web site does not recognize my Service Tag. Another big beef of mine is that there no CD-ROMs or DVD-ROMs for the software (Windows 8 and Office 2010) that was installed on the system I purchased. You have to use the Dell Backup and Recovery utility to create your own backup disks, but this event typically occurs a week or 2 after you have already had the system and I think you have to upgrade to the Pro version of the software (I don't know the cost yet).

TallBill2
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sperakers not working
12/30/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 12/30/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Just hooked up speakers to the desktop- only feedback from the back jack, using the front headphones for now

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
help needed
12/30/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

hello great help now i know i can keep this computer thanks dell

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like my Dell 660 with windows 7. Don't download windows 8 unless you are under 30 and have a degree in computer science.
12/14/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/14/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love my Dell 660. I was easy to use and I could do all my personal things and work things with ease. I down loaded windows 8. Now I can not do anything. I can't print with out doing several procedures. I used to just hit the print button. I can not down load pictures with out several procedures. I can't download from my data card in my camera at all. The supposed help and complaint desk are useless. DO NOT GET WINDOWS 8

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Have had a couple of hiccups with this dell desktop, but .....
12/14/2015

Customer review by Kate. Louisville, KY

4.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Kate. Louisville, KY
by Kate. Louisville, KY

... but the cusomter support has been easy to work with 99% of the time. Happy enough to buy 2 more when our girl's student pcs finally had to move to greener pastures.... so that makes us a household of 4 Dell desktops and two Dell Laptops... and the other laptop was a grduation gift so couldn't really ask them to return it for a Dell!!!!

Kate. Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excelence service for years
12/18/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/18/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have upgraded the computer by adding a 2gb graphics card and installed Windows 10. It has done everything that I have asked of it.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell is great
12/17/2015

Customer review by Devonsalas

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Devonsalas
by Devonsalas

I love it so fast and relieabl

Devonsalas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best bang for the buck!
1/15/2013

Customer review by Dustyolecowboy

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by Dustyolecowboy
by Dustyolecowboy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Dell surpassed all of my expectations. Speed, RAM, and hard drive. I am now able to run software with ease and speed. Photo's and video render without trouble. No more crashing! Super fast, Super powerful, and super quiet. Best Dell I've owned to date. Best deal for this computer.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dustyolecowboy
Moreno Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Computer!
12/11/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Just what I was looking for and the price was reasonable.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love it
12/11/2015

Customer review by jr608

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by jr608
by jr608

love this 660 it is all i need

jr608
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap computer that can run modern games.
6/27/2012

Customer review by Experiment

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Experiment
by Experiment

My review will mostly be about gaming. If you can't afford an alien ware computer but you still want to play game such as Assassin's creed, skyrim or MW3 then this is a good computer. i had no problem running assassin's creed on high graphic however when playing skyrim i had to set the resolution to the lowest in order to play without any problem. However i personally think there is too much applications that are installed by dell already I had to uninstall plenty of useless application in order to run my computer.it takes so long for it to start up because of that. All this applications running all at the same time when you start your computer isn't really nice. On the other hand, the design is really nice even though i chose the black color. The USB port at the front are really useful. I would not recommend this computer to a beginner but if you know how to manage your application and uninstall some of them then this computer is great.

Experiment
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DELL INSPIRON 660 experience
12/2/2015

Customer review by PMH

4.0 stars 12/2/2015 by PMH
by PMH

I have had great success with the operation of my Inspiron 660.

PMH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid Value
8/31/2012

Customer review by BahbW

4.0 stars 8/31/2012 by BahbW
by BahbW

Pros This is a well built machine. I got the Core i5 with 8GB RAM and 2TB hard drive and there is definitely a lot of room to grow into. Having the built in HDMI and Wireless is nice! Cons Do yourself a favor and upgrade from the base keyboard. The keyboard that is included features laptop style chicklet keys instead of full keys. My keyboard also featured a space bar that would squeak if you hit it with your left thumb (but not if you hit it with your right thumb). Since I'm a lefty this got annoying really quickly. I gave up and ditched the included keyboard for a Logitech K260 which I purchased separately. The built in sound is rather basic and insufficient to run my old 5.1 speaker system, so I'll be upgrading the sound soon. If you have basic speakers, the built in sound is probably sufficient. If you an audiophile, you'll want to upgrade the sound. Review There's a lot of value to be found here with an affordable price tag. However, don't be afraid to visit the add-ons section when you configure yours. You'll be glad you did.

BahbW
Joliet, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
660 i5 Desktop in Florida
1/7/2013

Customer review by ABEMAN

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by ABEMAN
by ABEMAN

I replaced an old Dell 2400 desktop with the Dell 660 Desktop with an i5 processor, 8 Meg of Ram and 1 gig hard drive. I still plan to use the old Dell as a stand alone game computer for the kids to play with. First of all the price was excellent and with the free shipping and free McAfee, it was a no brainer. After a month of use, I find the computer is extremely fast, and especially quiet in all aspects its operation. The setup was fairly easy to do and Windows 8 perhaps has too many features. However, I am disappointed with the lack of free software such as an PDF acrobat reader. And I had to find a USB to retrofit the parallel port that is now missing from the computer. Also the computer should have more available USB ports. My keyboard, mouse and backup hard drive take up three right of the bat. The front USB ports are a bit tight fitted. I am using a USB Hub but not all devices work on it. The Pros are the value, overall speed and internet speed. The cons are a need for more USB ports and lack of free software such as a PDF reader.

ABEMAN
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very satisfied customer so far
12/15/2012

Customer review by Gordon2002

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Gordon2002
by Gordon2002

Have only had this computer for a couple days, but I wanted to submit a review to say that I am very happy with this computer. It is very quiet, fast, and a big improvement over my old Dell Windows Vista computer. I was sort of hesitant about going to Windows 8, but it is really not that complicated, but then I am an advanced computer guy. I can see where someone not so computer savy could have trouble. In just 2 days time I had the new computer & monitor up and running and all my files transferred from the old computer. Of course that was all day for 2 days (retired). Probably the best good comment is how fast it boots up compared to my old computer. Right now I can't really think of any cons. I have had Dell computers for about 15-20 years now and the only negative thing was that I had to replace a DVD/CD RW drive in one of them after it went dead. I would recommend Dell computers very strongly to everyone.

Gordon2002
Statesville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Windows 8 is the worst upgrade I've ever purchased
12/13/2012

Customer review by shinfiddle

1.0 stars 12/13/2012 by shinfiddle
by shinfiddle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Microsoft was obviously in such a rush to compete with the competition that just threw Windows 8 out there with out removing the bugs it has working with other app software. I have spent 4 days trying to get all my previous applications to work. Thankfully Dell tech support has been great or I would be returning the box to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shinfiddle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AMAZINGLY FAST
2/18/2013

Customer review by grace555

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by grace555
by grace555

This is a very fast and nice computer. Only drawback for me was Windows 8. Windows 8 was not compatible with several programs that I use plus it was not compatible with my EPBFI Internet Security. The computer itself is wonderful. I actually liked the way Windows 8 worked except for compatibility issues. I had an apple Imac and it crashed within 2 weeks of purchase so I returned it and purchased this one with same 8GB and 1TB and this one is just as fast as the apple Imac believe it or not!!! Also hundreds of dollars less expensive. I would highly recommend this tower if you don't want to use your EPBFI Internet Security.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grace555
Chattanooga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty much exactly what I needed
1/13/2013

Customer review by Marcus234

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by Marcus234
by Marcus234

I only got this because I'm a student who's strapped for cash, not being able to afford a laptop with decent specs and i had a monitor and stuff from my old computer. But god i wasn't expecting it to be so good. The 3rd gen intel i5 and 6gb RAM make for a super smooth and generally just a nice experience that lets me be productive and get some work done. I was kinda concerned about the relatively low end graphics card but it can still run my CAD programs without having to wait half an hour for it to render and plays Skyrim at medium-high settings over 30fps which i was pretty shocked about. Only concern now is that the relatively small case(also a good thing) and the fairly tiny PSU will rule out many possible upgrades in the future. But right now it's perfect for what i need and I do like to tinker in my computers so who knows I might squeeze in a better graphics card or an SSD in the future. :)

Marcus234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good performance, VERY quiet!
1/29/2014

Customer review by LarryB34695

5.0 stars 1/29/2014 by LarryB34695
by LarryB34695

I was replacing an older Dell Optiplex system that was still good, but the Windows XP on it was going to become a problem. As a techie, I wanted Windows 7 instead of Windows 8, and Dell offered that on this unit. I don't really push a PC processor very hard, but I do a ton of multi-tasking, so this unit, with a more modest processor but 8GB of memory, fit the bill. Plus, having 8 USB ports (and lots of those being USB 3.0) was a very good thing. Initial impressions have been very good. First off, the unit is wonderfully quiet...a great thing for a PC that I leave on 24/7. It is quiet enough that when I walk in the room, I can't tell until I move the mouse whether if it is screen blanked, or is in Sleep mode! Performance is very good; boot speeds are impressive, and a few things, like video conversions, have surprised me with their speed. Lastly, it didn't come with a lot of bloatware that would be a pain to remove...THANK YOU, DELL! I didn't want the McAfee they loaded (I prefer Norton), but removing that was straightforward. All in all, this was a very good PC for a very good price.

LarryB34695
Safety Harbor, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great computer overall!
8/6/2012

Customer review by JulianW

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by JulianW
by JulianW

As a student about to enter university, I decided to keep the laptop that I am currently using and decided to get a new desktop for several reasons, including my budget, functionality, and security purposes. This desktop from Dell is quite the product. The specifications are more than enough for any ordinary university/college student (excluding those requiring intensive graphics or gaming). The Intel core i5 processor is very fast and the 1 TB hard drive is extremely useful for storing large amounts of data/files. I was quite surprised at how quiet the system operates at and the computer does not over heat at all (that being said, the fan is also quite quiet!) Although the USB 3.0 ports are a bit inconvenient to reach at the back, the 4 available USB 3.0 ports that Dell offers beats any other brand's desktops (other brands usually have 2 or even none). The DVD/CD drive, as well as the front USB/SD card/audio input slots are all hidden nicely. All in all, I would strongly recommend the Inspiron 660 Desktop to anyone in the market for a desktop computer, especially those about to begin their post-secondary careers.

JulianW
Toronto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 372 total reviews
1-20 of 372 reviews