Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 433 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

433 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

433 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
261
4 stars
122
3 stars
15
2 stars
16
1 stars
19
1-20 of 406 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 406 total reviews
1-20 of 406 reviews
2/22/2013

Customer review by PudgeJunior

4.0 stars 2/22/2013 by PudgeJunior
by PudgeJunior
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Computer arrived a day earlier then originally specified which is good, very quiet , starts up very quick, no problems with windows 8, prefer new method as opposed to start menu, don't see any need to get start menu add on. Reviews complained of keyboard being flimsy, actually prefer it over old one, much sleeker and lighter, takes up less space, needs volume control though. Also keys are shorter and black, won't show dirt and spaces narrower so human waste won't get in First dell after had hp and Compaq go bad because they used cheap motherboards, hopefully this will be a good experience with dell...as a side note this is the first computer I have had that went UP in price after I purchased, based on research g645 processor is faster than g2020 that dell is currently selling on website

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PudgeJunior
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dell Inspiron 660 is Quiet and Fast!
12/10/2012

Customer review by TallBill2

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by TallBill2
by TallBill2

Pros: Since this system has an Intel i5 processor (4 processors), it is extremely fast compared to my old system (766 MHz Pentium III machine). It boots up to the login screen in 15 seconds and I am up and running applications in about 1 minute! Even after adding a 2nd internal hard disk drive, this machine makes no noise at all. Cons: The Dell Support Center (web app) is not a re-sizeable window, and lacks much of a border, making it hard to see sometimes. Also, attempts to get answers leaves you feeling like you are going in circles. The support web site does not recognize my Service Tag. Another big beef of mine is that there no CD-ROMs or DVD-ROMs for the software (Windows 8 and Office 2010) that was installed on the system I purchased. You have to use the Dell Backup and Recovery utility to create your own backup disks, but this event typically occurs a week or 2 after you have already had the system and I think you have to upgrade to the Pro version of the software (I don't know the cost yet).

TallBill2
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My first Dell desktop
12/22/2015

Customer review by bywater

5.0 stars 12/22/2015 by bywater
by bywater

An excellent computer. It has been used for hours every day for 4 years without a problem. Highly recommended!

bywater
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 660
12/17/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/17/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

To many problems with the inspiron 660.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great in everyway
7/23/2013

Customer review by SCNewman

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by SCNewman
by SCNewman

I have had mine for like 6 months and have very little complaints. Its quick, slim, lots of apps, pretty sure you could hook this up to a touch screen. Everything I have works so much better with this than my old Gateway. A lot of people are afraid of Windows 8, but I love it. I love searching for how to do something, thats the fun of it. We all had to learn how to use a computer, so learning Windows 8 was no big deal for me and I am old. (And I am a power user; on for at least 5-6 hours a day) My only complaint is that it works best with Internet Explorer, which is not my browser of choice. I use Firefox and have experience maybe one or two things that wont work, but I dont care, I would never go back to XP or Vista. I would def repurchase this again, if I had to, I love it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SCNewman
So California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good, Basic PC
12/2/2015

Customer review by WD

4.0 stars 12/2/2015 by WD
by WD

This desktop is a good, basic PC that should satisfy most households. You may be disappointed by the budget Celeron processor; you get what you pay for. Opt for a bigger processor such as a third generation Core i3 Dual-Core oreven more powerful if you are a gamer..

WD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for light gaming
2/19/2013

Customer review by Randy2290

4.0 stars 2/19/2013 by Randy2290
by Randy2290

I don't know why there is so much hate on windows 8.The main difference is the start menu besides that it isn't hard to learn at all. Was looking for a cheap desktop to do some light gaming with and it works just fine for the games I play. Now it may not play the smoothest on ultra high settings but I play my games on medium settings and haven't had any problems thus far. Some of the games I can say work well: league of legends, starcraft,dota,lord of the rings online,world of warcraft,the binding of isaac.Basically stick to your low-demand games and it plays just fine.Can't say for sure what fps you will get on most of the games haven't paid attention but on league of legends i know i get 30 minimum and up to 60. I'd like to add there wasn't much junk software on the computer at all and it took less than a week to ship.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Randy2290
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it
12/2/2015

Customer review by Jessie

5.0 stars 12/2/2015 by Jessie
by Jessie

I love this computer, its got all the speed for what I need. the graphics arent slow or laggy. even though it's not a gaming computer it runs my games just fine aswell

Jessie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/23/2013

Customer review by Surprise13

4.0 stars 2/23/2013 by Surprise13
by Surprise13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Extremely easy to set up. Difficult to get used to Windows 8, but old computer was Vista. :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Surprise13
Acworth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It takes a bit of getting used to.
12/2/2015

Customer review by Jack

4.0 stars 12/2/2015 by Jack
by Jack

The difference between Windows 8.1 and 10 is dramatic as to how the home screeen is set up

Jack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap computer that can run modern games.
6/27/2012

Customer review by Experiment

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Experiment
by Experiment

My review will mostly be about gaming. If you can't afford an alien ware computer but you still want to play game such as Assassin's creed, skyrim or MW3 then this is a good computer. i had no problem running assassin's creed on high graphic however when playing skyrim i had to set the resolution to the lowest in order to play without any problem. However i personally think there is too much applications that are installed by dell already I had to uninstall plenty of useless application in order to run my computer.it takes so long for it to start up because of that. All this applications running all at the same time when you start your computer isn't really nice. On the other hand, the design is really nice even though i chose the black color. The USB port at the front are really useful. I would not recommend this computer to a beginner but if you know how to manage your application and uninstall some of them then this computer is great.

Experiment
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Needed a New Computer
11/20/2013

Customer review by JayCA

3.0 stars 11/20/2013 by JayCA
by JayCA

The 660s model I bought is my first new Dell computer in 8 years. I decided on this model for it's price & midrange technology. It's not the fastest model to choose from, but it's no slouch either. It runs pretty quietly & doesn't take up a lot of space, which is nice, since my old computer had a loud fan & took up a ton of space. There are plenty of USB ports, including two USB 3.0 ports, so I don't have any problems connecting peripherals. I did run into a couple problems, though: 1) there was a registry issue I had to get fixed to get the CDROM to operate 2) I've had a few random error screens surface & had to reboot from a recovery drive a couple times. Beyond those annoyances it usually runs quite well. For the performance & price, I'd recommend giving this system a look if you don't have a lot to spend and need a simple computer. If you have a larger budget, & need something a little more sophisticated, I'd go with a different model.

JayCA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works well
3/17/2013

Customer review by Brandeleen

4.0 stars 3/17/2013 by Brandeleen
by Brandeleen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

no problems w/this computer. I am having some trouble transitioning from my previous windows 7 to using windows 8 but im sure with more practice I will learn it quickly. I was shocked byu how small this tower is-definitely a space saver from my previous desk top tower! like all the features and also the door that hides the usb ports!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brandeleen
Seward, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid Value
8/31/2012

Customer review by BahbW

4.0 stars 8/31/2012 by BahbW
by BahbW

Pros This is a well built machine. I got the Core i5 with 8GB RAM and 2TB hard drive and there is definitely a lot of room to grow into. Having the built in HDMI and Wireless is nice! Cons Do yourself a favor and upgrade from the base keyboard. The keyboard that is included features laptop style chicklet keys instead of full keys. My keyboard also featured a space bar that would squeak if you hit it with your left thumb (but not if you hit it with your right thumb). Since I'm a lefty this got annoying really quickly. I gave up and ditched the included keyboard for a Logitech K260 which I purchased separately. The built in sound is rather basic and insufficient to run my old 5.1 speaker system, so I'll be upgrading the sound soon. If you have basic speakers, the built in sound is probably sufficient. If you an audiophile, you'll want to upgrade the sound. Review There's a lot of value to be found here with an affordable price tag. However, don't be afraid to visit the add-ons section when you configure yours. You'll be glad you did.

BahbW
Joliet, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
660 i5 Desktop in Florida
1/7/2013

Customer review by ABEMAN

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by ABEMAN
by ABEMAN

I replaced an old Dell 2400 desktop with the Dell 660 Desktop with an i5 processor, 8 Meg of Ram and 1 gig hard drive. I still plan to use the old Dell as a stand alone game computer for the kids to play with. First of all the price was excellent and with the free shipping and free McAfee, it was a no brainer. After a month of use, I find the computer is extremely fast, and especially quiet in all aspects its operation. The setup was fairly easy to do and Windows 8 perhaps has too many features. However, I am disappointed with the lack of free software such as an PDF acrobat reader. And I had to find a USB to retrofit the parallel port that is now missing from the computer. Also the computer should have more available USB ports. My keyboard, mouse and backup hard drive take up three right of the bat. The front USB ports are a bit tight fitted. I am using a USB Hub but not all devices work on it. The Pros are the value, overall speed and internet speed. The cons are a need for more USB ports and lack of free software such as a PDF reader.

ABEMAN
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Parents LOVE this PC
11/20/2013

Customer review by AKEsB

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by AKEsB
by AKEsB

My husband and I purchased this PC for my parents. The PC they were using was quickly on its way out, and it was a total dinosaur! I was having to spend so much time at their home trying to "fix" their PC, which was really just putting patches on a swiftly sinking ship. Anyhow, we wanted to get them a PC with ample amounts of memory, and that would be fast enough for their small amount of internet surfing & word processing activities. This 660s fit the bill perfectly! Plus, the price was right! Their peripherals were modern & functional, so we only purchased the tower. Lastly, we wanted to get them a PC with an operating system they are already familiar with, so being that DELL offered this wonderful machine with Windows 7 we jumped at the opportunity to buy it. My parents LOVE this PC! They continually comment to us about how fast it boots up and how much of a pleasure to use. Thank you DELL for yet another wonderful machine!!!

AKEsB
Eagle River, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great office Desktop System
2/16/2013

Customer review by snlgs

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by snlgs
by snlgs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased 6 of these for a law office and have not had any complaints. Very quiet & fast desktop. Plan to replace another 6 older DELL-Optiplex workstations with these.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snlgs
austin, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A pleasing replacement for my retired Dell Dimension 3000
1/25/2014

Customer review by Ed56

4.0 stars 1/25/2014 by Ed56
by Ed56

I purchased this Inspiron 660s as a replacement for my old Dell Dimension 3000 that I bought back 11 years ago. It had been acting a little erratic lately, so after basically 12 years of service with no major problems, I decided to go with another new Dell product. After the MS recent announcement that they would no longer be supporting Windows XP come April, 2014, that pushed me to finally invest in a new computer. I hope that I made the correct choice by going with Dell again, but with the good life I got with the Dimension 3000, it seemed the logical choice. The only thing that I wish about this new computer is that I didn't have to leave the comfort of my old tried and true XP OS and venture into the unknown (For me) world of Windows 7 that I find my self faced with...as you can see, I'm far from any kind of expert with computers, and I miss my old "Comfort Zone". But, I guess that's life and change is inevitable.

Ed56
Enfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/23/2012

Customer review by Patchesnmisty

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by Patchesnmisty
by Patchesnmisty
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is still new to me. I have to get used to the menu and how to use all of it, but it is fun learning. I am enjoying the challenge of figuring everything out. I would recommend this product to anyone who wanted to buy a computer.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patchesnmisty
Newark, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
5/24/2013

Customer review by SevenLamps

5.0 stars 5/24/2013 by SevenLamps
by SevenLamps
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had it two weeks and so far I love it! Windows 8 is fun once you get to know your way around. I'm a graphic artist and this computer handles my large graphic programs like a charm. Dell has always been good to me. They do give you Microsoft Office, BUT it's just a trial version. I'm not that disappointed. I downloaded the free Open Office by Apache, and it does the job just as well. Overall, I'm happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SevenLamps
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 406 total reviews
1-20 of 406 reviews