Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 308 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

308 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

308 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
167
4 stars
73
3 stars
23
2 stars
15
1 stars
30
1-20 of 303 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 303 total reviews
1-20 of 303 reviews
I like the features - but black ink doesn't print.
5/23/2016

Customer review by Marylou33

1.0 stars 5/23/2016 by Marylou33
by Marylou33

This is my second HP Photosmart All-In-One Series printer. I purchased my first in 2010. It stopped printing black ink less than 3 years later. I cleaned the print head as instructed after a Google search on how to solve the problem, and finally gave up. I bought a new HP Photosmart 6520 All-In-One printer - and bought a 2-year Protection Plan thinking that would be good insurance in case the black ink failed again. The printer worked well for 2 years and 6 months - and again the black ink stopped working. Once more I cleaned the print head - following the directions given for the HP model 6520. The print head on this model is not removable so it is more difficult to clean. I spent over two days attempting to clear the print head, but the black ink will not work. I've determined that the life expectancy of the HP Photosmart 6520 is limited to just over 2 years. I really like the features on the printer, but because the black ink no longer prints, I hesitate buying another. I am disappointed in the product.

Marylou33
Eugene, OR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible waste of money, PHOTOsmart? Yea right!
12/9/2012

Customer review by amandaskittys

1.0 stars 12/9/2012 by amandaskittys
by amandaskittys

I can't say enough terrible things about this printer. I had a Deskjet and wanted to do more art projects so I upgraded to a Photosmart for the different ink cartridges and better options (so I thought!) I printed the same photos & pictures on the Deskjet and the Photosmart, the Photosmart 6520 printed horrible....Who cares how easy it is to setup, what about performance?? If I could give it a zero rating I would. I bought it yesterday and it's being returned today. On top of the lousy color & other picture issues, it is much too noisy on startup and print prepping, and it prints a standard text page very slow. The touchscreen is not as sensitive as I would like, it's overall a waste of time & money. If I could keep it for free I guess it would have to do. I have never had a problem with a HP item but they really missed the mark in overall quality here. I don't care if I am in the minority on this review but this hunk-o-junk is really poor from HP, don't bother!!

amandaskittys
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
SIMPLE & STYLISH
9/28/2012

Customer review by TAZmania

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by TAZmania
by TAZmania

When it comes to printers, I have destroyed my fair share, from over use... and it didn't bother me, as there was always a better one that I could get. Well... those days I think have come to an end. This newly purchased HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer is one awesome printer! It has a stylish design and my gosh... was it ever simple to set up for use out of the box! The videos for installation and processes are so easy to understand and the wireless feature is great! Photos are beautiful and I didn't think I would like the 4 individual ink cartridges to deal with... but the advantages , as seen with photos from this ink system, are amazing! So far this printer has done everything I have asked of it accurately, reliably and professionally. This is one printer, I plan to hold onto for many years! It works seamlessly with my HP Pavillion dv6-6c 10us Entertainment laptop (notebook). Would highly recommend this printer to friends and family!

TAZmania
Towson, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I love this printer!
4/11/2013

Customer review by cmgovier

4.0 stars 4/11/2013 by cmgovier
by cmgovier

This printer is really something. The wireless works great (I have 4 computers wanting to print) and it was easy to set up. It connected to my router with no problems, which is great since two of my computers don't have wireless. I also love the eprint capabilities. I can print to the printer from anywhere. It's FAX capabilities are limited since you can only receive FAXes. To sent FAXes you have to pay a fee/month which makes no since for me since I only have to send a FAX once every couple of years! I got this printer rather than the one with full FAX capability due to the small footprint since I have limited space. It scans and prints beautifully. It prints double sided which will save me a lot of time when I print a newsletter for our local charity group. You can add apps to the printer but I haven't used that yet. Most of the apps are for children. I would be great if they had a Greeting Card app (for grownups).

cmgovier
Wellington, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Worst business expense EVER
7/21/2014

Customer review by Lanemarie

1.0 stars 7/21/2014 by Lanemarie
by Lanemarie

Out of the box this guy hogged ink. Maybe 10 (simple text non photo like a receipt) pages and then the ink cartridges needed to be replaced. I don't print a lot so I figured maybe it is what it is? Until the black stopped printing altogether. Cleaned print head, adjusted alignment, tech support, blah blah blah. Warranty is one year. I had for a year and 1 month. It would cost more to get repaired than to buy a new one and get another year warranty, although I could have bought 1 1/2 with the money I spent on ink alone the year I had it. I was not offered an extended warranty when I purchased but could spend $20 more on a new one and get 2 yrs covered. (So mine would been fixed for free had this been an option) that's only more frustrating? Kinkos is cheaper at $1 a page for my printing needs. Maybe I just got a dud? Or do people have to pick up 2nd jobs to pay for their printing? Teardrops on my printer. : (

Lanemarie
Mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great, Fast Printer
3/7/2013

Customer review by CharlesN

5.0 stars 3/7/2013 by CharlesN
by CharlesN

I upgraded from a 4 year old C6830 because it died. The 6520 has a lower model number, but is a much better printer. Wireless setup was a breeze and only took a few minutes. The resistive touch screen was nice to enter in my password. You have to press a little hard to get the touch to register, but it's not bad. The MacBook automatically recognized the printer, as did the iPad. Installing the drivers on the Windows 7 box took some time, but was painless. After setting up ePrint, emailing documents to the printer should come in handy. I also installed the ePrint app on my Android and printed a page from the internal web browser. Scanning is quick and easy, though on Mac, I haven't found out how to make a multi-page PDF yet. It's easy to do on Windows. Documents print quickly, and the double-sided printing is a cool addition. Photos come out vibrant and professional. This printer is amazing for the price.

CharlesN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So disappointed
11/4/2013

Customer review by michgirl

1.0 stars 11/4/2013 by michgirl
by michgirl

I have owned HP printers since 1996, always selecting a Photosmart printer and being so happy with the results. My 4 1/2 year old HP Photosmart c309g recently died and I replaced it with this one. For the first time in many years, I felt the quality of the HP printer had declined, it felt to cheaply made and flimsy. The photo prints were so disappointing, lacking color and blacks were just muddy looking. For days I played with settings, trying different paper, etc and was never satisfied. I was also greatly disappointed that this HP printer no longer had the ability to make custom sized paper. I own different HP paper products that require custom sizing and no they were obsolete with this printer. Today I took it back and exchanged it for a different brand, the first time in 16 years that I considered another brand. The new one far exceeds this HP printer and was $20 cheaper. Sadly leaving HP.

michgirl
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
A bit disappointed
10/26/2013

Customer review by conn24

3.0 stars 10/26/2013 by conn24
by conn24

O.K., so I get this is for light use, and I do only use it for light use. And, I get it is inexpensive and you get what you pay for. I'm a Salesperson that works out of my office. I don't run a lot thru this peripheral because it probably couldn't handle what I really need, so I outsource most large jobs. That said, it has some decided inadequacies: - Jamming: Paper Jams - Print Options: Problems changing from Letter to Envelope printing - Copying: I knew this upfront when I bought it, but really wished it had sheet feeder - Print Option Settings: I had a high-end HP Printer/Copier, Office Type, at one time. One thing I loved about it was it remembered file settings and you didn't have to change a setting every time you changed a print job. This low end unit does not have that. I wished HP would step up and make that part of their default on any Printer/Copier Type Hardware they make.

conn24
Tehachapi, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great as usual.
11/5/2013

Customer review by Mwhit

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Mwhit
by Mwhit

I've only had HP printers for the last 6 years. My last one a Photosmart printer, lasted for most of those years. Finally the print head carriage gave out. I printed a LOT of pictures and documents. My new Photosmart 6420 has worked flawlessly right out of the box. VERY easy to get online with I my home wireless network. All my PC's and laptops connected right away. All can print quickly and easily. The colors on the photos are great. The big plus with the Photosmart line is the Photo paper tray that is always loaded and ready to print pictures at any time. This is where the Photosmart printer beats out the Officejet printer line. My tip. Don't buy a printer that is not designed for your needs. Try to understand how your wireless network is setup and use that knowledge when setting up the new printer. By the way, HP printers almost set themselves up on a wireless network.

Mwhit
Menomonie, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not easy
4/13/2013

Customer review by Grama2001

3.0 stars 4/13/2013 by Grama2001
by Grama2001

This printer is easy to set up and when you get it to print, quality is great. The problem is Windows 8. I have two old printers that will not work with Windows 8 so I bought this one to be able to print with my new hp computer. I have gotten it to print but the process is complicated and time consuming. When you are on a page even if the print option is there, nothing happens when you tap print. No print with control p either. It seems the only way to get anything printed is to create a file and put it in a folder. This seems a lot of trouble when you just want to print an email or other photo or document from the page you are on. I will be spending time with hp as soon as I have the time to contact their service dept. there are no instructions to solve problems like this and the troubleshooting solutions do not cover "how to get the pint command" and then make it work!

Grama2001
Bensenville, il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Very happy
9/17/2013

Customer review by CornyJoe

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by CornyJoe
by CornyJoe

I have only owned this for 1 week but i have to say i am very pleased. Set up was easy but the install on my Windows 8 computer had a hiccup. I tried to use HP's wireless setup without going thru my wifi router using a password. Somehow i messed something up, uninstalled and re did everything with the CD and manually setup the wifi access....viola!! This thing is great. I couldn't believe how great 4x6 prints come out. If the photo paper they give you as a trial is not their high end paper, i am eager to purchase the best stuff and see how great that looks. Documents print fairly quick, the ePrint is awesome (my wife printed an email from her iPhone), and i love that there is a paper tray. Individual ink tanks is a bonus feature since my daughter is really into Japanese Anime and prints certain colors real heavy. I would recommend this especially for the price point.

CornyJoe
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
A Great Printer For the Money
7/20/2014

Customer review by Paul54

5.0 stars 7/20/2014 by Paul54
by Paul54

This is my second hp Photosmart printer, and I felt fortunate to have found one that uses the same ink cartridges as my old one. I had two issues with it, the first being that the description on the web site said it was compatible with Mac OS X, but did not specify that it needs 10.6 or higher, so I had to upgrade my operating system to use the new printer. >:-( The second was that when I attempted to connect my Windows laptop, I was not able to do so. I don't know why, but Tech Support came through admirably. The memory card reader is covered by a small hatch that no description of the product makes mention of. It's tricky to see, but it's easy to find once you know it's there. Now that the printer is connected (wirelessly) to both computers, it works like a charm and I'd recommend it to anyone. It scans beautifully and prints wonderfully. I especially like that it does double sided prints. Every other printer I've had, including this one's predecessor, you had to buy an extra attachment to get 2-sided prints. You can also get it to print in booklet form. Most of the other features, I have no use for, but that's just me.

Paul54
North Adams, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Hate it!
1/20/2014

Customer review by Liz2014

2.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Liz2014
by Liz2014

Really hate this one...Replaced my 309g that died, so I had no choice... First of all I was dismayed to find there is no longer a photo black although billed as a photosmart printer, I do not feel the blacks are as sharp and crisp as they were ... The papers feed crooked no matter what I do, both regular and 4 x 6 photo, separate trays??? Need to call about this... have just discovered it does not automatically recognize the paper type as all my older models have...very annoying to have to keep changing the setting for what is in the tray... not impressed with the new option to have ???things printed that come from HP or the WEB??? Need to turn that off, wasting my paper supply not to mention ink! printing from the smart phone worked from the next room, I assume it works from away from home???, but I cannot imagine when I would use that...

Liz2014
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Overall a very nice printer
8/18/2013

Customer review by luceethecat

4.0 stars 8/18/2013 by luceethecat
by luceethecat

I purchased printer July 2013 because my old HP 1210 finally died. Also wanted a wireless printer so I could download documents and photos from my iPhone. Set up quick and easy. You do have to read the directions carefully step by step especially setting up wirelessly from iPhone. Have sent both documents from iPhone to printer - no problems - and sent photos to printer - no problems. I print a lot of documents in draft - black stretching out the ink a bit. But this HP does chew up ink fast. I still have the sample color inks in printer that are almost empty. Probably got 10 photos out of them. If you print 10 or more pages of letter size documents at once, it is best to let printer cool off between sets otherwise you will get a paper jam issue probably because the feeder rollers get warm. You have to take your time to unjam paper - don't yank it out. That was the only time I ran into a jamming problem and it usually only one sheet. Love the touch screen on the printer and the help options if you don't know how to do something with the printer as well as the 2 sided printing. It is not my old HP 1210 but comes very close - time will tell on the life of the printer.

luceethecat
CHICAGO SW SUBURBS, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice printer/however
2/2/2014

Customer review by soundman1

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by soundman1
by soundman1

I think this could be a very good printer however when I received it there was very limited instructions included in the box it came in. I tried to print some pictures using the tray for the smaller pictures on top of the regular page size and could not get it to work. Without some kind of instruction manual I have not been able to figure it out. I did print the picture on a full sized sheet then cut it out .The picture I printed tuned out very nice however it was a waste of photo paper and I do not want to waste paper every time I want to print a smaller photo. Over all I think it will be a good printer if I can figure out everything about it. The only other thing that is kind of annoying is the noise it make when it powers up to start printing it really grinds and sounds like it is on its last legs.

soundman1
Caldwell Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome Printer
4/21/2013

Customer review by Novice33

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by Novice33
by Novice33

My husband was always the one to take care of our computer needs. With his passing and our printer recently stop working it was left for me to pick out a new one. We had so many great years with our last HP that I knew that was what I wanted again. I checked out the website and knew that we wanted wireless. I read the reviews and this one everyone seemed to love. I took the chance. I am not sorry I did. I am a total novice when it comes to this stuff but found the directions very easy to understand and be able to set the printer up. I am working on getting it setup on my laptop but feel there will be no issues. The print quality is great from the start and has continued to be. Cost of replacement ink is still reasonable as far as ink goes and in comparison to other brands. Love my new printer.

Novice33
East Longmeadow, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Printer
1/19/2013

Customer review by FlGal55

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by FlGal55
by FlGal55

I purchased this particular printer because my previous printer was also a photosmart which I loved. I had to replace it because it would not work with Windows 8, which is on the new computer I just got. This new photosmart also prints beautiful photos, which is the primary reason why I wanted it; I print lots of photos & want good quality. This printer does a good job of printing regular documents also. It is very quiet compared to other printers I've had, & is quite user friendly. One of the features I like about it is that there are 2 paper trays; 1 to keep regular paper in & 1 to put photo paper in. I do love this feature, however, I was disappointed that I cannot load the photo paper tray with paper larger than 5"x7". To make larger photos, I must replace my regular paper with photo paper & change the settings so it knows what tray to pull the paper from. The quality of prints makes this only a minor inconvenience, but I would like to suggest that HP make the next generation of this printer to accept up to full page size photo paper in the photo paper tray. Nevertheless, I highly recommend this printer to anyone who needs lab quality photos; you won't be disappointed in the quality.

FlGal55
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
has been awkward to use
10/23/2013

Customer review by Grandmaman

2.0 stars 10/23/2013 by Grandmaman
by Grandmaman

I had to replace an old HP printer that died, so ordered the new one by phone. I set it up successfully on my own (or so I thought), but even with technical support, printing and scanning have been awkward. The only way I can get it to print is to turn the printer off between printing or scanning tasks. This is a work around I came up with, by the way. Tech support's "best" suggestion was to connect my "wireless" printer to my computer via the USB port, the old fashioned way! In addition, (and I plan to contact support about this issue) the screen on the new printer frequently locks, as does the on/off switch, forcing me to unplug the unit. This can't be a good thing. Print quality, features and the ink cartridges are just fine, but calling it "wireless" is a bit deceptive!

Grandmaman
La Jolla, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
poor paper handling
1/26/2014

Customer review by trump2

2.0 stars 1/26/2014 by trump2
by trump2

I have used HP deskjets for many years, and have been impressed with their speed and durability. The Photosmart 6520 has been a disappointment in its paper handling. Problems? Feeding more than one sheet at a time (up to 4 or 5); mashing the paper when copying 2-sided, then telling me it's out of paper; telling me it's out of paper when there is adequate paper in the tray; need to empty the tray to print an envelope (the envelope slot on the deskjet was so handy). Recently installed a new black cartridge that would not print at all; tried another new one which also wouldn't print. Utilized the debugging software, which I had to download, and the cartridge finally worked after 3 cleanings. The cartridges should work right out of the box. Very disappointed and frustrated.

trump2
United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Excellent value
12/12/2012

Customer review by dmginc

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by dmginc
by dmginc

For the price, this printer is awesome. The setup was very easy, even the wireless setup. For some of the setup, you can use the video screen to watch a video of what to do, pretty nice. I printed out the sample photo of flowers that came with the printer and was totally blown away by the quality. I've tested printing from my computer, printing via email with ePrint, and using the printer only with the card reader and screen. All worked well, although I did once have a time when the ePrint servers were down so it was unavailable. Printing directly from the printer was very easy and I was surpised to see how much you can do, as far as editing goes, right there on the printer. Overall, I'm extremely satisfied with this purchase, especially given the reasonable price.

dmginc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 303 total reviews
1-20 of 303 reviews