Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 304 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

304 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

304 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
166
4 stars
73
3 stars
23
2 stars
14
1 stars
28
1-20 of 299 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 299 total reviews
1-20 of 299 reviews
Great Printer But!!!
8/19/2013

Customer review by LanaR

3.0 stars 8/19/2013 by LanaR
by LanaR
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Its a great printer works right out of the box, BUT I needed a printer cable, they no longer include printer cables with the printer. The cable is an additional charge item. I ended up paying 16.95 for the cable and 11.00 for shipping. Only had one choice when it came to shipping and that was FED Ex. Its really hard to believe that they don't include a 3.00 item with the printer. I have always used HP printers since 1990. I contacted HP customer service about the charge for the cable, that was a week ago, they said it wasn't their fault as people should have their own USB printer cables???????????? But they passed it to the higher ups for consideration. Why would a company jeopardize a 23 year relationship for a 3.00 part?

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LanaR
Cleveland Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's promo advertises it is a fax machine.
5/7/2013

Customer review by plotmap

4.0 stars 5/7/2013 by plotmap
by plotmap

Found out that after reading totally it's capabilities,it can't fax by sending or receiving without ten times the work and having to pay a monthly fee to get just a local area code number before you can send or receive faxes.It has nothing to do with your phone and is all done over the internet.Yet they want to call it a fax machine. Very disgusted with the way they advertise it.I am now going to have to buy just a fax machine to be able to fax both ways and still be able to keep my original fax number that is associated with my business.

Was this review helpful? (50) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
plotmap
Redding,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a Fax Machine
12/7/2012

Customer review by Dukefaxmachine

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Dukefaxmachine
by Dukefaxmachine

Product can not be used to send faxes only to receive faxes with a special phone number that HP gives you and it is not a local number unless you want to pay a monthly fee of $17.00. When you read about the printer it tells you the modem speed for faxes. I did not know till I received the product and set it up that it was not a fax machine. It tells you in the questions and answers that it is not a fax machine and the specs were wrong. The printer info on the walmart page needs to be corrected.

Was this review helpful? (118) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dukefaxmachine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too many headaches...
3/18/2014

Customer review by Capecodbeachfront

2.0 stars 3/18/2014 by Capecodbeachfront
by Capecodbeachfront

You may be one of the lucky ones... I was for about 10 months. I am a very light user... only 1000 pages and 125 photos over 13 months. This info came direct from the printer status page. I should not be having problems if this was a decently designed printer. Like others mentioned I too suffered from the horizontal lines going across the prints. Only on the photos never on the standard paper pages. It takes numerous head cleanings and alignments to correct the problem once it starts. You also have to AVOID using BEST settings. BTW I was using HP paper for the entire time! Next will come (eventually) the dreaded PHOTO PAPER TRAY Error. Suddenly the photo tray paper will not be picked up by the rollers. This is a so common a problem that HP addresses it thru videos on their Support site. Google "HP PHOTO TRAY ERROR to see how common it is on many HP printers not just the 6520. Problem is the videos DO NOT FIX the problem and since the photo paper and Standard paper share a single tray you have a serious problem. Their videos go thru silly options like unplugging and replugging in the printer, checking your paper for curl, etc. Cleaning the rollers and pick up rollers is suggested BUT DOES NOT fix the problem. Somehow the Photo Paper tray gets misaligned and will not pull into position. Maybe a sensor? Maybe mechanical? All I know is after 3 days of attempting to troubleshoot this problem I am DONE with HP. BUY at your own risk...

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Capecodbeachfront
Would recommend to a friend? No
really good printer
1/19/2016

Customer review by officeprinter

4.0 stars 1/19/2016 by officeprinter
by officeprinter

Stylish, fast, reliable and quality features. This printer provides it all. Definitely recommend this product.

officeprinter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
10/29/2013

Customer review by Hollygolightly123

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Hollygolightly123
by Hollygolightly123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's quiet, the paper never jams, it prints quickly and takes great color photos. Really nice printer and the price tag is very reasonable for the quality you get.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hollygolightly123
Ann Arbor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good option for e-printing
10/4/2013

Customer review by NEPatfan

4.0 stars 10/4/2013 by NEPatfan
by NEPatfan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to set up; using it to print from 2 PCs, 2 iPads and an iPhone.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NEPatfan
Oakatie, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible waste of money, PHOTOsmart? Yea right!
12/9/2012

Customer review by amandaskittys

1.0 stars 12/9/2012 by amandaskittys
by amandaskittys

I can't say enough terrible things about this printer. I had a Deskjet and wanted to do more art projects so I upgraded to a Photosmart for the different ink cartridges and better options (so I thought!) I printed the same photos & pictures on the Deskjet and the Photosmart, the Photosmart 6520 printed horrible....Who cares how easy it is to setup, what about performance?? If I could give it a zero rating I would. I bought it yesterday and it's being returned today. On top of the lousy color & other picture issues, it is much too noisy on startup and print prepping, and it prints a standard text page very slow. The touchscreen is not as sensitive as I would like, it's overall a waste of time & money. If I could keep it for free I guess it would have to do. I have never had a problem with a HP item but they really missed the mark in overall quality here. I don't care if I am in the minority on this review but this hunk-o-junk is really poor from HP, don't bother!!

amandaskittys
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
A very helpful product
4/23/2014

Customer review by Geezerom

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by Geezerom
by Geezerom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This printer was the easiest to install and absolutely no problem printing. I printed one of my daughter's wedding pictures and it looked professionally done. Would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Geezerom
Barberton,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SIMPLE & STYLISH
9/28/2012

Customer review by TAZmania

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by TAZmania
by TAZmania

When it comes to printers, I have destroyed my fair share, from over use... and it didn't bother me, as there was always a better one that I could get. Well... those days I think have come to an end. This newly purchased HP Photosmart 6520 e-All-in-One Printer is one awesome printer! It has a stylish design and my gosh... was it ever simple to set up for use out of the box! The videos for installation and processes are so easy to understand and the wireless feature is great! Photos are beautiful and I didn't think I would like the 4 individual ink cartridges to deal with... but the advantages , as seen with photos from this ink system, are amazing! So far this printer has done everything I have asked of it accurately, reliably and professionally. This is one printer, I plan to hold onto for many years! It works seamlessly with my HP Pavillion dv6-6c 10us Entertainment laptop (notebook). Would highly recommend this printer to friends and family!

TAZmania
Towson, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
nice printer
7/27/2013

Customer review by gemmi1654

3.0 stars 7/27/2013 by gemmi1654
by gemmi1654
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

its nice printer but, ink cost too much

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gemmi1654
gold hill, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HP Photosmart 6520....I can't believe it!
1/20/2014

Customer review by mommatnt

1.0 stars 1/20/2014 by mommatnt
by mommatnt

I think HP has lost their mind. 1. I forgot to use the setup ink when I installed it, so now those cartridges will not work. 2. I can't get it to print envelopes...Error...mismatched paper. 3. Won't do the card paper...Error... mismatched paper. 4. Can't use expired ink because they are chip dated now. Read about it online! 5. And it goes thru ink like crazy. I print 2, maybe 3 8x10s and I have to put ink in. I have never had an HP that I hated but I sure hate this one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommatnt
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A disaster, waste of time and money.
11/5/2015

Customer review by isantcr

1.0 stars 11/5/2015 by isantcr
by isantcr

not like a prior all in one printer than lasted more than 10 years. I had to return it within a year, then got a replacement, now another year has passed and came to the conclusion this model is not going to work. Luckily the escalation team seem to be on-board with my dissatisfaction and offer to cooperate so I can choose another product.

isantcr
Baltimore, MD, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love this printer!
4/11/2013

Customer review by cmgovier

4.0 stars 4/11/2013 by cmgovier
by cmgovier

This printer is really something. The wireless works great (I have 4 computers wanting to print) and it was easy to set up. It connected to my router with no problems, which is great since two of my computers don't have wireless. I also love the eprint capabilities. I can print to the printer from anywhere. It's FAX capabilities are limited since you can only receive FAXes. To sent FAXes you have to pay a fee/month which makes no since for me since I only have to send a FAX once every couple of years! I got this printer rather than the one with full FAX capability due to the small footprint since I have limited space. It scans and prints beautifully. It prints double sided which will save me a lot of time when I print a newsletter for our local charity group. You can add apps to the printer but I haven't used that yet. Most of the apps are for children. I would be great if they had a Greeting Card app (for grownups).

cmgovier
Wellington, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
4/13/2013

Customer review by DebinIowa

5.0 stars 4/13/2013 by DebinIowa
by DebinIowa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was easy to install and has very good quality printing.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DebinIowa
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst business expense EVER
7/21/2014

Customer review by Lanemarie

1.0 stars 7/21/2014 by Lanemarie
by Lanemarie

Out of the box this guy hogged ink. Maybe 10 (simple text non photo like a receipt) pages and then the ink cartridges needed to be replaced. I don't print a lot so I figured maybe it is what it is? Until the black stopped printing altogether. Cleaned print head, adjusted alignment, tech support, blah blah blah. Warranty is one year. I had for a year and 1 month. It would cost more to get repaired than to buy a new one and get another year warranty, although I could have bought 1 1/2 with the money I spent on ink alone the year I had it. I was not offered an extended warranty when I purchased but could spend $20 more on a new one and get 2 yrs covered. (So mine would been fixed for free had this been an option) that's only more frustrating? Kinkos is cheaper at $1 a page for my printing needs. Maybe I just got a dud? Or do people have to pick up 2nd jobs to pay for their printing? Teardrops on my printer. : (

Lanemarie
Mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great, Fast Printer
3/7/2013

Customer review by CharlesN

5.0 stars 3/7/2013 by CharlesN
by CharlesN

I upgraded from a 4 year old C6830 because it died. The 6520 has a lower model number, but is a much better printer. Wireless setup was a breeze and only took a few minutes. The resistive touch screen was nice to enter in my password. You have to press a little hard to get the touch to register, but it's not bad. The MacBook automatically recognized the printer, as did the iPad. Installing the drivers on the Windows 7 box took some time, but was painless. After setting up ePrint, emailing documents to the printer should come in handy. I also installed the ePrint app on my Android and printed a page from the internal web browser. Scanning is quick and easy, though on Mac, I haven't found out how to make a multi-page PDF yet. It's easy to do on Windows. Documents print quickly, and the double-sided printing is a cool addition. Photos come out vibrant and professional. This printer is amazing for the price.

CharlesN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great printer!
6/20/2014

Customer review by cgstella

4.0 stars 6/20/2014 by cgstella
by cgstella
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love my new printer. The only thing I don't like is the fax function. I was expecting to connect it to my phone line, but it doesn't work that way. I haven't quite figured it out. The fax goes to another service and there is a limit to the number of free faxes each month. Disappointed with fax part.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cgstella
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great overall Home Printer.
5/15/2013

Customer review by dabobbers

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by dabobbers
by dabobbers

I needed a printer to replace a very old printer on my wife's older PC. The 6520 is great as it's installation CD did all of the set-up without any help from me. I just followed its on screen instructions. It does automatic two sided printing which is contrary to an answer to one of the questions listed below. It automatically flips the paper over for you. I had to go to HP Chat to learn how though. It was simple when a tech explained what I was doing wrong. I've connected two laptops to the 6520 without having to use a router, which has made our lives easier in a three computer household. I love the larger touch screen as it's so easy to see and use. We're still in the learning stage but HP has made it easy and with those under warranty, use the HP Chat to resolve issues you may have. I haven't tried eFax as we rarely need faxing. I haven't been able to get my Droid Razr smart phone to print yet as I understand Droid's last update took away the print option? I'm sure it's there somewhere else but I'll have to go to a Verizon store to find out where it's hidden? So far, we're extremely happy with the HP 6520 and hope it has the longevity af our last HP Printer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dabobbers
FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So disappointed
11/4/2013

Customer review by michgirl

1.0 stars 11/4/2013 by michgirl
by michgirl

I have owned HP printers since 1996, always selecting a Photosmart printer and being so happy with the results. My 4 1/2 year old HP Photosmart c309g recently died and I replaced it with this one. For the first time in many years, I felt the quality of the HP printer had declined, it felt to cheaply made and flimsy. The photo prints were so disappointing, lacking color and blacks were just muddy looking. For days I played with settings, trying different paper, etc and was never satisfied. I was also greatly disappointed that this HP printer no longer had the ability to make custom sized paper. I own different HP paper products that require custom sizing and no they were obsolete with this printer. Today I took it back and exchanged it for a different brand, the first time in 16 years that I considered another brand. The new one far exceeds this HP printer and was $20 cheaper. Sadly leaving HP.

michgirl
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 299 total reviews
1-20 of 299 reviews