Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
1
1-20 of 43 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Great Bike For $230.00 compared to 1750.00
4/17/2014

Customer review by PirateCycler

4.0 stars 4/17/2014 by PirateCycler
by PirateCycler

I wanted a high end bike, but the first one I liked was $1750. 00 nice, but way out of my realm of Belief a bike should cost that much. Then I saw this Mongoose and it had Full Suspension and 29" Wheels. I'm a man and wanted a man's size bike and that's exactly what I got. I put a different seat on it added some Wahoo sensors and computer and it rides great. I had to get it dialed in just the right height for the seat and tweak the rear gears a little, but it's well worth the 230 bucks they ask. The freight in my case was overnight and the box did have some damage, holes from tears probably at the warehouse with fork lift or something. I did lose the front wheel quick release through one of those holes and they shipped me one overnight to fix the problem. So the service in my mind is right on great. Things happen, but if they get resolved quickly you can't ask for more. I also tore all Mongoose Stickers off the Bike, not from shame, but it looks rather sleek, this way and I'm looking for some custom 420 stickers for it. Good Buy A+

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PirateCycler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bike for the beginner-one big flaw
4/2/2014

Customer review by TCbiker

4.0 stars 4/2/2014 by TCbiker
by TCbiker

I am no bicycle expert but this bike seems to be well equip. It came with all the hardware (which is surprising because the box was destroyed) and it was easy to assemble. A quick adjustment of the front and rear brakes was all that was needed. After my first ride...i think the chain needs to be adjusted as well. It seems like the chain wants to jump to a different gear without being changed. Rides very smooth and it could use a water bottle holder. My main issue with the 29" tires is the clearance between the tire when turning and the pedal. If your not pedaling on the ball of your foot, your foot will get knocked off the pedal. Not a good setup at all!!!! If you constantly stay on the ball of your feet when you pedal...you'll be fine. I tried to add a pic of the clearance issue I'm talking about. Another issue which is not that big of a deal to me but may be important to others. After buying the bike, I read the manual and it says that while straddling the bike with both feet flat on the ground, there should be 1-3" of space between the bike cross bar and you. I'm 6' tall and I can't do this. I have to lean the bike to the side for my feet to be flat on the ground. And if I'm riding the bike, my feet are even further off the ground and really have to lean to one side when i stop. It may be too tall for me or 6' tall people but I don't mind at all.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TCbiker
Staten Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good for the money
12/29/2012

Customer review by CollegeStudent294389

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by CollegeStudent294389
by CollegeStudent294389
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really like this bike! It is a very good value. I just started mountain biking and being a college student I go everywhere on my bike so I figured this bike would be a good all around choice. For the price everything is really high quality. The only complaint I had for this bike was I did have to spend alot of time tinkering with it to get everything to work perfect. I am a 135 lb person and riding the trails I did notice that I bottom out the front forks some. But overall I think this is a great buy and would do it again in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful? (60) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CollegeStudent294389
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent bike for price
2/9/2013

Customer review by crissi73

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by crissi73
by crissi73
Walmart associate

I bought this bike for my son and he loves it. The only issue with the bike was the gears had to be adjusted. Adjusting the gears was simple and straight forward. If you are looking for a mountain bike for an amateur biker than this is the best bike for your money.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crissi73
Blaine, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
61 years old and rides daily
5/6/2014

Customer review by NoMoMoney4U

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by NoMoMoney4U
by NoMoMoney4U

5/6/14 I am 61 years old and have had a hip replacement and have bad knees so my Doctor told me that if walking was an issue than I should ride a bike. My son found be a $10 special at a yard sale and I purchased an incumbent bike for the winter and any rainy days. Well my $10 bike was beginning to give me worries so at the encouragement of my wife I bought a new bike today. I shopped hard online then shopped hard at my local Walmart and decided on this 29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1 Mountain Bike. It was already assembled but I still checked everything out and "all" seemed very good. I stripped the soft seat and the mirrors, off of my $10 bike and then went about my daily business of riding my subdivision route 8 times for a total of 12 miles. The ride was very smooth, I cornered faster, shifting was smooth, and I seemed to cover the course in about 55 minutes compared to my normal 1 hour and 10 minutes. When I go out tomorrow for my 307th consecutive day of indoor recumbent or outdoor bike riding, I will add anything negative if I need to. As for now it is 2 thumbs up, a great bike for the money, and I highly recommend the 29" Mongoose Mountain Bike. I am 5'10" tall and weigh about 220 pounds and felt in complete control and very comfortable on this bike..... Butch in Eastgate area of Cincinnati.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoMoMoney4U
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
3/11/2013

Customer review by Bigrider

4.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Bigrider
by Bigrider
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am so happy that I bought this product. I take it out for a Ride every afternoon for 60 to 90 minutes. My best friend checked it out too and intends to go for the same make and model. I used to go for a walk before but realised that it is more fun and excellent workout to ride my Mongoose, simply love it!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigrider
Visalia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bike bad service
3/15/2014

Customer review by Aksteg

3.0 stars 3/15/2014 by Aksteg
by Aksteg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have no problems with the bike. What I do have a problem with is that the box came with huge holes in it. Also the quick release pin to mount the front tire was missing. Walmart doesn't sell this so I had to go to a specialty shop. Thumbs down Wal-Mart. I will not be shopping on walmart.com anymore.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aksteg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A lot of bike for the money
6/6/2014

Customer review by Mongooseman14

5.0 stars 6/6/2014 by Mongooseman14
by Mongooseman14
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am 6'2 256lbs at 53 year old and this bike is perfect as far as size.I did have local bike shop service bike and add anti flat product to tires.It works fine and shifts easy and now can enjoy riding on sidewalks as suspension soaks up tree roots great. I do have a bad back and needed a bike with full suspension and glad I choose this Mongoose. It is my second purchase of Mongoose products.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mongooseman14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/27/2013

Customer review by Shaneblazer

4.0 stars 6/27/2013 by Shaneblazer
by Shaneblazer

This men's mountain bike is a excellent value. I had it shipped to my home for free. I received it very fast (2days). It is a very good looking bike and is ideal for larger men that require a bigger bike. The assembly was easy. If your looking for a light mountain bike then this isn't it. It is the heaviest bike I have ever owned but that's ok. I don't plan on packing it around the mountains. you would pay 2 to 3 times the price if you were to go to a bike shop and buy something equivalent. Thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shaneblazer
Ogden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/26/2013

Customer review by niceguyeddie13

4.0 stars 5/26/2013 by niceguyeddie13
by niceguyeddie13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the bike, It seems like a good value for the price. Time will only tell. It was shipped to me with the wrong size foot pedals so after a trip to my local Walmart the store was happy to help me and exchange them. I am looking forward to a long hot summer riding.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
niceguyeddie13
medford, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bike
5/23/2013

Customer review by Deshmukh01

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by Deshmukh01
by Deshmukh01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bike is good and I like bike's suspension in front and back. After doing the number of bikes, researches I select this bike because cost and feature what I was looking. I assembled the bike it was easy and straightforward. Only it took little time for adjusting the back brake alignment, if you have bike knowledge. You can explore bike assemble yourself. If you do not have experiences about assembly, I will recommend doing store assemble, it is free. It meets my all expectation.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deshmukh01
Fairfax
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/23/2013

Customer review by JassonX

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by JassonX
by JassonX

Got bike the other day color is some type of gray at one angle a light bronze another angle, love it still my 3rd mongoose. Great pay for what you get. Wal-Mart people putting together alright, but take to bike shop for tune up first.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JassonX
Paramount, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Nice all around bike for bigger guy
5/10/2014

Customer review by damulish

4.0 stars 5/10/2014 by damulish
by damulish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Been riding the bike a few weeks now. Rides awesome. The only negative s are the front shocks are soft when standing up peddling they almost bottom out and other then that the shifting needed to be adjusted. Other than those flaws seems like a great bike

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
damulish
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/7/2012

Customer review by harleyhothot

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by harleyhothot
by harleyhothot
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice other than its kinda heavy

Was this review helpful? (33) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
harleyhothot
Port Angeles wash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the dilevery was damaged
3/28/2014

Customer review by bryben

4.0 stars 3/28/2014 by bryben
by bryben
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would love to give a review, but when I received the box with the bike in it I had some issues. The box was smashed and had a hole in it also it was opened and re taped. The bike has scratches on it and the piece sticking out of the front tire was broke off, so I do have to return it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bryben
long island new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Needs to be tunned after purchase
5/10/2014

Customer review by dTskrill

2.0 stars 5/10/2014 by dTskrill
by dTskrill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The shifters were not tunned so the chain would skip half a peddle here and there.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dTskrill
59404
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
29" Mongoose Ledge 3.1
6/7/2014

Customer review by WalmartGuyToo

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by WalmartGuyToo
by WalmartGuyToo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I changed the seat and the gears are a little touchy, but other than that it has been great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartGuyToo
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/13/2013

Customer review by cronthedestroyer

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by cronthedestroyer
by cronthedestroyer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought as a gift for my son. He loves it. It is a very heavy bike though. It would be helpful if the bike came with a couple of allen wrenches to tighten up the handle well. Other than that assembly was a piece of cake.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cronthedestroyer
planet earth
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy bike for the price.
3/24/2014

Customer review by HoustonRed357

4.0 stars 3/24/2014 by HoustonRed357
by HoustonRed357
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very sturdy bike for the price and so far the rides have been smooth. I did have to adjust the rear wheel due to rubbing on the bike frame.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoustonRed357
Houston Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/6/2013

Customer review by gonzoal

4.0 stars 7/6/2013 by gonzoal
by gonzoal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bike has lots of features for price. shipped well no damage bike is heavy for being aluminum overall a great bike

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gonzoal
Santa Barbara, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews