Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 356 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

356 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

356 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
198
4 stars
93
3 stars
28
2 stars
13
1 stars
24
1-20 of 228 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 228 total reviews
1-20 of 228 reviews
EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE!!
12/17/2012

Customer review by szizorhands

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by szizorhands
by szizorhands

This TomTom was my first GPS. I owned it for 2 years. I loved it but it was stolen out of my glovebox. So I am getting ready to purchase my second one. (the first was a gift to me) It was very easy to learn how to use it. The free updates are a big deal. My mom has a different brand and she has to pay for her updates once a year. I love the window mount. It's easy to put on and take off. One other feature that I love is when you are driving it shows the roadway ahead so if you aren't sure which lane to stay or which way to turn ahead it shows you in arrows. It also tells you way ahead stay to the right/left and how far ahead to the next way your are going. It is very well lit at night also. You can change the volume & mute. I didn't have any problems using the screen that shows you store/business locations in the area you are in. I used my TomTom so much when I was going on long distance road trips by myself and never got lost. It also shows the toll roads & other routes without tolls. It tells you your speed you are driving and many other things. EXCELLENT PRODUCT ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE.

Was this review helpful? (91) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
szizorhands
Marco Island, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great for my needs - easy to use
7/15/2013

Customer review by Kc0tcu

5.0 stars 7/15/2013 by Kc0tcu
by Kc0tcu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although I haven't read the manual to see what all it does, it's easy enough to use just by typing in an address. I'd like to know about all of the 'IPO' features, but probably need a 'young person' to show me the ropes. Still haven't mounted it because I can't figure out how it releases from the suction cup. But love the fact that it's portable. I use it in my older vehicles thru the cigarette lighter; the newer vehicle thru the USB port. I chose the carrying case as my 'free gift' and really glad I did. It fits in my purse - rather than leave it in the car. The most difficult thing was updating the map for the first time - on my computer. Just finding the download was confusing for me and then - it took hours. My computer kept going into 'sleep' mode - and the download would abort. Finally I played music from my computer's media player - which kept the computer from going to sleep. So, most of my trouble was from 'ID10t' error - and I have nothing but good feelings for the TomTom.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kc0tcu
Northwest Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT! AWESOME ADD-ONS!
10/23/2015

Customer review by Hannah8610

5.0 stars 10/23/2015 by Hannah8610
by Hannah8610

I purchased this TomTom as a companion for my first (and current) car, my '02 Mitsubishi Eclipse. I am updating the maps as I type this, and I must point out some cool features that I have just noticed with TomTom Home (the program you use to update your maps and other features). I just downloaded a Startup Screen image, with the TomTom logo and Hello Kitty on it, to make this device my own. (I'm 23, don't judge me lol) and for my Shutoff Screen image, I have a winged star that says, "...see you!" You can download many images like the ones I did, and possibly steal something cool from Google Images, or use your best wedding or BFF photos, as well. I have also noticed that there are different voice downloads, (some cost money, might I add) like Yoda and Darth Vader, the original KITT (Two Thousand) and much more. I have received all of the free map updates so far, and I have had this since October of 2012, if that says anything. I love it, and don't plan on getting rid of it anytime soon!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hannah8610
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better GPS option
12/21/2012

Customer review by Zipcy

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Zipcy
by Zipcy
Walmart associate

I was looking for a GPS after my old Garmin Nuvi was stopped working when I went to a road trip. I got the great deal from walmart.com on this TomTom GPS with 5'' and lifetime map updates. I am using this from past 2 weeks and I like the advanced lane guidance option and it is great product to use for road trips.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zipcy
Foster City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Outstanding GPS
1/15/2013

Customer review by skip77

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by skip77
by skip77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this TomTom the day after Christmas for the online special price $69. The unit arrived with its own mount for the windshield or dash and its own charger cord. I plugged it in and it worked immediately. I followed instructions to set up the free map updates on my pc - no problems or issues - it updated the maps and added several additional features free of charge. Couldn't ask for beter - highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skip77
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great GPS
1/17/2013

Customer review by C1239

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by C1239
by C1239
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently used this to navigate through the Brooklyn and the Bronx to avoid traffic on the highway. It was amazing, it never lost the signal between buildings.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
C1239
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bang for the buck!
1/20/2013

Customer review by WmtSiteToStoreShopper

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by WmtSiteToStoreShopper
by WmtSiteToStoreShopper

I have had several gps units over the years but this is my first Tom Tom unit. My previous unit had traffic, but I didn't get much use out of that feature. This unit calculates and recalculates routes fairly fast, the screen is bright and you don't have to press the screen very hard when communicating with the unit. The lifetime map feature is always useful. I find the spoken directions/street names to be fairly clear and loud. As your traveling speed increases, the volume also increases. If you exceed the specified speed limit, the screen color in the corner of the screen where the actual and local speed are displayed turns red. When you approach an intersection where a turn is involved the unit does a good job of zooming in on the intersection and also the oversized directional turn arrow gives clarity to the turn ahead. Every gps device has its plus/minus points. On this one, I think the windshield mount is ok, but if the unit could be mounted with one hand rather than two that would be nice. A quick mount/release with a built in power cord connection would be great. The points of interest feature is good. But when your looking for the poi and typing in the letters, the unit should speak the letters back to you as they are entered. For some reason it can't locate my local Home Depot store yet it can find McDonals without any problem. The Home Depot has been located there for many many years but maybe it can't be found since it is located in a shopping center rather than as a standalone store. My old gps does find The Home Depot without any problem. I also like the fact that when driving a route, the street currently being traveled on is displayed towards the bottom of the screen and the next turn or street is displayed towards the top of the screen. Note that if you loose the spoken street names, check your voice selection. Not all supplied voices will speak the street names. This unitl also allows the input of long/lat coordinates if that feature is useful to you. The unit is suppose to show the speed cameras but I haven't come across any of them yet. I also haven't used the gas pricing (1-year trial) feature yet. I found the unit/map computer interface to work fine.

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WmtSiteToStoreShopper
North Olmsted, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
$120 worth of GPS for (now almost) half that
2/19/2013

Customer review by Reddoc

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by Reddoc
by Reddoc

Be sure to enable all three free service codes (lifetime maps, one year of fuel pricing updates, one year free roadside assistance). The one for free roadside assistance uses a different website than the others. The gas price database is extremely useful and could save you a lot on your fuel bill. The "lane guidance" feature is nice and assures you you're not in an exit only lane at the wrong time. It has a lot of options to configure things to your tastes and its POI database is of excellent quality. Their customer support was quick and resolved an complex problem (beware the free recorded voices, at least one has a bug). I gave it 4/5 on expectations because usually you can select UK English as a computer voice (one that speaks street names) as well as US, but on this model only US "Susan" is provided. Overall an excellent value. This unit sells for $120 on other online stores and is a good deal even at that price vs. competing models.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reddoc
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good size and arrangements. cable too short
1/4/2013

Customer review by gofastforward

4.0 stars 1/4/2013 by gofastforward
by gofastforward
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything seems to be good, just like my old Tom Tom (3.5in, which stopped receiving signals after a few years). The USP cable is quite short.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gofastforward
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy!
2/21/2013

Customer review by Uktraveller

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by Uktraveller
by Uktraveller
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am from the UK and come to the US a lot for travelling. The cost of this GPS is about the same as renting one for a week so it's easy to justify the cost. It has all I need and more. To those who say that it does not do some things, I say, look at what you have got, press some buttons and look at the options!! You CAN select the type of journey (avoid highways, avoid tolls) and you can ask it to do that at the start of each route planning task. There's no problem sticking to the windscreen (if you look at how to lock it on with the turn screw) and the display is bright, large and clear. You can change the voice (and get loads more online downloaded from Tom Tom). The free map updates are fantastic and I have already downloaded the latest (but it did take 1.5 hours). I have used the unit quite a lot most days since I bought it and it has never failed me. The number of built in POI's are huge and easy to access. The lane assist function works great for the huge US roads and shows you exactly the lane layout ahead at traffic lights for example so you know well in advance what lane to be in. All, in all, I am delighted with the purchase and the service I received from Wal Mart. Eleven out of ten so far....

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Uktraveller
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't beat it fior the price
1/17/2013

Customer review by pottyjoe

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by pottyjoe
by pottyjoe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It took a while to update it online ,but it works great so far. Easy to see screen , turn by turn voice directions. The route adjusts itself if you miss a turn. Good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pottyjoe
Clinton Township MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice GPS for the price
12/19/2012

Customer review by Dragonfly725

4.0 stars 12/19/2012 by Dragonfly725
by Dragonfly725
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice GPS but, the website should list box contents. I bought this as a bundle w/my choice of a case or dash mount. Well since the box contents weren't listed a chose the dash mount and after I received it I learned it is too big and will not work on my dash. Disappointing to me that had I known there was a window mount in the box I would have chose the case instead.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dragonfly725
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The TomTom Start 50M 5" Vehicle GPS is a good buy.
1/23/2013

Customer review by Mooshah

4.0 stars 1/23/2013 by Mooshah
by Mooshah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The voice is mostly clear and understandable. The picture is great. You cannot beat the lifetime map updates for the price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mooshah
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/20/2012

Customer review by rebelsoul69

4.0 stars 12/20/2012 by rebelsoul69
by rebelsoul69
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this as a gift and the person i got it for loves it. Price was fair and order came within like 2 days.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rebelsoul69
Clarkston, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/9/2012

Customer review by nugget91451

4.0 stars 12/9/2012 by nugget91451
by nugget91451

this is as good as any other GPS. Great price. Just be sure to check your invoice. My case was supposed to be free as part of the bundle but I was charged $6.00 for it on my invoice.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nugget91451
Goldsboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
JUNK!!!!!
10/14/2014

Customer review by JetAV8R

1.0 stars 10/14/2014 by JetAV8R
by JetAV8R

I had mine just a few weeks over a year and it suddenly died just before starting a 500 mile trip. Pulled my old Garmin out of the glove box and continued. When I got back home I started the trouble shooting process on the tomtom website (which consisted of only power button resetting) but it was still absolutely DEAD. Called customer support and they told me that since I was out of warranty (barely 3 weeks !) there was nothing they could do. Since I am an Electrical Engineer I decided to take it apart and see if I could bring it back to life. The problem was a defective circuit board so I called customer support again to see if I could at least get a replacement board. NOW, they said they could have sent me a new unit if only I hadn't opened it!!!! They will obviously say anything to weasel out of supporting their defective products. What good are free lifetime map updates if their junk only last a year?!? Bad products, horrible customer service!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JetAV8R
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
LOVE it !
12/20/2012

Customer review by oooo

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by oooo
by oooo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Lifetime maps are a necessity with all the road changes. Speech is good. Shows upcoming crossroads quicker than other gps when run at same time to compare. Used on a foggy day on familiar roads. Would have been lost without it. Display is large and clear.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oooo
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected
2/2/2013

Customer review by RGRACE45

2.0 stars 2/2/2013 by RGRACE45
by RGRACE45
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although this model has improved features which I like over my old Tom Tom (more bells and whistles), for the life of me I can't get used to to changing positions of the directional arrow, it's all over the place (sometimes my new unit has the directional arrow indicator going up the screen where left is left and right is right but then it may be coming down the screen and left is right and right is left or then maybe across the screen. I can't focus or orientate my mind to keep up the proper relationship of my vehicles position in regards to the direction of travel. I've changed the menu position option from vertical to horizontal several times withonly slight improvement. On my old Tom Tom, left was always left, right was always right, up the screen was going forward where it always remained, screen view was constantly adjusting to stay in alignment with the directional arrow thus I always knew my vehicles position relative to direction of travel. I'm wondering if there are others out there experiencing the same problem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RGRACE45
WEST MIFFLIN, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dollar for Dollar, Better Than a Garmin
2/19/2013

Customer review by AustinKonga

4.0 stars 2/19/2013 by AustinKonga
by AustinKonga
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had 2 Garmins (4 inch) in the past and have loved them both. I have been looking for a Garmin 5 inch model but had not seen any good deals. I saw this unit for sixty bucks and decided to give it a try. After all sixty is a steal and Walmart's return policy is pretty good. Well after a few days with the unit, I will NOT be going to customer service for a refund. It is a very nice unit. Nice clear display. Good feel...solid and well made. Audio is clear and for sure loud enough. Operation (trip planning and execution) is accurate. Windshield mount is good and the cable is long enough for positioning of the unit almost anywhere. Software and the update process for maps and firmware is good. Voices are limited (compared to Garmin) but I am not dating the thing, just get me from A to B. A pleasant surprise is the voice guidance in this unit is not as annoying as the Garmin's. It does not bark out "recalculating" every minute if you change the route on your own. It just recalculates and displays new directions. This would have been a 5 star all the way around, but it only includes maps of the USA. No Canada, which I would have liked to have since I fish there a lot.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AustinKonga
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/16/2013

Customer review by claww1

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by claww1
by claww1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought the TomTom start 50M 5" because my other tomtom ( refurlished) quit working on my favoites and some other settings and I was getting ready to take a trip so bought this tomtom wow much better then the old one and what a deal on the price, lots more features glad I made this choice

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
claww1
altoona pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 228 total reviews
1-20 of 228 reviews