Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 355 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

355 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

355 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
197
4 stars
93
3 stars
28
2 stars
13
1 stars
24
1-20 of 227 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews
EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE!!
12/17/2012

Customer review by szizorhands

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by szizorhands
by szizorhands

This TomTom was my first GPS. I owned it for 2 years. I loved it but it was stolen out of my glovebox. So I am getting ready to purchase my second one. (the first was a gift to me) It was very easy to learn how to use it. The free updates are a big deal. My mom has a different brand and she has to pay for her updates once a year. I love the window mount. It's easy to put on and take off. One other feature that I love is when you are driving it shows the roadway ahead so if you aren't sure which lane to stay or which way to turn ahead it shows you in arrows. It also tells you way ahead stay to the right/left and how far ahead to the next way your are going. It is very well lit at night also. You can change the volume & mute. I didn't have any problems using the screen that shows you store/business locations in the area you are in. I used my TomTom so much when I was going on long distance road trips by myself and never got lost. It also shows the toll roads & other routes without tolls. It tells you your speed you are driving and many other things. EXCELLENT PRODUCT ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE.

Was this review helpful? (91) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
szizorhands
Marco Island, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good bang for the buck!
1/20/2013

Customer review by WmtSiteToStoreShopper

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by WmtSiteToStoreShopper
by WmtSiteToStoreShopper

I have had several gps units over the years but this is my first Tom Tom unit. My previous unit had traffic, but I didn't get much use out of that feature. This unit calculates and recalculates routes fairly fast, the screen is bright and you don't have to press the screen very hard when communicating with the unit. The lifetime map feature is always useful. I find the spoken directions/street names to be fairly clear and loud. As your traveling speed increases, the volume also increases. If you exceed the specified speed limit, the screen color in the corner of the screen where the actual and local speed are displayed turns red. When you approach an intersection where a turn is involved the unit does a good job of zooming in on the intersection and also the oversized directional turn arrow gives clarity to the turn ahead. Every gps device has its plus/minus points. On this one, I think the windshield mount is ok, but if the unit could be mounted with one hand rather than two that would be nice. A quick mount/release with a built in power cord connection would be great. The points of interest feature is good. But when your looking for the poi and typing in the letters, the unit should speak the letters back to you as they are entered. For some reason it can't locate my local Home Depot store yet it can find McDonals without any problem. The Home Depot has been located there for many many years but maybe it can't be found since it is located in a shopping center rather than as a standalone store. My old gps does find The Home Depot without any problem. I also like the fact that when driving a route, the street currently being traveled on is displayed towards the bottom of the screen and the next turn or street is displayed towards the top of the screen. Note that if you loose the spoken street names, check your voice selection. Not all supplied voices will speak the street names. This unitl also allows the input of long/lat coordinates if that feature is useful to you. The unit is suppose to show the speed cameras but I haven't come across any of them yet. I also haven't used the gas pricing (1-year trial) feature yet. I found the unit/map computer interface to work fine.

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WmtSiteToStoreShopper
North Olmsted, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding GPS
1/15/2013

Customer review by skip77

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by skip77
by skip77

Got this TomTom the day after Christmas for the online special price $69. The unit arrived with its own mount for the windshield or dash and its own charger cord. I plugged it in and it worked immediately. I followed instructions to set up the free map updates on my pc - no problems or issues - it updated the maps and added several additional features free of charge. Couldn't ask for beter - highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skip77
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better GPS option
12/21/2012

Customer review by Zipcy

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Zipcy
by Zipcy

I was looking for a GPS after my old Garmin Nuvi was stopped working when I went to a road trip. I got the great deal from walmart.com on this TomTom GPS with 5'' and lifetime map updates. I am using this from past 2 weeks and I like the advanced lane guidance option and it is great product to use for road trips.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zipcy
Foster City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Nice GPS for the price
12/19/2012

Customer review by Dragonfly725

4.0 stars 12/19/2012 by Dragonfly725
by Dragonfly725

Nice GPS but, the website should list box contents. I bought this as a bundle w/my choice of a case or dash mount. Well since the box contents weren't listed a chose the dash mount and after I received it I learned it is too big and will not work on my dash. Disappointing to me that had I known there was a window mount in the box I would have chose the case instead.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dragonfly725
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great GPS
1/17/2013

Customer review by C1239

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by C1239
by C1239

I recently used this to navigate through the Brooklyn and the Bronx to avoid traffic on the highway. It was amazing, it never lost the signal between buildings.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
C1239
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/9/2012

Customer review by nugget91451

4.0 stars 12/9/2012 by nugget91451
by nugget91451

this is as good as any other GPS. Great price. Just be sure to check your invoice. My case was supposed to be free as part of the bundle but I was charged $6.00 for it on my invoice.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nugget91451
Goldsboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
good size and arrangements. cable too short
1/4/2013

Customer review by gofastforward

4.0 stars 1/4/2013 by gofastforward
by gofastforward

Everything seems to be good, just like my old Tom Tom (3.5in, which stopped receiving signals after a few years). The USP cable is quite short.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gofastforward
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't beat it fior the price
1/17/2013

Customer review by pottyjoe

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by pottyjoe
by pottyjoe

It took a while to update it online ,but it works great so far. Easy to see screen , turn by turn voice directions. The route adjusts itself if you miss a turn. Good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pottyjoe
Clinton Township MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/20/2012

Customer review by rebelsoul69

4.0 stars 12/20/2012 by rebelsoul69
by rebelsoul69

Bought this as a gift and the person i got it for loves it. Price was fair and order came within like 2 days.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rebelsoul69
Clarkston, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The TomTom Start 50M 5" Vehicle GPS is a good buy.
1/23/2013

Customer review by Mooshah

4.0 stars 1/23/2013 by Mooshah
by Mooshah

The voice is mostly clear and understandable. The picture is great. You cannot beat the lifetime map updates for the price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mooshah
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/17/2012

Customer review by BigJon1

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by BigJon1
by BigJon1

Great unit but difficult to find product information for. Wish that Walmart would not have manufacturers like Tom Tom assign special model or P/N's to units they put on special as doing so makes it almost impossible to get product info from either party. Had to go into Walmart store to look at the product package to view the included features. Have been trying to find a way to make the unit have to location "pointer", point in the up position rather that have north "up" and the "pointer" point in the actual direction relative to north. Value was very good considering it has life time map updates for the price paid which was less than an advertised special for the unit to be bought in the store!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigJon1
NY State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE it !
12/20/2012

Customer review by oooo

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by oooo
by oooo

Lifetime maps are a necessity with all the road changes. Speech is good. Shows upcoming crossroads quicker than other gps when run at same time to compare. Used on a foggy day on familiar roads. Would have been lost without it. Display is large and clear.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oooo
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy on this GPS
2/13/2013

Customer review by BIGPOPC

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by BIGPOPC
by BIGPOPC

I'd been thinking about finally getting a GPS. I'd looked at GARMINS AND TOM TOM's primarily. After doing comparisons on price,features and reading reviews, I choose the TOM TOM. It was actually very simple to set up.While it came with basically no instruction manual, just go to TOMTOM.COM and set up an account and download your maps etc from there. Once all is downloaded, the actual set up in easy, just go to settings and walk through it you can't mess up but if you do, just redo it. I even found a "vehicle" that looks like mine. It's pretty accurate as fair as directions go. So for my "money" I think it's a good choice.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIGPOPC
N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/16/2013

Customer review by claww1

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by claww1
by claww1

Bought the TomTom start 50M 5" because my other tomtom ( refurlished) quit working on my favoites and some other settings and I was getting ready to take a trip so bought this tomtom wow much better then the old one and what a deal on the price, lots more features glad I made this choice

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
claww1
altoona pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Quality, Good Price, Lifetime Maps
1/29/2013

Customer review by Fleet1

4.0 stars 1/29/2013 by Fleet1
by Fleet1

Bought this Tom Tom GPS to replace a 6 year old GPS that was getting old. Good quality, good price and you can not beat the free Lifetime free map updates. Lower end model that will meet your everday needs.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fleet1
South Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
merchandise specific for Black Friday
12/21/2012

Customer review by SightLand

3.0 stars 12/21/2012 by SightLand
by SightLand

watered down features compare to other TomTom. $10 more will buy you traditional TomTom with all the features.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SightLand
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/12/2013

Customer review by Survivor4three

3.0 stars 1/12/2013 by Survivor4three
by Survivor4three

Had an older TomTom that I liked much better..this one does not "re-route" as fast as the older one did and the directions are not as reliable and it waits to direct you at the last minute once you are about to pass where you are supposed to turn.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Survivor4three
Fort Worth Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very happy with this GPS
1/15/2013

Customer review by mgmayor

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by mgmayor
by mgmayor

The size of the screen makes it easy to read as driving. The only thing we haven't found on it yet is a mute button, so we can turn her off when we don't want to hear her. The lane markings on the highway are very helpful. You are never what side of highway you should be on.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mgmayor
St. Louis, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super deal on a great TomTom GPS from Walmart!
1/4/2013

Customer review by Child6

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Child6
by Child6

A super great price for a 5" TomTom GPS! This is my 3rd TomTom and it was not quite as easy to set up as my others were...mainly because it didn't include much documentation. Also, it seems a little slower at loading or recalculating than my others, but haven't given it a true road trip test yet (have only used it in my local area). So far, I can't complain very much when I think of the great price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Child6
Child6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews