Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2473 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

2473 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

2473 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1578
4 stars
711
3 stars
104
2 stars
43
1 stars
37
1-20 of 2221 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2221 total reviews
1-20 of 2221 reviews
wellllll.....Being a laptop buff....
1/13/2013

Customer review by bach1

2.0 stars 1/13/2013 by bach1
by bach1

I bought this as a "fill-in" for my back office...is ok...price was ok...has windows 8 which is quite iffy....pain in the neck but can work with it or around it....sure has a lot of quirks in it...but THE BIGGEST PROBLEM WITH THE LAPTOP ITSELF IS.....THE KEYBOARD CURSER!!!! IT JUMPS ALL OVER THE PLACE - AT WILL!!!! Not sure what this is all about....have been to the tech site and forums and seems it is a prevalent problem with these Dells....so not sure if I am going to keep this or not....time will tell....have only had a month and am quite annoyed at typing something and having to retype it over and over again....so am using my mac and other tower Dell to take care of business. I have tried to change settings on the touch pad and other settings regarding the curser, etc...but has had little or no effect....so, again...we shall see if this issue will be resolved by Dell or if this laptop model is junk...and beyond fixing....until then...I would not recommend this to a friend....if the curser did not have these problems, it would be a fine laptop pc for the price.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bach1
sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Great laptop, very fast
12/25/2012

Customer review by loegnin

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by loegnin
by loegnin

I took this laptop out of the box, let it charge for a couple hours, then turned it on. It was very simple to set up and only took a couple of minutes. If you don't like how windows 8 works you can just go to the desktop and it is a lot like windows 7. It said it had a dual core processor but came with a quad core. It is a great laptop and its very fast. It has a nice screen and the back is shiny, but you can't see fingerprints on it, if that's a big deal for you. Right now I can't find anything wrong with it. This laptop is definitely worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loegnin
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Inspiron 1545 is an Ideal For Everyone_!
6/15/2009

Customer review by DunNo_guY

4.0 stars 6/15/2009 by DunNo_guY
by DunNo_guY

For me, this Inspiron 1545 Laptop is awesome but it still not the perfect... It had a nice outlook design, wide screen(15.6”, ideal for movie and video), quick start up, handy quick start menu on desktop, easy to use, good performance especially for presentation and good graphics for gaming. It doesn't create any problem as i using it to play games. It runs very smooth. However, it still have lots of rooms to be improve... The bettery life could be improve as everyone is saying. Webcam is definately, it was quite dark. And the speaker is not really that pretty good. As i listening some rock songs that day, the songs doesn't sound so clear. The touch pad, as reported by many, is indeed a bit too touchy. Last thing is the USB plugs. 3 USB plugs is quite few. Other than that, i think Inspiron 1545 is an Ideal For Everyone... The price also reasonable (IF you want a cheap laptop but good quality, i suggest you make your own laptop!!)... Anyway, hope these tips can help those want buy Inspiron 1545. Tq.

DunNo_guY
Tawau, Sabah, Malaysia.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic!
1/26/2013

Customer review by pugerson

5.0 stars 1/26/2013 by pugerson
by pugerson

The Dell Obsidian is exactly what I was looking for. I brought it home, plugged it in and used it for 5 hours straight. I have read some reviews saying that the cursor is jumpy when composing emails and such. I am a mouse user and was having this issue, then I remembered to turn off the touchpad, no more issues. As for Windows 8, I don't care for it. The Win8 app screen is easily bypassed by using the desktop screen. I used the IE to download Firefox and have it set up exactly like it I have it on my desktop computer. I love everything about this laptop and would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pugerson
Ironton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Awesome Machine
12/7/2012

Customer review by ceege1

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by ceege1
by ceege1

I bought the Dell Obsidian with the 6GB ram, what a great value paid 389.00. I have had no problem at all the only concern I have is the key board mouse pad is a bit sensitive. But overall it works great and boots up very fast.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ceege1
Lowell, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Low quality enclosure
10/25/2010

Customer review by heidellsg

3.0 stars 10/25/2010 by heidellsg
by heidellsg

Ive been a long time Dell customer, ive bought several pcs, from desktops to laptop. But one day i bought the Dell Inspiron 1545 and man it was real nice the first few months. After 5 or 6 months of use the right lower side of the screen start cracking and making noises every time i move the laptop (i mean the plastic) i also have been experiencing really annoying issues with pointer pad and its buttons. Sometimes it just stops working and i have to wait 3 to 10 sec before it start working again also the buttons do whatever and whenever they want. The laptop overall performance is good, the plastic in the outside is good as well, but the plastic inside is awful (including the buttons in the pointer device. If money is tight then you may consider this system since for the money you get good performance, but if you have a few bucks more to spend then look for the Studio, XPS and the complete line up for small businesses.

heidellsg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great computer.
1/7/2013

Customer review by shoppingeducator

4.0 stars 1/7/2013 by shoppingeducator
by shoppingeducator
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This computer was bought for my husband who only uses the computer to surf the net. However, there are many features this computer offers for the value. It has a Intel CoreI3 which is a good processor, however Windows 8 takes some time to get use to. The weight and color is fine for him. I actually have more programs on my personal lap, but I love what this computer is capable of doing. You cannot beat the price for what you receive. One suggestion though, the product codes for the trial versions need to be included in order to work. Do not include games for Xbox live, what happened to the regular computer games that all computers used to include?

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoppingeducator
Augusta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My new laptop
4/29/2010

Customer review by LANDONLEO28

5.0 stars 4/29/2010 by LANDONLEO28
by LANDONLEO28

It fast like I need it, spacey and efficient, it's in one of my colors all over dark black I just love it. I use it every day and every night it does all I want and more and still discovering more things about it, my cousins are all green with envy of me and the 1545; it's just proficient, I LOVE MY LAPTOP!!!!:)

LANDONLEO28
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent laptop, but not perfect
8/8/2009

Customer review by UltraDell

4.0 stars 8/8/2009 by UltraDell
by UltraDell

I just got it a couple days ago. It's a good system for the price, just be aware that you will most likely want to add options such as a webcam and bluetooth. I opted for the 900p screen upgrade, which makes things a lot sharper and is not offered by many manufacturers. Using a DisplayLink adapter, I can also hook it up to 2 external monitors. PROS: -Allows you to customize so you get what you want and not what you don't need -Windows 7 Release Candidate works well, except the Dell Quickset drivers (shows onscreen volume/brightness/media when you adjust) still aren't working properly. Likely a future fix though. -Good US keyboard layout for Canada (not crummy bilingual keyboard with short enter key) -Not too heavy for a 15", decent build quality -Simple, clean design CONS: -NO INDICATOR LIGHTS: No light for HDD, wifi, bluetooth, caps lock, etc. What was Dell thinking? But I installed a HDD indicator on my taskbar called DriveGLEAM which does the job in a pinch. Good thinking on my part... -F keys (F1, F2...) don't work unless you hold the Fn key first. An easy fix in the bios, reverse it so they work as normal. -colors cost extra: Seems like a cash grab, only get it if you REALLY like a certain color. Black is good enough for me. -No HDMI port: They should at least offer it as a video upgrade, too bad it's not an option. -No eSATA/firewire: Although they make ones that fit in the ExpressCard slot, which I may buy later. -For the size, they probably could have fit a number pad beside the keyboard, but not a big deal. CONCLUSION: Overall it's a good budget laptop, which allows you to customize with what you need (except HDMI). The lack of a HDD indicator light can be disconcerting, but this can be somewhat remedied (see above). Not perfect but good for the price, although I would get the Studio 15 if I had more cash. That one seems to have all the advantages and less disadvantages than this one.

UltraDell
Toronto, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Product, but minor issues
9/8/2010

Customer review by AMG2010

4.0 stars 9/8/2010 by AMG2010
by AMG2010

Pros: This is a very nice product, with all the color choices and plenty of upgrades. I chose this Inspiron in white! I will be honest in saying that if you are thinking about the white but questioning it getting dirty or marked easily, I would say don't worry about it. It looks really nice and no marks at all. Although, FYI, this computer really shows the fingerprints, so it needs to be cleaned off a lot if that stufff bothers you. Overall, a great computer for daily use. Cons: I must say I am a little upset about the beginning of my experience with Windows 7. Be very careful what you put on the computer! I have a DSLR and when putting my programs on the computer it caused major problems (enough for me to be on the phone with Dell for over 2 hours; and result in clearing all that was on the computer since I got it and starting from scratch.) Also, I am having some real concerns about the touchpad. After a few hours of use, the touchpad goes wild, jumping all over the screen; then I just restarted the computer and it seems to work ok after that. Other than a few technical issues, overall this seems to be a fairly nice product!

AMG2010
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ubuntu 15n
6/10/2010

Customer review by Shondy

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by Shondy
by Shondy

I love it. I did repartition the drive and loaded Lucid Lynx 10.04 64 bit rather than the provided 32 bit Karmic provided with the system. I did this to take advantage of the higher RAM available and, well, because I can. I love it had zero problems with the OS, the system is up and running within a minute that is including log in and the wireless connection being made. I have added the blue-tooth module to the system as well with no problems love the a2dp connection for stereo. And it is snappy, High end users might over power this system, but dual core 2.2 Ghz and 2 Mb cache keeps things moving along with minimal fuss. On board speakers are a bit weak but not enough to worry about. The lack of lights is really sort of fun and keeps the system very clean looking. Ubuntu has plenty of system monitoring tools that lights are not needed to monitor any activity. I also got the WLED screen THIS IS A MUST! it is BRIGHT and I do mean bright I usually leave it at less than half brightness but going outside I can turn it up easily on sunny days. I am ver pleased with this purchase and plan to buy a Windows Version for my wife later this year.

Shondy
Bloomington, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far - not bad
2/26/2010

Customer review by ChelleChelle

4.0 stars 2/26/2010 by ChelleChelle
by ChelleChelle

Not bad - better than I expected. I had to get this because it was within the price that I was willing to spend. I needed a new laptop quick and fast because my other laptop (also a Dell) screen blow. The only way that one worked was if I hooked it up to the TV. Which led me to be confined to one spot in the house. So, I ordered this one because I need it for school. The screen is larger than I thought and has great clarity. Easy to use, however, I had to do some major digging to find out how to make it stop from autofocusing. It would zoom in and out unexpectedly, and it didn't offer a solution within the manual - so I had to go on to website to find a resolution. The delivery was super quick too, it came before the due date. Overall, not a bad computer, I would give it a 4-1/2 stars but not a complete 5.

ChelleChelle
Durham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great and fast laptop
1/18/2013

Customer review by handsome70

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by handsome70
by handsome70
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The laptop is fast and its touchable on the mouse pad so i use the mouse and regular keyboard and its good windows 8 which it took me a while to learn how to use windows 8...It is not touchscreen its only touchable on the mouse pad on the laptop.....Otherwise its a very good laptop and yes i recommend this to anyone

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
handsome70
Milton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Computer
2/7/2013

Customer review by Sparksters

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by Sparksters
by Sparksters
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A must have computer for day to day usage. Excellent construction and fast. So many computers are made with cheesy materials. Plus, not having the keypad on the side is a bonus for some of us. All in all a great buy and does not come with preloaded junk.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sparksters
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not luxurious, but loaded computer!
1/8/2010

Customer review by AnElectricalEngineer

5.0 stars 1/8/2010 by AnElectricalEngineer
by AnElectricalEngineer

Pros This computer is not fancy, but fast, modest, and loaded in its function. The very fast booting and shut-down save me a lot of time. Dell made a nice effort to help the initial setup and the computer was ready to use after following the step-by-step guidance. This computer is quiet and not heating up. Integrated Webcam was a nice option to have. I am happy with the performance. Cons Although it has a sharp LCD screen, the default color setting didn't look natural. I had to lower the brightness of 'blue' to make it look more natural. The screen quality looks depending on viewing angle. It does not have a latch for the screen, but may not be needed anyway Review This computer has performance, though it is not luxurious. I am happy with the performance, quietness, and modest design.

AnElectricalEngineer
California, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A nice computer
1/4/2013

Customer review by 11noneofyourbusiness

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by 11noneofyourbusiness
by 11noneofyourbusiness
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for the Wife for Christmas. It's a good computer for the money. She's getting used to Windows 8 and it seems to be running well so far.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
11noneofyourbusiness
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dell OWNS All!
8/15/2010

Customer review by Tempermentalist

3.0 stars 8/15/2010 by Tempermentalist
by Tempermentalist

Pros: Great and sleek laptop with awesome WIFI connection and reliability. Long battery life, 5 hours. Fast CPU speeds and loads of memory for all the music, videos, and picture needs!! Receives way better internet connection than my desktop computer, if placed in the same location. Cons: If you're into computer games from the 2007-present era, this laptop is not for you. The reason I say this is because the video card is not up to date. I am a computer game fein and I've been wanting to play Starcraft 2 since it just came out but I can't because my video card is sooooo outdated and I don't have enough money to afford a new laptop or even a better video card. Review: If you want a laptop that is fast with loads of memory and battery life then this is the laptop for you.

Tempermentalist
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
They got it right
5/10/2010

Customer review by PoconoPat

4.0 stars 5/10/2010 by PoconoPat
by PoconoPat

I purchased this laptop for my wife as a Mother's Day gift. She used it for less than a week, when the computer froze. When she restarted the PC it said "no bootable drive". To make a long story short: the hard drive was no good. Now I have owned a lot of computers over the years. Anything can go wrong with even the best of them. We contacted Dell's customer support. They were very helpful. We pinpointed the problem: a defective hard drive. They shipped a new one out right away. 2 days later it is up and running. They called several times to see if we were satisfied, and we are. If it wasn't for this glitch I would have rated this laptop 5 stars - especially for the price, but it is very reassuring to know that a competent Dell team is standing behind their products.

PoconoPat
Pocono Mountains, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Inspiron 15 Notebook
8/15/2010

Customer review by ejean12

4.0 stars 8/15/2010 by ejean12
by ejean12

I love my new notebook. First time for Windows 7 Home Premium & Intel Core i3. It is great and wasn't hard to change over from my older Dell notebook. I watch movies on it and also watch tv programs which is great. I play online games and load pictures and music on it. Love the screen & how you can change wallpaper. I use my Dell for personal use since I am retired from a bank and Dell is the best computers you can purchase. I still have a Inspiron 1200 notebook for over 5 years and it is still a very good computer.I recommend to anyone. Thanks DELL...

ejean12
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 1545
6/10/2010

Customer review by Eubie

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by Eubie
by Eubie

I originally bought this model laptop for my wife's anniversary gift, and she likes it so much, we came back a year later to buy one for our niece who is living with us while she finishes school. This laptop has been so reliable and easy to use, that this fall I will be getting one for myself. We have been buying Dell desktops for years and just moved into the laptop arena. The Inspiron line is priced so reasonably nobody should bother to look elsewhere. I just can't say enough positives about these laptops.

Eubie
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 2221 total reviews
1-20 of 2221 reviews