Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
28
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 stars
12
1-20 of 88 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Issues from day one
12/7/2012

Customer review by JitterBug21

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by JitterBug21
by JitterBug21
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The laptop worked fine for one day, then refused to turn on. The little DELL logo screen was all the farther it would go, and then it would just sit there. I called the Dell tech people and after an hour, three people, and a screen sharing session, they had "the issue resolved." From my understanding the laptop needed some updated software, even though it was brand new. Yeah, ok. Other than that annoying bit, the thing works great and is super easy to use. Lightweight and just the right size between not too big and not too small, it's an excellent little machine I will be taking to college with me. The only thing I warn against is that there is no start menu. At least not like older generations. Do your homework before buying this computer, but I'll be the first to admit its simplicity is superb!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JitterBug21
Springfield IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Grt Mahine...But if it solves the boot up issue
12/24/2012

Customer review by SunshineR

4.0 stars 12/24/2012 by SunshineR
by SunshineR

This is my first laptop and I was quite excited to see this model 14z in such an affordable price with grt features.Mine is Inspiron 14z i5 machine. Delivery was quite quick and I was pleased they gave home delivery without any extra charges. Initial set up was ok BUT to my utter disappointment the laptop failed to boot up and stuck at the DELL Logo after the first shut down. I was very tensed because it was just 3 hours after I received the laptop. however I quickly called up dell technical support team and they had resolved the issue very efficiently. In addition to that they also provided me information about the windows 8 Features as it was new for me being an Windows XP user. Now the machine is fine and working as expected. I would still recommend this machine to others BUT I would request DELL Product Team to look for the Permanent Fix for Boot Up issue and could also look into the battery life as this is not as claimed in the specifications. But Still a grt machine... :)

SunshineR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell Enters the Ultrabook Market, Inspiron 14Z
11/21/2012

Customer review by terrynconnct01

3.0 stars 11/21/2012 by terrynconnct01
by terrynconnct01

Based on over 25 years in the IT field, the evolution of the Ultrabook is still in its infancy. My initial experience with the Dell Inspiron 14z was positive with its slim, ultra light design. The performance met and at times exceeded my expectations. Unfortunately, the internal hard drive failed only after several months. Dell responded quickly by dispatching a technician to my home who was unable to properly diagnose the problem which lead to the computer being sent back. I was disappointed that it took over 12 business days to simply diagnose and then replace the hard drive. I opted to re-install the operating system unless I wanted to wait longer for it's return. Since then the system is now performing well but the overall design reveals weak points such as the monitor connection. The overall development of the Dell Ultrabook is going to need further work to deliver a product that will bring it up to the quality standards that Dell has been well known for in the past.

terrynconnct01
Newtown, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.
1/11/2013

Customer review by Azlannnd

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by Azlannnd
by Azlannnd

I recently purchased the badly and so wrongly reviewed 14z inspiron ultrabook. First things first, the reviews got me so worried about the display, but their is nothing wrong with the resolution. Yes, it's a bit less brighter than other notebooks out there, but it is more than good enough. The battery could be a little more, but I usually use it at home, so it's not really a problem for me. But in general, I'd say it lasts around 4 and a half hours. I am awfully pleased with the product. This is my first Dell purchase, and I assure you I will be back for my next! The design is magnificent, and the keyboard is fun to use. Although, I did face one problem. When I turned the lappy on after the first shut down, it wouldn't move past the Dell logo, but all good, nothing the forums couldn't fix. My ultrabook has no problems whatsoever and the speakers are more than satisfying. Great job on this one Dell!

Azlannnd
Melbourne, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good investment with solid performance
10/30/2012

Customer review by CaptainHaven

4.0 stars 10/30/2012 by CaptainHaven
by CaptainHaven

Overall, this is a great computer. My first laptop in college late 90s was an Inspiron and partial since. This of course far surpasses with very high boot speed, processor and response. I love the thin frame, though felt heavier than expected. Quality of monitor and sound good so far. I haven't tried out the webcam or battery-only usage. I'm going overseas for holiday, so we'll see how it fares on long plane trip and Skype calling. I've had a little issue with Wi-fi, but mainly worked great. I did immediately remove their anti-virus before using since I have my own product. Pros: Fast boot and processor; thin; good quality on monitor & sound; solid performance; great portable work laptop for daily use. Cons: Tiny heavier than expected (since I travel); concern of usage with battery-only power even with saver settings; small glitch with Wifi though mainly fixed by removal of anti-virus; unlighted keyboard and touchy keypad even after fixing settings. Overall solid investment and I'm reassured once again in choosing Dell to purchase the Inspiron 14Z UltraBook as my laptop investment.

CaptainHaven
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does Not Boot Up After First Shutdown
11/29/2012

Customer review by Srini12

2.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Srini12
by Srini12

Bought this computer from local store, started up and configured it for first time use. So far so good. Shut it down and started, only to see that the laptop does not pass the DELL Logo Screen. Looks like the Boot Software is hosed. I returned the product to the store and bought a new one, and ran into the same problem. I have been a dell loyalist for many many years and I went a head with Dell for this purchase as I was confident of the quality, but looks like Dell has messed it up big time with this line. The laptop was supposed to come with Adobe Elements and Premeire installed, but I have not seen them for the "brief" period I used the laptop. This has been a biggest dampener of holiday mood as this was bought for the kids use. I see that lot of people have ran into these problems. I am in a fix on to return the system and go for another computer or raise a service desk.

Srini12
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Significant Undisclosed Issue-USB
11/19/2012

Customer review by mlcaron

3.0 stars 11/19/2012 by mlcaron
by mlcaron

I upgraded from an older XPS with 4 USB ports to the Ultrabook which has only 2 USB ports inconveniently located on either side. These are USB 3.0 ports. A USB 2.0 hub does not work on them. I had to call Dell to even get started, and they had to install software remotely since the Dell ports are not backwards compatible. I had also purchased an external drive for backup at the same time. This works much faster with a 3.0 port. So then I set out to acquire a USB 3.0 Hub that can operate off the laptop as did the 2.0. After hours online and calling various vendors, Dell finally informed me that no such thing is available in the market. All that is available are larger, bulkier “hubs” requiring power adaptors. So much for portability. It would have been very nice to have known this in advance since my intent was to go to a fast daily backup, and therefore the existence of portability and useable 3.0 hubs induced me to buy this machine. Be forewarned because Dell will not tell you. You cannot use a 2.0 hub for additional ports. Nor can you get a 3.0 hub that will be portable. There is no solution.

mlcaron
Would recommend to a friend? No
Big power, small package.
6/14/2012

Customer review by OahuBob

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by OahuBob
by OahuBob

The first thing you will notice is how slim the Inspiron 14z is. Next you will notice that it is a little heavier than it looks (yet still very light), but feels solidly built. You will turn it on and marvel at how fast the 14z boots into windows. You'll be even more impressed with the amount of battery life left after watching a streaming HD movie. The Inspiron 14z is a lot of tech in a small package. Pros: - Thin! - Powerful - USB 3.0 and Lightning Bolt support - Good battery life - Cool and quiet - Great multimedia performance - Perfect size... small enough for great portability, yet large enough to do serious work on. - Looks cool and classy Cons: - Keyboard has a bit more flex than I would like, but nothing major - Glossy LCD... though this is more of a personal preference, I prefer matte screens. - Shared mic/headphone port. I need an adapter to use my PC headset.

OahuBob
Middle of the Pacific
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Last Dell I will every buy
8/15/2012

Customer review by DoNotBuyThisLaptop

1.0 stars 8/15/2012 by DoNotBuyThisLaptop
by DoNotBuyThisLaptop

First let me say that this laptop is the 7th Dell I have owned. This is the first time that I feel Dell has really dropped the ball. I bought this to use for school to take back and forth to the campus. The size and weight is perfect for what I was looking for. However, I have had it for about 7 weeks and it has not worked properly for the entire time. I have spent hours on the phone with support and it works for about 20 minutes and then it quits. Now I have been waiting 2 weeks for a part to be delivered and then installed. School starts on Monday and my computer that I bought 7 weeks ago is being used as a paperweight and will not be ready. I will be filing a claim with American Express to get my money back and will be purchasing a laptop from somewhere else with better customer service, probably a mac. Sad to say this will be the last Dell I will every buy.

DoNotBuyThisLaptop
Orlando FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wireless card problem
9/29/2012

Customer review by Parsimonious

1.0 stars 9/29/2012 by Parsimonious
by Parsimonious

I just purchased a Dell Inspiron 14Z and received it today. Within hours of turning it on, I've encountered the same issue with the wireless card identified by other owners. My solution was to delete McAfee (since apparently this is the source of the problem) and replace it with another similar program. Of course this means (a) I'm not using a program which presumably I paid for (a trial version at least) and (b) I have to purchase another program. But at least the wirelss now seems to work. My question is: since this problem has already been brought to Dell's attention, why are they still making and selling this laptop, without first resolving the issue? Where is Dell's quality control in all this? If you want to avoid frustration, don't buy this laptop (which is a shame, given that in other respects, it appears to be a fine unit).

Parsimonious
Would recommend to a friend? No
Super fast computer but don't store anything on it
6/27/2012

Customer review by Txtest

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Txtest
by Txtest

Overall I was very happy with the computer. It was super fast right out of the box due to the solid state drive. 43 seconds from power button to browsing. I'm seriously thinking about swapping out my computer's hard drive for a SSD. It was compact and light as well. I watched several movies on it and the display was great. The quick access buttons were nice but I found I didn't use them very often. I tried the facial recognition software and it worked well at the beginning. After a few dozen logins, it started having issues with my face (pun intended). Rather than go through the facial recognition process, I opted to go the password route. The main issue I had with the computer was it's hard drive storage. After setup, I only had 51GB out of 87GB (128GB SSD) left for files. I have over 100GB of music alone and this computer would not have fit my needs with out some modification or having all my files on a media server (I will eventually). If you're planning on using the laptop as a netbook, it's great, super fast and lightweight. If you plan on using it as a desktop replacement, you may want to find something with a little more storage space.

Txtest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Display is great, boots FAST!
8/24/2012

Customer review by number1coach

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by number1coach
by number1coach

We bought a new 14z, 3rd gen i5, for my son. I was hesitant at first based on reviewers comments that the display was "dim". I went to costco for some hands on time and could not see what they were complaining about. The display is great. Sure there's off-angle viewing issues, but that's a feature of the technology and why look at the display of angle? It's a laptop, so adjust it. I also have to say that this windows 7 machine boots VERY FAST. We have 2 other windows 7 laptops on the house (last years 15R and a 12.1'' M101 mini). Neither of them boots (or reboots) this fast. yes MacAfee is running along with all the default Dell software. I like this machine enough that I might buy another for myself to replace an ancient Lenovo (+5 years old), that still works, but is just old, slow and clunky by comparison.

number1coach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/21/2012

Customer review by Javadi

2.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Javadi
by Javadi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

1-This Laptop has very light and nice looking but, it has basic web-cam with 2 adjustments only. Picture quality is not clear especially in the low backlight areas. 2-I had this Laptop about a week, this morning when I turn laptop on, it did not go pass Dell Logo. I had to shut it down 2times to get it going. 3-The main screen with all icons turns sideway (portrait) Every time I log in. 4-When I click on Yahoo and Google windows, they open up with 4’’x4”window.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Javadi
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is Great if you don't play music.!!!
3/17/2013

Customer review by Dave11

3.0 stars 3/17/2013 by Dave11
by Dave11

It is really great model with so much good things inside it, but if we look at sound-audio it is not even good with compared to other ultrabooks. I dont know whats the issue is there but volume level in this is too low. It don't give satisfaction to me personally. So i would recommend to not to buy this just because i like to play music and videos on laptop. If anyone can be comfortable with this than its great deal and go for this. This is compact and cute looking fast system. I really like its all specifications excepting volume level of speakers. Especially when the speakers are from skullcandy, i was expecting more. But here i have not got even normal audio performance. Its maximum volume is about only 25-30% of other dell systems having lower price. Really too much disappointed with this.

Dave11
Gujarat, India
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dell Inspiron 5423
6/14/2012

Customer review by Trendicoff

3.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Trendicoff
by Trendicoff

The inspiron was a nice machine that with a few changes could have been excellent. The ports were pretty standard, but a little on the sparse side. The keyboard was pleasant t type with but not for extended periods of time. Of course to a traveler like me all of this is very much secondary to 2 main areas of concern: (1) Battery Life and (2) Weight. In the latter category it was wonderful. Truly a light and easily portable machine (although the choice to use plastic compared to some of mac's metal choices may make me change my mind down the line. Where I was disappointed was the battery life. Truly lowering all the settings and just doing basic word processing with the wifi off I was able to eek out 3 and a half hours of battery. I'm honestly not sure what it is these days that gives such poor battery life. My current laptop is an Inspiron 1405 circa 2006. Although I bought the extended battery, when it was new I could easily get 3.25 hours with all the settings up. Yet this new laptop with an SSD and supposedly less power hungry CPU and RAM could barely beat that. It's a beautiful laptop, but if it's made to be portable, a portable paper weight doesn't help -- let's try to fix the battery life.

Trendicoff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Computer
1/2/2013

Customer review by fahmy

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by fahmy
by fahmy

I almost bought a Sony when I found the Inspiron. I love the versatility it has and of course the speed, reliability, and the cool sleek black design. I live in the middle of nowhere with satellite internet and it works better than any other computer I have put on this connection. I have a 60" wide screen this is connected to with HDMI and talk about awesome!! No, I do not do any online gaming. I would have nothing but a Dell, period. Cons I only regret that I did not upgrade to a larger hard drive like 1TB and get the Bluetooth package when I bought this system. I have heard a lot of horror stories about Vista. When I bought this computer I did not want to pay extra for XP. So I thought I would try Vista Home Premium. I love it!! for me XP is the thing of the past now.

fahmy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, but...
9/13/2012

Customer review by Pete14zuser

4.0 stars 9/13/2012 by Pete14zuser
by Pete14zuser

I really want to like this laptop. It is comfortable, quick, light and good display. There is only one real problem, but it is a nagging one: the touch pad buttons require a lot of force and are inconsistent. This makes any kind of text selection, scrolling or moving of items painfully difficult. Unless you use a wireless mouse, you'll need to activate all of the tapping functions for selection, but that won't solve everything. For comparison, the much older Dell Lattitude D620 touchpad buttons are much more responsive. The only other issue I've had is that because of the hybrid SSD drive on my model, making the computer dual boot is time consuming and requires a lot of searching through chat rooms. If they fix the buttons, I'd rate it much, much better.

Pete14zuser
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good, but let down by Wifi
10/23/2012

Customer review by RWoofer

4.0 stars 10/23/2012 by RWoofer
by RWoofer

Ordered this 14Z after returning an XPS 15. Thin, light, performs well and quiet in use. Given the spec for the price this would have scored 5 stars if it wasn't for the Wifi. Problems with the Wifi include: - frequently locks up the connection. Only way to solve is to disable/enable wifi adaptor - v. poor at AP roaming. It seems to hang on to incredibly weak signals to the point of lock up, when a really strong alternative signal on a different channel is only 1 metre away. Wifi adaptor was replaced by Dell very promptly (one of the bonuses of Dell), but Wifi is still a problem. If the Wifi issue is solved I would give this 5 stars again, as it really is an unbeatable Laptop for the price. Dell please hurry up and solve the Wifi issue.

RWoofer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 14z is awesome
3/16/2013

Customer review by willyg

4.0 stars 3/16/2013 by willyg
by willyg

Last week my new Inspiron 14z arrived. I was a little worried by the many previous reviewers who had problems with their devices. In contrast I have had not problems, and the device is fantastic. It boots really fast, without problems, and office 2013 is a nice improvement over 2010. The email setup in outlook is significantly improved. The Inspiron 14z is just the right size, a big enough screen to do real work, but thin and light enough for easy travel. Even with large hands, the keyboard is very comfortable, and the keys have a very good feel. The brushed aluminum finish is very pleasing, and it does not show finger prints like polished plastic. Awesome computer, I'm really pleased that I ignored previous reviews and purchased it.

willyg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good but with minor problems
9/29/2012

Customer review by mint

3.0 stars 9/29/2012 by mint
by mint

I just got my inspiron 14z few days ago. These are the concerns I have so far. Pros: 1. Fast booting and internet speed 2. light weight 3. clear and bright screen Cons: 1. usb port with cover (it doesn't bother me much but I'm afraid of its durability) 2. the speaker doesn't have a good sound system compared to my previous laptop Anyway, I had a problem of playing music by using dell stage (i'm not sure about other music player though) as the musics couldn't be played smoothly (like weirdly kept repeating the same word). This was really annoying. Why would that be, any thoughts? Also, if I purchased Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 before, could I switch back to Microsoft Office Starter (which is included in price)?

mint
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews