Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 88 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Issues from day one

Customer review by JitterBug21

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by JitterBug21
by JitterBug21
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The laptop worked fine for one day, then refused to turn on. The little DELL logo screen was all the farther it would go, and then it would just sit there. I called the Dell tech people and after an hour, three people, and a screen sharing session, they had "the issue resolved." From my understanding the laptop needed some updated software, even though it was brand new. Yeah, ok. Other than that annoying bit, the thing works great and is super easy to use. Lightweight and just the right size between not too big and not too small, it's an excellent little machine I will be taking to college with me. The only thing I warn against is that there is no start menu. At least not like older generations. Do your homework before buying this computer, but I'll be the first to admit its simplicity is superb!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Springfield IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Customer review by Javadi

2.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Javadi
by Javadi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

1-This Laptop has very light and nice looking but, it has basic web-cam with 2 adjustments only. Picture quality is not clear especially in the low backlight areas. 2-I had this Laptop about a week, this morning when I turn laptop on, it did not go pass Dell Logo. I had to shut it down 2times to get it going. 3-The main screen with all icons turns sideway (portrait) Every time I log in. 4-When I click on Yahoo and Google windows, they open up with 4’’x4”window.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Computer

Customer review by fahmy

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by fahmy
by fahmy

I almost bought a Sony when I found the Inspiron. I love the versatility it has and of course the speed, reliability, and the cool sleek black design. I live in the middle of nowhere with satellite internet and it works better than any other computer I have put on this connection. I have a 60" wide screen this is connected to with HDMI and talk about awesome!! No, I do not do any online gaming. I would have nothing but a Dell, period. Cons I only regret that I did not upgrade to a larger hard drive like 1TB and get the Bluetooth package when I bought this system. I have heard a lot of horror stories about Vista. When I bought this computer I did not want to pay extra for XP. So I thought I would try Vista Home Premium. I love it!! for me XP is the thing of the past now.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by AnitaLea

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by AnitaLea
by AnitaLea

I am very pleased overall. It is lightweight, the keyboard and mouse a comfortable. I am having some difficulty with the new Windows 8 that it came with. Set up was easy and without any problems. I have not yet loaded all programs I had on my last laptop but those I have loaded have gone seamlessly.

Flower Mound, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell Inspiron 14z - i3 : Great Experience

Customer review by Peeyush Miglani

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by Peeyush Miglani
by Peeyush Miglani

Great design. Appreciable performance. Boot up time etc. are very good. Works great with Windows 8. Only thing I miss on this one is a right click button on keyboard, which is a personal preference. Based on a two months usage of 8 hrs. per day. Loved it so much, that I have ordered 4 Dell Inspiron 14z i5 after using this one for my friends and family. Thanks Dell.

Peeyush Miglani
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell Actually Sucks at Marketing

Customer review by Macravin

5.0 stars 5/2/2013 by Macravin
by Macravin

This laptop doesn't photograph well. It's much, much more beautiful in real life than it appears here. Applications launch pretty much instantly on the i7 model and it's thinner than one might expect after reading all of the "It's not an ultrabook RAWR!" reviews you can find scattered across the internet. The instant on technology from intel is also far better than I expected. The computer usually turns on in about 1.2 seconds. I saw complaints about the wifi adapter before I bought this, but I have had no such issues. I've seen a lot of complaints about bloatware also, but I have actually never seen a computer so bloatware free. What little bloatware does exist is actually quite good (an application that lets you make recovery media, a store to upgrade internal components, a driver updater, etc). There are a few legitimate issues of course. The keys are unusually spaced out, but it only took a few minutes to get used to. The screen is also quite glossy and therefore hard for people around you to see from angles. The skullcandy speakers are also very cheap and quiet, but I tend to use headphones anyway. Overall, I had thought I was buying a cheap, low-quality computer to carry around for school, but this machine is far better than Dell claimed. Dell needs to spend a little more time on marketing their devices so that people understand how good they really are (and make their computers more photogenic).

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ultra awesome

Customer review by ellsduo

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by ellsduo
by ellsduo

Parents just purchased this system, they LOVE how thin, light, and fast it is compared to their last Dell. Great laptop!!!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Laptop- Great Value

Customer review by TwinsA

5.0 stars 9/1/2012 by TwinsA
by TwinsA

This is my second Inspiron 14Z Ultrabook because the first one arrived DOA. Dell promptly replaced it and the second one is perfect. Here's what I've noticed so far: Pro's: lightweight, compact and nicely styled, fast boot up, bright screen, cool operating & good battery life. Con's: Un-lighted keyboard, and combination microphone/headphone jack. Neither con is a deal breaker but a lighted keyboard like my Mom's XPS 14Z would have been nice but I realize that this is good value for the money.

Ottawa, Ontario CANADA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop

Customer review by svsmith

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by svsmith
by svsmith

Laptop does everything I wanted it to do. It is light weight and fast! The i5 processor is amazing! The screen image is crisp and the sound quality is amazing for such a small computer. I enjoy everything about this laptop! No real cons at this point because it is exactly what I wanted.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little notebook

Customer review by connie8890

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by connie8890
by connie8890

In my opinion, this is a great little notebook. It is small and lightweight but packs a lot into it. PROS: Lightweight, easy to take with you. Has a very long battery life. High quality screen with good resolution. The notebook goes from OFF to up and ready to use very quickly. CONS: Does not have enough USB ports. The speaker location on the bottom of the notebook make the sound seem too low and distorted if you turn it up too loud. REVIEW: If you are looking for a notebook/laptop that is easy to take with you, this is the one for you. The long battery life makes using it on the go great, no need to hunt for an outlet. The high quality resolution makes watching movies exhilarating.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Big power, small package.

Customer review by OahuBob

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by OahuBob
by OahuBob

The first thing you will notice is how slim the Inspiron 14z is. Next you will notice that it is a little heavier than it looks (yet still very light), but feels solidly built. You will turn it on and marvel at how fast the 14z boots into windows. You'll be even more impressed with the amount of battery life left after watching a streaming HD movie. The Inspiron 14z is a lot of tech in a small package. Pros: - Thin! - Powerful - USB 3.0 and Lightning Bolt support - Good battery life - Cool and quiet - Great multimedia performance - Perfect size... small enough for great portability, yet large enough to do serious work on. - Looks cool and classy Cons: - Keyboard has a bit more flex than I would like, but nothing major - Glossy LCD... though this is more of a personal preference, I prefer matte screens. - Shared mic/headphone port. I need an adapter to use my PC headset.

Middle of the Pacific
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ultra book

Customer review by JKlassen

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by JKlassen
by JKlassen

Pros: Very thin Portable Battery Display Cons: Don't know any

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Technology made easy!

Customer review by satisfaction

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by satisfaction
by satisfaction

The Ultrabook was my first new laptop in seven years. I purchased Windows 8. I pulled the laptop out of the box and was able to be on the Internet and reviewing documents in twenty minutes. It was so easy. My past experiences were many hours of loading programs and getting things up and running. Windows 8 was easy to get to know. I love the Ultrabook! It is so light and thin. Technology made easy.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Azlannnd

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by Azlannnd
by Azlannnd

I recently purchased the badly and so wrongly reviewed 14z inspiron ultrabook. First things first, the reviews got me so worried about the display, but their is nothing wrong with the resolution. Yes, it's a bit less brighter than other notebooks out there, but it is more than good enough. The battery could be a little more, but I usually use it at home, so it's not really a problem for me. But in general, I'd say it lasts around 4 and a half hours. I am awfully pleased with the product. This is my first Dell purchase, and I assure you I will be back for my next! The design is magnificent, and the keyboard is fun to use. Although, I did face one problem. When I turned the lappy on after the first shut down, it wouldn't move past the Dell logo, but all good, nothing the forums couldn't fix. My ultrabook has no problems whatsoever and the speakers are more than satisfying. Great job on this one Dell!

Melbourne, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Hummingbrd

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by Hummingbrd
by Hummingbrd

I would like to say this computer is fast and quiet ,It is so easy to use and windows 8 is so perfect ! This really is a great deal for the price and have I said fast it is so fast! A great gift for the teenager going to collage or an upgrade from the desktop . Thank u Dell U have made my life easier!

Desmoines, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine easy to work on

Customer review by DennisCPR

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by DennisCPR
by DennisCPR

Even though battery replacement is a little problem. It is one of the easiest machines to work on. I replaced a LED screen for a customer (very reasonable price led) It was the easiest Screen I have ever replaced! Just pop off the placstic (no screws) and undo w easily accessible screw and the cable and it is off. Love mine and very lightweight , fast. Is very thin yet has a DVD/RW. Love it !

Cartersville, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

the 14z is great i have had no big problems with it that chat couldn't help with right away. Just a weird thing about a hidden drive that people have worse luck with on all computers. But this computer is fast, lightweight, and the perfect size.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product and value.

Customer review by Jshepard801

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by Jshepard801
by Jshepard801

I have enjoyed using this laptop since I purchased it. I am very hard on the gadgets that I use because I am always on the go. And they go everywhere that I go. Despite the abuse this ultrabook is still running as well as it did the day I got it. Very happy with it. And for the price you couldn't ask for more.

Murray, UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 14z-excellent pc except for the faulty motherboard

Customer review by Dave87

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Dave87
by Dave87

I am having a 14Z with third gen i7 processor. It is indeed a very beautiful and powerful machine. However, the machine came with a very irritating problem which i hoped could be fixed with updates but it proved me wrong as I believe the motherboard has just failed today. The pc have been facing booting issues since the day i received the machine.The pc also has very high tendency to hang while browsing the net.The forced restart would lead to the blue screen and trust me the experience is just horrible. The problem became even worst as I upgraded to win 8 pro.I can no longer restart the pc even though certain updates would require restart. Each time restarted, the pc will only be able to log into windows after several times directed to the diagnostic page. This pc is also surprisingly very sensitive to devices connected through usb port. It will just restart and lead to the blue screen. However, I need to mention that upgrading the bios managed to improve the situation but never solved it. Today, 19 march after just 7 months of using, the pc just never booted. No beep noise at all.Just dead.I can hear some spinning noise even after more than 12 hours i tried to switch on the pc.I guess the hard drive is still spinning. Lodged a report with dell technical team and told them the noise(called after 2 hours of earlier report) and they said it will disappear after the battery is dead. but now even after more than 12 hours its still there. Am worried its going to damage my storage as all my research work is in it. Dell advised that it could be a motherboard failure and their engineer would only come over after receiving the part. reading reviews written by 14z users, i am confident that dell is competent to solve the problem but i hope the delay in solving it would not be costing my hard drive and all my data in it. I will still say this is a very good machine as am really impressed with its performance-the speed, music,screen quality...

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does what it says on the Tin.... with Cream

Customer review by TronAscension

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by TronAscension
by TronAscension

Brilliant Laptop, Slimbook, Ultrabook wannabe. Oh and btw, True Ultrabooks with this spec cost far more. So for a very well featured, slimline, light and useable laptop for a very competitive price..... Top Banana!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews