Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 87 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

87 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

87 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
27
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 stars
12
1-20 of 86 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
Dell Inspiron 14z - i3 : Great Experience
2/16/2013

Customer review by Peeyush Miglani

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by Peeyush Miglani
by Peeyush Miglani

Great design. Appreciable performance. Boot up time etc. are very good. Works great with Windows 8. Only thing I miss on this one is a right click button on keyboard, which is a personal preference. Based on a two months usage of 8 hrs. per day. Loved it so much, that I have ordered 4 Dell Inspiron 14z i5 after using this one for my friends and family. Thanks Dell.

Peeyush Miglani
Singapore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Laptop- Great Value
9/1/2012

Customer review by TwinsA

5.0 stars 9/1/2012 by TwinsA
by TwinsA

This is my second Inspiron 14Z Ultrabook because the first one arrived DOA. Dell promptly replaced it and the second one is perfect. Here's what I've noticed so far: Pro's: lightweight, compact and nicely styled, fast boot up, bright screen, cool operating & good battery life. Con's: Un-lighted keyboard, and combination microphone/headphone jack. Neither con is a deal breaker but a lighted keyboard like my Mom's XPS 14Z would have been nice but I realize that this is good value for the money.

TwinsA
Ottawa, Ontario CANADA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop
8/29/2012

Customer review by svsmith

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by svsmith
by svsmith

Laptop does everything I wanted it to do. It is light weight and fast! The i5 processor is amazing! The screen image is crisp and the sound quality is amazing for such a small computer. I enjoy everything about this laptop! No real cons at this point because it is exactly what I wanted.

svsmith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A MUST HAVE COMPUTER !
11/27/2012

Customer review by Hummingbrd

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by Hummingbrd
by Hummingbrd

I would like to say this computer is fast and quiet ,It is so easy to use and windows 8 is so perfect ! This really is a great deal for the price and have I said fast it is so fast! A great gift for the teenager going to collage or an upgrade from the desktop . Thank u Dell U have made my life easier!

Hummingbrd
Desmoines, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ultra awesome
11/8/2012

Customer review by ellsduo

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by ellsduo
by ellsduo

Parents just purchased this system, they LOVE how thin, light, and fast it is compared to their last Dell. Great laptop!!!

ellsduo
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 14z-excellent pc except for the faulty motherboard
3/19/2013

Customer review by Dave87

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Dave87
by Dave87

I am having a 14Z with third gen i7 processor. It is indeed a very beautiful and powerful machine. However, the machine came with a very irritating problem which i hoped could be fixed with updates but it proved me wrong as I believe the motherboard has just failed today. The pc have been facing booting issues since the day i received the machine.The pc also has very high tendency to hang while browsing the net.The forced restart would lead to the blue screen and trust me the experience is just horrible. The problem became even worst as I upgraded to win 8 pro.I can no longer restart the pc even though certain updates would require restart. Each time restarted, the pc will only be able to log into windows after several times directed to the diagnostic page. This pc is also surprisingly very sensitive to devices connected through usb port. It will just restart and lead to the blue screen. However, I need to mention that upgrading the bios managed to improve the situation but never solved it. Today, 19 march after just 7 months of using, the pc just never booted. No beep noise at all.Just dead.I can hear some spinning noise even after more than 12 hours i tried to switch on the pc.I guess the hard drive is still spinning. Lodged a report with dell technical team and told them the noise(called after 2 hours of earlier report) and they said it will disappear after the battery is dead. but now even after more than 12 hours its still there. Am worried its going to damage my storage as all my research work is in it. Dell advised that it could be a motherboard failure and their engineer would only come over after receiving the part. reading reviews written by 14z users, i am confident that dell is competent to solve the problem but i hope the delay in solving it would not be costing my hard drive and all my data in it. I will still say this is a very good machine as am really impressed with its performance-the speed, music,screen quality...

Dave87
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I expected...
10/9/2012

Customer review by GrailsNut

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by GrailsNut
by GrailsNut

This laptop was for a freshman college student. I read the reviews, and looked over the options. For the money, this was the most balanced option. The I5 processor is fast, and while the battery life is not quite what I expected, it hasn't been a big issue. The small SSD drive with the big hard disk works great, with very fast boot times. This helps with the battery issue, since I can shut it down and reboot very quickly. I rarely work for hours on end without access to power. I have experienced the flaky wireless, which is very aggrevating, but hopefully it will be permanently fixed soon.

GrailsNut
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well-done new Inspiron series
8/6/2012

Customer review by Ron2007

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by Ron2007
by Ron2007

This ultrabook was made for me and I prefer it to my maxed out Sandy Bridge XPS 15. I'm still amazed at how quick this Core i5, 6GB RAM machine is. That little 32GB SSD helps too. Display resolution is perfect as my sight isn't what it used to be. Videos/streaming play well and the sound is just fine. Wireless connection (23 Mbps) is very close to what I get on my ethernet wired gaming machine. Bluetooth mouse takes care of the limited two USB ports. Keyboard and touchpad work really well. Overall, a slim, good-looking, light ultrabook with Ivy Bridge and a bonus DVD burner. A backlit keyboard would have made for a perfect machine for me.

Ron2007
Calistoga, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine!
6/14/2012

Customer review by MValpreda

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by MValpreda
by MValpreda

Great little machine! Everything feels solid and well put together. Excellent fit and finish. Screen is nice and bright. Plenty of ports to connect to anything you can throw at it. Keyboard is easy and fast to type on. Battery even using wireless gave me more than enough time to do what I needed to do. Very happy with this machine!

MValpreda
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Display is great, boots FAST!
8/24/2012

Customer review by number1coach

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by number1coach
by number1coach

We bought a new 14z, 3rd gen i5, for my son. I was hesitant at first based on reviewers comments that the display was "dim". I went to costco for some hands on time and could not see what they were complaining about. The display is great. Sure there's off-angle viewing issues, but that's a feature of the technology and why look at the display of angle? It's a laptop, so adjust it. I also have to say that this windows 7 machine boots VERY FAST. We have 2 other windows 7 laptops on the house (last years 15R and a 12.1'' M101 mini). Neither of them boots (or reboots) this fast. yes MacAfee is running along with all the default Dell software. I like this machine enough that I might buy another for myself to replace an ancient Lenovo (+5 years old), that still works, but is just old, slow and clunky by comparison.

number1coach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DELL Inspiron Great Mid-Level Laptop
6/13/2012

Customer review by Chelly

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by Chelly
by Chelly

PROS: If you are looking for a mid-level laptop, the Inspiron 5423 is for you! The laptop comes in great colors, metallic finish (not platstic), centered keyboard USB 3, lightweight and an awesome graphics/video card. CONS: Didn't have a BLU-Ray player, better speaker layout and the keyboard is not a backlit one. Other than that, this is the laptop for you!

Chelly
Oxnard, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pleasantly surprised
6/28/2012

Customer review by tila

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by tila
by tila

First of all customer service was great the color I received is so elegant. The battery life wow 5 hours it is very lightweight it boots up very fast a must have is the backlit keyboard awesome I am looking forward to a lot of computing.Have'nt found a con yet still discovering more about the computer

tila
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Computer
1/2/2013

Customer review by fahmy

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by fahmy
by fahmy

I almost bought a Sony when I found the Inspiron. I love the versatility it has and of course the speed, reliability, and the cool sleek black design. I live in the middle of nowhere with satellite internet and it works better than any other computer I have put on this connection. I have a 60" wide screen this is connected to with HDMI and talk about awesome!! No, I do not do any online gaming. I would have nothing but a Dell, period. Cons I only regret that I did not upgrade to a larger hard drive like 1TB and get the Bluetooth package when I bought this system. I have heard a lot of horror stories about Vista. When I bought this computer I did not want to pay extra for XP. So I thought I would try Vista Home Premium. I love it!! for me XP is the thing of the past now.

fahmy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does what it says on the Tin.... with Cream
3/3/2013

Customer review by TronAscension

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by TronAscension
by TronAscension

Brilliant Laptop, Slimbook, Ultrabook wannabe. Oh and btw, True Ultrabooks with this spec cost far more. So for a very well featured, slimline, light and useable laptop for a very competitive price..... Top Banana!

TronAscension
UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product and value.
3/25/2013

Customer review by Jshepard801

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by Jshepard801
by Jshepard801

I have enjoyed using this laptop since I purchased it. I am very hard on the gadgets that I use because I am always on the go. And they go everywhere that I go. Despite the abuse this ultrabook is still running as well as it did the day I got it. Very happy with it. And for the price you couldn't ask for more.

Jshepard801
Murray, UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine easy to work on
4/4/2013

Customer review by DennisCPR

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by DennisCPR
by DennisCPR

Even though battery replacement is a little problem. It is one of the easiest machines to work on. I replaced a LED screen for a customer (very reasonable price led) It was the easiest Screen I have ever replaced! Just pop off the placstic (no screws) and undo w easily accessible screw and the cable and it is off. Love mine and very lightweight , fast. Is very thin yet has a DVD/RW. Love it !

DennisCPR
Cartersville, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/16/2012

Customer review by AnitaLea

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by AnitaLea
by AnitaLea

I am very pleased overall. It is lightweight, the keyboard and mouse a comfortable. I am having some difficulty with the new Windows 8 that it came with. Set up was easy and without any problems. I have not yet loaded all programs I had on my last laptop but those I have loaded have gone seamlessly.

AnitaLea
Flower Mound, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing laptop for amazing price
11/25/2012

Customer review by Alite

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Alite
by Alite

I got this laptop about 4 months ago and its performance has been exceeding my expectations ever since. From running many programs to even a little gaming, this laptop does all these tasks extremely well. Pros: Very fast boot from hibernate and sleep, Extremely light weight for its size, Nice appearance, Keyboard enjoyable to type on, Runs all programs quickly and without problems. Cons: Could use a backlit keyboard, Keyboad gets dirty a little easily, Battery life could be a bit longer (about 5 hours for me), Bottom of laptop is plastic not alluminum. To me the pros far outweigh the cons, especially when you consider the amazing price of this laptop.

Alite
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop
11/29/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

the 14z is great i have had no big problems with it that chat couldn't help with right away. Just a weird thing about a hidden drive that people have worse luck with on all computers. But this computer is fast, lightweight, and the perfect size.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Technology made easy!
12/26/2012

Customer review by satisfaction

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by satisfaction
by satisfaction

The Ultrabook was my first new laptop in seven years. I purchased Windows 8. I pulled the laptop out of the box and was able to be on the Internet and reviewing documents in twenty minutes. It was so easy. My past experiences were many hours of loading programs and getting things up and running. Windows 8 was easy to get to know. I love the Ultrabook! It is so light and thin. Technology made easy.

satisfaction
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews