Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-18 of 18 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

I WILL RECOMMEND, BUT.....
11/11/2012

Customer review by pkm6789

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by pkm6789
by pkm6789

it is a good laptop, but do not buy win 7 to upgrade to windows 8. you will run into all kinds of complication. some of the features will not work, and most of all your DVD will not work. when you call sony to help they will ask you to buy the drivers that will help you fix your problems, even though your laptop is new. so if you want windows 8, then get the one already built with windows 8 and do not upgrade from windows 7.

Was this review helpful? (92) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pkm6789
Bedford, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buyer Beware
10/8/2013

Customer review by docbirkman

2.0 stars 10/8/2013 by docbirkman
by docbirkman

Nice looking computer however poorly designed at the hinge system. Hinge constructed with metal and plastic, first one I've seen made in such a way that the plastic falls apart. Sony won't warranty it even If less than a year old. Really nice looking computer if it sits on a shelf just to show you own a laptop.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
docbirkman
Eugene, Or
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Functional laptop in a nice color
1/4/2013

Customer review by Leodent

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Leodent
by Leodent

Small enough to carry around, not too heavy and yet packs an 8 GB RAM with 750 GB hard drive. Luckily doesn't run on Windows 8 (which is a useless upgrade, IMHO). Sony laptops in general are durable. Cons: Comes with bloatware that needs to be uninstalled. Also, the unibody touchpad is a little difficult to use initially because you are never sure where the where the left-click button ends and where the pad itself begins. If this is a problem, use a usb-mouse.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leodent
millburn, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice rigs, even though a bit outdated
12/12/2012

Customer review by Piamo

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Piamo
by Piamo

Fast, hansomely equipped, sharp looking laptop. Nice keyboard backlight, great coloring scheme (black plus silver), looks like a high-tech toy on my desk. Not your SDD machine with Win 8, so I would say a bit outdated... but for this price, certainly a catch. Just a few suggestions if anyone is listening -- setting page-home-end buttons on the function key - wow, terrible way of saving keyboard space by making people change their typing habits. What's up with these designers, enough changing kyeboard layouts already. Had some problems making HDMI work with my Samsung TV - have to plug-unplug a few times before it catches in, and then TV makes this high pitch noise. Otherwise - Sony is one fancy-looking machine out there...

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Piamo
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
all you need
12/12/2012

Customer review by lilchula

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by lilchula
by lilchula

I think this is a good little laptop, you get the basic things you need at an affordable price. I am a college student and I enjoy this laptop bc it is pretty fast and basic and easy to use. You really need nothing more than this. definately recommend this laptop to anyone that wants something that is great and cheap.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilchula
missouri city, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/4/2013

Customer review by Arblack

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Arblack
by Arblack

I've been looking to get a computer for a while and I finally bit the bullet. This is fantastic. I just opted for windows 7 and everything is perfect. It's super fast and the backlit keyboard is amazing. I love the fast wakeup time and the quick and easy access to all your programs. It is sleek and stylish. The touchpad is a little stiff but I'm sure that will loosen up in time or I will get used to it. I am 100% happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arblack
royal oak mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super Low Price For a Fast Sony Vaio
1/19/2013

Customer review by HappiestCustomer001

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by HappiestCustomer001
by HappiestCustomer001

Refurbished or discount Vaios with 8GB DDR3 and 2.50GHz processors were selling for $800+ when I bought this computer for $600. It was a super cheap deal and I'm very satisfied with the product. For example, Excel and Access and other M. Suite 2010 programs open instantaneously. One caveat—using the touchpad mouse requires understanding how it works. Initially I thought my problems using the touchpad mean it was borken. It's not, and you can see how to use the mouse by going to the Control Panel >> Ease of Access >> Hardware & Sound >> Mouse >> the "Device Settings" tab >> "Settings" button

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappiestCustomer001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/17/2013

Customer review by Value4lesshopper

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by Value4lesshopper
by Value4lesshopper

Nice laptop. Bought this one after exchanging a Dell that was ordered online through Walmart. My 12 year old son lives it! Much better than the Dell. Just to let you know that the white color looks more like silver. I was a little nervous to order for my son because of the color. This computer is very sleek and I am thinking of purchasing the same one for myself.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Value4lesshopper
Montgomery County, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great computer
1/6/2013

Customer review by jcditto

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by jcditto
by jcditto

Great computer and searched and searched but Walmart had lowest price even warranty was cheaper. Thanks Walmart...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcditto
west chester pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks fantastic! Fast!
1/17/2013

Customer review by runningman30215

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by runningman30215
by runningman30215

This Sony is slightly more expensive than its comparable counterparts but is worth every penny. The 14 inch screen is the perfect size and is very portable. Also, the computer is surprisingly thin and lightweight. The 8gb of ram/750gb hard drive is more than enough speed for all daily uses. After reading numerous negative reviews of windows 8 I have no regrets about buying this computer with windows 7. Buy it......you wont regret it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
runningman30215
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The latch on the laptop broke
12/26/2012

Customer review by brokenproduct

1.0 stars 12/26/2012 by brokenproduct
by brokenproduct

The screen latch broke after two months of having this products. I can not even begin to tell you the hassle that I went through with Sony to get it fixed under warranty. They make it so difficult to get things fixed. I will never buy a Sony Laptop again. I understand products break but I spent weeks weeding through their awful service.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brokenproduct
denver
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/6/2012

Customer review by BraveheartJohn20

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by BraveheartJohn20
by BraveheartJohn20

This is only my second laptop so as you can guess the first one was not everything I wanted because I just didn't know better. I've only had this one for about two weeks and I am still getting it up to speed for the things I need it to do. So far I am happy with my new Sony 14" VAIO. I expect I will be happy with this laptop but only time will tell for sure. The last one might not of been everything I wanted but it sure seemed to be trouble free over a six year run.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BraveheartJohn20
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dull screen
12/19/2012

Customer review by bsc409

3.0 stars 12/19/2012 by bsc409
by bsc409

I love the look, size and feel of this computer but the screen resolution is dull and almost milky looking. Also, it's suppose to be very fast but it isn't. I'll be returning it today.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bsc409
spring lake, nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
it's fast big hard drive
12/15/2012

Customer review by teefrog

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by teefrog
by teefrog

don't like backlit i just turn it off i like the 14''screen very mobil

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teefrog
rayne la.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good price but...
1/9/2013

Customer review by Shaco

4.0 stars 1/9/2013 by Shaco
by Shaco

Ok besides having A TON of software that really doesn't do a whole lot besides take up space and ram, it doesn't use ram itself it takes from the operating system ram (not a problem just kind of unique) but my biggest complaint is that while memory is estimated at 750, you would think 735 would be fine, but would 679? Yes I'm serious 679 total memory

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shaco
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Office, No Upgrade, no manual
1/21/2013

Customer review by Navy1963

1.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Navy1963
by Navy1963

This product would not load the Office, did not have the upgrade, do not know how to get warrenty?

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Navy1963
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/6/2013

Customer review by GirlyKorita

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by GirlyKorita
by GirlyKorita

Is a great personal laptop.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GirlyKorita
Vista, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
would recomend
1/19/2013

Customer review by glor15

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by glor15
by glor15

well built & good speed

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glor15
n.y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.