Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 111 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

111 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

111 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 100 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews
Got it for my Hubby!!!
12/28/2013

Customer review by Denswoman

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Denswoman
by Denswoman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

That is the only thing my hubby wanted for christmas, and now I get to get all the attachments for it for him. He loves it and tells everyone they need to get one to its very handy to have.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Denswoman
Mulberry,AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A LOT of bang for the buck
1/3/2014

Customer review by gunbunny119

4.0 stars 1/3/2014 by gunbunny119
by gunbunny119

I'm a locksmith by trade and I bought this drill because the matrix system is real convenient and it's also a very comfortable drill. I like that I can buy all the heads and keep them in one small tool bag which saves TONS of room in my van. By the way, this drill is mechanically identical to the Craftsman version, so all the heads are interchangeable. It's a great light/medium duty drill. No, it's not a powerhouse torque monster, but anytime you want to compare it to your $400 Dewalt, just remember this thing is on sale right now for $60....not $400. If I am cutting a hole in a steel door I grab my $550 snap-on drill. For everything else, I grab this little guy. If the battery had a LED power indicator I would go 5 stars. Lithium batteries don't warn you when they're getting low...they work and work, then die suddenly. With no indicator on the battery you have no way of knowing the battery charge state until it's too late. That can get real irritating if you're in the middle of a project.

Was this review helpful? (39) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gunbunny119
Calhan, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
For a lite duty B&D drill it does very well.
6/18/2014

Customer review by someoldguy2

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by someoldguy2
by someoldguy2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This drill worked better than I gave it credit for. I used it to rebuild our back stairs and it had no problem driving 2.5" deck screws for the top. It did get a little temper mental driving 3.5" screws. Then again when I switched drills I noticed the B&D was hot and so was the battery. I did notice that there was a little movement in the chuck (a little loose) nothing for the "weekend DIY'er" to worry about. The chuck on the unit had no problem holding on to drill bits. A couple +'s, it's a light weight unit that can get into tough places, with good battery life. This drill cannot be of poor quality OR Craftsman would not have had B&D privet label the same drill motor and accessories for them. This is only the 2'nd product I've seen Craftsman use from the B&D line. I know they are compatible I picked up a Craftsman battery pack today, and yep it works great. I have also picked up the driver attachment, That works way better than expected. Good addition to my tool box..

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
someoldguy2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for lightweight work!
1/6/2016

Customer review by MrGreenThumb

4.0 stars 1/6/2016 by MrGreenThumb
by MrGreenThumb

The Black and Decker Matrix Drill has a good design that not only feels solid but is not to heavy either. Drill bits are a synch to tighten and loosen for a quick and easy switch to a different bit. Battery life seems to be excellent as I have yet to run out of battery while using it. I do not have any of the attachments for the drill however the drill head is easy to remove and re-attach when needed. I have noticed that in some cases I need to pre-drill when working with hard wood as the torque is not quite strong enough. a few times I used the setting for removing / tightening bits to get a little more torque for the job. all in all I am happy with it. I also like the fact that B&D uses the same battery on several devices limiting the need for multiple charges for various equipment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrGreenThumb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best tool I own so far
12/7/2013

Customer review by Tlhshubby

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Tlhshubby
by Tlhshubby

I've owned many battery powered hand tools over the years, and this one is the best so far. And the versatility makes many of my others, even purpose built, obsolete. This one can get into places my others can't. is very powerful, and works a long time on a charge. The available fast charger is an absolute must if you are doing many projects, or working on a big one, because it will recharge the spare battery faster than the drill will discharge one. And it is so much lighter than the 18v NiCad equivalent B&D unit. And much more powerful. I love this unit.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tlhshubby
Tama, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love it
3/30/2013

Customer review by BigPapa71

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by BigPapa71
by BigPapa71
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like this drill because it's pretty light weight, and you can change to heads so you can go from drill to impact driver instead of having to carry a drill and the impact driver. Great idea.

Was this review helpful? (55) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigPapa71
Durand, MI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for household repairs
3/18/2013

Customer review by Timmmmmmy

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by Timmmmmmy
by Timmmmmmy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great battery life last for hours and no need to recharge all the time!! Highly recommend to buy.

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Timmmmmmy
Medina, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best I've ever owned
1/13/2016

Customer review by RogSpk

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by RogSpk
by RogSpk

I've always used an other brand of cordless drill, but I tried a used drill at a second hand store and had to have one. Lots of power and batteries last a long time between charges. I really like multi tool usage option. Now I have three tools in one. Just trying to decide which tool to add next. This is my go to drill.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RogSpk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just finished my first project. Wow!
6/6/2014

Customer review by Radanda

5.0 stars 6/6/2014 by Radanda
by Radanda

I had a set of VERY old, very heavy, self-powered speakers (John Bower Active Ones) in my garage that I listen to as I do my glasswork . The speakers were sitting on part of my workspace and took up a lot of room. I decided to "convert" them to bookshelf speakers, and build a set of shelves to suspend them up off my bench. Now, these are VERY heavy guys, and I needed to over-do the shelves I was making. I lagged 2x4's to the corner wall at each end of my bench, and then set a piece of triangular MDF on the 2x4's to create the shelf. I used heavy duty, three-inch bolt-headed screws. I was astonished at the ease with which the B&D 20V drill handled the job! Being able to snap the drill head on, pre-drill the hole, then snap the driver head on and drive in the heavy screws, was too cool for school! SO easy! I am getting my second drill ... mostly for the battery (like the other gentleman listed in these reviews) ... although I worked 5 hours with the one battery and didn't have a problem. I have used the circular saw attachment and it works great, too! I am now anxious to try ALL the attachments!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Radanda
Benson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
My New GoTo Toool
11/19/2013

Customer review by PappySam

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by PappySam
by PappySam

I held off getting a cordless drill for a long time but I finally decided to try this one. I added the Router, Trim Saw and Jig Saw and it has become my Primary tool for most projects. Lightweight but Powerful enough for most projects and has a very good battery life. Friends that have borrowed it are impressed as well...

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PappySam
Lafayette Ore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
PERFECT Gift for the husband that loves to build
1/10/2013

Customer review by MountainFlower007

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by MountainFlower007
by MountainFlower007
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is all my husband kept asking for for Christmas and now my kids have a new bunkbed, my husband has built himself a workbench and he is now moving onto making us a new headboard. All of this without tripping over extension chords. I LOVE IT!!

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MountainFlower007
Montoursville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/3/2013

Customer review by termag

4.0 stars 6/3/2013 by termag
by termag
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased for doing light jobs it seems to be a good product. The compact size is great. We'll see how the chuck holds up over time. For REAL drill work I still like a corded 1/2" Craftsman I own with a heavy duty chuck though. Otherwise the price and quality are good.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
termag
bay city, michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product.
8/14/2013

Customer review by Steve47371

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by Steve47371
by Steve47371
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love my new drill. I put in about 40 screws without a recharge. Lots of power. And it was $16 dollars less with same day site to store than the price in the store.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steve47371
Portland IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/26/2013

Customer review by Nugenrules

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by Nugenrules
by Nugenrules
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My favorite tool. Not a carpenter or anything, but I do like to work on projects constantly, and this tool delivers beyond what I'd ever need. Torque is strong enough to get a screw to strip the plywood. Got the oscillating attachment and the sanding is doing a great job too.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nugenrules
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
my 2nd. one,great buy.
12/13/2013

Customer review by ROCKONDOWN

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by ROCKONDOWN
by ROCKONDOWN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have already bought this drill a few months ago and needed another battery. so this whole drill is cheaper than the cost of just the battery!Now i have 2 drills and 2 batteries,cool! Charge lasts a long time.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ROCKONDOWN
Nice,Califorina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Versatile and light B&D cordless drill
9/6/2013

Customer review by ime410

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by ime410
by ime410
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This cordless drill is powerful and lightweight, has great battery life under normal use and is adaptable to a number of power attachments which are sold separately, e.g., circular saw, router, sander, etc. It is literally like a 5 in 1 all-purpose tool (estimated) and is a replacement to a Craftsman cordless drill. I shopped around and was considering another Craftsman but the more I reviewed this product and played with it in the store, the more I fell in love with it. The price is below what I paid for my Craftsman several years ago and far lighter, more compact, and more powerful with longer battery life (as aforementioned). Best of all, it is easy to use and is clearly representative of Black & Decker innovation.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ime410
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Performer
7/8/2013

Customer review by DueDiligenceEngineer

5.0 stars 7/8/2013 by DueDiligenceEngineer
by DueDiligenceEngineer

I have 2 of these and one plain LI-ion without the interchange option. Love them. Battery last at least 9 months without self-discharging(B&D states 18months). I estimate around 3-4hrs of total work usage or with average household useage I charge the battery only once per 4-5 months. Caveat is that this comes with the slightly smaller capacity(1.2Ah ?) battery but walmart & amzn sell the 1.5Ah LBXR20 batteries as well. This is slightly heavier then the non-attachements LiIon Drill but its way stirdier, with metal attachment points and gears.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DueDiligenceEngineer
North NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Drill
7/1/2013

Customer review by Maribus

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by Maribus
by Maribus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used the drill outside putting up spring/summer decorations around the yard. I am a woman and it is not heavy but yet it is powerful to drill a screw easily into the siding of the house to hang a sign etc. I have not used the three attachments I purchased to go with the drill so cannot rate how easily they exchange out. The battery is easy to take on and off and it is the platform that the drill can sit upright on. It also does not tip easy when standing upright. I am glad I spent the money and purchased the drill. I will try to update this review once my husband "borrows" it and see how well he likes to use it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maribus
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great drill, bad chuck.
3/9/2014

Customer review by Rumbledore

1.0 stars 3/9/2014 by Rumbledore
by Rumbledore

I bought this recently and returned it after one use. The drill seemed to work great, was pretty powerful, got some tight screws out of wood (though it stalled out if they were really stuck and I had to switch to a hand screwdriver). Overall I'd say it's probably a good buy if you're only using it once in a while for a one-shot task. However, the chuck was awful...I tightened it as hard as I could, and it still loosened up and let the bit fall out after EVERY screw I used it on. I took out a few dozen screws that day and it was so irritating having to reinsert the screwdriver bit and retighten the chuck every time. So not good for long, repetitive tasks.

Was this review helpful? (17) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rumbledore
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
7/12/2013

Customer review by Tii33

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by Tii33
by Tii33
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It heats up rather quickly, but it also cools fast. I am using it for an endless list of fix it chores around the house, including the house itself. the lightweight helps, and the ready when I am is wonderful. I leave the battery plugged in when it is not in use and simply pop it on and go.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tii33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews