Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 197 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

197 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

197 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
101
4 stars
45
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 stars
30
1-20 of 196 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 196 total reviews
1-20 of 196 reviews
Lifesaver
2/24/2014

Customer review by Driverdaddy

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by Driverdaddy
by Driverdaddy

I bought this so my kids would have something to do on an eight hour drive to Disneyland. It worked better than I could have imagined. The only thing I heard from the back seat was "The movie's over". Since that was about bathroom stop time, it worked out great. We stopped for the bathroom, changed the disc and got another 2 hours down the road. No "Are we there yet?" or "I'm bored!". Best of all, no fights. I would recommend this for any family with kids going on a long drive. The hard part is the kids want me to hook it up just to go to the corner store now. Oh well, nothings perfect. It was easy to hook up, easy to use, and easy to see even when the sun was the brightest. A great product that made for a great trip. I can't wait for the next one.

Was this review helpful? (153) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Driverdaddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Short cables, non-sensical controls
11/16/2012

Customer review by swintgs

1.0 stars 11/16/2012 by swintgs
by swintgs

I use units like this in a crossover SUV for my three year old and four year old on long trips. There are several features that make these units a very poor value: - power cabling is daisy chained (in the wrong order) - cables are too short - volume controls are on the units, not the remote - the player-unit is not slot-loading With the daisy chained power cabling, the power cable *must* run from the non-player unit first, and then the linking cable provides power to the player unit. We put the non-player unit in the back row of our three-row vehicle, however. So, the power cable is not long enough for us to reach from the second row to the non-player unit. Therefore, we can't easily unplug the power from the parents' seats in the front row. Second, the cables are too short and can not reach across rows. The "linking" cable will be up in the air ready to snag kids when they climb in, or annoy them by always brushing them when they are sitting. As a side effect of the daisy chain, you can not turn the on-off switch to off and de-power both players; you have to physically unplug from the power outlet. Third, the volume controls are on the unit not the remote. As a result, the parent can not control volume for the kids in the back. Instead, the kids will have to learn how. Worse still, the volume control on the non-player unit is two of three buttons. Good luck to our daughter to change volume and not video settings. As a last point, the CD is not slot loading. The flip down door is a nuisance and quite likely to break (as happened on our first player). I wonder if the engineers ever watched a family use their units in real-world tests?

Was this review helpful? (155) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/12/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.

swintgs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great product, good picture and sound.
1/11/2013

Customer review by ChuckiiRose

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by ChuckiiRose
by ChuckiiRose

We used his product for a road trip for Thanksgiving and it worked well. Unlike the earlier version of this product, this dvd player will allow you to push stop, turn the machine off, and resume at the same spot where you pushed stop when you turn the machine back on. The sound was great although I would recommed headphones. The picture quality was excellent.

Was this review helpful? (87) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChuckiiRose
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works well
6/9/2014

Customer review by TheBuckeyeGuy

4.0 stars 6/9/2014 by TheBuckeyeGuy
by TheBuckeyeGuy

Bought this to keep the kids company on a trip from Ohio to Florida and back. Fairly simple to set up and use. Good Value at $99.00. Like I have read before...the power supply cable is too short. If you purchase this, do yourself a favor and buy a 12v extension cable at the same time. The volume level is ok but it could use a bit more...

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBuckeyeGuy
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I expected better
11/30/2012

Customer review by BlownEthanol

1.0 stars 11/30/2012 by BlownEthanol
by BlownEthanol

We should have stuck with the original plan and went to Best Buy. Right out of the box they didn't work. The screen said "open" even when there was a disc in and the cover closed. They look cheap, feel cheap, are cheap. Do NOT waste your time or money!

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/12/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.

BlownEthanol
CO.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good mobile DVD player for the price.
6/2/2014

Customer review by TheBig6

3.0 stars 6/2/2014 by TheBig6
by TheBig6

It's a good mobile DVD player for the price. But it doesn't strap well to the headrest. The screens tilt back causing it to appear dark and hard to view the movie playing. We had to wedge things behind the screens so the kids could see better.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBig6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth the purchase
7/26/2014

Customer review by Kbparent

5.0 stars 7/26/2014 by Kbparent
by Kbparent

My husband & I bought this for our family vacation. Our girls loved it. The picture is very clear & very easy to use. My favorite feature of this item is when you turn the car off it turns the tv's off automatically so that it doesn't run down your car battery. When you turn the car back on the movie comes right back where it stops. It was perfect for our vacation.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/12/2014

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.

Kbparent
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible
11/14/2013

Customer review by shar0322

1.0 stars 11/14/2013 by shar0322
by shar0322

I've bought two. The first one a year ago, it just stopped working after a few months. bought another one and it skips a lot, think it's scratching DVD's. Not happy at all. It's a disgrace to the RCA name.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/12/2014

We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com or 1-800-506-5746.

shar0322
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love the ease of set up!
6/2/2014

Customer review by Mixerpilot

4.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Mixerpilot
by Mixerpilot

We bought this to go on vacation with and it exceeded my expectations in all things, it was easy to set up, great picture, good sound and I like the way it sits behind the bucket seats in our Jeep. It also has individual jacks for headphones which was nice s for the kids to be able to watch and hear the movie while my wife and I enjoyed the car stereo.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mixerpilot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!
8/5/2014

Customer review by Samantha9834

5.0 stars 8/5/2014 by Samantha9834
by Samantha9834

This portable DVD player did not disappoint! I have a 3rd row seat in my car. The cords were long enough that we were able to have one screen attached the front seat for the middle row to watch and one screen attached to the middle seat for the 3rd row to watch. Each screen has a headphone jack which was also a plus when the driver did not want to listen to the movies. It was easy to set up and take down. The movies did not skip and the picture and sound was great. Great buy and great price!

Was this review helpful? (118) (92)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/12/2014

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.

Samantha9834
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Quality for the Money, but Small Issues
7/29/2014

Customer review by PuddinTameName

5.0 stars 7/29/2014 by PuddinTameName
by PuddinTameName

I've been a fan of RCA electronics for decades and found this item to be worthy of their reputation for good quality products. I bought this for a long car trip with my grandchildren, and the videos played flawlessly with no technical problems. The remote control worked great. Very pleased! However, despite this excellent quality, I was surprised that the company was so stingy with such minor things as cord lengths. The power cord is surprisingly short, and so was the audio/video cables between the dual units. Just a couple more feet would have made a big difference. Also, the velcro straps that are supposed to attach the monitors to the back of headrests, were virtually useless in my 2014 Hyundai Santa Fe. Instead, I purchased 1/8" ELASTIC cord at a craft store, which held the monitors in place from the headrests nicely and firmly. Also, it came with no earbuds or headphones. Really? Does RCA think that the adults are going to join the kids in listening to Buggs Bunny or Spiderman for a thousand-mile round trip? The wholesale cost on a couple cheapo earbuds is not much, so they couldn't toss a couple of those in the box? Oh well, after buying earbuds, the elastic cord for the monitors, and adjusting the cable lengths... it all worked out... and in fact is still better quality than many of the other products out there. Despite these minor issues, this is still an excellent product, and with only a few small additions/revisions by the manufacturer, it could be darn near perfect!

Was this review helpful? (61) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/12/2014

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.

PuddinTameName
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/30/2012

Customer review by Pennylez

4.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Pennylez
by Pennylez

Simple, effective and reasonable quality overall, though the way they wires connect to each unit are a bit odd and causes screen location difficulty inside vehicles.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pennylez
Harrisburg pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible!
1/31/2013

Customer review by akronohioconsumer

1.0 stars 1/31/2013 by akronohioconsumer
by akronohioconsumer

My son got this as a gift for his first birthday. He loved watching it on long car rides and it worked well for a few months. It started freezing up and then just stopped working. Didn't even last 8 months!! I would NOT buy this product. Spend a few more bucks and get a better brand!

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/12/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.

akronohioconsumer
Akron, oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
babies are enjoying!
4/15/2014

Customer review by dlindas

4.0 stars 4/15/2014 by dlindas
by dlindas

I have an 18 mo and 2 1/2 year old and they are really enjoying watching dvds while we are one the road!! The only thing that I don't like are the cords. They are too short and my little ones can almost reach them to pull them, so I have to try really hard to tuck them so that they cant reach but they easily come out. But so far we are loving them! :)

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dlindas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great sound and picture
3/22/2014

Customer review by Savetims2014

5.0 stars 3/22/2014 by Savetims2014
by Savetims2014

Great sound and picture. Very easy to set up. Cords connecting two screens could be a bit longer but do the job.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Savetims2014
Circleville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great DVD for the Kids
8/15/2014

Customer review by YuccaValleyGrandma

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by YuccaValleyGrandma
by YuccaValleyGrandma

This purchase was to replace a dual RCA set that got damaged during a trip. We upgraded to the 9 inch screen and it is so nice. The remote for this model offers many options for setting up the DVD. The only drawback is that the power cord barely reaches to the power plug in an older vehicle (that does not have a power plug in the back seat area). But the kids were happy with their movies on a very long trip and love the pause feature and the individual earphone jacks. Happy with the repeat purchase of an RCA product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/5/2014

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your tablet

YuccaValleyGrandma
Yucca Valley, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well on trips
6/20/2014

Customer review by CNB41847

4.0 stars 6/20/2014 by CNB41847
by CNB41847

We are just getting back from vacation and this product has worked really well. We also use it for just short trips around our community. The remote that comes with it is very handy when going down an interstate and the kids want the DVD player to start.... So far so good

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/12/2014

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.<br /><br />Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.

CNB41847
Red Fox, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Skips
9/13/2014

Customer review by ysml

2.0 stars 9/13/2014 by ysml
by ysml

I bought this for two year old great grandson for his birthday on August 14th. In the last few days it has started skipping and messing up. My granddaughter will take it back to Walmart tomorrow hopefully they will make it right. It's a lot of money to last less than a month. I bought it because it was an RCA brand which I have always trusted.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/16/2014

We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com or 1-800-506-5746.

ysml
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Same problem with pwr cord length, way its pwred.
12/2/2012

Customer review by Oldmaninpa

4.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Oldmaninpa
by Oldmaninpa

Just as I expected. Same problems with power cord not being long enough. Would reengineer the way the power cord goes to the monitor then to the player. It should be the reverse. Also the on/off switch on the player should turn the power off of both units. It is great that both units have a volume control. We kept the player in the front seat where we had control and placed the monitor on the headrest in front of our 2yo grandson. Worked great for us.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oldmaninpa
Buckeye, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a great buy
8/13/2014

Customer review by one2chachacha

3.0 stars 8/13/2014 by one2chachacha
by one2chachacha

Unless you find it on sale don't bother. The only "good" thing about this product is that both my kids get their own screen. the image quality is barely ok. if you hit a bump on the road, it skips. it doesn't hold a charge so if you turn off the car, say to pump gas, it turns off. it is not wireless, [there's a wire between the screens and one for power source]. I recommend that instead of wrapping it around the front seat head rest, you wrap it twice around the bars holding up the head rest. it is much steadier that way.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/12/2014

We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com or 1-800-506-5746.

one2chachacha
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 196 total reviews
1-20 of 196 reviews