Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-17 of 17 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1/31/2013

Customer review by genrev856

5.0 stars 1/31/2013 by genrev856
by genrev856

I bought this lap top to upgrade from my 7 yr old desk top. Great processor speed and down load times. A good size hard drive to boot. Windows 8 is a piece of cake, I generally operate from the DESKTOP so things stay the same. Understand this is not a touch screen laptop as one reviewer seemed to miss when he bought his. Great computer! I hope to purchase additional for my wife and kids.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
genrev856
Tacoma,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/12/2013

Customer review by WinterLady

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by WinterLady
by WinterLady

Great computer I really do like and I would recommend this to a friend or a family member. It took a little to get use to windows 8 but I am slowly getting figured out. The battery is holding up great it will last me all day before I have to plug it in. I like the Intel Core i7 processor it brings things up fast for me faster then my older computer did.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WinterLady
Danville, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disc drive would not recognize DVD or cd
12/10/2012

Customer review by Derik84

2.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Derik84
by Derik84

Disc drive would not recognize DVD or cd. Could not burn files to disc drive. Windows 8 is an awful operating system, not user friendly at all, clearly made for use for smart phone, but doesn't cut it for PC use. I had to return because bad disc drive, and would've returned regardless because of windows 8.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Derik84
Dubois, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The ENVYdc7 is a laptop to envy.
12/18/2012

Customer review by adr99

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by adr99
by adr99

The laptop is great, the clarity of the screen is topnotch. The only negative thing I have found so far is the lack of experience of Windows 8, but it is getting better.

adr99
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This is a excellent computer
3/17/2013

Customer review by Miller1234

5.0 stars 3/17/2013 by Miller1234
by Miller1234

the computer arrived 3days ahead of schedule which I loved. I like the power and all the features that I have discovered so far. pros the laptop itself cons windows8, of course this is someone who has used windows 7 since its relies so at moment 8 is confusing to me

Miller1234
ST Clairsville Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
it works
6/4/2013

Customer review by havanaperfecto

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by havanaperfecto
by havanaperfecto

I order over the phone,the order was taken and delivery to requested address,diferent my billing address. No problems.Easy and fast.

havanaperfecto
Skokie,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great machine, fast.
2/12/2013

Customer review by harpo

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by harpo
by harpo

I wanted a larger, high resolution screen for photography projects. I also wanted a faster processor with plenty of memory. Both of these criteria were satisfied with the Envy dv7. I am a little at sea with Windows 8, but that's another issue not related to the dv7.

harpo
Palm Desert, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
love the speed
5/15/2013

Customer review by Kathy56

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by Kathy56
by Kathy56

I love my notebook. I do not like windows 8. I want to uninstall it and put windows 7 on it. I find that windows 8 takes away from my new notebook. and that bothers me. I love how the keyboard is laid out, the large screen. and the slimness of the it. I love HP and will stick with HP. But not a fan of window 8.

Kathy56
Marshalltown, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Blazing speed
5/10/2013

Customer review by ReturnCustomer

5.0 stars 5/10/2013 by ReturnCustomer
by ReturnCustomer

I got the ENVY dv7-7250us to replace a Pavilion zd7000 CTO that died after nine and a half years. The i7-3630QM processor is blazing fast compared to the old Pentium 4 and consumes less power. Boot up with UEFI takes seconds rather than minutes. The transition from Windows XP to Windows 8 was far easier than others have reported. While Windows 8 has apps for touch screen, I only use desktop applications and a little bit of customization makes it similar to what I used before. The Windows 8 tutorial shows most of what to do, but I had already read the "Windows 8 Inside Out" book and had already done it.

ReturnCustomer
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Suberb Computer
1/23/2013

Customer review by ReallynowAngelo

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by ReallynowAngelo
by ReallynowAngelo

This computer has exceeded our expectations and is now fought over in the house. We use it for pic/video editing, apple device mgmt., office productivity, gaming, etc... It has great performance, quality and display. We replaced an old tower and monitor with the sleek 17" monitor creating desk room. It's easy to warm up to Windows 8. Ordering through HP site was extremely easy and secure.

ReallynowAngelo
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
It is awesome. With one catch
2/2/2013

Customer review by DRCrump8008

4.0 stars 2/2/2013 by DRCrump8008
by DRCrump8008

This laptop for the price is a monster. Quad core proc, 8 gigs of ram, huge hard drive, long battery life, crisp screen. The weight is very good for a laptop of this size. Runs programs in a snap. Aluminum not plastic housing, and a great keyboard. Oh ... and the onboard web cam is outstanding. The only con I have is the lack of recovery disk. The recovery is on the main HD. Thats great but what if your hard drive goes? Then you are going to be buying a recovery disk from HP. Then there is the windows 7 issue. As in it will not install and there are no drivers online for it. As a developer and musician most of my software does not yet run on 8. Especially my external recording devices. So being able to at least install a dual boot setup would be ideal. With a 900 gig post formatted hard drive I should have the room. Other than that I can recommend this laptop. I think for the price vs specs it is great. Maybe there is a way to force 7 on it somehow. We shall see.

DRCrump8008
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Creature Comforts
11/10/2012

Customer review by JBF4

4.0 stars 11/10/2012 by JBF4
by JBF4

I have only had the laptop for a day so I thought I would write about my initial reactions. I bought it because I do a lot of photography and graphics. The files are huge, so this should have no problem. There were two things initially. It is not a touch screen, I overlooked that but it isn't important to me anyway, just would have been fun. Also the keys are not back lit. That's a pet peeve of mine because I am a night owl and work in low light a lot. I missed that also, but not a big deal. It literally took all day to load Adobe Creative Suites CS6, about seven hours; huge software. My photos look amazing on the screen. The colors are spot on and sharp. While other people are going smaller I am going bigger. I also plan to tether my camera to it so the screen will be great for that. It is wide but it doesn't feel heavy to me. It's lightning fast which I am thrilled about. I am very happy, just wished it had a few more"creature comforts". Oh, love the Beats speakers, they just sound great!

JBF4
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent, so far.
2/19/2013

Customer review by Vinny71

4.0 stars 2/19/2013 by Vinny71
by Vinny71

I purchased the laptop a couple of weeks ago. So far everything is as expected. HP was great to order from and deliver was ahead of schedule.

Vinny71
West Chester,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
the dv7-750us
2/12/2013

Customer review by redleg321

4.0 stars 2/12/2013 by redleg321
by redleg321

So far the HP dv7-750us works great, but window 8 don't like, found they old printer not compatible with windows 8, purchases an office jet pro 8600, found that unless I have hot mail or outlook, scan to e mail it not compatible to send scan to old email program.

redleg321
Blue Springs, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice computer
2/23/2013

Customer review by Aric72223

4.0 stars 2/23/2013 by Aric72223
by Aric72223

Great computer and big, only down fall is too heavy.

Aric72223
Little Rock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
overall happy with it
12/26/2012

Customer review by kazman

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by kazman
by kazman

While I am overall satisfied with this laptop, I do have some issues with the tutorials but that could just be me in not knowing where to look for help. It's taking me a while to get used to windows 8 but seems ok overall.

kazman
staten island new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I really liked this product..
5/25/2013

Customer review by bb2737

2.0 stars 5/25/2013 by bb2737
by bb2737

until I my laptop fell out of my book bag onto a hard floor. My pixels are damaged and the warranty was not sufficient. I had a different HP laptop that I used to drop all the time and never had any pixel damage. My screen did not crack either.. on either laptops. Don't buy this laptop without either an extended warranty or some kind of protection because I swear that HP is making laptops today less durable.

bb2737
Would recommend to a friend? No