Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-20 of 28 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Buy this laptop at your own risk.
2/27/2013

Customer review by RSawyer88

1.0 stars 2/27/2013 by RSawyer88
by RSawyer88

This is the first-time ever that I've been motivated to write a review of any purchased product. Bottom line is I'm returning this HP Envy laptop because the network adapter (for wireless connections) is, to put it bluntly, a piece of garbage. The laptop could connect wirelessly if it was immediately next to my router, but take it a little distance or a room or two away, and the signal was lost. I don't have that problem with any of my other devices including other HP laptops. I can only conclude that HP installed a very cheap, poor quality network adapter in this HP laptop for sale at Wal-Mart. Perhaps the biggest indignity, however, was dealing with HP Support over the phone. I'll describe some of the details below that spanned conversations with 4 different tech reps, 3.5 hours of my time, 2 calls that were not returned as promised, and 1 supervisor that left me hanging on the phone until the phone disconnected. HP support had me: (1) remove and reseat the network adapter - something that most any consumer should NEVER be asked to do, nor should we be expected to have the tools at hand to do it; (2) refresh my PC wiping out my newly purchased Windows Office 2013; and (3) call my router company to determine if my router settings were correct. They gave me a case number that was not found later in the system, nor was any of my account info. I had to repeat the serial and product numbers four times for four different tech reps. Finally, they refused to send me a new network adapter -- even though an earlier tech had indicated that was what they would do -- and instructed me to return the product to the store. I have had good luck in the past buying HP products at other stores. I've lost my confidence both in HP products and their Support operation. My only recommendation is if you buy this product and encounter a significant problem out of the box, return it rather than dealing with HP Support.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RSawyer88
Stamford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
New laptops have really got it!
12/21/2012

Customer review by NebraskaMan

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by NebraskaMan
by NebraskaMan

Not a lot to say because I'm still learning how to use Windows 8. The Envy laptop is solid and works like a charm. Really like the fingerprint security feature. Beats audio is marvelous but most of all... 15-20 seconds from turn-on to ready for use! Now if I can just master the non-intuitive Windows 8!

NebraskaMan
Fremont, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great product for the price
2/4/2013

Customer review by hyc25

5.0 stars 2/4/2013 by hyc25
by hyc25

Great laptop for the price. For the size of the laptop, it is not too heavy.

hyc25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent
12/13/2012

Customer review by Terry48

5.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Terry48
by Terry48

Windows 8 was far easier to use than I had been lead to believe. The computer runs great. The only problem I had was with HP updates, but a fix cured that problem. I would recommend to anyone that needs and wants quality!

Terry48
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great for Gaming!!!
11/13/2012

Customer review by RadDad

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by RadDad
by RadDad

I bought this model because, with the options I selected, it was highly recommended for gaming . . . and that has proven to be the case . . . the speed is awesome, the graphics are excellent, the Beats audio is just as good as Bose, if not better . . . so if you're into gaming, or just want a system that will give you excellect sound . . . at a VERY affordable price, then this system is for you!!! I received it with Windows 8 and, while I prefer my old XP desktop system, the Windows 8 program isn't that hard to figure out . . . so go for it!!!

RadDad
Southern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
HP has proven they know what to build
2/2/2013

Customer review by kj2gf

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by kj2gf
by kj2gf

HP ENVY dv7-7230us is a fine working machine with features every computer should have...I will learn how to handle Windows 8 I hope... The computer is fast full featured and a great value...

kj2gf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop for the money!
2/4/2013

Customer review by SteveAZ

5.0 stars 2/4/2013 by SteveAZ
by SteveAZ

Awesome laptop, well built, high quality. Usually buy other brands, haven't bought an HP for over 10 years. HOWEVER, after researching the specs and reviews of this laptop, I decided to give HP another try. Very glad I did! Very fast and nice display, seems very solid. It also has lots of expandability. 2nd HD bay, up to 16Gb RAM in the 2 slots (which I am upgrading soon). FOLKS - Windows 8 is great - don't pay attention to the naysayers. It is a little different than previous Windows releases, but you will like it. My advice is to watch a few online videos about the new Start screen which replaces the Start button. That's really most of the differences. I am a senior software engineer (over 25 years of experience) and I highly recommend Win8. Just take some time to watch some training videos, figure out the touchpad shortcuts, and you will be fine. Hot tip - I couldn't find the Control Panel. Watched a video and found out you can right-click in the lower left corner and it all comes up (Control Panel, Event Viewer, etc.). VERY COOL. You will love this laptop and Windows 8. Cheers!

SteveAZ
Goodyear, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Super Package
12/17/2012

Customer review by oldman59

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by oldman59
by oldman59

Fast delivery and easy setup. You got to try windows 8 to believe how good it is. AMD A-8 is super fast and does quite well with games. This is one of the few items that I have purchased that I am 100 percent happy with. NO negatives so far.

oldman59
Norfolk, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love My Computer
1/7/2013

Customer review by LisaM1307

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by LisaM1307
by LisaM1307

I spent many hours reviewing computers and this was my final decision. I wanted a large screen and yet I didn't want it to be extremely heavy. I had to sacrifice some battery life because of the processor but the computer runs so well, it was worth it. The large screen really helps ease some strain because I use my laptop as my main computer. Not a big fan of Windows 8 however that is not the computers fault. My computer has run seamlessly and the picture is large plus clear. Beats Audio is awesome! I had it on a previous cell phone so I enjoy the music quality. I have been using my computer for a few weeks now and I cannot imagine running my old computer anymore. It was so slow and small compared to this lovely device. If you want a large screen, fast processor, and do not mind a slightly shorter battery life then go with this computer. I feel it was the best choice I could have made on a limited budget. I love it! I also love HP. I had a Dell previously and I am glad I made the switch.

LisaM1307
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love the big display
2/7/2013

Customer review by writeguy

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by writeguy
by writeguy

The big, bright 17" display is great! It solves my one issue with laptops. Others I've had with smaller displays just annoyed me with all the scrolling required. This replaced both a laptop and a desktop, so now I can keep everything I need in one place.

writeguy
Silicon Valley, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice
2/7/2013

Customer review by flash46

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by flash46
by flash46

Nice laptop that does most of what we wanted it to be able to do. Windows 8...well...the jury is still out on that matter. Not as fast as we thought it would be, probably because of all the graphics. I think I liked Windows 7 better, but am still getting used to 8.

flash46
Mount Vernon, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love it!
3/14/2013

Customer review by CarrollN

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by CarrollN
by CarrollN

It has Windows 8, which will take some getting used to . . . but love the large screen. It isn't heavy, has a numeric keypad which I love, and it seems fast, and just what I wanted. It is a living room computer. It was a very good buy!

CarrollN
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Awesome machine!
12/24/2012

Customer review by JerrysToy

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by JerrysToy
by JerrysToy

Works perfectly right out of the box. Extremely fast even when doing multiple tasks. Was easy to set up and windows 8 is fun once you get the hang of it. Would definitely recommend this laptop!

JerrysToy
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent product
3/28/2013

Customer review by Mojo24

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by Mojo24
by Mojo24

Just received this laptop in the mail today, so far its been great. Ran into a few bumps here and there just because of my lack of Windows 8 knowledge. The OS is very simple once you acquaint yourself with it. A lot of apps come with the system, if that isn't your thing you can easily remove them. All in all this is a great value and so far a great system. If you're looking for maximum bang for your buck this is the way to go.

Mojo24
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best Bang For Your Buck!
4/10/2013

Customer review by Brett93

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by Brett93
by Brett93

This laptop is so good for the price that u get it at! pros: screen size (17.3"), beats audio, memory (6gb) and hard drive (750gb), cons: just wish it had a little better processor, only because FPS shooters just don't run on this laptop. All other games work fairly excellent, anywhere from medium-high graphics. ex: sim city runs at medium at around 20 fps 30 on low...eve online ultra graphics at a solid 30 fps...so it all depends on the game! This is a Great product for the price and cant get anything like this anywhere else but HP!

Brett93
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
overall reliable computer
2/1/2013

Customer review by hughy

4.0 stars 2/1/2013 by hughy
by hughy

good stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hughy
queens,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Clean, smooth, a pleasure to use
2/3/2013

Customer review by Pleased22

4.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Pleased22
by Pleased22

Lots of things to like about this computer. It's fast, screen is large, but not overwhelming. This replaced my office desktop, and I couldn't be happier. The keyboard is easy to use, even for a hunt and peck system like mine. Only downer is the reflective glare on the screen.

Pleased22
Honolulu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This laptop has very nice features.
5/3/2013

Customer review by mitchandy

4.0 stars 5/3/2013 by mitchandy
by mitchandy

The lap top has a very thin profile and is light weight. The main purpose for this laptop was the ability to house a second hard drive. It is a Windows 8 OS which I found to be relatively easy to use.

mitchandy
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great computer, but some flaws
6/13/2013

Customer review by Walt48me

4.0 stars 6/13/2013 by Walt48me
by Walt48me

Overall I really like my new Envy. WIN8 took some getting use to, but after the learning curve I found that I like it. Some of the apps are great and make routine functions more convenient. My biggest gripe with WIN8 is the game package. I miss the WIN7 games. A wireless mouse does make it easier. Using the touch pad effectively is a skill that eludes me. Startup speed and overall performance is the best I've seen in a computer. Wireless speed surprised me. When in the same room as the router, I get the same speed as on a wired connection. Previous laptops had a significant drop in speed even next to the router. The HD display is fantastic. One flaw being when the action is very fast it isn't as smooth as on a TV. That was noticed in a SCI-FY movie and isn't typical. The same movie played without the stutter when streamed to TV. Other than that minor setback, I find watching movies on it quite enjoyable. The built in speakers are surprisingly good and external speakers are not needed. My biggest complaint is the video card. I got the NVIDIA 2GB video card and discovered it was wasted money. There is no way to make the computer use it instead of the built in video adapter, which uses shared memory. The story is that the computer will use it "when it's needed." If I had known that up front, I would have added memory rather than buying a useless add-on.

Walt48me
Chesapeake, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Overall Great Computer!
12/27/2012

Customer review by LadyDee86

4.0 stars 12/27/2012 by LadyDee86
by LadyDee86

I've only had this computer a few days but overall I love it. The weight is perfect and the size is great. I love that it has the numeric keypad built in so that I don't have to buy a separate accessory. The only thing I would change on it is the Windows 8. I wish HP had given you a choice of what operating system to install as I'm not a big fan of W8. I guess I'll just use it till Microsoft comes out with something better. Also - I've noticed that the Beats Audio doesn't really make that much of a difference in the sound compared to my basic, work laptop. The biggest difference that I've seen is that it's louder and has a little deeper tones to it. Overall still a great computer that I would recommend :).

LadyDee86
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews