Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

47 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

47 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 44 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Shifting O seal ring on spout prone to leaks

Customer review by Imafraidso

2.0 stars 9/12/2016 by Imafraidso
by Imafraidso

The O seal ring keeps shifting during opening and closure of the spout. When it moves out of position it puckers, snags and stretches due to friction caused by this action. Seems to be a major design flaw (it only works if you don't use the spout regularly, ie, as intended). Rates as efficient as a method of liquid storage but poorly for liquid conveyance. Best used one way up and not in motion. It would be desirable for this product to be supplied with a small bag of O rings to extend its usefulness.

Manitoba, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaky Lid

Customer review by Scrappy

2.0 stars 9/10/2016 by Scrappy
by Scrappy

Been using Rubbermaid products since I was a kid. Bought the 1 Gallon jug for my son after practice and within a few weeks the lid started leaking. He gets a bath every time he needs a drink. Came to the website looking for a replacemnet part, but....nope!

Baltimore, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lid leaks!!

Customer review by Crew Mom

1.0 stars 9/4/2016 by Crew Mom
by Crew Mom

I came on this website looking for replacement rings for the lid. The spout leaks all over due to the O ring leaving a gap around the spout. The rubber ring around the perimeter of the lid has loosened and come out as well, and so this jug is now unusable. Is it possible to get a replacement lid? I hate to throw it out and would like to replace the lid if possible.

Crew Mom
West Chester, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great but leaks

Customer review by David61

3.0 stars 8/31/2016 by David61
by David61

This cooler keeps water nice and cold, however its flaw is the o-ring under the spout leaks. Ours spills at least half the water when you try to drink from it. We tried replacing the o-ring which had decayed with one from the hardware store, but it won't stay in place and leaks even worse.

McKinney, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great, but...

Customer review by Michael831

2.0 stars 8/30/2016 by Michael831
by Michael831

So this worked like a charm when I first bought and now the O-Ring is worn and the jug leaks water EVERWHERE. I literally will take a swig and a considerable amount of water pours from the spout all over me! I wish it was better made because it really does keep things very cold for hours.

Santa Cruz, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cannot get O-ring to stop leaking

Customer review by amymlacrosse

1.0 stars 7/19/2016 by amymlacrosse
by amymlacrosse

Super disappointed with the design on the lid with the o-ring. Tried to make the o-ring not bind up when you close the spout but nothing works for it (tried oil etc to keep it from sticking to the spout). Would NOT purchase this product again, especially since you have NO replacement o-ring for it and I cannot measure the diameter of the old one to figure out which o-ring to try with it.

LaCrosse, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Spout leaks, poor design

Customer review by Roym

1.0 stars 7/25/2016 by Roym
by Roym

Spout leaks due to poor design. Spout needs to be redesigned

Pinellas Park, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
water jug

Customer review by Brad

5.0 stars 7/24/2016 by Brad
by Brad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

love the price, and it keeps your drink cold!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Customer review by momofsix

2.0 stars 10/10/2012 by momofsix
by momofsix

I am disappointed in this product. As someone else mentioned, I expected better from Rubbermaid. Like others commented, the lid is difficult to put on and take off without straining my thumb, the spout which never did stay down well lines up with the handle making it hard to drink, it leaks on occasion and yes my son has checked and replaced the black o ring thing, often, the ridges make it hard to clean, and to top it off, today my son dropped it when coming in the house from work (on a farm) and the lid shattered! I got on this site to see if I could replace the lid. Nope. So, I guess I will be looking for a new water cooler. Probably not Rubbermaid. On the positive side the cooler did keep water cold with a large 2 cup size ice cube for most of the day. Would love to see a redesign of this cooler as usually I am very happy with Rubbermaid products.

Would recommend to a friend? No

Customer review by weaverdelooh

1.0 stars 1/7/2009 by weaverdelooh
by weaverdelooh

I've been buying a new water cooler every year for 20 years now. This has got to be by far THE WORST design I've seen. All of the ridges on the sides make it difficult for cleaning, I fight to get the lid screwed on every morning, and have to "pop" it into place because it won't screw on properly. Because of my husband's job, he's rough on water coolers. I knew that going into the purchase, but in all honesty, I expected something better from Rubbermaid. Here's hoping that they're up to the challenge of redesigning their product. I'm hoping they'll offer a better cooler in the future. A note to Rubbermaid... Want ideas on how to improve your product? Ask a construction worker / truck driver's wife. Not only do we have to listen to them as they complain about it leaking, but we've got to clean it too!

Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it

Customer review by Miner91

5.0 stars 6/9/2015 by Miner91
by Miner91

I have 4 of these. I get them every time I start work at a new mine. I have never had any problems with the lid leaking unless I don't screw it on or I cross thread it. The spout will sometimes drip if I leave it on it's side, but it is so slow it would take a day or two to leak out the whole gallon. All of the miner's carry these underground and they go through amazing abuse and everything holds up great, many do remove the handle, put a hole through where the handle snaps in and put a rope for a handle instead, this is only so we can put S-hooks on it and hang it from the rib to keep them from being run over. Great product!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not for every day use

Customer review by MamaGee

1.0 stars 10/16/2008 by MamaGee
by MamaGee

While this jug may be good for some for the occasional camping trip or picninc, I do not recommend it at all. My son has one that he uses daily during band practice, football games and marching competitions. Not only has the rubber ring fallen out (luckily I found it) but the spout leaks when the jug is closed. If this tips over, the beverage in it spills. Also, as we have learned with past jugs, if the "arms" on the side of the spout break, one is out of luck. This is a flawed design and one that Rubbermaid needs to look at again. Band members and their parents all over the US would appreciate it.

Would recommend to a friend? No
Functionally Terrible

Customer review by FloridaBaseballPlayer

1.0 stars 7/4/2012 by FloridaBaseballPlayer
by FloridaBaseballPlayer

I bought one, had an issue, and bought a second one, thinking it was a random issue, but it wasn't. The jug does the job of keeping things cold, however, the issue is really the main reason any one would guy it, and that is using the spout to drink out of it. The O-Ring gets caught all the time, the seal is never in place an it leaks all over the place. I was really hoping this would be a solution to a problem, but really came off as being a bigger problem than it's worth. Save your money and keep looking for another jug.

Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Design Flaws

Customer review by SEB90

2.0 stars 6/21/2009 by SEB90
by SEB90

I also am disappointed with the new Rubbermaid 1 gal. water cooler design. Along with the flaws mentioned by others, it also no longer has the handle on the side. My husband, who drives truck for a living, uses a water jug daily. His old one was cracked and filthy so I disposed of it before realizing that they don't make 'em the way they used to. They really need the handle on the side so he can take a drink of water while driving his truck too. Please Rubbermaid take it back to the drawing board!

Panhandle of NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love mine.

Customer review by Roothead

5.0 stars 8/24/2014 by Roothead
by Roothead

I have had my jug for about 8 years, it was originally made by Gott Corportation, whom eventually was acquired by Rubbermaid. I use mine when I play golf, and I usually put two waters and a can soft drink or fruit drink, fill it full of ice. Fits perfectly in the back of the golf cart. Holds 3 16 ounce bottles of water or 3 cans of soda. The handle works fine. Keeps ice a reasonable amount of time 6-10 hours. Product makes a great small cooler, hardly ever use it as a water jug.

Midland, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
leaks all the time

Customer review by joeg

1.0 stars 2/10/2013 by joeg
by joeg

i'm going to get the same response as all the rest. All liquid leaks out of the spout, the black o-ring is there. Also it leaks from the jug lid. Is there a gasket that goes there? Why cant after reading all these reviews RUBBERMAID dont redesign the spout. Make it all one piece spout that faces up with a cap on it. SIMPLE FIX. I need a cooler to work and not drip all over me. Nothing like going to a customers house to fix a phone line and have drip stains from my gatorade on me

converse tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
If you are in dust everday! DO NOT BUY!

Customer review by amazon

1.0 stars 6/1/2009 by amazon
by amazon

First, the lid design, horrible, all the grooves hard to clean spout is not closed in, pops out continously and it leaks and like one reviewer said you can't buy replacement parts. My husband cleans out poultry farms, its used daily and used hard , about 5-7 years ago they had a very well designed product, the lid swivelled out, instead of lifting up, I wish we had purchased several then.To wrap up, if its for very light or limited use it will sufice.

Would recommend to a friend? No

Customer review by Yankee1

2.0 stars 7/26/2010 by Yankee1
by Yankee1

I bought it cause it said leak resistant. I guess that only means it won't leak when its standing upright, cause if u put this on its side it will LEAK!!!! Hello wats the point of a cooler that leaks if it tips over while on your way to the game. It leaks the whole time your drinking out of it too, The top is a pain to get on and you cant get it so spout is not lined up with the handle. VERY disappointed.

Rochester NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor Durability

Customer review by JohnE

2.0 stars 11/6/2010 by JohnE
by JohnE

I coach a soccer team and I've owned 2 of these. These units seem to consistently last about half a season. The first time, the handle busted (at the joint) simply by being picked up. The second time, the cooler was dropped and the lid shattered. These coolers are also too heavy for kids (14 and under) to lift and drink from when they are full. You'll need a stand or you'll be holding it up for everyone.

Would recommend to a friend? No
Do Not Buy

Customer review by Enujell

1.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Enujell
by Enujell

I bought this jug last year to use when I am on my liquid diet. I am very disappointed in the construction of this jug. The top is difficult to open and close my hands are not large enought to hold the top and tighen and no grip was built in. Can you imagine being on a liquid diet and when you arrive there is no liquid in the jug. It happened again today the jug fell on the side and everything leaked out.

Putnam, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews