Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 77 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

77 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

77 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
21
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 stars
15
1-20 of 68 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews
Great phone for a great price
11/21/2012

Customer review by Joybeth1

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by Joybeth1
by Joybeth1

I love this phone, it does every thing I need and more, it is easy to get lost playing around in it, it has easy access to Facebook and other apps, and I love the plans, for $35 a month you get endless internet and text and 300 voice minutes.

Was this review helpful? (432) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joybeth1
Tacoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/12/2012

Customer review by ladytrucker1234

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by ladytrucker1234
by ladytrucker1234

I am not a tech savy person at all, but this phone is awesome. It does everything I want, which is take the place of an aging computer that will not be replaced. Battery life isn't bad, but have never had an android so I don't have experience to compare to. Does not shut off on me or change screens as I have read some other brands do. It is great !!!

Was this review helpful? (323) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladytrucker1234
west central illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than most phones three times the price.
1/22/2013

Customer review by badbadleroybrown

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by badbadleroybrown
by badbadleroybrown

I've had many android phones as well as an iphone. The rise doesn't compare to high end phones, but does hold it's own with the $149 crowd. Hilarious because I paid 59.99. After six months of use the only real issue I can see is the camera. It's ok, don't plan on selling your camera. I made hd videos on on my iphone that's the only thing I miss. Pros. -Keyboard rocks. Big buttons with space in between. -Operating System is faster than any phone I've ever had. It really is a lean mean fighting machine. -Feels heavy and well built. Not cheap like other $149's. -Battery Life, out of the box lasted 6-8hrs., after optimizing the settings it lasts a day and a half. -Have yet to find an android app that wont work on the rise.

Was this review helpful? (220) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
badbadleroybrown
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only Two Faults
3/22/2013

Customer review by LeezyG

4.0 stars 3/22/2013 by LeezyG
by LeezyG

I've had a few Kyoceras before and they were average - not so for the Kyocera Rise! I love this phone, and I really love Virgin Mobile's service. The main point with Virgin Mobile and this phone is that you get more than what you pay for. There are much better phones and services out there, but for an extremely competitive price, you get a phone and service that is above average in quality, and exceptional overall considering the outstandingly low price. If you're on a budget and are looking for a functional smartphone, definitely go for this one, or at least Virgin Mobile's service - the price is unbeatable. They offer 300 minutes, unlimited text, and unlimited 3G web for only $35 + tax a month. Postives: this phone has AMAZING battery life, in my opinion. For today, example - it has been off the charger for seven hours and I have used it moderately throughout those seven hours - I listened to music, texted for quite some time, called someone, posted to my blog, emailed someone, and was on Facebook, and I still have 80% of my charge. Last night I tried to drain the battery before charging it and eventually gave up and put it on the charger anyway. I'm really pleased with how I managed to lay out my home screens and it's a drastic improvement over the LG Optimus V I was using. The amount of bloatware Virgin Mobile piles on this phone is way less than what they used to put on, too - just one single app the use of which I have not ascertained yet. The physical keyboard is average - easier to use than a too-small software keyboard like my last phone and the buttons are easy on the fingers compared to the one I had before it. Negatives: the aforementioned keyboard is missing a few characters, but closing the phone and putting them in with the software keyboard fixes that - the percent symbol and angle brackets (<>) are missing. While irritating to do, it's a problem that can be fixed. What can't be fixed is the absolutely horrible sound quality on the lower end of the scale - certain songs with loud bass sound horribly scratchy and I need to turn it way down or put in headphones. Also, setting up the homescreens is a little iffy. Some useful things to know - again, any missing characters you need can be put in with the software keyboard. The buttons at the bottom - they come defaulted to Phone, Contacts, Messaging, etc., can be customized with multiple items on each button - for example, I grouped the Phone, Voicemail, Messaging, and Contacts into one, put Browser, Email, and Maps into another, my social media apps into a third, and all of my music apps into the fourth, leaving my homescreens open for widgets and shortcuts to apps that couldn't be grouped together. If the phone malfunctions - sometimes I can't get a connection, or my music doesn't show up - turning it off and back on almost always fixes it. Lastly, Android 4.0 introduces the option to take screenshots - simply hold Power and Volume Down simultaneously. The few issues this phone has are forgivable, and when compared to the things it DOES do right, I'd definitely recommend this phone.

Was this review helpful? (172) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeezyG
Camden County, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/4/2013

Customer review by WormholeTheory

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by WormholeTheory
by WormholeTheory

I received this as a replacement after I dropped and broke my LG Optimus Elite :-( . But this phone works just as great, has the same features I love, and the battery life is great as well

Was this review helpful? (122) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WormholeTheory
Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great economical smart phone
1/27/2013

Customer review by kitowa

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by kitowa
by kitowa

I was not sure about buying a smartphone that was only $79. My previous phone was $300+ and the provider stiffed me on the $100 rebate. So I was unhappy and ready to switch to a cheaper provider. However, this phone has far exceeded my expectations. It works much better than the $300 phone I had. It accesses the internet much faster even at only 3G, and when a message or voicemail is recieved while the phone is off, it tells me the actual time the message/voicemail was recieved. My previous phone did not. It would just give the time received as the time I turned the phone on, so I had no idea when this person actually tried to contact me. The only irritating thing about it is that it tends to want to lock onto my wifi in my home when I don't want it to. It searches for wifi connections wherever I go. There doesn't seem to be a way to turn that feature off, but I'm still looking. Obviously, I don't want to be hooking up onto public wifi at random times. I want to control when wifi is accessed instead of having to turn it off every time it switches to wifi. All told, I'm very happy I got this phone and switched providers, and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (66) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kitowa
Grand Blanc, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Everythings good except no front camera
12/22/2012

Customer review by Californiagirl55278

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Californiagirl55278
by Californiagirl55278

I love everything about this phone the desighn the features,battery life COULD be longer...but over all its good, i just hate that theres no front facing camera thats all

Was this review helpful? (87) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Californiagirl55278
i think the name handles that
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
love it
1/12/2013

Customer review by sgnaf1

4.0 stars 1/12/2013 by sgnaf1
by sgnaf1

This is my first smart phone, and I love it. A slight learning curve as I'm not a techie, but easy enough to figure out with a little effort. The Virgin Mobile service has been excellent for me and the best value I've found that includes web & text. I highly recommend the phone & service for anyone that wants to break into this century with minimal cost or headache.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sgnaf1
westerly, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Surprised by the Value
11/11/2013

Customer review by ALFN

4.0 stars 11/11/2013 by ALFN
by ALFN

I was very impressed. The phone came with videos pre-loaded into it that taught me a bit about how to use it. I only had to use the manual to learn how to use the camera. The slide-out keyboard is a little stiff and tires out my spoiled thumbs that are used to only a touch-screen but oh well. The swipe-typing on the touch screen face is VERY handy. Make sure you don't switch into Spanish accidentally. The button is right in a bad spot. I had a lot of trouble activating it but that is probably based on Virgin's coverage rather than on anything to do with this phone model itself. If you have this coverage already and it's fine, this phone shouldn't effect it. It was super easy to keep my last phone number. Just change it online. I've had $320 phones, $150 phones and now this phone. Honestly the most expensive one was the most problem prone. For the cost of this phone it is pretty awesome. You can change out the micro-SD card and use it as a music player as well, works just fine. Doesn't come with a music player though (That's a pain, I had to download a 2-week trial). MY ONLY REAL COMPLAINT---- that I have about this phone is that it's constantly rearranging my home screen! Really annoying, I like having everything where I leave it! Over all though, I would recommend it, especially to a student who wants a smart phone for a lower cost.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ALFN
Burlington, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great touch phone for a middle school student.
3/9/2013

Customer review by TouchScreen

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by TouchScreen
by TouchScreen

We like the touch screen with the qwerty keypad. It is excellent for a middle school student.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TouchScreen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Starter Smart Phone
12/28/2013

Customer review by Rowland4

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Rowland4
by Rowland4

This phone is great for the price and gets you a smart phone for a relatively low cost. This is my first smart phone, I am 36 and I am not having any problems using it. I love the little slide out keyboard, though when texting I tend to to use the touchscreen more. I actually bought it to have the keyboard, but the swype feature where it fills in the words for you is very simple and makes sending messages quick and easy. I love the personal dictionary, this little phone already remembers all the words I use most often and family member's names without me having to type out the entire word. There are many ringtones pre-loaded on the phone, but all are very electronic sounding so I downloaded an app called Zedge and have been customizing tones to all my favorite people. I haven't played much with the phone's other features yet. The camera/video is nice though I wish that it had a camera on both sides of the phone. I like that it has wifi, I am home a lot so able to use the wifi instead of using any of my data, though I have unlimited data & text with my $35 a month plan from Virgin Mobile. Great little phone~!

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rowland4
Pontiac, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/30/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/30/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Excellent choice for the price, does slidy menus and all that sort of fun stuff that these smartphone thingies do. However it does tend to freeze up on occasion, especially in areas of very little service, requiring one to restart to use the phone further.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Snowspire, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good phone if it works
3/19/2013

Customer review by stanjj

3.0 stars 3/19/2013 by stanjj
by stanjj

I purchased a Kyocera Rise after I lost my phone. This was my only option with Virgin Mobile that I saw because I like a QWERTY keyboard. This item was purchased in a box store and I was glad that I did. I had to return the phone several times before I got it to work now (I think). My phone would work initially but after a short while on my first phone the sound stopped working. I could only make phone calls on the speaker mode and the music would not play. The store manager suggested that I get a new phone. The second one had a similar problem. This was very strange. Customer service in Manila was useless. Everyone I spoke to said are you sure the volume is on (which it was). I am not that ignorant. I finally got someone in Virgin Mobile who indicated that if I obtained some info from the box store they would send me a new phone (not a refurbished one) because the item was less than a month old. Everyone said that it was a hardware problem and not software incompatability. Instead, I went to another box store with same company and they set up the phone. After one day it happened again so I took out the battery and reset the phone to the factory initial settings. After each addition or change in the phone, such as adding programs, moving programs to the sd card etc. demonstrated that the phone appears to be working well. After much soul searching I think that the problem was that the case was not closed completely and somehow this caused an interruption in service. No one in customer service or the store was able to help but when I mentioned this to the store mgr. he said that this was a possible cause of the errors that I was getting. I understand that this is a midrange product and should expect it behaves as such. Now the phone seems to be working well (3 days). I like this Android system as it is better than the 2.3 version that I was using in the past. Some general comments about this phone: The camera is weak in terms of color balance and the video could be clearer but they work adequately. I put in a 16GB card and for my uses this is fine. The volume is now working well. As others have mentioned the top level of the keyboard is too close to the screen. I do not like the fact that the fn functions needs to be activated each time that a number needs to be added. I do not like the fact that the Essentials program needs to be added. I would much rather have choices as to what programs to add. However, with the memory on the phone and moving all the apps to the sd card this issue hopefully will not be an issue I called Kyocera technical service trying to ask about this issue and determine whether this is a defect in their product. The person on the line refused to answer and directed me to Virgin Mobile. Not much help at all.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stanjj
fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
like it
2/24/2013

Customer review by wallyworldstuffreviews

4.0 stars 2/24/2013 by wallyworldstuffreviews
by wallyworldstuffreviews

overall, this phone is great. this is my first smart phone. it's easy to use and I'm really glad I decided I wanted the slide out keyboard. if you're new to smartphones, you'll probably want this too especially if you have the finger size of a grown man. for the price, this is a very good deal! the only complaint I have is you can't turn off the shutter sound on the camera nor video! I've tried several apps that let me do this, but the trade off isn't worth it as it makes the poor quality photos of this camera even smaller. I would highly recommend this smartphone to anyone who wants a decent, very reasonably priced one, especially that has a slide out keyboard. however, I would definitely not recommend it for photos or video.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wallyworldstuffreviews
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a very good phone...
9/2/2013

Customer review by casjkarr

1.0 stars 9/2/2013 by casjkarr
by casjkarr

I was told this phone was going to be awesome, and at first it was awesome. The camera was good, I love the keyboard and I loved how fast it was. After awhile it began to slow down tremendously (And it had nothing to do with service because where I live I have perfect service.) I've already had to have Virgin Mobile send me a new one because my first on froze up one day and just wouldn't turn back on. I was beyond irritated. I don't have a lot of apps, and I don't have hardly anything even saved on my phone. I try to keep the SD card free so that it will run faster, but apparently that has nothing to do with the speed. It still freezes up on me and shuts off for no reason and it's beginning to delete stuff that I don't want deleted. I wish I would have saved my money and bought a nicer phone. I love Virgin Mobile because it is cheap, but I wish the phones were cheaper too. I wouldn't recommend buying this phone.

Was this review helpful? (19) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
casjkarr
Anderson, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible Phone
11/13/2013

Customer review by wicked1773

1.0 stars 11/13/2013 by wicked1773
by wicked1773

Bought this phone online. No where does it say 14 day return policy. Phone was bad from the start. Kept turning off for no reason and would not turn on unless plugged in. called the manufacturer they don't honor the warranty and send you through virgin mobile. they won't honor the warranty either unless it is activated. Why would I activate a broken phone! phone it self was new but the battery was used. it was all scratched up and covered in sticky tape like residue. spent $65 for this phone and now out my money plus more money to buy a new one!

Was this review helpful? (16) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wicked1773
Punta Gorda, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Nice prepaid cell phone for the price
4/13/2013

Customer review by 2kbandit

4.0 stars 4/13/2013 by 2kbandit
by 2kbandit

This Kyocera Rise prepaid cell phone is a CDMA phone which don't use 'Sim Cards'. How ever the Kyocera Rise does use 'Micro SD' cards for storage. They do include a 2 GB 'Micro SD' card which is all ready installed in the phone for you. It supports upto 32 GB 'Micro SD' cards if you need more space. The phone also has 3G for your mobile data needs. Also has Wi-Fi if you want to connect to your home wireless internet and other places. The phone has both bluetooth and GPS built in. The phone also has a 3.2MP camera w/ flash but does not have auto focus. The camera can also take 800x480 video as well. The phone runs on Android 4.0.4 which is known as ice cream sandwich. Best part of the phone I think is the Qwerty keyboard. You can easy use both thumbs and send a quick message to any of your friends. Only part I dislike about the phone is when you power it off. It will all ways un-mount the 'micro SD' card just be for it shuts off. Then when you power the phone back on you will get the "preparing SD card'. Cause it has to remount the 'micro SD' card that it un-mounted when you turned it off. Don't worry your files will still be on the 'micro SD' card. If you are like me who moves there android apps to the 'micro SD' card. In order to save internal storage space on the phone. You will have to wait till the phone remount's the 'micro SD' card. Be for you can use the apps that you moves to the 'micro SD' card. Besides the un-mounting & re-mounting of the 'micro SD' card the phone does. When turnning off and on the phone. I find the Kyocera Rise to be a nice budget prepaid smartphone. I took off one star for the 'micro SD' card un-mounting & re-mounting it does when turning off/on the phone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2kbandit
Alger, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/17/2013

Customer review by Ginger1990

4.0 stars 5/17/2013 by Ginger1990
by Ginger1990

I do not have much experience with phones but based on the reviews I seen before I purchased the phone, I am slightly disappointed. The phone is GREAT for music and Facebook but freezes quite a bit and just doesn't operate accordingly to my busy lifestyle. When I make a call the screen will go whacko. Either it hangs up on whoever I am talking to or it doesn't hang up at all. Also the auto correct is so dysfunctional. It auto corrects everything when I use swipe. I spend more time editing than I do texting and honestly texting was much faster on my old flip phone Hah. Also for a 3G i never have service.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ginger1990
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I guess it's a good android for the price.
2/28/2013

Customer review by bmefate

3.0 stars 2/28/2013 by bmefate
by bmefate

I've only had one other android and I am not impressed. It's a nice little phone, you can get all kinds of apps... but you have to charge it every other day if not every day. I really hate that. If it wasn't for that I would probably be very happy with it. There are things I still don't know how to do on it... I haven't figured out how to delete or edit my contacts which bugs the heck out of me. But other than that I do like the phone. It's got weight to it so it doesn't feel cheap. I like the slide out keyboard, it's one of the reasons that I bought it. Hopefully I will learn how to edit my contacts and I guess I will learn to deal with the battery.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bmefate
Mulberry Grove, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not buy this phone!!!
12/22/2013

Customer review by LandonCE

1.0 stars 12/22/2013 by LandonCE
by LandonCE

It is a Piece of JUNK! I bought it early in November and started having problems with it very soon thereafter. Walmart directed me to call the company. The company replaced the phone and the battery because the phone would shut itself off and restart and the battery time is non-existent! I have had to recharge the battery twice a day even using the battery saver apps that are recommended. Don't waste your money or time on it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LandonCE
Desloge, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews