Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

33 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
AWESOME SMOKER.
5/15/2013

Customer review by PBSMOKER

5.0 stars by PBSMOKER

FIRST BATCH OF RIBS WERE PERFECT! ABSOLUTELY A SUPERIOR PIECE OF EQUIPMENT! 6 SLAB RIB RACK BY BRINKMAN SAVED A LOT OF ROOM AND WORKED VERY WELL. CAN'T WAIT TO DO BEEF BRISKET THIS WEEKEND...

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PBSMOKER
LIMA, OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Puts Charcoal Smokers to Shame
9/12/2013

Customer review by Nimzovich

5.0 stars by Nimzovich

I picked it up at the store and used it the very same week. The handy meat temperature probe comes neatly secured in a slot on the side, and has plenty of lead wire to reach food placed on any of the 4-shelves. The handy remote allows me to set the smoker temperature and check the internal temperature of the meat from my lounge chair. Muscle memory reminded me that I would have been adding coals and water several times if I was using my charcoal smoker. This smoker is "set it and forget it", unless it rains.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Nimzovich
Navarre, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD SMOKER FOR THE MONEY
7/17/2013

Customer review by smokerhouse

5.0 stars by smokerhouse

I HAVE READ A LOT OF REVIEWS ON THIS SMOKER AND HAD SOME RESERVATGIONS AS TO THE QUALITY OF THE PRODUCT BUT AFTER RECEIVING IT I AM IMPRESSED SO FAR. I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT AT ALL AND THE WINDOW IN THE FRONT DOES CLOUD UP FROM THE SMOKE BUT IF YOU WIPE IT OFF WITH A PAPERTOWL AND SOME WHITE VINEGAR AFTER USE IT IS FINE AND CLEANS EASILY. THE REMOTE WORKS WELL BUT IT NEEDS TO HAVE A FAIRLY STRAIT SHOT TO THE UNIT WITHOUT A LOT OF WALLS AND CURVES TO FUNCTION PROPERLY. I THINK THEY SAY 100 FT RANGE BUT THAT WOULD HAVE TO BE LINE OF SITE PRETTY MUCH. THE WATER PAN IS STAINLESS STEAL AND CLEASN UP EASILY. THE ONLY THINGS I WOULD CANGE IS THE SMOKER CHIP ADD TRAY IS SMALL AND IT DOESN'T TAKE A BUNCH OF CHIPS AT ONE TIME SO I FOUND MYSELF CHECKING TO SEE IF I WAS STILL GETTING SMOKE QUITE A BIT BUT THAT WILL CHANGE WHEN I GET USE TO THE SMOKER. SO FAR SO GOOD

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
smokerhouse
RICHMOND, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Glass Leaked Grease and is a Poor Insulator
6/13/2013

Customer review by joe98547

3.0 stars by joe98547

I would not recommend this smoker because the window is pointless it clouds up the first 5 min of smoking and after you smoke two times the smoke on the window is so heavy you can't wipe it clean. If you plan to smoke in the winter it will be harder to maintain the temperature because the glass releases a lot of heat. Also the window that I had just leaked grease even after smoking multiple times. I bought this smoker on 6/2/13 when i unpacked the smoker it was missing the screws and two pans. I called up Masterbuilt and they said I was missing the hardware kit so they sent me the kit which I received on 6/7/13. When I assembled the smoker I noticed there was a bracket missing screws so I called up again and sent them photos. This time they waited till the 13th and said just exchange it where you bought it. I would of hoped they would just mail me a new smoker and pickup the bad smoker since I had to wait so long for their responses and I don't have a truck to hull back and forth. If you look at the picture you can see how dark the window is and this is after I scrubbed it for 20 min you can also see all of the grease the window leaked out this did not leak from the bottom at all.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
joe98547
South Bend
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My second one
9/2/2014

Customer review by knight288

5.0 stars by knight288

I love the Masterbuilt smoker -- this is the second one that I have owned. My old one went to the next door neighbor and it is working well after many uses. I bought this one as I wanted the built in temp probe. I have already smoked 3 racks of ribs, a beef brisket, and a Boston butt (pulled pork). The smoker comes up to temp in about 20 minutes and hold the temp well (+/- 3 degrees). Easy to put in wood chips thru the side wood chip tray. Would recommend this smoker over the more expensive ones (I have had one of those before) as it holds temp better even in very cold weather. Very happy with the product and would buy another in the future.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
knight288
Grayson, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent beginner smoker
8/25/2014

Customer review by GrillerDone

5.0 stars by GrillerDone

This is my first smoker and I really like it. I am a barbecue and grill guy from way back and have finally decided to try my hand at smoking. Out of the box, this is very easy and quick to get ready to go! I seasoned it as per instructions to burn off any residue inside and get a light layer of smoke on it. I then cooked a tri tip with hickory and it was really good! I found the smoker to stay true to temperature and it cooked the meat very evenly. If you are hesitant about smoking, try starting out with this one! My next try will be mesquite smoked rib-eye!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GrillerDone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Smoker!
11/9/2014

Customer review by dlambdin

5.0 stars by dlambdin

We've used it twice within the first week of having it, and Love it so far!...Can't wait until Thanksgiving to smoke some Turkeys in it!...Holds temperature really well....Nice sturdy construction...Like the window on it, but you definitely need to clean it after each use....Husband likes the remote....Would recommend to family and friends!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dlambdin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
YUM!
12/5/2014

Customer review by thereluctantsmoker

5.0 stars by thereluctantsmoker

I got this because i ordered a beautiful grass fed hog share then found out the butcher only uses nitrites so i got defaulted into learning how to DYI. So its not the gas or charcoal that's touted about but i really like the crock pot style of set it n forget it of the electric smoker. for a beginner like me its great and i'm not out to win any competitions...except in my own kitchen. So far fish, pork, turkey and chicken have all turned out good. still learning tricks and tips. It is easy clean up when its still warm with vinegar water. and the guts inside wash up nicely. The remote is not well explained in the instructions on how to match it with the buttons on the grill so you may have to play with it a bit to figure it out. it assembles easy. i liked the idea of wheels but as it turned out i ended up setting it up on cement blocks for convenience of loading so don't need them. it will not be moved. I like the window. it does not get smoked up if you are using the vent correctly. i don't know how much I will end up using the remote but you never know. I use the box it came in as a cover. shipping was nice. came to my house no charge and i was impressed Walmart got it to me in under a week! That's unusual for this company and everything was in good shape and well treated. I guess that means I need to give some fresh smoked salmon to my UPS guy for Christmas :) In the end I'm glad for the experience. There's nothing quite like fresh smoked food you've made yourself. Now I guess I'll have to learn to fish for my own trout to smoke. :(

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
thereluctantsmoker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Surprised
10/15/2014

Customer review by Smokenineasttx

4.0 stars by Smokenineasttx

Well after what I thought was a month of reading reviews and blogs it finally came to the decision of electric or propane. Choosing the masterbuilt elec smoker was my choice and I've not been disappointed very little to put together and I was ready. I have even found that a St. Louis cut rib will lay at an angle on the rack without having to cut in two pieces. Just remember one thing never rush your smoking be prepared to let your ribs smoke at least five hours then enjoy

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Smokenineasttx
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!
12/3/2013

Customer review by harley200

5.0 stars by harley200

I have smoked a lot in my smoker since I bought it last month. I love it. I have smoked a whole chicken, ribs, Mac and cheese, and a beef brisket. All come out perfect. The smoked mac and cheese was a hit with everyone at Thanksgiving. If you like the taste of smoked food then you would love this smoker. It is easy to set up and easy to use. Clean up is easy too.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
harley200
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very nice, but I've got a lot to learn.
11/17/2014

Customer review by laserlady1

5.0 stars by laserlady1

Only thing it could use it a cookbook to go with it to help out beginners.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
laserlady1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
shipping
12/18/2014

Customer review by Sgt135

5.0 stars by Sgt135

Smoker arrived well ahead of its projected shipping date. Excellent service and well made product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sgt135
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is an awesome smoker
9/2/2014

Customer review by bcromagnon

5.0 stars by bcromagnon

Great smoker, food is delicious, be sure to pull out all the packing styrofoam

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bcromagnon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really provides a smoked flavor.
1/25/2015

Customer review by RookieSmoker

4.0 stars by RookieSmoker

Used it once to smoke a beef brisket. It provided an real smoked flavor, but we left it in too long and it was slightly over cooked. The only drawback is the clean-up afterwards. The temperature probe and remote monitor a real plus. It will take some time to learn how to cook correctly, but its worth the effort.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RookieSmoker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Smoker
1/12/2015

Customer review by Woodchester

5.0 stars by Woodchester

Bought this smoker because of the good reviews and on sale to boot. Very easy to use and keeps constant temperature as long as you don't open the door too often to peek. The remote control is a real plus as I can sit inside and check times and temperatures without even being where I can see the smoker.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Woodchester
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
12/7/2014

Customer review by Kepkim

5.0 stars by Kepkim

Ordered this as an early Christmas gift for my husband. He used it for Thanksgiving.. He loves it..he smoked a turkey and a ham...no problems at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kepkim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent product
1/7/2015

Customer review by SeanFC

5.0 stars by SeanFC

I am very happy with this smoker. It works perfectly, exactly as advertised. Easy to clean up. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SeanFC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
smoke
11/26/2014

Customer review by Txtat2s806

5.0 stars by Txtat2s806

works great without getting up and checking on your food

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Txtat2s806
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
jerky
1/6/2015

Customer review by leeom

5.0 stars by leeom

very fast shipping excellent product

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
leeom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A KEEPER !
1/25/2015

Customer review by Bruce

5.0 stars by Bruce

The BEST food ever done in a smoker.--- No more charcoal or propane for me!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bruce
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 30 total reviews