Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 45 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Glass Leaked Grease and is a Poor Insulator
6/13/2013

Customer review by joe98547

3.0 stars 6/13/2013 by joe98547
by joe98547

I would not recommend this smoker because the window is pointless it clouds up the first 5 min of smoking and after you smoke two times the smoke on the window is so heavy you can't wipe it clean. If you plan to smoke in the winter it will be harder to maintain the temperature because the glass releases a lot of heat. Also the window that I had just leaked grease even after smoking multiple times. I bought this smoker on 6/2/13 when i unpacked the smoker it was missing the screws and two pans. I called up Masterbuilt and they said I was missing the hardware kit so they sent me the kit which I received on 6/7/13. When I assembled the smoker I noticed there was a bracket missing screws so I called up again and sent them photos. This time they waited till the 13th and said just exchange it where you bought it. I would of hoped they would just mail me a new smoker and pickup the bad smoker since I had to wait so long for their responses and I don't have a truck to hull back and forth. If you look at the picture you can see how dark the window is and this is after I scrubbed it for 20 min you can also see all of the grease the window leaked out this did not leak from the bottom at all.

Was this review helpful? (66) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joe98547
South Bend
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This is an awesome smoker
9/2/2014

Customer review by bcromagnon

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by bcromagnon
by bcromagnon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great smoker, food is delicious, be sure to pull out all the packing styrofoam

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bcromagnon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Happy With This Product
8/11/2015

Customer review by QuickDraw

5.0 stars 8/11/2015 by QuickDraw
by QuickDraw

I am a newbie to smoking and wanted an electric smoker to maintain better temperature control than I had on my charcoal grill, which I had been using to smoke food. When I purchased this Masterbuilt, I felt that I was purchasing from a respected company based on user reviews that I read. I used several temp gauges to check and recheck the temperature showing on the electric gauge and I was confident that my temp control was on the mark. Best of all, the food I have been able to cook has been all that I hoped for. I cooked my first rack of ribs which left clean bite marks. I gave a few to my neighbor and he later came over and asked me how I was able to cook ribs like that. Since then I have cooked a brisket, smoked whole chickens and cooked a Boston Butt for some delicious pulled pork. I have not been disappointed. This smoker has made me (and my family) very happy. The only possible drawback is the interior width but it is not hard to work around when necessary. I would recommend this smoker to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuickDraw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My second one
9/2/2014

Customer review by knight288

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by knight288
by knight288
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the Masterbuilt smoker -- this is the second one that I have owned. My old one went to the next door neighbor and it is working well after many uses. I bought this one as I wanted the built in temp probe. I have already smoked 3 racks of ribs, a beef brisket, and a Boston butt (pulled pork). The smoker comes up to temp in about 20 minutes and hold the temp well (+/- 3 degrees). Easy to put in wood chips thru the side wood chip tray. Would recommend this smoker over the more expensive ones (I have had one of those before) as it holds temp better even in very cold weather. Very happy with the product and would buy another in the future.

Was this review helpful? (60) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
knight288
Grayson, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD SMOKER FOR THE MONEY
7/17/2013

Customer review by smokerhouse

5.0 stars 7/17/2013 by smokerhouse
by smokerhouse
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I HAVE READ A LOT OF REVIEWS ON THIS SMOKER AND HAD SOME RESERVATGIONS AS TO THE QUALITY OF THE PRODUCT BUT AFTER RECEIVING IT I AM IMPRESSED SO FAR. I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT AT ALL AND THE WINDOW IN THE FRONT DOES CLOUD UP FROM THE SMOKE BUT IF YOU WIPE IT OFF WITH A PAPERTOWL AND SOME WHITE VINEGAR AFTER USE IT IS FINE AND CLEANS EASILY. THE REMOTE WORKS WELL BUT IT NEEDS TO HAVE A FAIRLY STRAIT SHOT TO THE UNIT WITHOUT A LOT OF WALLS AND CURVES TO FUNCTION PROPERLY. I THINK THEY SAY 100 FT RANGE BUT THAT WOULD HAVE TO BE LINE OF SITE PRETTY MUCH. THE WATER PAN IS STAINLESS STEAL AND CLEASN UP EASILY. THE ONLY THINGS I WOULD CANGE IS THE SMOKER CHIP ADD TRAY IS SMALL AND IT DOESN'T TAKE A BUNCH OF CHIPS AT ONE TIME SO I FOUND MYSELF CHECKING TO SEE IF I WAS STILL GETTING SMOKE QUITE A BIT BUT THAT WILL CHANGE WHEN I GET USE TO THE SMOKER. SO FAR SO GOOD

Was this review helpful? (41) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smokerhouse
RICHMOND, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
masterbuillt electric smoker
5/31/2016

Customer review by demodan

4.0 stars 5/31/2016 by demodan
by demodan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this on line never having an electric before. best thing I ever did, first time made bacon every love it next ribs and beans, next brisket , every saterday plan to use it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
demodan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
4/18/2016

Customer review by convertiblegal

5.0 stars 4/18/2016 by convertiblegal
by convertiblegal

The only downside is the cleaning up the mess from the racks, pan, etc. after smoking, but that's gonna be with any smoker. It lends a fabulous smoky flavor to the meat. I've only used it 3 times since I got it, but it's only been a week! I made ribs the first time. Since I've done Boston butt for pulled pork and chicken wings which were excellent! This was the best price around on this particular smoker--with free shipping! Highly recommend. Set up was easy. One of the feet was bent on it when it arrived, but I bought a stand, so it wasn't an issue. Great little smoker!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
convertiblegal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent beginner smoker
8/25/2014

Customer review by GrillerDone

5.0 stars 8/25/2014 by GrillerDone
by GrillerDone

This is my first smoker and I really like it. I am a barbecue and grill guy from way back and have finally decided to try my hand at smoking. Out of the box, this is very easy and quick to get ready to go! I seasoned it as per instructions to burn off any residue inside and get a light layer of smoke on it. I then cooked a tri tip with hickory and it was really good! I found the smoker to stay true to temperature and it cooked the meat very evenly. If you are hesitant about smoking, try starting out with this one! My next try will be mesquite smoked rib-eye!

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrillerDone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Surprised
10/15/2014

Customer review by Smokenineasttx

4.0 stars 10/15/2014 by Smokenineasttx
by Smokenineasttx
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Well after what I thought was a month of reading reviews and blogs it finally came to the decision of electric or propane. Choosing the masterbuilt elec smoker was my choice and I've not been disappointed very little to put together and I was ready. I have even found that a St. Louis cut rib will lay at an angle on the rack without having to cut in two pieces. Just remember one thing never rush your smoking be prepared to let your ribs smoke at least five hours then enjoy

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smokenineasttx
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Smoker!
11/9/2014

Customer review by dlambdin

5.0 stars 11/9/2014 by dlambdin
by dlambdin

We've used it twice within the first week of having it, and Love it so far!...Can't wait until Thanksgiving to smoke some Turkeys in it!...Holds temperature really well....Nice sturdy construction...Like the window on it, but you definitely need to clean it after each use....Husband likes the remote....Would recommend to family and friends!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dlambdin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME SMOKER.
5/15/2013

Customer review by PBSMOKER

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by PBSMOKER
by PBSMOKER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

FIRST BATCH OF RIBS WERE PERFECT! ABSOLUTELY A SUPERIOR PIECE OF EQUIPMENT! 6 SLAB RIB RACK BY BRINKMAN SAVED A LOT OF ROOM AND WORKED VERY WELL. CAN'T WAIT TO DO BEEF BRISKET THIS WEEKEND...

Was this review helpful? (52) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PBSMOKER
LIMA, OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
YUM!
12/5/2014

Customer review by thereluctantsmoker

5.0 stars 12/5/2014 by thereluctantsmoker
by thereluctantsmoker

I got this because i ordered a beautiful grass fed hog share then found out the butcher only uses nitrites so i got defaulted into learning how to DYI. So its not the gas or charcoal that's touted about but i really like the crock pot style of set it n forget it of the electric smoker. for a beginner like me its great and i'm not out to win any competitions...except in my own kitchen. So far fish, pork, turkey and chicken have all turned out good. still learning tricks and tips. It is easy clean up when its still warm with vinegar water. and the guts inside wash up nicely. The remote is not well explained in the instructions on how to match it with the buttons on the grill so you may have to play with it a bit to figure it out. it assembles easy. i liked the idea of wheels but as it turned out i ended up setting it up on cement blocks for convenience of loading so don't need them. it will not be moved. I like the window. it does not get smoked up if you are using the vent correctly. i don't know how much I will end up using the remote but you never know. I use the box it came in as a cover. shipping was nice. came to my house no charge and i was impressed Walmart got it to me in under a week! That's unusual for this company and everything was in good shape and well treated. I guess that means I need to give some fresh smoked salmon to my UPS guy for Christmas :) In the end I'm glad for the experience. There's nothing quite like fresh smoked food you've made yourself. Now I guess I'll have to learn to fish for my own trout to smoke. :(

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thereluctantsmoker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Puts Charcoal Smokers to Shame
9/12/2013

Customer review by Nimzovich

5.0 stars 9/12/2013 by Nimzovich
by Nimzovich
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I picked it up at the store and used it the very same week. The handy meat temperature probe comes neatly secured in a slot on the side, and has plenty of lead wire to reach food placed on any of the 4-shelves. The handy remote allows me to set the smoker temperature and check the internal temperature of the meat from my lounge chair. Muscle memory reminded me that I would have been adding coals and water several times if I was using my charcoal smoker. This smoker is "set it and forget it", unless it rains.

Was this review helpful? (43) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nimzovich
Navarre, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
30 electric smoker
5/16/2016

Customer review by Allen

5.0 stars 5/16/2016 by Allen
by Allen

I haven't used a unit but I break-in uses lighten up for three hours at the 275°

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Allen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Smoker
1/12/2015

Customer review by Woodchester

5.0 stars 1/12/2015 by Woodchester
by Woodchester

Bought this smoker because of the good reviews and on sale to boot. Very easy to use and keeps constant temperature as long as you don't open the door too often to peek. The remote control is a real plus as I can sit inside and check times and temperatures without even being where I can see the smoker.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Woodchester
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Will not stay on ....
12/5/2015

Customer review by Wilson

1.0 stars 12/5/2015 by Wilson
by Wilson

Received this as a Christmas gift on Friday 12-04-15. Just opened the box and set up per the instructions, which is very easy. Turned on to season, per instructions and the unit keeps shutting off while heating up. Unable to reach Masterbuilt support until Monday since they are closed on weekends.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wilson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great
12/7/2014

Customer review by Kepkim

5.0 stars 12/7/2014 by Kepkim
by Kepkim

Ordered this as an early Christmas gift for my husband. He used it for Thanksgiving.. He loves it..he smoked a turkey and a ham...no problems at all.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kepkim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not real sure how to rate this product!
4/13/2016

Customer review by kat021061

3.0 stars 4/13/2016 by kat021061
by kat021061

I bought this smoker, and followed the instructions to a tee, it smokes great, my only complaint is the actual electronic control is not working properly, I am having a hard time getting the temp and time to set, it keeps blinking, and then goes completely out. I may have to get a new control, or return it completely! But as far as smoker, it does the job. I have only use it twice, so I am unhappy about the controls on the top of the unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kat021061
Would recommend to a friend? No
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!
12/3/2013

Customer review by harley200

5.0 stars 12/3/2013 by harley200
by harley200

I have smoked a lot in my smoker since I bought it last month. I love it. I have smoked a whole chicken, ribs, Mac and cheese, and a beef brisket. All come out perfect. The smoked mac and cheese was a hit with everyone at Thanksgiving. If you like the taste of smoked food then you would love this smoker. It is easy to set up and easy to use. Clean up is easy too.

Was this review helpful? (16) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
harley200
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Really provides a smoked flavor.
1/25/2015

Customer review by RookieSmoker

4.0 stars 1/25/2015 by RookieSmoker
by RookieSmoker

Used it once to smoke a beef brisket. It provided an real smoked flavor, but we left it in too long and it was slightly over cooked. The only drawback is the clean-up afterwards. The temperature probe and remote monitor a real plus. It will take some time to learn how to cook correctly, but its worth the effort.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RookieSmoker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews