Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

36 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

36 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 34 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
You'll Have the Best Coffee Ever...
12/4/2013

Customer review by s2wallbird

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by s2wallbird
by s2wallbird
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

if you take your time and do it right! If you always have to have your coffee brewed and ready to go when you first walk in the kitchen, go elsewhere. This is truly "hand crafted" coffee that can't be beat. Even though it takes some time to make (takes me about 10 minutes for the whole process), it works out great for me. When I get up, we have an automatic coffee maker ready to serve. I'll have just one cup of the "automatic" stuff at home to get my brain firing on all cylinders, and then make another cup with the Melitta "pour over" device when I get to work. I get to work early, and making the coffee is actually a nice way to "settle in". I read a number of reviews (many elsewhere) to get tips and advice on how to get the best results. This is what I do: 1. Heat water to boiling in your coffee cup (about 1.5 minutes in a strong microwave). 2. Place Melitta cone filter in the cone and set it on the cup (no coffee yet), letting it warm the cup and the cone/filter. 3. Bring to boil about 8 ounces of water in a glass syrup dispenser and let set a minute or two. 4. Pour out hot water from cup over cone to heat/wet filter and cone, emptying cup of hot water. 5. Add 2 tablespoons of coffee to the cone (Of course amount/type/grind to your preference. This part may take a little experimenting to find "your" favorite taste.) 6. Pour a very slight amount of water from the dispenser onto the coffee, just wetting it. 7. Pour a little more water into the cone. I pour in a VERY small amount. Probably just a few tablespoons, at most. Do not fill the cone with all the water at once (will make weak coffee)! I like to pour the water down the side of the filter, rather than right in the middle, keeping all the coffee centered. 8. When the dripping stops (you'll hear it), add a little more water. 9. Continue until all the water has gone through. Take your time. In my experience, the coffee is plenty hot enough. Clean up is a cinch. Throw the filter/grounds away and rinse out the cone. Yes... this method takes time, but I get satisfaction knowing I'm creating a great cup of coffee... kind of like therapy? LOL Which I probably need! BTW... I read that letting the water cool slightly is a good idea before pouring over the coffee, as boiling water will make the coffee bitter. Price? What can I say? It doesn't get any cheaper! If other reviews say it makes weak coffee (I've read "tea like", etc.), then they are cutting corners and trying to speed up the process. You can make it as strong as you like. The coffee I make with this is far superior than any I've had from any automatic coffee maker.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
s2wallbird
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product!!!
12/23/2012

Customer review by mgstep

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by mgstep
by mgstep

This surpasses the ceramic ones on the market... Those take the heat from the water poured and you end up with lukewarm coffee... Excellent Product...It can travel with me and go camping with me , no worries...I love it..

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgstep
Isleton, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is the best way to make fresh coffee
7/19/2013

Customer review by FabyLory

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by FabyLory
by FabyLory

I use it with Melitta's natural brown #2 filters, I boil water in a kettle, let it sit for about 5-10 mins (boiling water gives a burnt taste), pour over coffee in filter, and voila the best coffee is ready to be served. Don't be fooled by imitations, this Melitta is the best.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FabyLory
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I AM IN LOVE!
2/11/2013

Customer review by yllen

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by yllen
by yllen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I didn't know about this product until I searched for a coffee maker at the Walmart site. I saw the cheap artifact and ordered out of curiosity. IT WORKS! Now I can enjoy the pleasant taste of a cup of real coffee for very little money and no complicated gadgets. The only thing is comes with only 6 Melitta filters so I soon will have to buy some.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yllen
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Makes great coffee
8/30/2013

Customer review by catome

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by catome
by catome
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great gadget. It is better than my old Melitta brew cone which I also love. Tip: Don't pour boiling water over coffee. Let it cool a bit or the coffee will taste burned. I had to laugh when the package arrived. That little box was the only item in a huge cardboard box almost 3 feet tall full of bubble wrap!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catome
Kennebec County, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Alternative to Pricier Versions
10/13/2014

Customer review by anon0001

5.0 stars 10/13/2014 by anon0001
by anon0001
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a plastic beehive dripper at a third the cost. As far as I can tell, it's built the same, just plastic instead of ceramic. Most of the produced coffee's flavor is just in the freshness of the coffee and the skill of the barista. I recently bought 4 of these in addition to the one I already had to cater a wedding's coffee. I prepared every single cup a custom pour-over, and everyone was very impressed with the efficiency. Again, it's mostly in the skill of the barista, so don't jip yourself into buying something more expensive if you're not sure of the quality/flavor differences, or if you're new to making pour-overs. The Hario V60 is a preferred cone-dripper, but for a fraction of the cost, this should be everyone's entrance-dripper into pour-overs. Been using this for over a year, and still enjoy it almost every day.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anon0001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Most excellent device.....
9/15/2014

Customer review by chuck2u32

5.0 stars 9/15/2014 by chuck2u32
by chuck2u32
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've used the Melitta 1-cup brewer for years. I just bought this one for bringing into the office. A hot water source is all you need. Sure beats the plethora of crude oil blends that comes out of a community pot at work!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chuck2u32
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Convenient, inexpensive
11/13/2013

Customer review by LConsulting

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by LConsulting
by LConsulting
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is so convenient! Cheaper than buying a single cup coffee maker.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LConsulting
Diamond Bar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the occasional coffee drinker
4/1/2015

Customer review by JustJames73

3.0 stars 4/1/2015 by JustJames73
by JustJames73

I find this to be a good option for home use if a drip coffee maker isn't for you. To brew you need this item and #2 cone filters, and a kettle. If you're making less than 12oz it's easy enough to fill the cone to the rim and let it do it's thing. But if you;re using this in the office, or to make anything more than 12 oz it’s quite the process. What I don't like is dealing with some of the extras steps, such as being chained to the break room's hot water dispenser, the noise it makes when pouring into an insulated mug, and making sure to have a supply of my own filters on hand. Final word, great for home use if you don't want to use a drip or peculating maker or don't drink a lot of coffee. Not the most convenient option of you want to make your own coffee at the office.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustJames73
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I bought TWO!!
10/9/2013

Customer review by glwest

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by glwest
by glwest

I couldn't believe this little thing was for real. It makes a fresh, great tasting cup of coffee every time! I was worried they would quit making them, as they usually do the the good things that actually work well these days, so I bought two. Glad I did too. I boil a full pot of water. Save the hot water in an insulated carafe to use throughout the day so as to conserve energy. Works wonderfully. Buy with confidence.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glwest
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this!!
9/19/2014

Customer review by QuinnMic

5.0 stars 9/19/2014 by QuinnMic
by QuinnMic
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This makes a great cup of coffee so easy. Place the cone on top of your favorite coffee mug. Put a #2 filter in the cone. Scoop in a couple tablespoons of coffee, pour in some hot water, and in a minute or so you have a perfect cup of coffee. It is even better if you have a grinder and grind some fresh beans.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuinnMic
ocala, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Travel coffee
2/9/2014

Customer review by Hapy

5.0 stars 2/9/2014 by Hapy
by Hapy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great to have when you travel. I've found places that have a microwave but no or limited coffee. This unit is ideal for a few cups of quality coffee to get the morning started. If you just like one or two cups of coffee in the morning at home this beats having a $150 Kuerig machine taking up counter space.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hapy
Riverside CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the simple life
11/1/2013

Customer review by EdRob

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by EdRob
by EdRob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My family really enjoys these brew cones because we can make coffee with or without electricity and without the same residues as you get with a press. We also like these because they are less likely to break and easy to toss in a suitcase or bag for travel.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EdRob
International
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Need to tweak how you use it
12/8/2013

Customer review by SunShady

4.0 stars 12/8/2013 by SunShady
by SunShady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pre wet the filter, pack down the grounds tight, pre-wet the grounds ... then slowly pour. I think the metal filter version works WAY better but this is cheaper ..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunShady
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Melitta, 1 cup pour over brew cone
5/16/2015

Customer review by AverageJoe

5.0 stars 5/16/2015 by AverageJoe
by AverageJoe

Easy to use. Each cup may be brewed to taste, strong or weak. Easy to clean up, just remove, discard paper filter and rinse the brew cone. Finished.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AverageJoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy coffee
5/12/2015

Customer review by TomP

4.0 stars 5/12/2015 by TomP
by TomP

Insert paper filter, add ground coffee, poor boiling water and you have a great cup of coffee without waste and a whole pot to clean. Very basic, but totally functional

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Melitta Pour over
5/13/2015

Customer review by Jack

5.0 stars 5/13/2015 by Jack
by Jack

Great for making single cups off coffee without without wasting an entire pot.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not what I expected
5/2/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/2/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I don't like this item because it doesn't have a handle like the older ones.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent product for brewing 1 cup of coffee
6/25/2014

Customer review by TomCoffee

5.0 stars 6/25/2014 by TomCoffee
by TomCoffee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent product for brewing 1 cup of coffee at a time. The price was incredibly low. What a bargain! Thanks, Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomCoffee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Miniature Classic
2/9/2015

Customer review by BornToBeSaved

5.0 stars 2/9/2015 by BornToBeSaved
by BornToBeSaved

I find this method of making a single cup of coffee to be the best method for me. I simple fill a cup to use with water, pour into a tea kettle, place coffee maker on empty cup with filter, less than 2 min. water is ready simply pour into filter holder seconds later finished. Years ago I used a bigger model to make a whole pot of coffee and everyone that drank my coffee raved on its flavor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BornToBeSaved
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews