Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 80 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

80 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

80 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
10
1-20 of 62 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
I love it
11/25/2012

Customer review by marciainmichigan

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by marciainmichigan
by marciainmichigan

I only spent 398 so I was not expecting the best but it is awesome. Windows 7 gives it a very modern look. My pictures are in one of the squares and it scrolls. I can hit the window sign button and it takes me back to the start page in case I get lost. I can watch a movie on netflex and be online at the same time. You will have to buy the word package. The movie I watched was very clear and large. I have all my favorites in each little square and it is always up to date with the latest news and weather. I have had it for one week and I am very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (85) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marciainmichigan
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Bright 17" Lcd
11/23/2012

Customer review by WPOOH

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by WPOOH
by WPOOH

This Laptop is perfect especially the bright lcd screen. I bought this 2 weeks ago not one problem with it! everything works great. I usually do not write feedbacks on purchases I make but after reading the reviews I felt I should. The large screen and the large keyboard function fantastic. I have watched a few dvd movies and the picture was very sharp and vibrant looking this is the best laptop I have ever owned and believe me the price is hard to beat for all it offers.

Was this review helpful? (71) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WPOOH
EAST COAST
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buy it.!!!
12/6/2012

Customer review by tgod77

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by tgod77
by tgod77

This is a great laptop for the price of $398.00, 17".3 the processor is really quick. I like windows 8 and it will take some time to get used to after coming from windows xp. Love the web cam great pictures and video. I've had a Gateway before and it lasted 8 years. Great product and Great price.

Was this review helpful? (46) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tgod77
Arlington VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Please don't.
11/10/2012

Customer review by Kaye007

1.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Kaye007
by Kaye007

I bought this laptop last week. I thought it was a great value for the price/equipment I got. When I got home and tried to use the computer the mouse was incredibly frustrating. It did not follow what I was "telling" it to do. IE: moving to different areas of screen and/or being from one extreme to another in responsiveness. At first I tried to tell myself it was me just getting use to a new touch pad. but after a few days it got worse. Then the network connection started to act up. For no reason I will lose my internet access and have to manually reconnect. So I brought the comp back and exchanged it for another one, thinking I got a lemon. Eh...it happens, no big deal. Well, I was wrong. the exact same thing is wrong with this "new" one. So I looked "deep" into reviews and sure enough...bad reviews almost all around. I found several with the exact same problems. So beware: looks like a great deal price wise, but unfortunately, not so much.

Was this review helpful? (96) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kaye007
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best laptop for the price!!!
2/23/2013

Customer review by Sdave121

5.0 stars 2/23/2013 by Sdave121
by Sdave121

I tried two other laptops in the last 3 weeks both were terrible. I gave it one last shot with this one because my last computer was a gateway and it lasted 5 years and is still going strong but, I wanted to get something newer. Processor is lightning fast. I just upgraded internet to time warner ultimate which gives up to 50mbs download speed and this laptop is able to break 28mbs even connected wireless. Our desktop doesn't go that fast and it is direct connected. Everything is fast and windows 8 wasn't impressive on the other two computers but, on this one I love it. Definitely buy this as I have never seen this good of a computer for under $400 and you will not find a better deal!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sdave121
Lumberton, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Computer
2/6/2013

Customer review by dcronk

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by dcronk
by dcronk

My somewhat trusty Toshiba finally crashed and had to be replaced after 5 years. I purchased a very nice acer from Walmart last year for my wife but they didn't have any Acers for around $400 so I opted for this computer. I finally have all my files and pictures transferred and life is good. The computer is better than expected and I haven't had any of the problems with the mouse as others who rated this item 1 star have indicated. Also, windows 8 is just great after you get accustomed to it. Windows 8 and the computer both work much faster than my previous system. I'm old and not very tech savvy so if I can get the hang of 8 anybody can. Love it! Knock on wood.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dcronk
home
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/23/2012

Customer review by Phil413sr

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by Phil413sr
by Phil413sr

This is the second of this laptop that I've bought as gifts in the past month. My grandson is still raving about this laptop. He's a freshman in high school. I'm counting on this laptop getting him through college. i highly recommend and so does he.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phil413sr
Fort Mohave, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/2/2013

Customer review by OkKsCowgirl

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by OkKsCowgirl
by OkKsCowgirl

For the price, this computer meets my expectations and beyond!! Received it from my husband for Christmas. I LOVE the large screen and comfortable keyboard. Had a few minor issues when first started using it. Like the wifi turning itself off at random. But I went in and manually ran the updates and PRESTO, problem solved!! Love, love, love it!! Could not have chosen better myself. I definitely recommend this computer!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OkKsCowgirl
SW Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gateway 17.3 " $398
12/28/2012

Customer review by GrandmaKittie

4.0 stars 12/28/2012 by GrandmaKittie
by GrandmaKittie

My current laptop died right before Christmas so I needed something right away that was affordable. I bought the above mostly because of the price and it was available immediately in store. I was extremely disappointed when I plugged it in and there was a constant humming. I exchanged same and so far so good BUT thank goodness for the extended return policy!!! I now have until Jan. 10th to check the new one out....

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandmaKittie
Roseville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT BUY!
3/1/2013

Customer review by Cornett91

2.0 stars 3/1/2013 by Cornett91
by Cornett91

I just bought this computer about 4 days ago, I loved it at first... I thought for sure that I had gotten my moneys worth and chose a great computer, until today when it started saying that windows has encountered a problem and needs to restart. I can't remember exactly what it said the error name was but it was something like: SYSTEM_EXTENSION_..... I have tried doing updates on it and restoring it, nothing works. It seems to be working fine one second and then the next second it is doing the error thing. It has done it at least 6 times in just this one day, needless to say, I am returning it ASAP and getting myself a real computer, a TOSHIBA!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cornett91
Cumberland,KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great laptop
12/15/2012

Customer review by casinoman62568

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by casinoman62568
by casinoman62568

Use for mostly E-Mail, E-bay , shopping on line. Not sure how it would be for fast and graphic gaming. But it does fine for what I need. Love the large screen.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
casinoman62568
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Annoying keyboard
3/4/2013

Customer review by hanmeng

4.0 stars 3/4/2013 by hanmeng
by hanmeng

The big screen and 500GB memory are great, and it seems to work well now. However, the first day or so I was using it, it crashed several times (message was something about "SYSTEM_EXTENSION_" possibly because of Firefox?). It hasn't crashed since, though. One drawback is the Windows 8 software. First of all, it's very different from XP, Vista, or Windows 7. The other problem is that Windows 8 is really meant for a touchscreen, and this computer does not have that. For anyone who finds the new system hard to master, I strongly suggest downloading classicshell (http://www.classicshell.net/), which you can tweak to make Windows 8 like XP or Windows 7. What annoys me is the keyboard: to use the f1-f12 function keys, you have to press the Fn key, otherwise they're mapped to special functions like the Gateway manual, or switching display output to an external monitor, or disabling the computer’s communication devices, things I never need. And you need to press Fn for the "home" and "end" key (they are repurposed to left and right arrows). In the height of uselessness, the keyboard also has dedicated keys for the $ and € symbols.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hanmeng
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Slower than molasses in January
1/27/2013

Customer review by Zekrusher

1.0 stars 1/27/2013 by Zekrusher
by Zekrusher

Purchased this laptop and am unable to navigate Windows 8. It's like a crazy maze to find anything. I dont know for sure, but I think the OS is making the brand new computer run slow. I will click on a folder to open it and it takes about 5-10 secs to do anything. Ive had to hard boot the system 3 times and finally it is going back to the store. Contacted Gateway and was told that if we put any other operating system on the computer (Win 7), it will void the warranty of the computer. Gateway wasnt willing to assist in changing OS, so it will now be returned.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zekrusher
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Worst Computer I have ever owned!
1/7/2013

Customer review by Phoxfire

1.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Phoxfire
by Phoxfire

Purchased this computer 2 days ago. Already one USB port not working, when trying to use the other USB port it has crashed the computer numerous times. Needless to say, I will be getting a refund for this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phoxfire
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great deal
2/5/2013

Customer review by mikes04239

5.0 stars 2/5/2013 by mikes04239
by mikes04239

Really enjoy this laptop. We live off the grid and the computer runs a long time on the battery. We use it to watch movies and I loaded office 2010 in it and turbo tax and it does every thing I need. I trust Gateway computers. We have used them for years without troubles. I bought a Dell laptop in Sept and have had to have the motherboard and battery replaced already. I wanted to give them a try. The wifi never worked correctly and when the tech switched out the internal parts he noticed a wire to the wifi hadn't been connected at the factory.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikes04239
Jay, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/5/2013

Customer review by sodoku

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by sodoku
by sodoku

so far so good, got rid of Norton ASAP great computer other than that.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sodoku
the, moon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/14/2013

Customer review by hairwizzard

1.0 stars 3/14/2013 by hairwizzard
by hairwizzard

Purchased this computer the end of February, 8 days after having it the hard drive crashed. Several times before it crashed I got a blue screen saying that the PC was having problems and needed to restart. I took it back to the store and exchanged it for the same computer hoping that maybe it was just a bad computer 7 days after having it I am getting the blue PC having problems screen again. I will be taking it back to the store to get my money back this time.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hairwizzard
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
New Windows version is extremely non-user friendly
2/9/2013

Customer review by AForOthers

3.0 stars 2/9/2013 by AForOthers
by AForOthers

My husband and I were excited to get a new laptop with a bigger screen, but the new Windows 8 is extremely frustrating. At first look I thought it would operate a lot like my Windows smart phone apps on the screen. But once you get into something it is almost impossible to get out. The invisible menus disappear and don't want to reappear and seem to be in a different place all the time. It is difficult to manuver. And right click menu is not much help either. Worst of all it came with no instruction book. It came with a small sheet of paper with about four cheats to go by. What a change from our other computers at home and work. There should be more visible and less hidden. Even minimizing a program to go back to another is not a simple task. It is crazy. Finding apps and even manuvering the screen was a little bit of a challenge. The screen resolution is great though. I really wish I had bought a Windows 7 computer. Sometimes change is not a good thing.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AForOthers
sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Got a bad one.
2/27/2013

Customer review by bunk37

1.0 stars 2/27/2013 by bunk37
by bunk37

Purchased the gateway laptop and after one week it kept shutting down doing a memory dump. Returned it to the store.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bunk37
Springfield, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome for the price!
6/3/2013

Customer review by StudentMommyWife

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by StudentMommyWife
by StudentMommyWife

My old acer simply died on me right in the middle of the school quarter. I needed something reliable that I believe will last me for a while and that I can use for multiple tasks. This computer is amazing. Windows 8 isn't as bad as people make it seem, but my advice is read the manual. it helps A LOT! The screen is huge, clear and amazing! I would definitely recommend spending a little extra money and investing in this laptop.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StudentMommyWife
Federal Way, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews