Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 90 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

90 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

90 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 70 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Great Mid-Level PC
11/5/2012

Customer review by Medic7710

4.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Medic7710
by Medic7710

For the money this PC is hard to pass over. It's a great mid-level PC for your everyday computer tasks (ie web, HD video, pictures, and games). The integrated AMD graphics do a really good job. This computer is very responsive and snappy and comes with Windows 8. If you do a lot of video encoding or converting the AMD A6 isn't the processor for you which isn't a fault of the A6, it just wasn't intended for that purpose. Definitely a great PC overall.

Was this review helpful? (58) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Medic7710
Waynesboro, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/22/2012

Customer review by Beegs

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Beegs
by Beegs

I have always liked Gateway Computers, so I ordered this one. It was very easy to set up. Going from Windows XP to Windows 8 is taking a little time to get used to, but I'm enjoying it. I kept my old 20"monitor, so I don't have the touch screen stuff, which is fine, I'm used to using the mouse. The computer is very fast and so quiet to run. I'm pleased.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beegs
Rhinelander, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good computer for the money
11/15/2012

Customer review by stevieo

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by stevieo
by stevieo

Great computer for what I need. I ran Dirt 3 on it which did stress it out a bit but the game still played flawlessly. Other than that it's all good. Happy I purchased it and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stevieo
Stevieo2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/10/2013

Customer review by CoQ10

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by CoQ10
by CoQ10

Excellent Value, Easy setup, Not much bloatware, Quiet. I am running 2 monitors. Windows 8 is easy just remember all of the screen corners have associated actions. Right click the bottom left for familiar Windows 7 computer management

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoQ10
St. Paul MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!
2/10/2013

Customer review by KHill12

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by KHill12
by KHill12

I bought this computer for playing The Sims 3. It runs great! You are def. getting a bang for your buck with this one!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KHill12
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for WoW
3/3/2013

Customer review by jackber

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by jackber
by jackber

i purchased this computer 80% for World of warcraft then for everyday use, i have an iMac also and i can say its probably almost as fast. Playing WoW i get up to 40fps on high settings. Love this computer. I love windows 8, its amazing. This computer is a great buy for i the price i bought it wile it was only 400 though. The warranty also comes with a 1year virus protector so buy it. Computer is silent and efficient. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jackber
mableton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Average
12/24/2012

Customer review by howydoody

3.0 stars 12/24/2012 by howydoody
by howydoody

Came from an inexpensive, older "E-Machine", so, wasn't used to much. This computer seems fast, and so I am wondering if the problem isn't Windows 8 instead of the PC. All I know is, wish it had W.7 instead. Otherwise, computer is fast. Please note, it is called "small form" in the description, but it is indeed FULL SIZE. I was disappointed simply because space it at a premium in my "PC" area. Lots of extras. Couldn't get the HDMI to my tv/monitor to work properly, so using the vga plug. Quality seems fine with the VGA, just disappointed again. Hence, the "average" rating. My bet is the problems are in Windows 8.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
howydoody
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast, Quiet, Efficient
2/1/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/1/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We had a Gateway before and needed another. The price is very good for the specs, it meets my expectations, and actually cost less than the one we purchased four years ago. Windows 8 takes a bit to get used to, but we like it and can navigate the apps and desktop easily.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Smithfield, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots Of Bang For The Buck!
3/18/2013

Customer review by dmight

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by dmight
by dmight

Was looking at another brand of desktop computer at Wal-Mart with similar specs but the price was over $100 more for fewer features. Compared them and this Gateway just had more. I figured the worse that could happen is I would have to return it if I didn't like it. Works like a charm, love that it has Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, the fastload for adding a second hard drive is pretty darn neat Plenty of processor speed and ram for most needs. USB 2 and 3 ports are nice, more available than most other brand computers. Windows 8 was easy to get setup and running right from the start and is a nice enhancement for the machine. Gateway added some features to Windows 8 that makes shutting down/restarting so much easier and faster. Computer took about 10 minutes to hook everything up, about 15 minutes or less to load and go thru setup. Up and running. Wi-Fi found and connected to my home network and internet immediately and has strong signal strength; 20+ feet from wireless router and one wall between. Very little "bloat ware" and it was all easy and fast to remove. Every bit of my old software and programs setup and run; either from disks or just went to sites on line and installed drivers. Wireless printer that was on Windows 7 installed quickly and works perfectly just by going to website and installing latest drivers from there. I would say that within an hour of opening the box, the computer was running with everything, a little tweaking for personal tastes and habits and it's running great. Down side, I don't care much for wired keyboard and mouse and this is what comes with computer, so hooked up wireless keyboard and mouse I already had. No problems; plug & play If you already have a good monitor or don't mind buying one separately, this is a good, very good deal on a desktop computer. For me, it was a pretty good deal, I'm one who will return something pretty quickly if I don't like it or something about it, or at the first hint of problems.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmight
Princeton IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value for price paid.
12/25/2012

Customer review by Lawman3845

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Lawman3845
by Lawman3845

I used this as a purchase to replace my mother's aging and ailing small form e-machines basic computer. I ended up replacing the HDD 1 Terabyte drive with an SSD Kingston 120 GB Hyper X solid state drive and replaced the wired mouse and keyboard with a Desktop 5000 Microsoft wireless mouse and keyboard. With the Windows 8 and SSD drive, the boot up time is approx. 5-10 seconds and shut down time approx. 3 seconds. There is no comparison between this computer and her retired computer-kind of like comparing a Ferrari against a Yugo.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lawman3845
Estero, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best bang for your Buck.
6/17/2013

Customer review by MrGruvness

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by MrGruvness
by MrGruvness

This computer is my first PC purchase in over 13 years. The reason for the upgrade is a need for speed and anything you can buy nowadays is going to be significantly faster than what I have been using. It did not take me long to realize that unless you're a gamer or interested in the most current showroom models, PCs are cheap. I'm use to building my own computers but at today's prices its cheaper to buy than to build. With a budget of $500, two things were certain. I wanted a PC with extra room, inside the case, for any future expansion and be able to integrate it with my home media center. The features I wanted built-in: Window 8 OS, 6GB to 8GB Memory (expandable), 1TB Hard Drive, High-Definition graphics with a HDMI or DVI port, Media Card Reader, 3.0 USB Ports, WiFi Certified, and Bluetooth. After shopping around, the majority of PCs in my price range either came with an AMD A4 or Intel i3 processor and included many of the features I wanted but not all. The PCs with faster processors (AMD A6 and AMD A8) in my price range came with much less features. Trying to find a PC with USB 3.0, Wifi, and Bluetooth at a reasonable price was a challenge. So, you can imagine my delight when I found this (discontinued) Gateway DX4380G-UW308 still being sold online at Walmart. Like for like, it easily saved me over $200. The best part about this PC is the set-up. Unpack it, attach an HDMI cable to your 55" LCD TV, turn it on, and connect it to your wireless network from anywhere in your house. By the way, the 3.6GHz AMD Dual Core A6-5400K Trinity (3.8 Turbo) Processor in the PC is on Amazon's Top 25 Best Sellers in Computer CPU Processors. Excellent PC with many convenient features at a great price. Absolutely, the best bang for your buck.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrGruvness
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So disappointed!
2/28/2013

Customer review by pinkangel66

1.0 stars 2/28/2013 by pinkangel66
by pinkangel66

I biught this computer a few days ago and i was so excited to get it home and start it up. Set up was very simple. The computer came on very quickly, graphics were great but that is where the good stuff ends. The very first apps i tried to use said that they needed updating from the Store before i could use them, but guess what the store would not load. When I click on the Store app it tells me there is no internet connection even tho I was browsing the web at the same time (so I know the internet was working). Because the Store did not work I was unable to use any apps because they all needed to be updated before use and I, of course, could not download any new apps. Besides the trouble with the Windows 8 apps this computer was SO slow, it was unreal slow, my 3 year old laptop with 1/3 the memory of this computer is faster. Needless to say I am back on my laptop writing this review (because I could not even get the walmart web page to connect without locking up on the Gateway) and the Gateway is back in the box to be returned tomorrow. I have seen lots of good reviews for this product so maybe I just got one that is defective but I think I will stick the HP's I know and love from now on.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pinkangel66
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart Gateway unbeatable deal
2/16/2013

Customer review by NickName9099

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by NickName9099
by NickName9099

This computer rocks, setup is simple and flawless, works as expected and the price/value ratio was like 1 to 10.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NickName9099
NW Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Deal
12/30/2012

Customer review by Hendertucky

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Hendertucky
by Hendertucky

Learning windows 8 is no fun but I'm getting used to it now my wife hates it. This computer is super fast for me but I'm not a gamer.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hendertucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/1/2013

Customer review by JOHNINHOUSTON

4.0 stars 2/1/2013 by JOHNINHOUSTON
by JOHNINHOUSTON

personally I don't consider this a small size pc, as the sx series;very good every day use starter w8 pc .easy to get on board with windows 8. I have been using w7 and xp. good price point online, tho I wish local stores would accept online prices.. I ordered online after seeing pc in store and picked up very quickly same day as ordered...great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JOHNINHOUSTON
HOUSTON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/30/2012

Customer review by cahigh

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by cahigh
by cahigh

plugged it in, transferred, updated -- all going smoothly -- finding Windows 8 a bit of a challenge but I'll adapt

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cahigh
wilmington, de
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great value for price
4/26/2013

Customer review by JohannWBGU

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by JohannWBGU
by JohannWBGU

Watching streaming videos with this computer makes me feel like a kid seeing color TV for the first time...no choppiness, no stuttering, no blurry fight scenes............. The processer is about twice the speed of the lowest end computers they sell at Wal-Mart, and therefore well worth the extra $100. Windows 8 takes some getting used to, but the main thing to know is that you can click on "desktop" and things go back to normal. If you get back to their new "Start Screen", just mouse over to the bottom left of your screen and a desktop thumbnail pops up...click on it to return to the desktop.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohannWBGU
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Computer!
2/13/2013

Customer review by Bobby1227

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Bobby1227
by Bobby1227

This computer does everything I ask of it and more. It plays games like WoW and many others. It plays Wow on high setting at over 35 frames per second. I love Windows 8. Don't let other reviews scare you. This computer is a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobby1227
Waynesburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Computer for a Great Price
11/17/2013

Customer review by TheShadowGamer

5.0 stars 11/17/2013 by TheShadowGamer
by TheShadowGamer

I purchased this computer in January of 2013. I mainly bought this for gaming, and, for the price, I didn't find a better deal. It runs older games such as Portal, Just Cause, and the Splinter Cell series without a problem. It can run some newer games like Just Cause 2 and Skyrim with some lag. Really, the one thing I would upgrade would be the graphics card. Hope you found this helpful

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheShadowGamer
Bloomsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gets the job done.
4/9/2013

Customer review by Teilayh

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by Teilayh
by Teilayh

The only real reason I wanted a desktop computer was to play The Sims 2, and the Gateway pretty much does what it needs to do. As a plus, the processor makes internet surfing quick and efficient - a much more satisfying change than surfing using my laptop. If you're on a budget and don't want to build your own computer, and are not looking into hardcore gaming, this computer's just fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teilayh
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews