Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

36 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

36 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 29 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
A lot of computer for the price
1/24/2013

Customer review by Noknick

4.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Noknick
by Noknick

I purchased this computer as a replacement for an older one that had died. I chose it largely due to it's price. I like the small size. I am using it with my TV and it fits nicely into the entertainment center shelf. It is my first experience with Windows 8 and that took some getting used to, but that's not as bad as it sounds. The first thing I did was install a third-party start menu that works like Win 7. There are many free ones out there. I tried several. It had one free PCI-E type 1 slot that I put my TV tuner card in. It works fine, although the short form factor made it necessary to modify the card bracket. There is no media center in Win 8, but I am making do with the software that came with the card. XBMC also works fine on it. This computer is a UEFI boot system, so you don't have the traditional BIOS set up. I do not know how much trouble that might cause if you wanted to change operating systems or dual-boot it, although it should be able to be done. The computer is quiet. There is only one fan, in the power supply and it is nearly inaudible. Works well with a wireless keyboard and mouse, although it comes with regular wired USB KB and mouse. There are plenty of USB ports on both the back and front panels. No problem setting it up on the network via ethernet port. This computer is a lot of value for very little money compared to more expensive offerings. It is made by Acer for Gateway and sold exclusively by Walmart although Gateway sells similar models. The documentation is very generic and is clearly supplied with many different models. But you shouldn't need instructions to use this very basic unit. There is a lot of trial-ware and free 'crud' installed on the computer when you get it. Spend some time uninstalling that stuff (http://pcdecrapifier.com/) and you will have a lean, mean computer ready to install what you really need. One stop for many programs you usually track down one-at-a-time is ninite.com where you can pick from a list of free and handy programs and have them all installed in minutes.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Noknick
Buffalo NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Impressive
1/16/2013

Customer review by WebRadioAirPlayDotInfo

4.0 stars 1/16/2013 by WebRadioAirPlayDotInfo
by WebRadioAirPlayDotInfo
Top 250 contributor

Replacement for a terrible Acer Windows 8 laptop from hades. I thought I hated Windows 8 and was about to switch to Linux, until I bought this desktop. Runs fast and everything about it works. Runs 98% of my 32 bit XP software. Lots of shovel ware like most new computers, but easy to remove. Like it alot and wonder why I was so hesitant to upgrade. Go Gateway.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WebRadioAirPlayDotInfo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Good buy!
12/19/2012

Customer review by barblu

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by barblu
by barblu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great little desktop - has everything I need for what I wanted it for - internet, email,, play games, watch videos and generally browse. Not the right computer for someone who wants heavy duty but neat for an everyday useful one. Enough memory to open multiple windows at one time. Set up was relatively easy and downloading from laptop (windows 8) was a breeze although most programs had to be reloaded tp get info into registry but all data and settings were there just as on my old one. I'm very satisfied with this little deskktop.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
barblu
Redding, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/2/2012

Customer review by papacurf

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by papacurf
by papacurf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice computer. My wife is very happy with it . It meets and exceeds her expectations. Thank you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (27) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
papacurf
Marion, oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
it is worth the money,alot cheaper than some other
2/20/2013

Customer review by hotdog61

4.0 stars 2/20/2013 by hotdog61
by hotdog61
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the product is worth the money for no more than what it cost, there are a lot more computers that does cost a lot more money . it does load up quickly and really quick to shut down , All I do with this is go on facebook and do look up things and read some things on the internet not to do any kind of business , it does meet my needs all that I want it to do.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hotdog61
Harrison Valley Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The computeris good, but Windows 8 is a problem.
2/13/2013

Customer review by Sleuth562

4.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Sleuth562
by Sleuth562
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have had all kinds of problems with Windows 8. Trying to install Office turned into a 2.5 hour marathon of talking to 12 different people at Microsoft, only two of whom wanted to solve the problem. The rest just wanted to get rid of me. #12 solved the problem in 5 minutes! The other 11 just passed me from department to department. And there are lots of compatibility problems - it seems Microsoft 8 is NOT backwards compatible with most programs or devices.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sleuth562
Apache County, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible product
1/18/2013

Customer review by Nanadx3

1.0 stars 1/18/2013 by Nanadx3
by Nanadx3

I bought one of these on the 6th. Worked with it for ten days and could not get it up and running. Returned it yesterday. Walmart gives you 15 days to return it. It would not connect to the Internet. Couldn't get that far before it shut down and restarted. For those computer geeks I kept getting error code IRQL. Gateway techs were not even polite on the phone. I did talk to some very nice people with my Internet service provider, net gear, geek squad, Microsoft windows, and a few other places. The tech at windows finally told me there is something very wrong with this computer. So after 10 days filled with frustration I am back to square one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nanadx3
Bakersfield
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
First time Gateway owner
12/26/2012

Customer review by Cntry1961

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Cntry1961
by Cntry1961
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a good computer, my only issue is that it occasionally has issues where it needs to shut down. Not sure if it is because my husband always shuts it down in hibernation instead of closing all the windows and shutting it down normally. Otherwise it is great. I purchased this for home based work and school and it works great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cntry1961
Iron Mountain, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not sastisfactory
4/1/2013

Customer review by mountainmantrav

1.0 stars 4/1/2013 by mountainmantrav
by mountainmantrav

Always used Dell. Decided to try a gateway. Windows 8 was not thrilling. I'm old and a slow learner. I have used windows in various OS forms up to Vista going back to 2001. Always with a Dell. This computer was more temperamental and exactly 90 days after setup, it failed altogether. Prior to that I had numerous issues and spent hundreds of dollars clearing viruses that I should have been protected by the system and upgrades I was encouraged to purchase. This computer initially cost $340 or so. Upgrades in software needed to really function cost a couple hundred more and removing the viruses have cost $280. Now 90 days after purchase it is dead. I don't use it for anything unusual. Bookkeeping and correspondence for my hobbies and staying in touch. It has been a bad experience.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mountainmantrav
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great size - great price!
1/5/2013

Customer review by Russell1958

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Russell1958
by Russell1958
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm very pleased with the computer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Russell1958
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy
4/3/2013

Customer review by m38930

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by m38930
by m38930

I wasn't sure if this PC would do everything I wanted it to at first, but after I got it set up I soon seen that it would do all I wanted it to and more. This PC maybe small, but it is fast and powerful. I play a few RTS games, and it handled them with ease. I also read other stuff online about it's onboard Radeon 7310 graphic's not being the best, but in my opinion they are excellent. And what's more the HDMI output is a nice feature as well for browsing or playing games on the big screen. I don't normally write review's, but in this case I just couldn't resist. All in all for the price point this PC is outstanding. Thank you Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
m38930
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
replacement for an 11 yr. old dell.
4/16/2013

Customer review by ricky4001

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by ricky4001
by ricky4001

our 11 yr.old dell tower was dying and I wanted a reasonably priced replacement. can't beat the cost/ performance ratio. paid $ 2000.00 11years ago for our maxxed out dell and this gateway is twice the machine for less than a quarter of the cost. time and technology march on.for those having trouble with windows 8 ,don't fight the software and you'll be okay.used xp for 11 yrs. then switched to os8,haven't had a problem.for a real nightmare try the mercifully short lived vista os.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ricky4001
Salem,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice, compact desk top computer.
2/17/2013

Customer review by Agency1950

5.0 stars 2/17/2013 by Agency1950
by Agency1950
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I find it a bit of a challenge to master Windows 8 after using Windows 7 for the past three or four years. Once I learn to navigate through the system, I am sure it will be fine! The computer is my fourth Gateway and I am very pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Agency1950
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/4/2013

Customer review by Snoopy84

5.0 stars 3/4/2013 by Snoopy84
by Snoopy84
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This computer is much faster than the old one we had. We are very satisfied with the purchase. The only problem we have is our printer doesn't work so well with the computer. We think the problem is the printer, but not 100% sure.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snoopy84
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good computer for the right price
1/3/2013

Customer review by LKW123

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by LKW123
by LKW123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this computer for my sister because she needed a reliable machine without having to spend a fortune. It is a sleek size with nice features and was easy to hook up and get going. A good value for the cost.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LKW123
Midlothian, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/18/2013

Customer review by DEBBIENPRN

1.0 stars 2/18/2013 by DEBBIENPRN
by DEBBIENPRN

I have had nothing but problems with this computer. Had to go through recovery numerous times and lost new data each time. never had problems like this with any other computer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DEBBIENPRN
EDEN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
2/24/2013

Customer review by dcupcake

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by dcupcake
by dcupcake
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This produce is very easy to use and I enjoy using it everyday.cc

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dcupcake
Ripley MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Extremely Slow / Bad Customer Service from Gateway
6/30/2013

Customer review by Daniel333

1.0 stars 6/30/2013 by Daniel333
by Daniel333

Purchased the UW308 (virtually identical). Perhaps the slowest computer I've ever owned; and I've owned many. The processor and RAM are simply not sufficient for running Windows 8 unless you are doing very simple chores. I was compelled (you really don't have much choice) to upgrade the RAM to 8 GB. Good luck though with trying to find anything about upgrading RAM in the owner's manual. And when you contact support at Gateway, they tell you that they "don't recommend opening the back and to hire a technician." Fortunately I've upgraded RAM enough in my life to be able to do this myself. For someone who has never done this they may find it intimidating.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daniel333
Southeastern PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
poor quality
2/26/2013

Customer review by lddddddddddghcxjvjfdlkzdf

1.0 stars 2/26/2013 by lddddddddddghcxjvjfdlkzdf
by lddddddddddghcxjvjfdlkzdf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

No enough USB ports and the door to the CD bar ely opens wide enough for the CD and you have to hold the door open and try to put your CD in at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lddddddddddghcxjvjfdlkzdf
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/3/2013

Customer review by Bbby

3.0 stars 1/3/2013 by Bbby
by Bbby
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Haven't had it that long. Got to get use to windows 8. Way different than windows7, Besides I am not to good with computors, but so far ok with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bbby
Central Square,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews