Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 195 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

195 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

195 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
51
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
17
1-20 of 136 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
Seems like an AWESOME laptop.
11/6/2012

Customer review by JRLShopper

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by JRLShopper
by JRLShopper

Well I just bought this at my local walmart about 5 hours ago, and it seems like an amazing machine for the price. about 340 with tax the screen is WIDE and beautiful HD, and Its gona be awesome playing movies on this :D. EXTREMELY FAST! Couldn't be any faster!! I downloaded garys mod, and it runs beautifully..so you can definitely play some games on this no problems. Whisper quiet ...no sound from this laptop whatsoever... overall 5/5..i doubt you'll find better for the price! I'll update this review if it crashes or something, but i really don't see that happening!

Was this review helpful? (244) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRLShopper
Delhi, Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
amazing product and worth the money
11/10/2012

Customer review by Rfergie

5.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Rfergie
by Rfergie

this gateway laptop is full of words to explain lol . i just purchased this product on November 9 , 2012 it fits all the qualification that i needed . its great for college students like myself , good for all the music people out there and works wonderful for watching and making movies so therefore i would totally recommend this product to anyone and everyone that's shopping for the right laptop :)

Was this review helpful? (116) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rfergie
FAYETTEVILLE , NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
11/12/2012

Customer review by Barkatan

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by Barkatan
by Barkatan

This is the first laptop I've ever owned and so far, I'm very happy. The price was great and the size is just perfect. Was a little bit intimidated by Windows 8 but my son, the computer whiz, was able to set it up to look like Windows 7. My old computer is a 9 year old Dell desktop that I truly love but it's gotten outdated and it was time to graduate to a laptop. A friend bought a Gateway and was really happy with it so she recommended it to me. And you can't beat the price for a "first" laptop. I also like that it has a 10-key on the keyboard. So many of the other laptops at higher prices don't have one. Can't wait to learn all the new features!

Was this review helpful? (89) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Barkatan
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Laptop I've Had Thus Far!
11/12/2012

Customer review by ThatTechPerson

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by ThatTechPerson
by ThatTechPerson

I really love my Gateway Laptop because, it lets me play games in HD, watch all my favorite movies, and videos in HD. The screen is very clear and HUGE! The RAM is good and the speed of this bad boy is pretty fast. I use this laptop for school, and personal use. I mainly use Photoshop CS6 and it runs pretty smooth. I would highly recommend this product to everyone, and the price is practically begging you to buy it!

Was this review helpful? (79) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThatTechPerson
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty good but has some quirks
12/9/2012

Customer review by skierbri10

4.0 stars 12/9/2012 by skierbri10
by skierbri10

The main quirks? Windows 8 and the speakers. This is actually a nice computer, runs fairly fast and can play some games. The real issues come from Windows 8 that is totally user unfriendly. You can get it pretty close to how Win7 or XP is, but not completely. The speakers have no base to them at all. I know this is a budget pc, but the speakers are insulting. My phone plays music 100 x's better. Both those quirks are half star deductions. Where this computer does good things is the design, the keyboard, and the quality. The design is nice, it is very thin for a budget pc and the is light weight. Could it be better? Yeah probably, but you have to remember you are getting a computer that is at least $100 cheaper than others. The keyboard is good looking and quiet and has a number pad. It is still a keyboard with space to eat crumbs, but it is a good design. The quality is outstanding. I have had this computer for only a day, so reliability remains to be seen, but they put a lot of thought into the quality of this computer. It really does show. The hard drive is a bit slow, but not horrible. If you haven't been around computers long or haven't paid attention you wont notice it is just slightly slower than some I have used. I plan on replacing it with an SSD drive to hopefully turn the throttle way up. It is also nice to see they used only one memory slot and left one open. Pricing out memory you can double it for under $20. All-in-all this is a great computer, definitely a step up from a netbook or tablet. It will handle some gaming and has more than enough power for normal computer uses.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skierbri10
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product! Excellent Value!
11/26/2012

Customer review by KingLonny

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by KingLonny
by KingLonny

This laptop has exceeded my expectations both in value and execution! It is whisper quiet, but lightning fast! You can barely tell that it is operating until you open up say Internet Explorer and the page loads in microseconds! (And this is with a wireless/router Comcast cable connection; NOT directly ethernet connected). It has everything that I was looking for: 4 Gigs of RAM, expandable to 8; good hard drive space, 320 Gigs; HDMI out; 15.6" screen; numeric keypad; Windows 8; & 3 USB ports. I am totally and completely satisfied with this product. Gateway, you have earned my utmost respect . This is a MUST-BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KingLonny
Sicklerville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/18/2012

Customer review by excel4ever

4.0 stars 11/18/2012 by excel4ever
by excel4ever

This is a good basic computer. The Celeron processor is faster than expected. However, if you are interested in gaming I would upgrade to an Intel i5 or i7. Do not be concerned about Windows 8, it is very easy to get used to.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
excel4ever
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
great for the money
11/18/2012

Customer review by 1028OAK

4.0 stars 11/18/2012 by 1028OAK
by 1028OAK

We purchased this for my senior father and while its taking him a while to get used to windows 8. He loves being wireless. And its fast enough for hiim to play all of his games online with no drag. Easy wireless set up and works great!

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1028OAK
WHITSETT, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/10/2012

Customer review by justgivenmyopinion

2.0 stars 12/10/2012 by justgivenmyopinion
by justgivenmyopinion

I bought the laptop after reading about 13-23 reviews from others. The rating from them was between 3 -4 stars. I got the computer for over a week and decided to return back to the store. I have found a few negatives about this laptop. I don't like the Windows 8 version not because of no start button, but there is no exit button on the far upper right corner where you can click to exit and the escape button seems to not doing anything. The mouse pad is so sensitive that it make the screen jump from one screen to the next, making me lost and can't find where I was and where everything is. The speaker sound of the laptop is low. Another thing that other review did not mentioned was how quickly the laptop get hot.

Was this review helpful? (29) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justgivenmyopinion
Lansdown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best laptop I've ever owned
11/23/2012

Customer review by NannyBlue

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by NannyBlue
by NannyBlue

I love this computer! the wifi connection is great, the backlit screen is a godsend, and the full-size screen and keyboard is so much more user-friendly than the netbooks I've tried. I also especially like the hdmi connection, and this was the reason I went with this particular budget-friendly model.Pages load very quickly. I am not a gamer and do not need lightning-fast speed, but I can watch YouTube and Netflix on the go on any wifi connection with decent speed. My only reservation is that it has windows 8, and I think it is optimized for tablets but not really for pc's and laptops. I'd prefer to have windows 7 home premium, and may look into this if I don't get used to all of the apps that I neither use nor wish to have cluttering my start screen.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NannyBlue
Medford, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Like It
11/25/2012

Customer review by camarodude

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by camarodude
by camarodude

Its fast,plenty of stuff for what my need are for.Nice HD graphics,DVD burner.Was super easy setup,and Im far from an expert.But for the 300 range you can not go wrong with this one!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camarodude
Osceola
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Love it!
11/26/2012

Customer review by Southgagirl97

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by Southgagirl97
by Southgagirl97

Bought this computer to (show) photos, in which I am a photographer. It is fast and durable. The keys are kinda thin, but I guess Im just used to my home pc keyboard. Also, I wish they had included directions on how to use windows 8..It is somewhat confusing at first. My mother wants a laptop like this, but Im afraid she will never figure out windows 8 :/

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Southgagirl97
South GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice Laptop
12/13/2012

Customer review by tigerlily2961

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by tigerlily2961
by tigerlily2961

I like this computer, I bought it at the end of Nov. after checking into it there were a lot of outdated drivers (9) witch I thought to be odd seeing that it was a brand new windows 8 computer. Other than that this laptop is a very nice running computer.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tigerlily2961
Redford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Worth the time, money, or hassle!!
1/7/2013

Customer review by purelyunique

1.0 stars 1/7/2013 by purelyunique
by purelyunique

I bought this computer for my son at Christmas becasue of all the good reviews that were posted. WHAT A DISAPOINTMENT!!! I felt that the processing was very slow, the "R" button wouldnt work half the time and to top it all off - 2 1/2 weeks of having this computer, and only turning it on 4 times - it stopped working. Couldnt get it to turn on anymore. This was the first time for me purchasing a Gateway product and will never waste my time or money on one again. Returned the Gateway computer for an upgraded HP.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
purelyunique
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for surfing the web.
12/11/2012

Customer review by gisles

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by gisles
by gisles

I bought this as a replacement for a Dell laptop. This laptop was half the cost, but does just as much. I am very happy with it so far.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gisles
Brunswck, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AWESOME LAPTOP!!!!!!
12/26/2012

Customer review by jakobfloyd

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by jakobfloyd
by jakobfloyd

On Christmas day I was sitting in the couch wanting to open the present about 32" wide! I thought it was a TV . But I opened it and started jumping around it was the gateway laptop! But it runs veryyyyyyyyy good so fast too . I clicked on a page that takes 30 sec.(s) to load but this loads faster than a SECOND!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jakobfloyd
locust grove, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great computer, great price
12/7/2012

Customer review by SweetBowlcut

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by SweetBowlcut
by SweetBowlcut

I love this computer so far. I've had it for about a week. The battery life is great. I'm still getting used to Windows8, but the computer itself is excellent and I've had no issues.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SweetBowlcut
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great laptop
2/15/2013

Customer review by bamarose46

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by bamarose46
by bamarose46

I just bought this laptop last night and I have enjoyed it so much it is a real good laptop loads real fast and picks up wifi real good. And is a nice looking laptop for the price you can't beat it. I would tell all my friends to pick this laptop for sure.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bamarose46
Arab. Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I got this as a gift from my grandparents
12/6/2012

Customer review by ratgirl1994

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by ratgirl1994
by ratgirl1994

I love it it is so fast and can easliy handle games when you first get it it is kinda hard to set up but after you figure it out its an amazing pc.ps dont lock the keypad by mistake its hard to get it unlocked

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ratgirl1994
west valley city ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would recommend computer for price.
12/13/2012

Customer review by BeautyQueen123

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by BeautyQueen123
by BeautyQueen123

Still getting used to Windows 8, but computer is fine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeautyQueen123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews