Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 195 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

195 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

195 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
51
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
17
1-20 of 136 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
Excellent Product! Excellent Value!
11/26/2012

Customer review by KingLonny

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by KingLonny
by KingLonny

This laptop has exceeded my expectations both in value and execution! It is whisper quiet, but lightning fast! You can barely tell that it is operating until you open up say Internet Explorer and the page loads in microseconds! (And this is with a wireless/router Comcast cable connection; NOT directly ethernet connected). It has everything that I was looking for: 4 Gigs of RAM, expandable to 8; good hard drive space, 320 Gigs; HDMI out; 15.6" screen; numeric keypad; Windows 8; & 3 USB ports. I am totally and completely satisfied with this product. Gateway, you have earned my utmost respect . This is a MUST-BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KingLonny
Sicklerville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!
11/12/2012

Customer review by Barkatan

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by Barkatan
by Barkatan

This is the first laptop I've ever owned and so far, I'm very happy. The price was great and the size is just perfect. Was a little bit intimidated by Windows 8 but my son, the computer whiz, was able to set it up to look like Windows 7. My old computer is a 9 year old Dell desktop that I truly love but it's gotten outdated and it was time to graduate to a laptop. A friend bought a Gateway and was really happy with it so she recommended it to me. And you can't beat the price for a "first" laptop. I also like that it has a 10-key on the keyboard. So many of the other laptops at higher prices don't have one. Can't wait to learn all the new features!

Was this review helpful? (90) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barkatan
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Seems like an AWESOME laptop.
11/6/2012

Customer review by JRLShopper

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by JRLShopper
by JRLShopper

Well I just bought this at my local walmart about 5 hours ago, and it seems like an amazing machine for the price. about 340 with tax the screen is WIDE and beautiful HD, and Its gona be awesome playing movies on this :D. EXTREMELY FAST! Couldn't be any faster!! I downloaded garys mod, and it runs beautifully..so you can definitely play some games on this no problems. Whisper quiet ...no sound from this laptop whatsoever... overall 5/5..i doubt you'll find better for the price! I'll update this review if it crashes or something, but i really don't see that happening!

Was this review helpful? (245) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JRLShopper
Delhi, Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
amazing product and worth the money
11/10/2012

Customer review by Rfergie

5.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Rfergie
by Rfergie

this gateway laptop is full of words to explain lol . i just purchased this product on November 9 , 2012 it fits all the qualification that i needed . its great for college students like myself , good for all the music people out there and works wonderful for watching and making movies so therefore i would totally recommend this product to anyone and everyone that's shopping for the right laptop :)

Was this review helpful? (117) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rfergie
FAYETTEVILLE , NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for a great price!
1/15/2013

Customer review by shpray

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by shpray
by shpray

I don't do a lot of gaming so I don't know if the processor is fast enough for that. I do some programming and design web pages and I couldn't have asked for a better computer for those purposes. I also like to watch videos on Netflix and I haven't had any problems doing that either. The laptop is light, the screen is very big and bright, and the mouse and camera work great. The only complaint that I can think of is that the speakers are not very loud. Although, if I'm watching a video I usually use headphones so I don't think that will be an issue either. I've noticed a few reviews that complain about the laptop getting hot. I haven't had that problem. It stays a whole lot cooler than my old Dell Latitude that used to actually get uncomfortably hot on my legs. The battery lasts a long time, too. It will last over four hours if I'm using it continuously for work or surfing. It lasts nearly three hours if I'm watching videos. If I'm turning it on and off periodically throughout the day it will last all day long. I love this laptop. Especially since it is about $100 less than a comparable system at another store. Wal-Mart knocked it out of the part with this one. Thanks!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shpray
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This was purchased for a friend
2/3/2013

Customer review by Wilie1

4.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Wilie1
by Wilie1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Gateway NE56R3u Laptop PC has worked better than expected. It is a good value for the price. It has a Celeron B820 processor which I did not expect would offer much in relation to processing speed for my friend. But it performs well with Windows 8, and has adequate RAM as well. The 320 GB hard drive is adequate, however we would have preferred 500 GB. The wireless connection operates very well also. (My friend's home is near a public library and school) He cannot afford internet for himself. But with a Hawking wireless extender was able to pull in the library's unsecured internet connection on the Gateway, and amazingly it has full strength reception. It comes with a trial version of Microsoft office and Norton Internet Security. My friend is very pleased with this Gateway, It will help him in his work, and daily routines required by both his employer, and family. The Gateway is a better than average laptop. Don't be afraid to purchase this model for your everyday needs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wilie1
Castle Rock, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Like It
11/25/2012

Customer review by camarodude

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by camarodude
by camarodude
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

Its fast,plenty of stuff for what my need are for.Nice HD graphics,DVD burner.Was super easy setup,and Im far from an expert.But for the 300 range you can not go wrong with this one!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
camarodude
Osceola
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
11/18/2012

Customer review by excel4ever

4.0 stars 11/18/2012 by excel4ever
by excel4ever

This is a good basic computer. The Celeron processor is faster than expected. However, if you are interested in gaming I would upgrade to an Intel i5 or i7. Do not be concerned about Windows 8, it is very easy to get used to.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
excel4ever
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Best Laptop I've Had Thus Far!
11/12/2012

Customer review by ThatTechPerson

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by ThatTechPerson
by ThatTechPerson

I really love my Gateway Laptop because, it lets me play games in HD, watch all my favorite movies, and videos in HD. The screen is very clear and HUGE! The RAM is good and the speed of this bad boy is pretty fast. I use this laptop for school, and personal use. I mainly use Photoshop CS6 and it runs pretty smooth. I would highly recommend this product to everyone, and the price is practically begging you to buy it!

Was this review helpful? (80) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThatTechPerson
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty good but has some quirks
12/9/2012

Customer review by skierbri10

4.0 stars 12/9/2012 by skierbri10
by skierbri10

The main quirks? Windows 8 and the speakers. This is actually a nice computer, runs fairly fast and can play some games. The real issues come from Windows 8 that is totally user unfriendly. You can get it pretty close to how Win7 or XP is, but not completely. The speakers have no base to them at all. I know this is a budget pc, but the speakers are insulting. My phone plays music 100 x's better. Both those quirks are half star deductions. Where this computer does good things is the design, the keyboard, and the quality. The design is nice, it is very thin for a budget pc and the is light weight. Could it be better? Yeah probably, but you have to remember you are getting a computer that is at least $100 cheaper than others. The keyboard is good looking and quiet and has a number pad. It is still a keyboard with space to eat crumbs, but it is a good design. The quality is outstanding. I have had this computer for only a day, so reliability remains to be seen, but they put a lot of thought into the quality of this computer. It really does show. The hard drive is a bit slow, but not horrible. If you haven't been around computers long or haven't paid attention you wont notice it is just slightly slower than some I have used. I plan on replacing it with an SSD drive to hopefully turn the throttle way up. It is also nice to see they used only one memory slot and left one open. Pricing out memory you can double it for under $20. All-in-all this is a great computer, definitely a step up from a netbook or tablet. It will handle some gaming and has more than enough power for normal computer uses.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skierbri10
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
best laptop I've ever owned
11/23/2012

Customer review by NannyBlue

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by NannyBlue
by NannyBlue

I love this computer! the wifi connection is great, the backlit screen is a godsend, and the full-size screen and keyboard is so much more user-friendly than the netbooks I've tried. I also especially like the hdmi connection, and this was the reason I went with this particular budget-friendly model.Pages load very quickly. I am not a gamer and do not need lightning-fast speed, but I can watch YouTube and Netflix on the go on any wifi connection with decent speed. My only reservation is that it has windows 8, and I think it is optimized for tablets but not really for pc's and laptops. I'd prefer to have windows 7 home premium, and may look into this if I don't get used to all of the apps that I neither use nor wish to have cluttering my start screen.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NannyBlue
Medford, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great for the money
11/18/2012

Customer review by 1028OAK

4.0 stars 11/18/2012 by 1028OAK
by 1028OAK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this for my senior father and while its taking him a while to get used to windows 8. He loves being wireless. And its fast enough for hiim to play all of his games online with no drag. Easy wireless set up and works great!

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1028OAK
WHITSETT, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/10/2012

Customer review by justgivenmyopinion

2.0 stars 12/10/2012 by justgivenmyopinion
by justgivenmyopinion
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the laptop after reading about 13-23 reviews from others. The rating from them was between 3 -4 stars. I got the computer for over a week and decided to return back to the store. I have found a few negatives about this laptop. I don't like the Windows 8 version not because of no start button, but there is no exit button on the far upper right corner where you can click to exit and the escape button seems to not doing anything. The mouse pad is so sensitive that it make the screen jump from one screen to the next, making me lost and can't find where I was and where everything is. The speaker sound of the laptop is low. Another thing that other review did not mentioned was how quickly the laptop get hot.

Was this review helpful? (29) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justgivenmyopinion
Lansdown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great laptop until 2 months later
2/15/2013

Customer review by mermaidiagal

1.0 stars 2/15/2013 by mermaidiagal
by mermaidiagal

So I got this laptop from my dad for Christmas and it was great. I thought the graphics were great, the speed was good, and the new Windows 8 was cool to use. After a month or so using it, I'd try to play a video game and for some reason, it would start to terminate the game. It would sometimes freeze up whenever I'd play this game and completely shut the game down. Just today, I shut the lid of the laptop down to take a nap. Next thing you know it when I try to turn it on, it says that the memory cannot be read, it had to go through scanning my harddrive. Now I know for a fact I don't go on bad websites, but this has happened to me before on a Toshiba laptop. Anyway, now it's not working right at all and my dad's gonna flip if he hears that yet ANOTHER laptop was ruined by something in the system... I wouldn't buy a Gateway again (not if I wanted to. Probably have to buy one secretly so he doesn't have to know about it) *thumbs down*

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mermaidiagal
Follansbee, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
11/26/2012

Customer review by Southgagirl97

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by Southgagirl97
by Southgagirl97

Bought this computer to (show) photos, in which I am a photographer. It is fast and durable. The keys are kinda thin, but I guess Im just used to my home pc keyboard. Also, I wish they had included directions on how to use windows 8..It is somewhat confusing at first. My mother wants a laptop like this, but Im afraid she will never figure out windows 8 :/

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Southgagirl97
South GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great computer, great price
12/7/2012

Customer review by SweetBowlcut

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by SweetBowlcut
by SweetBowlcut
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this computer so far. I've had it for about a week. The battery life is great. I'm still getting used to Windows8, but the computer itself is excellent and I've had no issues.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetBowlcut
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Laptop
12/13/2012

Customer review by tigerlily2961

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by tigerlily2961
by tigerlily2961
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like this computer, I bought it at the end of Nov. after checking into it there were a lot of outdated drivers (9) witch I thought to be odd seeing that it was a brand new windows 8 computer. Other than that this laptop is a very nice running computer.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tigerlily2961
Redford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great laptop
2/15/2013

Customer review by bamarose46

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by bamarose46
by bamarose46

I just bought this laptop last night and I have enjoyed it so much it is a real good laptop loads real fast and picks up wifi real good. And is a nice looking laptop for the price you can't beat it. I would tell all my friends to pick this laptop for sure.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bamarose46
Arab. Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value!
12/10/2012

Customer review by petitepete

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by petitepete
by petitepete
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this laptop for one of my sons for Christmas. He has been using it for a little over a week now and he LOVES it. He is still trying to learn the new system and is very impressed with the technology in this laptop. It is more advanced than any he has had in the past. The Gateway brand is well established and of high quality. The price for this laptop was unbeatable. It is a great value and I highly recommend this product to anyone in the market for a quality laptop!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
petitepete
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for surfing the web.
12/11/2012

Customer review by gisles

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by gisles
by gisles
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this as a replacement for a Dell laptop. This laptop was half the cost, but does just as much. I am very happy with it so far.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gisles
Brunswck, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews