Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 147 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

147 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

147 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
41
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
11
1-20 of 110 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews
Better than an iPad
12/26/2012

Customer review by cetude

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by cetude
by cetude

THIS is actually more powerful than an iPad which costs $700. This notebook holds 320 gb space with 1 gb memory. a $700 iPad holds 64 gb, also with 1 GB ram memory. The notebook IS a computer so it does a of a lot more than an iPad. I got mine for $220 (on sale) at Wal-mart and it's very good! and is JUST AS PORTABLE. I really like this for portable work, studying, and writing papers and the keyboard is attached :-)

Was this review helpful? (191) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cetude
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Great Deal for the Money
1/3/2013

Customer review by Keith99

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by Keith99
by Keith99

If all you are doing is using it for the internet, its great!!! If you want to use it as a regular Notebook and run some office programs, or watch DVD's you might want to add another Gig of RAM to it for it to perform adequately. This is not a problem, I bought a 2 GB ram upgrade from Kingston for $13.99 and added a 4GB SD card to use as Ready Boost. This improved performance significantly. The only complaint I had was the short battery life it has before requiring recharging. This is not a problem either since you can upgrade from the 3 cell battery to a 6 cell battery at the Gateway online store for $49.99. Kingston also offers some flash drive upgrade options for this machine that will greatly improve performance and use less power than the standard HDD. I liked this machine so much that I bought a second for my family. Overall, I don't think you can go wrong with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (108) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keith99
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value in a Nice Little Netbook
1/23/2013

Customer review by moondiggitydawg

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by moondiggitydawg
by moondiggitydawg

I was looking for a very compact computer to easily carry around with me. I didn't need a powerhouse as I have a desktop and a very powerful Asus laptop for when I need a workhorse. I wanted something that I could use for email, to surf the net, save photos on and create documents. I also wanted something light and small to keep a version of Bible Explorer on, so I could keep my library or Christian books at my fingertips. I looked at many, many, netbooks and found that for the price you couldn't do much better than this little Gateway LT 4010u. Even with its little Intel Atom Intel Atom N2600 processor & just 1GB of RAM I find it to be plenty quick (for comparison my Asus has an Intel Core i7 processor & 8GBs of RAM). I should mention for those who want more RAM that the 4010u is expandable to 2GB RAM, but I wouldn't attempt to disassemble to get to the card. I also found the 320G hard drive a pleasant surprise. I'm sure the fact that the 4010u comes with just the (non-power sapping) Windows 7 Starter (of which I'm not a huge fan, but it is fine for a netbook) part of the reason I don't find this little netbook to be slow at all. I find the 10.1" display excellent, especially for a netbook at this price point, and the fact that it comes equipped with niceties such as 3 2.0 USB ports, a webcam, and a 6-in-1 memory card reader all pluses. The 3-cell lithium-ion battery is said to provide up to 4 hours of battery life, however you can purchase a 6 cell (which should provide about 8 hours per charge) from Gateway Accessories for just $49.99 plus tax & shipping. In short, for the money, this is a very nice little value-packed netbook and I am very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moondiggitydawg
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This little pc is a workhorse
1/5/2013

Customer review by pdthing

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by pdthing
by pdthing

I tried out everything from the Surface RT to a Galaxy Not 10.0. The Galaxy Note is just a glorified smart phone. The Surface wasn't compatible with any other Windows based system. In my opinion, don't waste your money on anything but a Windows based laptop or netbook or ultrabook. If you want a little laptop, get this Gateway. LOVE IT ... and you will too. (I bought an extra 32 gig usb to store large files. I spent $13.00 when it was on sale at Best Buy.)

Was this review helpful? (57) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pdthing
pdthing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/31/2012

Customer review by MAC1995

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by MAC1995
by MAC1995

Easy to take along where ever you go.

Was this review helpful? (27) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MAC1995
Phoenix AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
perfect vacation companion
1/12/2013

Customer review by nici53

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by nici53
by nici53

Even though a vacation is for fun sometimes you still need to have access to your non-vacation everyday life. This netbook is light weight & easy to use but acts like a heavy weight carrying all the information & connections you could need on the spur of the moment. I wanted something that could work along with my everyday & also stand on its own. This answers all my demands, light & easy to use, an excellent value for the price, adaptable & useable along with my current equipment & no hassles when I'm on the go.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nici53
Chicago, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice second portable PC
1/12/2013

Customer review by TazmanianTom1

4.0 stars 1/12/2013 by TazmanianTom1
by TazmanianTom1

This is a nice second portable unit for travel or home use. This will not take the place of a regular laptop, but is great for someone that just wants to do email, home work, school. You can add an external USB CD drive. Would have given it 5 stars and excilent rating if Gatway would have provided directions for getting to the memory bank so you can install the 2GB MEMORY. If you are going to use it for school or working on papers at home I would suggest purchasing the unlock key for MS Office home and student. The upgrade to the full version of windows7 (the next one up) if you want to play with photos or have a better OS abd suport for memory is a nice idea. Windows starter is ok for email and social networking. Gatway keeps changing their mind on Windows starter supporting 2GB memory. Documents indicates it does, but support from Gatway said you need to upgrade OS. Other than that this is a nice little unit.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TazmanianTom1
Near Philadelphia PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for quality, economy and function.
1/13/2013

Customer review by slapdaddy

4.0 stars 1/13/2013 by slapdaddy
by slapdaddy

After reading the other reviews i would agree the performance suffers a little but i will try the memory upgrade as some have suggested. Thats proven to be tha answer to poor performance i've had on other computers. Other than that, its a nice little laptop and is a great alternative to a tablet PC. I needed the traditional keyboard and this one is nice. The keys are large enough for my'fat fingers' and the function keys are intuitive. All the necessary functions like volume, screen brightness and wireless access are clearly labled and work prpperly. They could have relocated the 'Pg Up' _ 'Pg Dn' keys away from the directional arrow keys but nothings perfect. This little laptop feels solid and looks nice and clean. I needed a travel notebook to access the internet for personal business and research as well as to store business files and for the 228 dollars spent at Wamart, this turned out to be the best solution. I coupled mine with an AT&T wireless hotspot. The setup was simple and effortless and works flawlessly. I dont like touchpads so I also got a wireless, usb "mini mouse". If you really like the Touch Screen style of navagation, this is not your alternative. Otherwise...

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slapdaddy
Porter, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Much faster than expected.
1/30/2013

Customer review by seulater

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by seulater
by seulater

I just needed something to check several e-mail accounts. So i was looking for a 10" screen and low cost. I did not need speed. When i got it i was not expecting much for speed as i have had 2 10" ones in the past that were slow like molasses. When I fired it up i was shocked at just how zippy this actually is. I never thought in a million years that anything with 1Gb ram could be so zippy. Wireless signal was very good for how far away i was from the router compared to other devices i have. I liked it so much that i wanted to see just how far i could push the envelope and even get more from it, not that it needed it. I threw a 2GB stick in it and a SSD SATA hard drive. Slapped Win7 32Bit Pro on it. Boots in under 5 seconds ready to go. I then threw Win8 32bit on it. I just love this little thing with either OS on it. For anyone looking for a low cost unit dont let the cost and 1GB ram scare you off. I think you will be pleasantly surprised at this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seulater
Rockton, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/2/2013

Customer review by Payne27

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Payne27
by Payne27

We bought this for our 12 y/o son for Christmas. He's only had it for a week but so far he loves it. It works as good as our regular laptop but the size is great. It would be great for travel. The price was good. So far we are very pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Payne27
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
exactly what I was looking for
1/29/2013

Customer review by Phoebe199

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by Phoebe199
by Phoebe199

Looked around for quite awhile for a small and inexpensive laptop. I'm too cheap to buy an Ipad. Great little PC for checking e-mail, social networking and watching missed TV shows on Hulu. Was slow at first so I removed allot of the "bloat". Seriously, why do they feel the need to install SQL 2005? Be careful if you install 2 mg of ram. Best left to the professionals with great eyesight, the keys easily break. Love this little netbook.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phoebe199
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good
1/1/2013

Customer review by rodrigar

4.0 stars 1/1/2013 by rodrigar
by rodrigar

I bough this item for my niece and love it,it is very light and portable and perfect for her because it fit on her school bag..

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rodrigar
brooklyn ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This netbook is so much better than a Kindle Fire
2/6/2013

Customer review by DellXPSowner

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by DellXPSowner
by DellXPSowner

I am so glad I purchased this Gateway netbook. After reading some of the other reviews I expected this to be a rather slow computer, but I was almost shocked at how quick this is with the dual core processor. I do recommend an upgrade to 2gb ram -- paid a total of $35.00 for the memory and the installation to my local computer shop. Also, I purchased a Sound Logic clip on netbook speaker from Walmart.com and the sound is even better than mentioned in its reviews. I'm waiting on a 6 cell battery from Gateway. This will enable 8 hours use before charge rather than the 4 hours use with included 3 cell battery.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DellXPSowner
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for anybody.
1/30/2013

Customer review by Wole

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by Wole
by Wole

Everything you will need in a laptop.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wole
Riverdale, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
pleasantly surprised
2/2/2013

Customer review by nitapepsi

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by nitapepsi
by nitapepsi

At first I thought this was too slow. After removing alot of the extras that were preloaded, I am now pleasantly surprised. I am able to link this netbook to my tablet hotspot. So much nicer to have the regular internet anywhere I go and be able to play MSN games. No more apps to crash. The tablet I was going to get cost $500 or more. For $178, I know I made the right purchase. I am able to do my wireless eprints and having the USB, HDMI is a huge plus. Battery life is very good. I am only using the netbook for entertainment. I have not tried or needed Excel, Word or any other Windows 7 programs. I use a regular desktop or Notebook for that.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nitapepsi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
1/18/2013

Customer review by 4956susie

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by 4956susie
by 4956susie

Wonderful item.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4956susie
Franklin, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great computer for my teen.
1/9/2013

Customer review by GiaB

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by GiaB
by GiaB

This was a great gift for my teen. Its very compact. She can fit it in her bag and take it on trips. Its also very helpful for school work.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GiaB
Dale City,Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/6/2013

Customer review by miwale

4.0 stars 1/6/2013 by miwale
by miwale

Was not sure about this at first,purchased for a 7 and 12 year old ,but the ease of use made this a great gift

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miwale
Port Arthur Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
gateway laptop
1/19/2013

Customer review by qdarby

4.0 stars 1/19/2013 by qdarby
by qdarby

it a good laptop u can watch movies shop on ebay u can also skype with friends there r a lot of things u can do but one thing i don't like is dat it too small.

Was this review helpful? (5) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qdarby
Florence south carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
slower than expected
1/5/2013

Customer review by lmjhm

2.0 stars 1/5/2013 by lmjhm
by lmjhm

this computer is just for basic functions, and even then it is very slow. All functions lag and take a long time to complete. The processor speed is just too slow for even word processing. If you need fast internet speeds or something fast then this is not for you.

Was this review helpful? (8) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lmjhm
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews