Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

8 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

8 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-7 of 7 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

5/22/2013

Customer review by AGordie

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by AGordie
by AGordie

This combo is a great value, and fun to fish with. I've caught fish from 3 inch Pumpkinseed to a 16 inch Mackinaw/Lake Trout with this rod, and it allowed me to feel the fight of the Pumpkinseed, but also had enough power for the Trout. If you're looking for a longer rod that is cheap, this might be the best choice. The reel is very light and has a pretty good drag, and the 8' rod isn't heavy enough to be uncomfortable for me even with the small reel to balance it. I replaced the included 4 lb line with 6 lb Trilene XL when I got it, so I can't comment on how good the line is. The two lines seemed to be about the same diameter, so the Trilene is probably a better line. I also asked Zebco about the line capacity, and they said it is prefilled with 200 yards of 4 lb line. The only downsides to this combo are that the reel feels a little "cheap and plasticky" (though it still works fine, and the new models look nicer), and the bottom line guide on the rod seems smaller than most spinning rods. This doesn't seem to limit casting distance much, but it's always possible to add a bigger guide if you want to.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AGordie
OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good combo for the price.
11/2/2012

Customer review by katcatcher75

4.0 stars 11/2/2012 by katcatcher75
by katcatcher75

The combination works good together. Reel is already loaded with line. Don't suggest buying the extra length pole if you think it will help you cast further, as the longer pole is a little flimsy.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katcatcher75
Farragut, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than I expected fishing pole combo
10/22/2014

Customer review by Tacklebuster

5.0 stars 10/22/2014 by Tacklebuster
by Tacklebuster

I use this pole fishing off a bridge and it pulls the crappie out of the water and up to the top of the bridge no problem . I bought this fishing pole combo to replace 2 Shakespeare crappie hunters that I have broken fishing from this bridge . For a low cost fishing pole combo I am very happy with the results and will be ordering 2 more . I do recommend replacing the line that comes with the pole it has too much memory .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tacklebuster
Columbia SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No handle.
11/8/2014

Customer review by retiredfisherman

1.0 stars 11/8/2014 by retiredfisherman
by retiredfisherman

The handle is too short to go into a rod holder. The picture is not accurate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
retiredfisherman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Crappie fighter spinning combo
5/27/2015

Customer review by Scott

5.0 stars 5/27/2015 by Scott
by Scott

Excellent! Great for Crappie & Pearch.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scott
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Crappie spinning combo
4/16/2015

Customer review by turretplug

4.0 stars 4/16/2015 by turretplug
by turretplug

Good job zebco..... I got 4 of these on rollback. Bought primarily for crappie and light tackle fishing. It's a good stout little combo with a flexible tip. You can certainly set a hook with this Rod. I will mimic one of the other reviews about the length of the handle. It is short, but it fits in my Rod holder, but maybe not all Rod holders. At $14, they were a steal.......

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turretplug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great rod/reel combo
6/21/2015

Customer review by Olslewfoot

4.0 stars 6/21/2015 by Olslewfoot
by Olslewfoot

I bought them for the grandkids and wound up using them myself. I prefer an underspin reel for brim fishing but for the price these can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Olslewfoot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes