Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

17 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

17 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-13 of 13 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Easy to Use, Heavy Duty Reel
12/20/2012

Customer review by Dalaw1960

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Dalaw1960
by Dalaw1960

If you fish for catfish or other large species, this is about the best bang for your buck you are going to find. The reel is smooth casting and on the retrieve, with a good drag and plenty of pulling power due to the low gear ratio. A great reel for beginners or occassional fisherman. Just push the button and throw it out, day or night. As to line, I would go with a quality line like Berkley Big Game or Stren in a 15-17 lb weight. The line that comes with it is OK, but it is very stiff, heavy and will not cast that well. A great product from Zebco!

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dalaw1960
Lebanon, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love It!
3/21/2013

Customer review by 2PatsinWV

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by 2PatsinWV
by 2PatsinWV

This is my second purchase of the Zebco 808. I bought the first one 2 years ago and I'm still using it. I grew up using a spincast reel, and I just love them. This one is great for saltwater fishing. I have no problem at all reeling in the big fish. Would highly reccommend!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2PatsinWV
Sistersville, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel for any fisherman
3/29/2014

Customer review by arborman1962

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by arborman1962
by arborman1962

I do a lot of river fishing for catfish. The Zebco 808 is a great baitcasting reel. It holds up to a lot of abuse. Would recommend this reel to anyone, and the price you just cant beat. Good luck on the fishing.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arborman1962
Omaha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Boat or shore reel
10/25/2013

Customer review by fisherpat

5.0 stars 10/25/2013 by fisherpat
by fisherpat

It doesn't matter if you are casting from the bank or from your boat this reel will to the job. It is smooth and powerful. This is my second one and the other is 15 years old and still working.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fisherpat
Gautier, Ms.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best price you can find
8/7/2013

Customer review by chuck0

5.0 stars 8/7/2013 by chuck0
by chuck0

as good as any out there

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chuck0
east texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel, good price
9/17/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love zebco 808 magnum reels. The reel has a very smooth retreive and good pulling power from the low gearing. It casts like an absolute dream. I would prefer the bait alert switch to be metal but its not that big of a deal. Re-spool it with 50 or 65lb powerpro braid and put it on a berkley big game rod and you've got a very nice catfishing setup. Can't beat this reel at this price!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Owensboro: Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel for the money.
9/3/2013

Customer review by Gs2000

4.0 stars 9/3/2013 by Gs2000
by Gs2000

Had this same model of reel many years ago. This new reel is made much better and looks better also. The all metal gears are very smooth and the line that came on the reel is very useable. Great buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gs2000
Versailles, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome product and service.
9/13/2013

Customer review by JayJay7879

4.0 stars 9/13/2013 by JayJay7879
by JayJay7879

This is a great fishing reel and the fast service from Walmart was exceptional. The best part was shipping was cheap and extremely fast, quicker than expected.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JayJay7879
Mannington, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a very sturdy Reel Shipped fast
1/20/2014

Customer review by JesusFreakH7

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by JesusFreakH7
by JesusFreakH7

I haven't got to use this yet but it is all metal and by the looks of it will last a long time. It comes lined with 25 lb. test. Lord willing I will use this for Catfishing this year. If you do not have a rod for it I would use a Catfishing rod 7+ feet and Heavy action. I got this as a replacement reel and the only thing that bothers me about it is when you put the reel in it fits but part are the reel that connects to the rod is sort of arched so the center of where is attaches sort of stands off the rod but when you twist it down the ends fit just right so I do not think its a problem and Its in there pretty tight though and doesn't look like it is going anywhere

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JesusFreakH7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Zebco 808 Mag Reel
3/24/2014

Customer review by yellahammer

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by yellahammer
by yellahammer

Have used the regular 808 and decided to give this magnum a try. Have not caught anything substantial with it yet but I am sure it will do fine with the larger (25# and up)fish I fish for in the spring.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yellahammer
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
bib reel...big fish
2/2/2015

Customer review by tccatdaddywilde

5.0 stars 2/2/2015 by tccatdaddywilde
by tccatdaddywilde

I own several and no proublems. Great for all ages.easy cast..no drama fishing. love the bait alert. The best big fish reel.thanks Walmart and zebco

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tccatdaddywilde
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great reel
5/22/2015

Customer review by PJT158

5.0 stars 5/22/2015 by PJT158
by PJT158

Caught 2 12 pound catfish and a pile of smaller ones using it. Never had a problem getting them landed

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PJT158
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far, so good!
6/29/2014

Customer review by Onasis

4.0 stars 6/29/2014 by Onasis
by Onasis

I have read the other reviews and thus far I have not had any of those issues. I have used it in Saltwater and reeled in a 30-50lb ray with no problem. The drag worked like it was supposed too. I will this reel is large and heavy, and is better suited for either a larger MH rod or a H rod.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Onasis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes