Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

57 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

57 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 57 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Veggie Stew!
2/9/2014

Customer review by CAGirl77

5.0 stars 2/9/2014 by CAGirl77
by CAGirl77

With (40) servings per large container, I highly recommend this product. I'm a vegetarian so I made this with vegetable broth, & diced potatoes for a lite (cup of soup) dinner the other night. I added some warm crusty bread & butter as a side too. It was so good! It's low calorie & good for you. When you remove the lid from this container, you can smell the freshness of the stew mix. It's a generous amount of product for the price too. I will be buying more of this product in the future. Thank you Augason Farms for such good quality foods.

Was this review helpful? (81) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAGirl77
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice addition
6/9/2016

Customer review by MidwestAl

5.0 stars 6/9/2016 by MidwestAl
by MidwestAl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent as a low-sodium healthy soup stock, but also nice addition to steamed rice, barley, and other hot side dishes. Tastes great used as a dip with crackers or chips (drain off excess water). Add seasoning to suit your taste.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MidwestAl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
10/24/2012

Customer review by ooblygoobly

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by ooblygoobly
by ooblygoobly
Top 250 contributor

I am so pleased I ordered this Vegetable Stew Blend! Just 15-20 ish minutes of simmering and it's ready. I was expecting big hunks of hard to hydrate vegetables, but this is not the case. It is small cuts, some might call it very small cuts. But that means it hydrates thorougly and quickly. That can come in handy when the electric goes out etc. The flavor is great. The ease is great, no cutting, chopping, no leftovers rotting in the fridge to throw away. Use the amount you need. But remember as they hydrate they increase a little in size. It's easy to make more than you may need. I hydrated mine in a broth instead of plain water. EXCELLENT. I did not use it in a stew. I used it once as a side dish and once in a skillet dinner mix. Very pleased with it overall. And the price is very good and you can get free shipping( by meeting the $45 requirement#, and these weigh 2 lbs each#slightly over in fact) especially for 40 servings! Want to make sure you family is getting some veggies they may not know about, throw a handful in some pasta, a macaroni and cheese dish etc. After I initially open the can and use some, I pour the rest in a plastic bag and put it back in the can to help it stay fresh. Or I vacuum seal it in jars. And kept at a coolish temperature it can last decades if unopened! Couldn't be more pleased. Will be ordering more.

Was this review helpful? (143) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ooblygoobly
Near Morgantown, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Top 250 contributor
Flavorful, economical soup!
2/17/2013

Customer review by CryBaby555

5.0 stars 2/17/2013 by CryBaby555
by CryBaby555

I bought this for emergencies and only opened it because can was dented and I didn't want to store it long term. I cook for one, but this is how I make it. I use about a quart of water and add some noodles and extra peppers flakes, salt, black pepper and chili peppers. I bring it to a slow boil, cover and reduce to simmer for 30 minutes. This makes two good sized servings for one person...adjust for more servings. It is low calories but tasty. It is worth the money and very tasty made this way.

Was this review helpful? (104) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CryBaby555
Muskogee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Augason stew mix
7/9/2016

Customer review by Paleoman

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Paleoman
by Paleoman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Really good as a base but grest if Dressed up with a bouillon Cube and maybe some seasonings. I simply ran water through my Keurig coffee maker Let's sit for a few minutes to expand then microwave for a minute Really good!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paleoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good as a base for soup.
3/9/2013

Customer review by readyset

4.0 stars 3/9/2013 by readyset
by readyset
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The pieces are diced small which helps with rehydrating but makes more of a soup base than a "stew". Mixed with beef broth and meat it made a very good vegetable beef soup. I'd definitely use this while camping or when I need an easy menu item.

Was this review helpful? (51) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
readyset
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good soup
5/2/2016

Customer review by cander2

4.0 stars 5/2/2016 by cander2
by cander2

I use less than the directions call for, I use 3/4 cup mix , 4 cups water, to this I add 1/2 lb. cooked meat, ( hamburger, chicken or ham) 1 can rotel tomatoes, cook 25 to 30 minutes on medium heat.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cander2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good but veggie pieces are too small
6/19/2014

Customer review by Pelony

2.0 stars 6/19/2014 by Pelony
by Pelony

Having purchased and using this Veggie Blend for over a year I will make my first review on this product. I find the veggie blend to be very useful when making soups, but the veggie pieces are too small, the flavor is great and does contribute to the soup taste. The veggie pieces will hydrate usually in 15 minutes, after hydrating the pieces will be reduced in size to almost nothing. I have contacted Augason Farms and asked if any changes are forthcoming regarding a larger size on the Veggies. It has been over 6 months and Augason Farms has not answered my email question. So after depleting my two cans of Veggie blend I will look elsewhere for a better product.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pelony
Would recommend to a friend? No
10 year shelf life dehydrated Veggie Stew Blend
1/18/2014

Customer review by ChillyVilly

4.0 stars 1/18/2014 by ChillyVilly
by ChillyVilly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I opened and tried this to see if I'd like it. The flavor contains a lot of cabbage, so with a can of corned beef, and a few cut up potatos, it is great! Just with corned beef, it is great! Next I'll try it with fresh corned beef! (So fast and easy to make!)

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChillyVilly
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what you expect - TINY particles
7/15/2014

Customer review by ThriftyCook

1.0 stars 7/15/2014 by ThriftyCook
by ThriftyCook
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was a great disappointment. The particles are practically pulverized with the majority being powder. It's OK for sprinkling flavor into something, but don't expect any vegetable chunks to materialize. The can is about 2/3 full, and there are a few onion particles and a few bits of something red in the top of the contents, but that's about all. You certainly couldn't make vegetable stew out of it! You may put some in your stew for flavor, but you better have your own vegetables, because they certainly aren't in this can. It reminds me of Ranch dip mix and Knorr soup mix that people sometimes put into sour cream to make a dip, but the particles are smaller. The flavor is quite heavy on the onions and is very salty.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThriftyCook
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Little Surprised with....
7/26/2014

Customer review by electronics4grandma

4.0 stars 7/26/2014 by electronics4grandma
by electronics4grandma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

....the size of the ingredients. My expectations were that the cabbage, carrots, potatoes, and bell peppers would be better discerned. Those ingredients, however, are chopped very fine which makes it hard to distinguish. I would have expected them to look more like the vegetables one would SEE in a vegetable stew. Therefore, I give this product five stars for its value and four stars in the "meets expectations" category. Now, the reason I gave four stars in that category is because the stew tastes really great. I noticed immediately when opening the can that the smell of the vegetables is very, very fresh. As if they had just cooked them. So, I added some chunks of tomatoes, celery and potatoes in some broth along with this vegetable blend. Again....it's flavorful! What I plan to do from now on is to use this vegetable blend when I make ramen noodles. It will be a nice addition to add flavor and nutrition to them (IMO). I am NOT sorry I bought these vegetable because it is still a good idea to have them on hand to use as I explained before AND if I just want to have a quick light soup, they are perfect for that. The little pieces of potato flakes will work as a thickener to the soup. My overall opinion is that this is a good product and there are some recipes on the back of the can that seems to be tasty. I recommend it. Just be aware...the vegetables will disappear, but, you will still know they were added.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
electronics4grandma
Grand Prarie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value - no waste
1/11/2014

Customer review by Char3324

5.0 stars 1/11/2014 by Char3324
by Char3324
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These products Walmart supplies fro Augason Farms are wonderful. There is no waste with this. The product last a long time and comes in handy for those emergency situations. I have many product from this company.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Char3324
midusa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought on a lark
1/19/2014

Customer review by MGsNumber1Aunt

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by MGsNumber1Aunt
by MGsNumber1Aunt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was browsing one day and saw these products. Thought I would give it a try as I live alone and had to throw out quite a bit of leftovers. When the product arrived I made some meatball stew using this vegetable mix. Excellent flavor and I was able to make just enough for two meals with no waste. Glad I decided to buy this product "on a lark". I recommend this for at home, camping, tailgating or whatever. Give it a try.

Was this review helpful? (43) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MGsNumber1Aunt
Bronson, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love, love, love
7/4/2014

Customer review by Catlynh60

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by Catlynh60
by Catlynh60

Absolutely love this mix! So much flavor, I make an awesome potato veggie soup by adding some instant mashed potatoes, milk and a little butter and seasonings to taste. Such great taste and so nutritious. Will be a regular on my grocery list from now on!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catlynh60
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Vegetable Stew mix
3/7/2016

Customer review by Judikins

3.0 stars 3/7/2016 by Judikins
by Judikins

For the money, really great! Taste....pretty good! Draw back...Very, very finely chopped. I was expecting small to medium chunk, but instead it was fine, flakes. As I said tasty but not the the volume of individual pieces I was looking for. I was looking for more stew sized chuncks.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Judikins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hearty meal
6/5/2016

Customer review by Rojean

5.0 stars 6/5/2016 by Rojean
by Rojean
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is always ready for that quick meal. I just add a can of cooked beef and heat for 30 minutes and its a hearty meal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rojean
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I am looking for more specials
12/16/2013

Customer review by CFneeley

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by CFneeley
by CFneeley
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am looking for more specials of the same and for more products. It is by far the best value for emergency food. and with taste that kids will eat.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CFneeley
Lake placid Flotida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for long term
11/12/2013

Customer review by PinkyWishes

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by PinkyWishes
by PinkyWishes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good for meals in a jar, soups or any cooked meal.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PinkyWishes
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/28/2013

Customer review by muldrowndn

5.0 stars 6/28/2013 by muldrowndn
by muldrowndn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This veg stew mix makes for a handy quick mix of veggies, or long term storage. They rehydrate well following directions, and taste good. I make my own jar meals and mixed veggies work greet in them.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
muldrowndn
mountain home, ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/16/2012

Customer review by dealbreaker99

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by dealbreaker99
by dealbreaker99
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Best prices I could find. Fast, free shipping. I haven't tasted because it's food storage, but I've tasted other products by this company and they were high quality. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dealbreaker99
Sopkane, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews