Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 72 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 72 reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
Veggie Stew!
2/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
With (40) servings per large container, I highly recommend this product. I'm a vegetarian so I made this with vegetable broth, & diced potatoes for a lite (cup of soup) dinner the other night. I added some warm crusty bread & butter as a side too. It was so good! It's low calorie & good for you. When you remove the lid from this container, you can smell the freshness of the stew mix. It's a generous amount of product for the price too. I will be buying more of this product in the future. Thank you Augason Farms for such good quality foods.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (104)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent
10/24/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 250 contributer
I am so pleased I ordered this Vegetable Stew Blend! Just 15-20 ish minutes of simmering and it's ready. I was expecting big hunks of hard to hydrate vegetables, but this is not the case. It is small cuts, some might call it very small cuts. But that means it hydrates thorougly and quickly. That can come in handy when the electric goes out etc. The flavor is great. The ease is great, no cutting, chopping, no leftovers rotting in the fridge to throw away. Use the amount you need. But remember as they hydrate they increase a little in size. It's easy to make more than you may need. I hydrated mine in a broth instead of plain water. EXCELLENT. I did not use it in a stew. I used it once as a side dish and once in a skillet dinner mix. Very pleased with it overall. And the price is very good and you can get free shipping( by meeting the $45 requirement#, and these weigh 2 lbs each#slightly over in fact) especially for 40 servings! Want to make sure you family is getting some veggies they may not know about, throw a handful in some pasta, a macaroni and cheese dish etc. After I initially open the can and use some, I pour the rest in a plastic bag and put it back in the can to help it stay fresh. Or I vacuum seal it in jars. And kept at a coolish temperature it can last decades if unopened! Couldn't be more pleased. Will be ordering more.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (158)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Small diced veggies with no preservatives or MSG
9/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I appreciate that these veggies do not contain any unnatural ingredients. The main ingredient is potatoes and they are diced very small. Should probably be labeled as soup veggies, not stew because of the size of the ingredients. Fast shipping, long shelf life, good price for emergency food storage.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Flavorful, economical soup!
2/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for emergencies and only opened it because can was dented and I didn't want to store it long term. I cook for one, but this is how I make it. I use about a quart of water and add some noodles and extra peppers flakes, salt, black pepper and chili peppers. I bring it to a slow boil, cover and reduce to simmer for 30 minutes. This makes two good sized servings for one person...adjust for more servings. It is low calories but tasty. It is worth the money and very tasty made this way.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (117)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
health
8/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I almost gave up being able to order any survival food because I am (salt sensitive hypertensive and gluten intolerant). When I saw this vegetable stew advertised on line, I was so relieved and thankful! Finding a low salt option is such a blessing. Thank you, thank you! This is a life saver.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good as a base for soup.
3/9/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The pieces are diced small which helps with rehydrating but makes more of a soup base than a "stew". Mixed with beef broth and meat it made a very good vegetable beef soup. I'd definitely use this while camping or when I need an easy menu item.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Little Surprised with....
7/26/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
....the size of the ingredients. My expectations were that the cabbage, carrots, potatoes, and bell peppers would be better discerned. Those ingredients, however, are chopped very fine which makes it hard to distinguish. I would have expected them to look more like the vegetables one would SEE in a vegetable stew. Therefore, I give this product five stars for its value and four stars in the "meets expectations" category. Now, the reason I gave four stars in that category is because the stew tastes really great. I noticed immediately when opening the can that the smell of the vegetables is very, very fresh. As if they had just cooked them. So, I added some chunks of tomatoes, celery and potatoes in some broth along with this vegetable blend. Again....it's flavorful! What I plan to do from now on is to use this vegetable blend when I make ramen noodles. It will be a nice addition to add flavor and nutrition to them (IMO). I am NOT sorry I bought these vegetable because it is still a good idea to have them on hand to use as I explained before AND if I just want to have a quick light soup, they are perfect for that. The little pieces of potato flakes will work as a thickener to the soup. My overall opinion is that this is a good product and there are some recipes on the back of the can that seems to be tasty. I recommend it. Just be aware...the vegetables will disappear, but, you will still know they were added.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what you expect - TINY particles
7/15/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This was a great disappointment. The particles are practically pulverized with the majority being powder. It's OK for sprinkling flavor into something, but don't expect any vegetable chunks to materialize. The can is about 2/3 full, and there are a few onion particles and a few bits of something red in the top of the contents, but that's about all. You certainly couldn't make vegetable stew out of it! You may put some in your stew for flavor, but you better have your own vegetables, because they certainly aren't in this can. It reminds me of Ranch dip mix and Knorr soup mix that people sometimes put into sour cream to make a dip, but the particles are smaller. The flavor is quite heavy on the onions and is very salty.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10 year shelf life dehydrated Veggie Stew Blend
1/18/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I opened and tried this to see if I'd like it. The flavor contains a lot of cabbage, so with a can of corned beef, and a few cut up potatos, it is great! Just with corned beef, it is great! Next I'll try it with fresh corned beef! (So fast and easy to make!)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good but veggie pieces are too small
6/19/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Having purchased and using this Veggie Blend for over a year I will make my first review on this product. I find the veggie blend to be very useful when making soups, but the veggie pieces are too small, the flavor is great and does contribute to the soup taste. The veggie pieces will hydrate usually in 15 minutes, after hydrating the pieces will be reduced in size to almost nothing. I have contacted Augason Farms and asked if any changes are forthcoming regarding a larger size on the Veggies. It has been over 6 months and Augason Farms has not answered my email question. So after depleting my two cans of Veggie blend I will look elsewhere for a better product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for Veggie Burgers
8/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wasn't impressed with the "stew" as I expected chunkier pieces, so, I put it aside for a month or more. When I was ready to make veggie burgers, I remembered I had this soup mix and decided to use it. The bite-sized pieces are excellent for veggie burgers and with 2 cups of the soup mix and the rest of my ingredients, I was able to make 18 burgers, which are delicious. I'm not a vegetarian, but I do love veggie burgers and I definitely recommend Augason Vegetable Stew for that purpose.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice addition
6/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Excellent as a low-sodium healthy soup stock, but also nice addition to steamed rice, barley, and other hot side dishes. Tastes great used as a dip with crackers or chips (drain off excess water). Add seasoning to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value - no waste
1/11/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
These products Walmart supplies fro Augason Farms are wonderful. There is no waste with this. The product last a long time and comes in handy for those emergency situations. I have many product from this company.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bought on a lark
1/19/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was browsing one day and saw these products. Thought I would give it a try as I live alone and had to throw out quite a bit of leftovers. When the product arrived I made some meatball stew using this vegetable mix. Excellent flavor and I was able to make just enough for two meals with no waste. Glad I decided to buy this product "on a lark". I recommend this for at home, camping, tailgating or whatever. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love, love, love
7/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Absolutely love this mix! So much flavor, I make an awesome potato veggie soup by adding some instant mashed potatoes, milk and a little butter and seasonings to taste. Such great taste and so nutritious. Will be a regular on my grocery list from now on!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/28/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This veg stew mix makes for a handy quick mix of veggies, or long term storage. They rehydrate well following directions, and taste good. I make my own jar meals and mixed veggies work greet in them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I am looking for more specials
12/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am looking for more specials of the same and for more products. It is by far the best value for emergency food. and with taste that kids will eat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good soup
5/2/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use less than the directions call for, I use 3/4 cup mix , 4 cups water, to this I add 1/2 lb. cooked meat, ( hamburger, chicken or ham) 1 can rotel tomatoes, cook 25 to 30 minutes on medium heat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for Soups and Stews
8/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I use this product all the time. I put it in dry with my meat, chicken, pork or beef and cook for several hours. I add all my seasonings at the same time with extra water for rehydration of the vegetables. It is really easy to use and convenient for crock pots or slow cookers. I add extra onion and you will need to use salt to taste once done cooking. Too much salt spoils the flavors. The quality of the product is high and dependable. The potatoes are small chunks, not big.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good value for the money, esp. for long term
4/20/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Would be great for a long term storage item. Tastes good, and would be great added to other things, or with other things added to it. Was shipped quickly and at no cost to me, as I bought the min. for free shipping.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643943, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-