Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 130 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

130 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

130 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
86
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
11
1-20 of 106 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews
Awesome Product !
11/1/2012

Customer review by HueMore2

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by HueMore2
by HueMore2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I absolutely love my new PED-Basic software ! I bought a CD with embroidery patterns on Ebay (3000 patterns) and this product has made it's use a breeze. I have been busy embroidering onesies for my neices that are expecting new arrivals, they came out great. I would highly reccomend the PED-Basic system to anyone that has/or is thinking of purchasing a Brother embroidery sewing machine. It's very easy to use and the investment was well worth the purchase price.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HueMore2
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WOW!!
3/17/2012

Customer review by ButterflysReflections

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by ButterflysReflections
by ButterflysReflections

I actually purchased this 2 years ago but just started using it a few weeks ago. I am so loving this piece and even though it was $30 more when I purchased it, it was worth every penny to me! So easy to use, never dreamed my weency machine could turn out such beautiful art!

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ButterflysReflections
Buena Park, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very helpful info....very!!
12/22/2007

Customer review by ibjerseydi

5.0 stars 12/22/2007 by ibjerseydi
by ibjerseydi

You are going to LOVE using your new designs. I had a small problem, come to find out it is a very common problem people have in the beginning. When you have downloaded designs and you have PED basic opened, be sure to choose the correct size hoop. I have a 5 x 7 hoop, I measured the space within the hoop. So I am thinking I have the medium hoop. No.....many hours later after reading others reveiws and helpful info like this. My hoop may be 5 x 7, but my design capability is only 4 x 4, which is the small size on your drop down menu. I hope I have saved you from the hours I took to figure this out.....!!! So stop reading, and go have fun!!!! And if you don't have it yet......GO GET IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (164) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ibjerseydi
Garden Grove, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Shop online for embroidery designs & save to card
12/17/2013

Customer review by Goofy70043

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Goofy70043
by Goofy70043
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

PED-Basic is a program you use with your embroidery machine. When I first received my PED-Basic, I was excited because I KNEW what the program was capable of. It took me a couple of days to figure out exactly how the program worked -- not because the instructions were hard, but because I was too busy with other Christmas projects to sit down for any length of time with the PED-Basic. Once everything clicked in my mind as to how it worked, I was as excited as a child on Christmas morning! Now I not only know what it is capable of doing; "I" have put it to use! Last weekend I went shopping online for all the designs I wanted to embroider on last minute Christmas projects. Love it, love it, love it! Couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goofy70043
Chalmette, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
10/23/2007

Customer review by sugarbear2

5.0 stars 10/23/2007 by sugarbear2
by sugarbear2

The PED-Basic is great with the Disney SE-270D Emroidery & Sewing Machine By Brother. You can load free pes files online and use then in the machine.I have made ballet slippers and baseball designs for 2 of my grandchildren and Disney characters for 3 other grandchildern.Then they helped me frame them,it was so much fun for all of us.

Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sugarbear2
Denham Springs,LA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
caution
12/5/2007

Customer review by undertheradar

3.0 stars 12/5/2007 by undertheradar
by undertheradar

If you have Vista as your operating system DO NOT instal from the cd go online and download the Vista drivers from the Brother website for this. I did not know this until I installed the drivers from the cd and then went on line for the Vista link for my computer. It gives you a warning (in red) that it will cause problems if you do use the cd. I had to do a restore on my computer to get rid of it and start over with the download from the website.

Was this review helpful? (80) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
undertheradar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SAVE YOUR MONEY
4/8/2016

Customer review by robert13601

1.0 stars 4/8/2016 by robert13601
by robert13601

SAVE YOUR MONEY USE YOUR USB CABLE INSTEAD NOT WORTH THE INVESTMENT

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robert13601
Would recommend to a friend? No
Brother
9/12/2016

Customer review by Vmetz

4.0 stars 9/12/2016 by Vmetz
by Vmetz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vmetz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BETTER VALUE THAN BROTHER MALL
5/27/2011

Customer review by SEWFOREVERGIRL

5.0 stars 5/27/2011 by SEWFOREVERGIRL
by SEWFOREVERGIRL

If you go to brother mall and try to get a spare 4MB card you'll pay $227.99. But at Walmart you get everything for $102.00. Seams like a no brainer plus you will have a backup card reader and software to boot. I love that walmart puts their old stuff on clearance. I purchase the old model SE-350 three monhts after the se-400 came out for $189.00. So now with the cost of the PED-BASIC being $102.00 I've paid only $291.00 for the same features as the new model I just have download to a card instead of a machine. WALMART YOU ROCK! I have been a Brother fan for Years. They make the best sewing machines out there and are so easy to use even for the beginner. Right now I own the SE-350, CS-6000i, and the CE-5000PRW (YUP MY OWN LITTLE SWEAT SHOP AT HOME) And I'm planning on getting rid of my Singer serger and getting the brother Model.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SEWFOREVERGIRL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Ped Basic
9/10/2007

Customer review by Penguin

5.0 stars 9/10/2007 by Penguin
by Penguin

I have had so much fun with my Embroidery Machine, and the Ped Basic has helped me to download a lot of patterns from the Internet. I would definitely reccomend this product to use with the Brother Embroidery Machine. From a very happy embroiderer.

Was this review helpful? (56) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Penguin
Brookfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Unnecessary Purchase
1/8/2011

Customer review by George206513

1.0 stars 1/8/2011 by George206513
by George206513

The embroidery machine I purchased had such better options than expected. I thought the memory card was important, but the machine itself acts as plug and play to your computer and thus eliminating the additional software or memory card. Unless you don't have a laptop to be mobile with the machine. Very pleasantly suprised :)

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
George206513
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the headache
3/13/2010

Customer review by Alabamamomof3

1.0 stars 3/13/2010 by Alabamamomof3
by Alabamamomof3

So I order the PED-Basic expecting easy set up and use. WRONG!!!!! I had to call brother not once but twice and still did not get the right info, glad I can work a computer. I had to figure out on my own to download the program by its self not both of them like i was told to do. Once I finally got my VISTA computer to see the ped basic, i could only get the free samples that came with it, I have yet to be able to transfer the other patterns i downloaded to my computer, so in short NOT WHAT I EXPECTED! would NOT reccomend to ANYONE, Waste OF $$$$$$$$$$$ o and if u have VISTA DO NOT INSTALL THE DISK!!! i know it says it on the box but incase u don't see the fine print. You will need to go to the brother website to get the link to download the proper program so VISTA will run with this dinosaur. Hope my review helps you!!! P.S. Walmart BRING BACK OUR FABRIC SECTION!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alabamamomof3
Beaumont,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
exactly what I expected
10/17/2007

Customer review by boiledpeanutlady

5.0 stars 10/17/2007 by boiledpeanutlady
by boiledpeanutlady

I have used ths once to downlosd alot of free designs. It held way more designs than I expected so I haven't needed to download a second time yet. It is extremly easy to use and I have had no problems as of yet. It doesn't have any editing functions though. I am still new to machine embroiding so I am not sure if any of these writer boxes edit or not. It would be nice if they did. This is a easy to use product for even the most illiterate computer user or novice machine embroiderer.Wal Mart has the best pricing for this item and the free shipping to the store made it even better. If your thinking about getting it...HURRY...it opens up so many design options.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boiledpeanutlady
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/9/2013

Customer review by Daisy111444

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by Daisy111444
by Daisy111444
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great answer for those of us who can't afford the pricey embroidery programs out there. Being able to download from the internet is great, many designs are free. This product does have an upgrade on Brother's website..... Easy to do. Also, the "Help" did not work, but that is not a Brother PED-Basic issue. Microsoft Windows no longer programs WinHlp32.exe into their OS (Operating System) which may cause "Help" not to be available for programs that have it. (Since Vista and beyond) To be able to access "Help" on programs that have it, including the PED-Basic, go to----- http://support.microsoft.com/kb/917607 -----and follow the instructions under 'Resolution'. It is easy fix. Happy embroidering! :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daisy111444
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product (once I figure it out)
12/2/2012

Customer review by DollRescuer

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by DollRescuer
by DollRescuer

After I figured out what I was doing wrong, I found I LOVE this product. I am using Windows 7 and could not use the HELP feature on this product, but fortunately I still have a computer with Windows XP and I was able to open the HELP feature to find out how to use this product. Once I got it figured out I went crazy saving all the free designs I can find. I learned how to sew on a Brother when I was 10 years old; later I went to the Singer products with my first embroidery machine; and now I am back to Brother with my third embroider machine (which does MORE than the Singer at 5% of the price...my first Singer embroidery machine cost $1000; second Singer embroidery machine cost $5000 and the Brother cost me $250) I have the SE-400 and love it. Brother just makes a good product that is affordable for the masses and I will continue to buy their products.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DollRescuer
Columbus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
HAVING A BLAST!!!
1/29/2010

Customer review by craftyteacher

5.0 stars 1/29/2010 by craftyteacher
by craftyteacher

Got this product to go with my brother se350 and I am having a blast! Have gotten LOTS of free designs and purchased some- completed all sorts of fun projects for bday gifts for friends and family. No one can believe I AM MONOGRAMMING AND APPLIQUEING ALL THIS FANCY PROFESSIONAL LOOKING STUFF MYSELF!!! I have even used it to get myself and family ready to show our support to New Orleans Saints in Superbowl with fluer de lis free downloads!!! I read reviews before I purchased and have been happy that I got what I expected and have used anbd enjoyed the product and features.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
craftyteacher
Jennings, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/17/2009

Customer review by MsAlaska

3.0 stars 1/17/2009 by MsAlaska
by MsAlaska

If you are thinking about this software save yourself some money and buy the advanced version. The basic doesn't give you many options.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsAlaska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
helpful embroidery product
2/15/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/15/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The PED basic is simple to use-easy to install to your computer. I downloaded free embroidery designs from the net-and had them ontot he card and into the machine and stitching within minutes! First you plug the USB connector into your computer,then add software install, and you are ready to go. very simple and very easy to use!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Riverview, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Limited
7/29/2009

Customer review by Wizbe

1.0 stars 7/29/2009 by Wizbe
by Wizbe

As suggested by another review, this item should be sold with the machine. It is VERY LIMITED and most will outgrow quickly. Wish I had purchsed the upgraded versions which will enable me to manipulate my designs. :(

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wizbe
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ped-Basic Card Writer/Reader
10/23/2008

Customer review by JPfeil

4.0 stars 10/23/2008 by JPfeil
by JPfeil

Works well, just wish the card capacity was larger than 1mb, and that cards were available from Walmart also. The device works fine, but if you are using Windows Vista, be sure to go to the Brother web site to download the Vista drivers and the PED-Basic program for Vista. The drivers and software that come with the device WILL NOT work in Vista. One other feature I don't like is that you can't amend the contents of the card. When you go to load designs, it automatically erases the contents on the card. I keep all the designs on a 2 gb memory stick, but it's still a hassle (IMHO) when you can't amend the contents of the card. Once loaded on the card, the sewing machine reads them just fine, so overall, I'd say I'm not disappointed with the device.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JPfeil
Middle Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews