Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 321 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

321 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

321 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
142
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
19
1 stars
58
1-20 of 236 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 236 total reviews
1-20 of 236 reviews
4 Happy Kids
10/8/2012

Customer review by FamilyManP

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by FamilyManP
by FamilyManP

I got one of these because of the profiles since I have 4 kids and I was unable to afford 4 tablets. The tablet is fast and very responsive. I was able to setup all 4 kids with diffrent settings such as web filters and time managment. It was great. I set the timer to 1 hour with a 4 hour break so they all got the same amount of time on it. No more fights.. Also I was able to block certain games from my 7 year old but allowed my 11 year old to be able to play them. The battery life is not great but most tablets that are used non stop are not great either. And the Kurio store does not have all apps but you can install the Amazon App Store and get the rest of the Apps you need. I have Netflix, Kindle, Amazon Store, and much more that I was able to get from the Amazon store. It would be nice if all of the apps were on the Kurio store.

Was this review helpful? (267) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FamilyManP
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great for kids, not just for games but for learnin
10/13/2012

Customer review by oombop

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by oombop
by oombop

We purchased this for our 9 yr old special needs son. We love the detailed parental controls, where we can control his access to every game, etc on it. It's easy to set up and quite easy for him to use. It allows him to do his homework online, which is why we purchased it, yet it still allows for fun as well. We recently purchased a different product and HATE it, and will return it for another Kurio!

Was this review helpful? (126) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oombop
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/7/2012

Customer review by crazygrannyof7

3.0 stars 10/7/2012 by crazygrannyof7
by crazygrannyof7

It is slow at turning on, it blinks alot the battery don't hold up long. Tried to get Netflix on it but it did not work, it downloaded and installed but then just blinked and would not come on. The Nabi that I bought for my grand-daughter is 100% better than this one. I can put Netflix on hers and she watches all of her movies and the speed is so much faster and has so much more. Yeah it is alittle bit more in money but well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (235) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazygrannyof7
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best tablet for kids
11/11/2012

Customer review by Puresuga

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by Puresuga
by Puresuga

I bought this tablet for my kids for Christmas 2012 but I found it to be interested so I give it to my kids (Ages 6 & 11) before then. My kids love it love it love. If your kids love to play with your phone then they will love this tablet. I have no complains and even have recommended it to my niece who bought one for each of her daughters (Ages 2 & 3). As a mother it keeps the kids busy and no fighting because each one have their own.

Was this review helpful? (142) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Puresuga
St Thomas, VI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for Kids
11/26/2012

Customer review by camtech81587

4.0 stars 11/26/2012 by camtech81587
by camtech81587

This tablet seems very well built and durable. Unfortunately, this tablet is not compatible with the Play Store; however, the Kurio Application allows you to download a 3rd Party App Store, which helps fill this flaw. The interface is very user friendly which is great for all kids and you have complete control over which apps your child has access to. I was a bit disappointed that this tablet is not compatible with the newest version of netflix; however, I found out that you can download Netflix 1.6.0 and it will work on the Kurio (I installed and it does work, later version will NOT work). Overall, I am very impressed with this tablet and it is a great tablet for kids. Games play smooth and the overall graphic quality is pretty good. I would definitely purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (41) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camtech81587
Greenwood, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/26/2012

Customer review by Dbrew71

2.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Dbrew71
by Dbrew71

This unit is very slow booting and I have had issues with it locking up. I bought 2 of these for my children. When skyping onboth units the speakers crackle and you can barely here the other party. I have had these for just over 2 weeks and the plastic screens covers on both units are cracked and damaged. These units do not hold up well to any abuse a young child may inflict on them. I contacted the manufacturer and they do not cover the screen covers under warranty nor will they sell you the replacment parts. I bought a Nabi 6 months ago for all my children to share and I have not yet had the first issue. O)ver all the units performe satisfactory but I am very disapointed in the manufactures lack of concern with the issues I've had. I definatley would never purchase another Kurio item again.

Was this review helpful? (41) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dbrew71
Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Should have read more reviews before buying.
10/31/2012

Customer review by Mcoder

1.0 stars 10/31/2012 by Mcoder
by Mcoder

I purchased this for my 7-year-old son after reading many reviews that were very positive. The Kurio would not connect to the internet, would not charge (short in the cord) and would just shut off in the middle of the game. All of this within the first 3 days of my son playing it. I returned it and replaced it with the Nabi which is $50 more but so worth it. We have had it for 3 weeks and have not had any problems with it. I would not reccomend this tablet for any age.

Was this review helpful? (43) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mcoder
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/16/2012

Customer review by mommy0822

1.0 stars 10/16/2012 by mommy0822
by mommy0822

This was bought for my 4 year old daughter as a gift she is wonderful at using computers and we have had this item less than 24 hours and they are already wanting to send a replacement cause the camera will not work all pictures look like a negative the touch screen doesnt work i had to put it on charge to get it to power on. I was atempting to use the key pad and as i was removing letters it was adding letters i wasnt even touching not a good buy will be purchasing the nabi 2

Was this review helpful? (53) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommy0822
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works OK, many free apps, I am yet to explore Amaz
10/26/2012

Customer review by Dankan

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Dankan
by Dankan

This is for my 3 year old. Works as expected, many free apps in Kurio Apps market, I am yet to explore Amazon Apps market. The blue rubber protector comes off for adult use, I don't bother taking it off when I am using it at home. I bought this after returning Ematic EGLXL102B 10 Touchscreen that I did not like.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dankan
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great idea for the kids!!!!
10/19/2012

Customer review by Kayla2012

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by Kayla2012
by Kayla2012

I am a mom of 3 and my kids just love this Kurio Tablet. I am so glad that i get my phone back and i dont have to hear them fight anymore. The Kurio has many features and so many games, videos, books to choose from really keeps them out of my hair for awhile. It is great for travels going to recommend to all my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kayla2012
Las Vegas, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/8/2012

Customer review by donesia

4.0 stars 11/8/2012 by donesia
by donesia

I bought this for my son's 9th birthday - he loves it. I only gave it 4 stars because the parental controls (filter) do not work when you child is on the internet. Inappropriate material already showed up when he was playing a math game. Otherwise a great tablet.

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
donesia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/9/2012

Customer review by BSS1231

1.0 stars 11/9/2012 by BSS1231
by BSS1231

I bought this for my 8 year old daughter,and I am not pleased. The WIFI doesnt work,the set up is awful. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BSS1231
GALLIPOLIS,OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Just what they say it is!!!
11/8/2012

Customer review by SRT4MOM

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by SRT4MOM
by SRT4MOM

I got this for my 7yr old i loved it so much im ordering one for my 3yr old.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SRT4MOM
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Took it back to the store for refund .....
11/1/2012

Customer review by sandt7274

1.0 stars 11/1/2012 by sandt7274
by sandt7274

Very slow , to difficult for children . I returned it to the store and bought a Nabi $50 more but well worth it .

Was this review helpful? (21) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sandt7274
Somerset < KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Needs a lot of work
10/26/2012

Customer review by RickyBeach

1.0 stars 10/26/2012 by RickyBeach
by RickyBeach

Simply put, I bought 3 for my grand kids. After charging them I tried for over an hour to get it to connect to my WiFi, it never would. So I skipped that(letting it try in the background), and tried for about 15 minutes to fill in the necessary info ie: serial number , and every time I pressed one letter on the keyboard 5-6 more popped up, not repeat letters but random letters. And when I tried to delete the errant letters 10-15 would streak across the screen. This went on for about 10-15 minutes and I finally got it in the correct way. But putting in the email address was an effort in futility. So I decided that I would not waste any more time and just take them back to Walmart. I then ordered 3 more of a different brand. We will see. I will say this though, when I bypassed all of the info stuff the thing played pretty well. But it did tend to skip or lag while playing Angry Birds.

Was this review helpful? (21) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RickyBeach
Burgaw,NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/6/2012

Customer review by GrammyDD

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by GrammyDD
by GrammyDD

Purchased this for my 6 yar old grandson. It is a great product and easy to use. Camera and video fun for kids. Great tool for learning and playing. Protective case is extremely good. 2 year old bounced it off the and no damage done. 2 year old even uses color book app included. I would definately suggest this product for anyone looking for a tablet for kids.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrammyDD
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy awesome price!!!
11/11/2012

Customer review by Alexandria7716

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by Alexandria7716
by Alexandria7716

I purchased two Kurio tablets for my 5 and 2 year old sons and they absolutely love it. I love the fact that it includes quite a few educational games and they think they are big boys because they have a tablet like mommy and daddy.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alexandria7716
Macon, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great value, great play
10/21/2012

Customer review by dj789

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by dj789
by dj789

this is a simple, easy to use product without the complexity of other kid tablets. perfect for my 6 and 7 year olds. love it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dj789
honolulu, hi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
horrible tech support
1/4/2013

Customer review by moon2906

1.0 stars 1/4/2013 by moon2906
by moon2906

I purchased the Kurio 7 for my 10yr old. I was impressed with the highlights and features that it offered. However, while trying to download updates, I noticed that my device would start the download process and stop before completion. Although. my internet connection was excellent, the Wi-Fi connection on the Kurio kept disconnecting. Therefore, I tried contacting technical support for help . It was a horrible experience. I attempted several times to get online support via live chat but found that no one would come to my assistance. I tried via email with no success. It was not until I threatened to return the product that I received a response. After half a day emailing back and forth, the technician could not help me. I felt like I was communicating with a robot because no matter how thorough I explained the problem, the tech kept telling me to do the same thing. And despite the fact that their solution was not working, they kept telling me to repeat it. I decided after 6 hours to just stop the emails and return the product. When I spoke to the customer service rep at Walmart, she told me that the Kurio7 was one of the most returned product. Enough said

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moon2906
Lauderdale Lakes
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NOT USER FRIENDLY
1/6/2013

Customer review by CKKMomma

2.0 stars 1/6/2013 by CKKMomma
by CKKMomma

As far as just playing the games that are pre-loaded, my 7 year old loved it. Accessing the internet was almost impossible and once we did, trying to download anything locked the tablet up. Forget trying to download additional apps from the Kurio Store or anywhere else. That locked up too. We attempted to contact their support team, which has no phone number. We sent a request through their support website and have yet to get a reply. My husband is returning it as we speak and looking into an alternate item as my daughter is heartbroken it doesn't work as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CKKMomma
RIchmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 236 total reviews
1-20 of 236 reviews