Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 91 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

91 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

91 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
69
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 77 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
I LOVE this T.V.!
1/14/2013

Customer review by Freddy70

5.0 stars 1/14/2013 by Freddy70
by Freddy70

Last year when I was visiting my parents they had just purchased an LG TV. I was amazed at the picture quality and so when I started my search for a new TV I knew where to begin. I wanted a smart TV but I also wanted a 3D TV. Since I don't have the budget for both features I decided to get the 3D TV and hook up a wifi blueray player. That was an excellent decision. I absolutely love the picture quality of this TV. The 2D to 3D conversion works like magic. I thought I would have to purchase 3D movies to use the 3D feature. I never thought it would be so easy to make virtually any program 3D. The sound bar took some getting used to because I have a 5.1 suround home theater system. I have found that for just basic TV watching the soundbar does an excellent job and is way better than any regular built in television speaker anyway. Overall I am extremely pleased with my purchase and would recommend this one to anyone looking for an excellent 3D TV for the price.

Freddy70
Reno, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This tv is great but...
12/4/2012

Customer review by Chris

4.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Chris
by Chris

The 47LM4700 was a great buy. However, I have two major gripes with it.. For starters, they advertise the 47lm4700 having TruMotion. Yet for this specific model, the TruMotion is "always turned on" while being set to the lowest setting without being able to turn it off or make it higher. I really wanted the anti-judder feature to be as high as possible (I really want that soap opera effect). Regardless the picture quality is great. If your getting the bundle pack, the sound bar doesn't come with a sub woofer. So it is somewhat thin sounding and is lacking a bit. Other than that, it's a great television set with great picture quality. Really hoping they add a firmware update so you have the option to turn up or down the TruMotion! Judging by various forums, many other LG customers who bought this tv do too!

Chris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Needs service already
1/12/2013

Customer review by speek

4.0 stars 1/12/2013 by speek
by speek

Bought this item as gift for husband. It was delivered 11/26/12. On 1/5/13 it began acting up with picture going off and on and 3D coming up repeatedly though it was not selected. Upon trying to get service, was put through 4 persons and having to tell each the problem. Each spoke english poorly and hard to get problem across to them. Each after long periods of time said it sounded like circuit board. Finally scheduled an appointment for a tech to come out LG representative cautioned I must show purchase receipt to technician to have service. This is strange considering I registered it online when the item was received. This model came with a soundbar. Unfortunately the Soundbar and the TV speakers do not work together. You have to choose one or the other.

speek
Orange City FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
I love, love, love this product!
3/8/2013

Customer review by ghoststorm65

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by ghoststorm65
by ghoststorm65

I had been looking at this TV for 6 months, every time I went to the store (Sam's) for something really anything, I would go to the TV section just to look at it. I could not believe the price of the 3-D TV plus a sound bar! I was a little upset that I could not afford it then... However I kept going to look at it. One day I went in and it was gone, off the shelf, none in a box, only the display. I thought well there goes that...as I continued shopping I found one off to the side still in the box and unopened! After finding out it was the last one I bought it. Best decision I made in a long time! Right out of the box set-up was a breeze, first thing I watched was of course a 3-D movie and it was AWESOME! Great sound with the sound bar also!

ghoststorm65
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy with my purchase
1/3/2013

Customer review by NickyAMar

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by NickyAMar
by NickyAMar

I searched and searched every store and ad online on black Friday before I decided to go with Sams to buy this TV; they had the best deal. This same TV was at least $300 more in Best Buy, HH Gregg and Walmart (just to name a few) without the soundbar included. The soundbar itself is hundreds of dollars so this is a great deal to get it included and it's cheaper than just the TV at other stores. In terms of value I am VERY pleased. The picture is great quality but the sound bar is not what I expected so i'm glad that it was included and I didn't buy it separately. If you truly want a surround sound feel, buy a separate surround sound system to accompany this TV. I was concerned about purchasing online and having it delivered because I was afraid of defects due to the carriers throwing it around. That was not the case, the TV is perfectly fine. Beware that it is delivered by Fed Ex so if you are not home they may leave it on your front porch! Even in the nicest neighborhoods, we don't want to alert the public that we just bought a brand new 47' TV. My carrier was nice enough to leave it with my neighbor, whom I trust, but if I lived in a sketchy neighborhood that may not be the best plan so just be mindful of that. Other than that we are pleased with this purchase.

NickyAMar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great TV for the price!!
1/26/2013

Customer review by Zeke

5.0 stars 1/26/2013 by Zeke
by Zeke

We just set it up on Christmas and so far I'm very pleased. Initially, we purchased a BluRay player and before using a friend recommended we return it and get a 3D player with WiFi as this basically replaces the need for a Smart TV and is much cheaper. Now we can use the 2D to 3D feature and also view 3D DVDs through the player. I might need to contact LG support to figure out why it's recommended to use either the TV speakers or the sound bar ones, but not both. When I use the soundbar speakers my TV remote won't adjust the volume. I'm probably doing something wrong, hopefully, as I don't want the hassle of using two remotes.

Zeke
Sunny Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent TV
11/25/2012

Customer review by KevinfromMontoursville

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by KevinfromMontoursville
by KevinfromMontoursville

I recently purchased this TV from Sams Club due to it being on a Thanksgiving Sales and boy and I happy I purchased it. Excellent TV. Excellent quality and Excellent Sound. For what I paid for this TV I got as much quality as a 1500.00 dollar TV. The 3D is even better than in the movie theater. You just have to make sure you get a quality 3D CD player and quality cable to hook up to the TV. When its all set up, you won't believe the quality this TV offers. And the sound bar that comes with it makes you feel like your sitting right in a movie theater. Highly recommend this TV to anyone looking to upgrade to 3D movie experience.

KevinfromMontoursville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Surprise
12/10/2012

Customer review by coldrh

2.0 stars 12/10/2012 by coldrh
by coldrh

After years of enjoying LG products I thought that I would try their 3D TV. Surprise! It is a large paper weight! I found the picture to be average at best for an LED TV. It lacks ports,connections,etc but it has enough to function. The real shock came when I went to the 3D mode. Chaos would best describe my TV. It never made it to the 3D mode and now I watch only the station it chooses as well as the occasional 3D set up instructions (which don't work) Sadly It got outside the warentee before I could set it up so I am stuck. Yes I will get another large TV with either Phillips or Samsung on the front

coldrh
League City,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Only had it a few days
11/28/2012

Customer review by lost

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by lost
by lost

I've only had this set for 2 days but I am blown away by it so far. I am coming from a 6 year old rear projection LCD just so you know. The crispness and brightness of the LED backlighting on this is tremendous. The 3D is exceptional. I like the Smart Picture setup and the colors are very vibrant. This thing is super thin but the backing is metal and feels very sturdy. It has a matte finish to help reduce glare. I have not connected it to my network yet but I understand that it isn't a smart tv but it will be fun to play with the DLNA sharing. So far I think I got a good deal.

lost
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
False advertisement
2/13/2013

Customer review by Chris

4.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Chris
by Chris

This product claims to have trumotion plus, which it does. However, they claim it is constantly running. You have no option to make the trumotion go higher so you do not get the full effect. Other than that it's a great tv. I highly doubt this review is going to get posted because all of the reviews have 5 stars and is probably read beforehand by lg reps then filtered based on a 5 star rating. I hope someone from lg reads this before he decides to not post this and maybe can be useful and refer the idea of updating the firmware to someone who can do it.

Chris
56ACE
Would recommend to a friend? No
A great (and zero regrets!) Black Friday purchase
1/3/2013

Customer review by GumGuy

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by GumGuy
by GumGuy

We ended up buying this new TV on Black Friday (and thanks to the website, since we didn't have an easy way to transport it). It was wonderful to have it shipped directly to our home, and even more amazing to begin to use it. It's amazing and vibrant (the colors, the picture, the 3D and on an on!), and the Sound Bar adds a wonderful dimension to everything from DirecTV to Blu Ray DVDs (there are also speakers in the television itself). It's such a huge and satisfying difference from our previous flatscreen. Incidentally, delivery was also amazingly fast.

GumGuy
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
An excellent purchase - good customer service!!
1/27/2013

Customer review by Judie

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by Judie
by Judie

This was my first flat screen purchase. As you know, there are hundreds to choose from. I was fortunate to buy a floor model, so got it at an even more excellent price, but that was not what made my decision to buy it. I love the Smart features - being able to interact with the internet - and the amazing quality of the picture! Of course, the main objective in purchasing a TV is to watch the programs - the HD picture is fabulous!! And the remote makes communicating with the features a breeze!!

Judie
Nipomo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing 3D Picture
12/27/2012

Customer review by mvblackd

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by mvblackd
by mvblackd

My decision to purchase this TV was primarily based on the 3D image quality, and after using this product for a few months, I have not been let down! I am yet to see a 3D picture rival this TV's production, and not requiring battery operated glasses is a big plus! The sound bar included truly fills my entire living room with sound, helping enhance the viewer experience. Very easy to use, especially with other LG products (i.e. BluRay Player), and out performs any competitor in my opinion.

mvblackd
McKinney, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK for some People
1/26/2013

Customer review by Hampster

3.0 stars 1/26/2013 by Hampster
by Hampster

I have an eye that doesn't work with the 3D application with LG. I saw two objects and eventually I felt like I was cross eyed and needed a asprin. I called technical support and they said 4% of the public won't be able to see the 3D perfectly. I had friends experience the same distortion that I did and without being able to use the 3D I returned it and got a 2D Smart TV and I'm happy with that. The LG's picture in 2D was good with the TV but I couldn't use the 3D at all and exchanged it.

Hampster
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
This is the best tv I've owned
2/12/2013

Customer review by Jaybomber

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by Jaybomber
by Jaybomber

This tv is very nice tv with great color and great 3d. It's not a smart tv but in these days of iPads who needs one. Only a couple of small issues I have sometimes the power saving feature switches automatically to off and I can't seem to synch the sound bar to the tv. Both are small issues overall I give this tv 4.75stars out of 5 a real great deal. The 3d seems to be as good as the theaters in my opinion . Highly recommend to buy!!!

Jaybomber
Ferndale, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best 3D I've seen
12/29/2012

Customer review by Henryljje

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Henryljje
by Henryljje

Had this TV for a month now and I'm very satisfied of the picture quality. The 3D effects are stunning not to mention the glasses are very light and no need for those expensive ones that uses batteries.The price for this TV is great and it comes with a free soundbar. The sound from the TV is ok but can be a little better. The settings can also use a little more add ons, but over all this TV is great and can't go wrong with the price.

Henryljje
Jersey City, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
PLUG IN AND WATCH, HASSLE FREE!
2/7/2013

Customer review by Bobby72

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by Bobby72
by Bobby72

Being retired, i could not afford much more than what i paid for this one. I had talked to a repaIrman about his choice in TV's on the market and he recommended LG. He did not miss the mark! Brought it home, plugged it in and the picture was PERFECT from the gitgo. No adjusting needed whatsoever. You just cannot beat that in this day of complicated electronics. Trouble and hassle free in every respect. Good on ya LG!

Bobby72
Savannah, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
We start every day with this TV!
6/5/2013

Customer review by Optimism

5.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Optimism
by Optimism

Every time the grandchildren came by in the past they would ask us if our old 30" TV was the biggest TV we had, and until March of this year we had to say yes! But now with our new LG 47"TV we start and end each day with the pleasant view of the new screen. The sound bar also gave the added feature that we needed. We've watched DVD's and 3D movies with no problems. I would definitely recommend this LG TV to others!

Optimism
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply Amazing!!!
5/27/2013

Customer review by mprunty

5.0 stars 5/27/2013 by mprunty
by mprunty

Simply Amazing sums up this product. LG has went far beyond anything I have ever experienced in a television. The quality of the build, the customization options built into the television simply blue my mind. I also love that it was bundled with a Soundbar, which was perfect for me as I was looking for something to replace my aging sound system and leave my entertainment center looking sleek and sexy.

mprunty
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product is easy to use and has good features.
2/27/2013

Customer review by Elaine32

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by Elaine32
by Elaine32

I have really enjoyed this TV so far. This is my first HD TV, the picture and color is great. It makes watching movies a whole new experience. The style of this TV works well even in my old farm house. It fits right in with my unique home design. I have only had this product since the beginning of December, but so far I am very happy with the quality of it.

Elaine32
Syracuse, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews