Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 732 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

732 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

732 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
556
4 stars
133
3 stars
18
2 stars
8
1 stars
17
1-20 of 563 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 563 total reviews
1-20 of 563 reviews
Great picture, Great 3-D
3/21/2013

Customer review by SP

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by SP
by SP

This is a great TV, great picture and great 3d viewing experience. The sound quality is much better than other TVs and it comes with more options. Easy to set up, DLNA network makes it easier to connect with laptop via wifi. Remote is very elegant. It has many picture mode so you can select the best mode. Zoom option enables the various aspect ratios. LG's Intelligent Sensor technology automatically optimizes the color, contrast, brightness, sharpness, according to your environment. Picture can be watched crystal-clear in day light. 2D-3D is the best; Even you can adjust the viewing distance. Nearly cinema 3-D experience. I have watched many movies on Netflix via 2d-3D conversion and works great. I find the glasses very comfortable. I have not tried on 3-D blue-ray player but I expect It would deliver better. It doesn't have the "Smart" features, but I already use it with smart blu-ray player. I appreciate, if LG creates Android remote to control the tv. I would recommend this TV to anyone.

SP
Greater New York, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value and great quality TV
2/5/2013

Customer review by marklar86

5.0 stars 2/5/2013 by marklar86
by marklar86

What initially attracted me to this LED TV was the price and specifications. For an LED 47" 120HZ ultra-thin TV, the price was unbeatable. This is a great TV and the picture looks incredible. It is light and fits nicely on a wall or wide stand. The color and picture is top of the line and. I have it plugged into a surround sound so I can't comment on the sound. One small issue was the picture would go dark in dark rooms but I found that if you turn off the "energy saver" feature this is not a problem (not that I am against saving energy, but it was too dark to see). My only other complaint is that there are not many inputs. It only has two HDMI and one component/composite. I would like to have seen one more of each of those at least and maybe a video out, PC in, and S-Video would be nice. It does have an optical audio out which is great for the surround sounds. Overall I would highly recommend this TV but you may need to purchase a splitter to hook up all your devices.

marklar86
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointing
12/9/2012

Customer review by JAC

2.0 stars 12/9/2012 by JAC
by JAC

I purchased this TV a day ago, what immediately caught my eye was the LED 1080p with 120hz then I noticed it had a 3D feature, I thought "Great!" and the price was decent. Now the 3D feature was nice but what I mainly purchased the set for was the video quality and frame speed. I set the TV up and went to town on the settings, much to my dismay there is no TruMotion in this TV despite the claims of the packaging. The 1080p is indeed stunning but the frame speed is the same as my tube TV from the 90's. I searched the web and it seems this is a problem with most of these models. Perhaps a firmware update will allow the TruMotion to be turned on/off but until then DO NOT expect to even have an option in the settings. Overall the price I paid was too much for a 1080p with only 60hz, the 2D to 3D is a joke so unless you plan on purchasing 3D DVD movies don't allow the "3D" feature to entice you.

JAC
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great 3D TV!
2/20/2013

Customer review by jrlee

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by jrlee
by jrlee

I really like this TV. We did rent a 3D Blu-ray so we could check out the 3D features. Nice feature, the 3D looked good. The TV goes well with the LG Blu-ray Home Theater that I bought a few months previously. I would highly recommend this TV. The only issue I have had is with the SIMPLINK feature. I have never liked this on any TV that I have had that had the feature. I do not want my TV automatically switching inputs just because I turned on my Home Theater. I like to watch sports sometimes and turn the sound off and listen to music. It makes that real difficult when the TV keeps switching inputs. Easy to fix, just disabled SIMPLINK in the options on the TV. Works great now! No automatically switching inputs on me. I guess somebody must like that feature. I know how to switch inputs on the TV when I want to change inputs. Still a fantastic TV, that has no bearing on the TV itself.

jrlee
McKinney, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Killer 3D TV
2/11/2013

Customer review by Awesomeness

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by Awesomeness
by Awesomeness

I didn't need a Smart TV because I have a play station 3 so the hunt began for a non smart TV. I never owned or knew anybody that had a LG TV so I was a little nervous going with a brand I knew little about I am so happy I went with this TV the picture is just amazing and how thin it is holy cow I mean really how did you fit so awesomeness into such a thin TV! There is a few little cons I have about the TV but nothing that would not make me suggest this TV to someone else When a component is turned on the TV doesn't recognize it so I have to turn it off then back for the TV to see it The TV doesn't automatically fix split screen when starting a 3D movie I don't know if is the cables and/or the TV but I will get static and picture cut out when watching a movie Turn the TV on a and off fixes that Overall a dam good TV Get this but a wireless blu ray player and you have a smart TV!

Awesomeness
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I am very impressed
5/1/2015

Customer review by Dwight

5.0 stars 5/1/2015 by Dwight
by Dwight

I am very impressed with this tv. The TV itself is very sleek and modern looking.Its one of thinnest LED's I have seen and would be great for mounting on the wall.The thin black border is very nice and actually makes the screen look even bigger!! The stand is also very modern looking and all the trim is a nice glossy black finish. The picture quality is amazing as well.I went from a 47" projection screen to this LG and its a world of difference!!..The colors are very vibrant and the black is dense.The adjustments and settings are very easy to use and can make a world of difference!!..Especially if you find the codes for THX settings!! The sound is ok,for this one.I would say its the only thing that could use use some improvement. Overall this TV is the best bang for the buck!!..I have owned a few LCD/LED tv's and so far, this is one of the best by far!!

Dwight
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
STRIPPED DOWN VERSION - Therefore POOR Value
1/15/2013

Customer review by TechGuy27

1.0 stars 1/15/2013 by TechGuy27
by TechGuy27

Stripped down so badly this thing is almost naked. Don't be fooled by ads for similar LG TV's. This has such tinny sound that you will be forced to buy an add-on sound bar in due time. Also, it SEEMS like this will connect to the internet since it is set up to receive a cat 5 cable. However, once you hook it up to the internet, it will ONLY search for firmware updates. SO WHAT! It connects to the internet, but does nothing you normally want internet access for. You will then invest in an Apple TV or similar. Once you get done buying all of the add-ons, you will have spent more than you would have if you had just purchased the more expensive units in the first place. This is sold as a wannabe TV. It just never makes it. One good point: it has a nice picture. But in this age, you will want to get the real deal. Steer clear of this one.

TechGuy27
Orlando, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great TV
12/18/2012

Customer review by Jeff123

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Jeff123
by Jeff123

I had an old CRT TV that finally died. So I was looking for a new TV and did all kind for research on HDTVs. I knew I wanted an LED or Plasma and it had to be 1080P. In my research, I found the faster the TV the better the TV would be in fast action games. In all the reviews I found for LED TVs that a 120 HZ TV or higher should be want one should be looking for. I knew I wanted a 42 inch or better. After looking at all the TVs at stores and at the Black Friday ads I found this TV and it met all my requirements I wanted in a TV except it was not a Smart TV and did not have the Netflix and Hulu plus apps. But for the price I got it for I could live without the Netflix and it was cheaper than 40 inch TVs. The picture is fantastic. I could not believe the difference in the picture quality. I would highly recommend this TV.

Jeff123
Waukegan, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product for the price
12/25/2012

Customer review by Gumsah

4.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Gumsah
by Gumsah

Overall, a great value for the features - 3D, 1080 p, etc. The TV audio return and built in TV tuner is a major plus. Picture quality is quite amazing, and clear. Edge Lit LED does its job to enhance the blacks to the extent it can, but the whites are bright and vibrant. Slim panel and sturdy design. Now the downsides: 1. Tru Motion cannot be disabled (assuming its enabled, we would never know) 2. In reality its a 60 hz panel, with a tech gimmickery to make it 'trumotion' 120 hz...but its really not. There is enough research from 'hdguru' sites on this, and LG has accepted that position. 3. Passive 3D saves on glass costs, but its average with image issues, vs. an active 3D...I have both and the latter is far superior viewing experience. That said, a pretty decent TV, and I am keeping it.

Gumsah
Kentucky, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful World of HD is in my home!
1/27/2013

Customer review by Won't Stop watching

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by Won't Stop watching
by Won't Stop watching

Finally took the plunge to purchase a higher end television than the 20+ year old CRT. Did lots of research, both online and through a Consumer Reports subscription. Narrowed it down to 3 TVs, and then went looking around Black Friday 2012. After comparing features and prices, the LG, with its 3D feature won us over. The LG reputation is clearly a bonus, but the extra thoughtful additions to the TV as far as connections, ease of set up, and the picture quality made it a no-brainer. The 3D is really a underutilized feature so far, but we keep building up a collection of downloaded movies and BlueRay discs to make it a worthy purchase. Best television I've owned so far! I would definitely buy another one, (EVEN BIGGER!) and would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Won't Stop watching
Westminster, CO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV
3/18/2013

Customer review by Jalv

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by Jalv
by Jalv

My husband and I purchased the tv in January for our living room. We both love the tv. Great picture, easy to set up. The picture is much better and brighter than the old lcd 32" we were using. I have tried the 2D to 3D conversion and it makes the picture look much sharper and clearer. But, it it not real 3D like you expect in the theater. This does not bother me though because it is just what I was expecting, after all it it just a conversion not read 3D. I have not yet purchased a 3D blu ray player so I can not say what the 3D looks like on it. Overall I would recommend the tv. It was definitely a great buy. I shopped around in stores and online and read multiple reviews before deciding on this tv over the others I was considering. I am very happy with my choice.

Jalv
Morrilton, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Picture and Value anywhere
3/5/2013

Customer review by Tom

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by Tom
by Tom

Our 47LM4600 is everything it promised to be and more. I was concerned about setup and read about expensive and time consuming manual setup procedures to get a great picture. We took it out of the box, followed the simple instructions, we found a magnificent picture and no fussing with levels, brightness, hues, etc. I was watching TV in 15 minutes. Great picture and the 3D truly is amazing. We replaced our Mitsubishi rear projection and found there was not comparison in picture quality - LG the hands down winner. I will be buying another LG for our basement. One note - I was using RCA type connectors out of my cable box and found the volume levels to be quite low. By switching to an HDMI cable the issue was resolved and now we clear audio to match our picture.

Tom
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect size & great picture for the price
5/3/2013

Customer review by Bubbly

5.0 stars 5/3/2013 by Bubbly
by Bubbly

We originally bought a 32 in for our patio room but it was too small. After searching online and checking out reviews I found this 47in online. I was worried at first it might be too big, but it was perfect. The picture quality is great. The only con for me was the owner's manual, I am by no means an electronic genius, so I would prefer that the setup section be a little more specific and explain what certain features are. Example, some of my stations were coming in Spanish and some had no sound at all. After troubleshooting online I found that I had set up the SAP. I did not know what this meant, I thought it was some sort of surround sound setting. After turning it off all was well again.

Bubbly
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice TV for the price
1/10/2013

Customer review by Mickeydalons

4.0 stars 1/10/2013 by Mickeydalons
by Mickeydalons

Pretty good picture, and decent sound for a thin panel. That said; dark scenes lack contrast and give the impression of an 80% black screen. This is my first flat screen, so I don't know if that's normal for all of them. The automatic volume feature does not work and the sound will go from normal to very high or very low on its own, even after the FCC regulated volume levels for commercials. The "TV" button on the remote should be programed as a toggle, enabling you to switch between inputs by repeated pushes, instead of having to push "input" button then quickly pressing the arrow key to select your choice before the option leaves the screen. Perhaps a software upgrade would correct this.

Mickeydalons
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
what are you waiting for?
11/4/2012

Customer review by Go Rebs!

5.0 stars 11/4/2012 by Go Rebs!
by Go Rebs!

We had been looking to upgade to a wide-screen TV for awhile. Been to all the major outlets, and just never seemed to find the right one. Well today, I'm happy to say, all that changed! Due to the fact that this TV also has front adjustment settings and the user friendly onscreen display , I was able to adjust the picture quality even without the remote. In just a few minutes, the picture quality was as good as some in the store costing twice as much. Needless to say, we found the one we've been searching for. Good things come to those that wait.. Thanks LG! Great picture quality, easy to set-up, love the swivel stand (another plus in our book).

Go Rebs!
Mississippi, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It is the Best TV I've everr owned !!!!!!!!
3/5/2013

Customer review by itcaveman

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by itcaveman
by itcaveman

"I love this TV" February 3, 2013 Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, 3d rocks I started not to by a 3D set but the price could not be beat! Now I am happy to say that I'm glad I did. I love this TV. The 3D is very good, the up converts from 2d to 3d aren't bad either. It was easy to set up and I watch the 3D version of Avatar I was almost as goo as the theater version. The only negative is the sound #not bad but you expect theater sound# but a set like this needs a sound system or bar to go with it anyway. All in all I'm 99.99 percent happy with this set.

itcaveman
Mississippi, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
47 LM4600
1/7/2013

Customer review by MikeyM87

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by MikeyM87
by MikeyM87

This 3D TV is amazing!!! This TV is a steal and has really turned me into a true LG fan. This product shows the type of direction that this company is heading in and they're a force to be reckoned with. It's for sure the best TV out there for the price. I bought several 3D televisions and returned them before I purchased this one and I gotta say the picture is super clear and crisp and the 3D technology has come a long way because 3D blu rays on this television are just stunning! I definitely recommend this tv to anyone out there trying to save a buck and get A+ quality at the same time!!!

MikeyM87
West Covina, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LG should stand for Le Grande....
2/11/2013

Customer review by prtennis13

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by prtennis13
by prtennis13

We're very happy with our newest purchase. After having bought and being satisfied with its 42" cousin for a couple of years, we decided to upgrade to what is the 3D version and larger screen in anticipation of this newer technology. We have not tried the upscaling or watching 3D content as of yet, but look forward to being immersed in a flawless 3D escape. Left out 1 star for not having the SMARTtv our 42" had although there was that option at a greater price but too great for the feature offered. Overall we couldn't be happier and would recommend to anyone who asks.

prtennis13
East Brunswick, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful product for the money
10/11/2012

Customer review by ronbug4444

4.0 stars 10/11/2012 by ronbug4444
by ronbug4444

The tv has exceeded my expectations. I was nervous about buying an edge-lit led, but in my opinion, it was a great choice. I read that the blacks were not that great, but this model offers so many custom settings that you can make it look terrific. The only drawback that I can see is that there are no options to let you customize the truemotion. That makes me wonder if it is even on this tv, as is advertised. Also, I was under the impression that all HDTVs upconverted SD content. This model does not, and I read that the next model up does. (5700 model)

ronbug4444
Sumter, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm in <3 with my LG LED TV
12/17/2012

Customer review by Nico

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by Nico
by Nico

I have been looking and looking, searching and searching for the perfect LED Flat screen Tv and I finally found it! :) woot! wooot! I had specific features in mind and certain specs and this TV had what I wanted. First of all the picture is GREAT! I fell in love at how crisp, vibrant and rich with color the TV was projecting. honestly its soo pretty. Secondly it is 1080p/1080i and was 120hz which was what I was looking for :) (I have the new "Wii U" and the games look AWESOME. The Sound is AWESOME as well which actually suprised me. I had been reading about some flat screens having a vibrating sound coming from the speakers and that volume/sound quality isn't that great... this TV doesn't do that. The sound is really warm and with the STEREO setting it becomes just that :) Not to mention the settings you can choose just on sound itself. As well as customizing the picture how ever you'd like. The price was perfect and didn't leave me feeling like I bought something that wasn't worth it. As i had mentioned earlier I bought the Wii U which has "Netflix, HuluPlus, Internet, Amazon etc.#all the stuff that you'd find in the "smart tv's# And I chose this tv because it wasn't a "smart tv". Seeing the Wii U game console provided me with all those awesome add ons. Honestly it is a great product. Its sleek, easy to use and the quality of the picture is AMAZING, you'll love it. I enjoy mine everyday and am so proud of it. Thanks LG! -Nico

Nico
San Diego, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 563 total reviews
1-20 of 563 reviews