Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 449 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

449 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

449 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
321
4 stars
103
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
11
1-20 of 313 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 313 total reviews
1-20 of 313 reviews
50/50 on New in Box
4/19/2013

Customer review by tbenefie

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by tbenefie
by tbenefie

We got this model at local WalMart store and loved it so much that we wanted another one, but had to order it from WalMart.com because it was no longer carried in local store. The 2nd one arrived via FedEx, screen was cracked from a dropped box, ordered another one, and now having to take this damaged one to local WalMart store for refund.....what a bummer! We still love the quality of this TV and would get a 3rd one for the house if we needed it. 5 Stars for first one, 2 Stars for 2nd one; lets wait and see what the 3rd one (replacement) rates out at.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tbenefie
Tifton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dont 'Buy
2/18/2013

Customer review by RAC20

1.0 stars 2/18/2013 by RAC20
by RAC20
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this TV and spent the next day and a half trying to get the picture to look somewhat decent. I called Direct TV to make sure it wasn't my service, I called LG three different times to complain and see if there was a solution. I also went back to Walmart three more times to buy different HDMI cables to try those but nothing worked. The picture was very grainy and pixel-ed. I also tried my Blue Ray player which also looked like trash. The picture was worse than the TV I was replacing which was a five year old Samsung 720 plasma. The picture was not much better than a tube TV. Horrible experience. I had to take it back off the wall pack it up and bring it back. Walmart was great and had no problem taking the TV back but what a nightmare! I bought a Samsung instead, it was $90 more and well worth it. The TV has an absolutely beautiful picture and Blue-rays look like your on the set! Get the Samsung 55" LED UN55EN6000 and stay away from the LG. Don't be duped by the low price for a 55"!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RAC20
Haverhill, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value less a few features
12/7/2012

Customer review by Walmartin2940

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Walmartin2940
by Walmartin2940
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The picture quality is satisfactory but not exceptional. Energy saver mode is distracting at best as it changes brightness settings if turned on based on room conditions. Turn this off and set an expert mode setting with your preferences. I found the preset modes Cinema, sports, etc. a little lacking in black level or contrast. Cinema mode is close but color saturation and contrast a little lacking but may work for most people. Sports mode has to much contrast and loses detail in my opinion. The limited two hdmi inputs is a limitation but if connected through a A/V receiver it is a non-issue. Sound quality is adequate for most situations. Cinema mode enhances sound quality to better than standard quality. This set does not have smart TV options but this can easily be overcome by connecting a smart wireless blu-ray player, for around $100. Overall I am very satisfied with the value when comparing size and image quality.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walmartin2940
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV for the price.
12/20/2012

Customer review by Dunbeezy

4.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Dunbeezy
by Dunbeezy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I looked at many different TV's. This one stood out for the picture quality compared to all the other tv's in the price range. There are a few things that I noticed with this tv. One was fact that the speakers on this tv aren't very good. I knew this before purchasing due to all of the reviews already stating this. The other was that it only has two HDMI's which I also knew before I made the purchase. Although I would prefer more it would work for what I needed. The only thing I hadn't realized was the location of RCA, Optical, and HDMI plugs. They all are directly on the back and point straight out. I hadn't thought of this until I went to mount the TV on my wall and had problems with the cords fitting. I had to buy 90 degree adapters and cables for everything to fit comfortably. Other than that I absolutely love this TV it doesn't have 3D or smart TV capabilities but I wasn't interested in these things. It has a great picture and looks great mounted on the wall with the low profile wall mount I also purchased from walmart.com

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dunbeezy
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Screen size great
1/27/2016

Customer review by mumieof2

2.0 stars 1/27/2016 by mumieof2
by mumieof2
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Picture quality is not that great. Expected more from this LG product.

mumieof2
Decatur, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Good TV
11/22/2012

Customer review by Steveotta

4.0 stars 11/22/2012 by Steveotta
by Steveotta

Pretty good TV, very thin and looks great on the wall with a thin mount. Picture is very good. Had an issue with the HDMI connection, but after doing research it appears that some Scientific atlanta cable boxes are having HDMI problems which cause the screen to shake. Its a known problem called a HDMI hand shake. Its not the TV , its the cable box. I switched the box and my HDMI works great now. The cable connection wires also worked great in place of the HDMI cable. All in all a nice TV, very thin and a good deal for the price, sure theres better out there but you will pay $ 1500 or more. For the money this is a great 55" TV.

Was this review helpful? (147) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steveotta
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I bought this tv when it first came out (for 1299)
11/23/2012

Customer review by scottinsd

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by scottinsd
by scottinsd

Love this tv - and it's a steal for under a thousand bucks too. I just set mine up on an entertainment center (about 2 feet off the floor), and this tv swivels on the stand that it comes with - which is really nice when you're on the computer but you want to see the tv screen too. The sound system is a LOT better than the other tvs I looked at. This is a great unit, and the price is right too.....would HIGHLY recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (108) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scottinsd
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value for a high quality 55 inch LED
9/22/2013

Customer review by RJAD

5.0 stars 9/22/2013 by RJAD
by RJAD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this 55 inch edge lit LED TV while on clearance. Incredible value for a 55 inch TV. The picture is fantastic. I will admit that I don't use the internal speakers as I have a 5.1 surround system, so it is hard for me to really rate the sound system on this TV as I don't use it. Also, some might think that 2 HDMI inputs is too few, but this also is not a problem for me as everything is plugged into my receiver and I use one HDMI input on the television. I was looking for a 55 inch LED without 3D and all the bells and whistles of wifi enabled apps on the TV. For one, I don't care to have a 3D TV, nor do I need all the wifi apps like Hulu and Netflix built in as I have them on my Xbox. Overall I am very pleased with my purchase. Now, as long as it lasts me as long as some of my other flat panels have, I will definitely buy another LG again. Walmart sent the TV via FEDEX and it arrived in good condition and relatively quickly. Thanks Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RJAD
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really like this television
12/2/2012

Customer review by LVRD

4.0 stars 12/2/2012 by LVRD
by LVRD

Bought this online Thanksgiving night and opted for site to store delivery. Picked the television up today, 12/1. Was surprised that it was as heavy as it was but managed to get it home safe and sound. Setup was simple. Had a moment of panic when, after connecting everything, all I could get was "snow". Figured out that I had to go into Settings, Input, and choose HDMI because I had set this up using the HDMI cables. After that, with some minor adjustments for Brightness, Tint, and Contrast, the television works beautifully.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LVRD
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Price, Good TV
5/2/2013

Customer review by spammyt

5.0 stars 5/2/2013 by spammyt
by spammyt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this to replace a 6year old 42" plasma. What a size difference! Huge, super thin, and much lighter than the old tv. I was a little worried when I was buying it, because it's not in stores anymore so I couldn't see it for myself, plus the CNET review was less than flattering, but the price was compelling enough to take the plunge. I'm glad I did. Picture was nice and clear. The colors looked fine to me as well - I have yet to make any color tweaks like I've seen other reviewers do. Mind you, I'm no videophile, but for my purposes (sports, movies on xbmc), it's great. I haven't noticed any backlight bleeding around the edges. I don't like the soap opera effect, and if that's what true motion is, this TV doesn't have it. Have it hooked up to a receiver, so can't speak to sound quality. Bottom line, for the price, it can't be beat. Looks great aesthetically and picture wise. Fast shipping, right to my door. What more could you ask for?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spammyt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You're buying this set for the picture quality....
12/15/2012

Customer review by oceanblock

4.0 stars 12/15/2012 by oceanblock
by oceanblock

I'm told that the best picture quality can only be attained by having a plasma or DLP set. Coming from a DLP set, I can assure you that this LED TV took some time in setting adjustments. LED/LCD tends to make faces pasty/washed out when using higher contrast type settings. After far too many minutes/hours of playing with adjustments, I found my niche in using the "Game" mode in picture choices, followed by a little twinking in color and contrast type settings. In watching Fringe the other night, I could see fine lines and wrinkles on the old man scientist face at a distance of 12', and that definitly works for me. Be prepared to "adjust" for your personal best settings. Although many people tout 60" and above sets for 12' viewing, this 55" is just fine in my book. It's paper thin....good for wall mounting, although I use the stand. There are only 2 HDMI ports. I use a 4 port HDMI box w/remote to plug into one of the TV HDMI ports. This gives me 5 ports total. On input, you can go HDMI #2#......Component "or" Composite #not both on component/composite....you have to choose only one#. There is a Digital only sound output. There is no PC input....but I can use HDMI from my laptop to the TV for PC/Internet connectivity. There is no Internet/Wi-Fi....but I can use my Roku HD Wi-Fi/Ethernet box. Plenty of setting choices for TV sound adjustments, i.e.: balance, treble/base and modes. At normal sound levels, I find these speakers just perfectly fine. If you choose to blast.....then NO TV speakers will do.....get a sound system. The speakers are located at the bottom of the set, underneath. I picked it up on "Green Monday" online sales for under $700 and it was delivered into my house in 3 days on Thursday. Will see how this thing goes long distance, but I did pick up the 4 year extended warranty #1+3# at a fair price. Bottom line....you're buying this for the size/price ratio and its picture quality #if it suits you#.

Was this review helpful? (68) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oceanblock
Mid-Atlantic region
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value LED TV
12/6/2012

Customer review by fccrunch

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by fccrunch
by fccrunch

I purchased this set on Cyber Monday for less than $800 however after receiving it I would pay the full $898. Great picture, outstanding HD. I wanted something straight forward without all the "smart tv" bells and whistles. I replaced an old RCA 36 inch TV that weighted a ton, still with a good picture, and this TV blows it away. I also purchased a LG Blue-Ray player model BP620 that is Wifi, blue ray 3d, with dolby etc for $99 and that makes this a 'smart tv" for less than $1000 total. I don't need the 3D feature since the TV is not 3D but who cares, it was the highest recommend Blue Ray player in Consumers Report and less than the $149 list price. , Out of the box, installing the stand, connecting the Uverse DVR and the Blue Ray, doing the initial programing, all for under 60 minutes, and I am not a techie! The 120 Hz True motion on the TV is fantastic. I watched the Expendables 2 in blue ray last night and it was a clear and spectacular as being in the movies. Also the 55 inch was perfect since I have a normal family room and any bigger would probably be too big and somewhat overwhelming. We watched a HD recording on my Uverse of the Celtic Woman singing and you can actual see the small strands of hair that frizz a bit around their head! Unbelievable! You can pay more for another "smart model" but why would you! This is great great great. as a note, I will buy a LG sound bar to up the sound some and I would have liked a 3rd HDMI but nothing is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fccrunch
miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Simple with great picture
1/3/2013

Customer review by doodle24

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by doodle24
by doodle24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use (for us non-technical people) and has a great picture. Features the ability to turn the screen slightly from left to right. There are only 2 hdmi ports. Note that there is no signature required for delivery and box (clearly showing what is inside) will be left at your door (or garage) when delivered so make sure someone will be home to get it inside!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
doodle24
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Bang for your Buck!
12/4/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this TV at Frys, they had it out on display but had it priced for the 47" model on accident so I got mine for $699, brand new in the box! Either way, even at under a thousand dollars this is a great TV. It does not have a VGA PC input or an Ethernet jack or wireless, so this is not a "smart" TV. For me this is fine though, I have DVI - HDMI out of my computer and I have a Logitech Revue Google TV device that I had hooked up to my old TV. So, basically this TV is a stripped down version saving you money on features you may not need, while still giving you the picture quality and size of a more expensive 55" TV.

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV, wonderful picture.
12/8/2012

Customer review by GotTractor

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by GotTractor
by GotTractor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The LG 55 LS4500 is a great buy, it has a very clear picture 1080p 120 HZ moves very well with little or no distortation. The ultra slim design makes it a great unit for the wall. It was well packaged and was easy to unpack and assemble, even for a senior. Two people are required to safely position the screen without worry or damage. The only short coming is the sound, because the design is so compact the speakers are small and point down towards the floor or stand and do not broadcast well into a large room. I simpley added a sound system and now it's like watching TV in a movie theater. This is a great general service unit. I wasn't looking for 3d , WIFI and a lot of extras just a great TV.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GotTractor
Nashville, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't like picture auto dimming function.
12/6/2012

Customer review by KCdeadeye

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by KCdeadeye
by KCdeadeye
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall TV is fine. Auto dimming function is quite irritating. In a darkened room, the picture automatically gets way to dark.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KCdeadeye
Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do Not Buy LG
12/17/2012

Customer review by TVbuyer1224

1.0 stars 12/17/2012 by TVbuyer1224
by TVbuyer1224

TV developed red and blue lines on the sides...look it up online and you will see this is a common problem with LG. LG will NOT fix it and tell you its misuse and not covered by warranty? Spend your hard earned money on another brand!

Was this review helpful? (122) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TVbuyer1224
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Picture, Needs a Sound Bar, Good No Frills TV
1/2/2013

Customer review by reviewer263

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by reviewer263
by reviewer263
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Picture is very good, just noticed some vibration/buzzing problems with high levels bass in the sound. We remedied this by hooking it up to external speakers (which we were planning to do anyway). Overall satisfied for a $700 price tag (Holiday Deal).

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reviewer263
Centreville,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent value for price.
12/9/2012

Customer review by Everygoodnicknamewastaken

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Everygoodnicknamewastaken
by Everygoodnicknamewastaken

Overall I am very pleased with this TV. A lot of reviews complained about having to turn the sound way up to hear it. What? For a TV this thin I think it sounds pretty good. Still needs a theater system for deep bass. The picture is great except a little motion blur with sports. The stand is more sturdy than I expected and swivels which is cool.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Everygoodnicknamewastaken
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV, great value, exceeded my expectations
12/9/2012

Customer review by SDPacman09

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by SDPacman09
by SDPacman09
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second LG TV. Great energy effieciency. Picture quality is awesome. *Tip make sure you setup your cable boxes to 1080i to utalize the maximum picture quality.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SDPacman09
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 313 total reviews
1-20 of 313 reviews