Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 448 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

448 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

448 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
321
4 stars
103
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 stars
11
1-20 of 312 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 312 total reviews
1-20 of 312 reviews
I bought this tv when it first came out (for 1299)
11/23/2012

Customer review by scottinsd

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by scottinsd
by scottinsd

Love this tv - and it's a steal for under a thousand bucks too. I just set mine up on an entertainment center (about 2 feet off the floor), and this tv swivels on the stand that it comes with - which is really nice when you're on the computer but you want to see the tv screen too. The sound system is a LOT better than the other tvs I looked at. This is a great unit, and the price is right too.....would HIGHLY recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (108) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scottinsd
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV
11/22/2012

Customer review by Steveotta

4.0 stars 11/22/2012 by Steveotta
by Steveotta

Pretty good TV, very thin and looks great on the wall with a thin mount. Picture is very good. Had an issue with the HDMI connection, but after doing research it appears that some Scientific atlanta cable boxes are having HDMI problems which cause the screen to shake. Its a known problem called a HDMI hand shake. Its not the TV , its the cable box. I switched the box and my HDMI works great now. The cable connection wires also worked great in place of the HDMI cable. All in all a nice TV, very thin and a good deal for the price, sure theres better out there but you will pay $ 1500 or more. For the money this is a great 55" TV.

Was this review helpful? (147) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steveotta
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You're buying this set for the picture quality....
12/15/2012

Customer review by oceanblock

4.0 stars 12/15/2012 by oceanblock
by oceanblock

I'm told that the best picture quality can only be attained by having a plasma or DLP set. Coming from a DLP set, I can assure you that this LED TV took some time in setting adjustments. LED/LCD tends to make faces pasty/washed out when using higher contrast type settings. After far too many minutes/hours of playing with adjustments, I found my niche in using the "Game" mode in picture choices, followed by a little twinking in color and contrast type settings. In watching Fringe the other night, I could see fine lines and wrinkles on the old man scientist face at a distance of 12', and that definitly works for me. Be prepared to "adjust" for your personal best settings. Although many people tout 60" and above sets for 12' viewing, this 55" is just fine in my book. It's paper thin....good for wall mounting, although I use the stand. There are only 2 HDMI ports. I use a 4 port HDMI box w/remote to plug into one of the TV HDMI ports. This gives me 5 ports total. On input, you can go HDMI #2#......Component "or" Composite #not both on component/composite....you have to choose only one#. There is a Digital only sound output. There is no PC input....but I can use HDMI from my laptop to the TV for PC/Internet connectivity. There is no Internet/Wi-Fi....but I can use my Roku HD Wi-Fi/Ethernet box. Plenty of setting choices for TV sound adjustments, i.e.: balance, treble/base and modes. At normal sound levels, I find these speakers just perfectly fine. If you choose to blast.....then NO TV speakers will do.....get a sound system. The speakers are located at the bottom of the set, underneath. I picked it up on "Green Monday" online sales for under $700 and it was delivered into my house in 3 days on Thursday. Will see how this thing goes long distance, but I did pick up the 4 year extended warranty #1+3# at a fair price. Bottom line....you're buying this for the size/price ratio and its picture quality #if it suits you#.

Was this review helpful? (68) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oceanblock
Mid-Atlantic region
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do Not Buy LG
12/17/2012

Customer review by TVbuyer1224

1.0 stars 12/17/2012 by TVbuyer1224
by TVbuyer1224

TV developed red and blue lines on the sides...look it up online and you will see this is a common problem with LG. LG will NOT fix it and tell you its misuse and not covered by warranty? Spend your hard earned money on another brand!

Was this review helpful? (122) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TVbuyer1224
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Bang for your Buck!
12/4/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this TV at Frys, they had it out on display but had it priced for the 47" model on accident so I got mine for $699, brand new in the box! Either way, even at under a thousand dollars this is a great TV. It does not have a VGA PC input or an Ethernet jack or wireless, so this is not a "smart" TV. For me this is fine though, I have DVI - HDMI out of my computer and I have a Logitech Revue Google TV device that I had hooked up to my old TV. So, basically this TV is a stripped down version saving you money on features you may not need, while still giving you the picture quality and size of a more expensive 55" TV.

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really like this television
12/2/2012

Customer review by LVRD

4.0 stars 12/2/2012 by LVRD
by LVRD

Bought this online Thanksgiving night and opted for site to store delivery. Picked the television up today, 12/1. Was surprised that it was as heavy as it was but managed to get it home safe and sound. Setup was simple. Had a moment of panic when, after connecting everything, all I could get was "snow". Figured out that I had to go into Settings, Input, and choose HDMI because I had set this up using the HDMI cables. After that, with some minor adjustments for Brightness, Tint, and Contrast, the television works beautifully.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LVRD
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simple with great picture
1/3/2013

Customer review by doodle24

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by doodle24
by doodle24

Easy to use (for us non-technical people) and has a great picture. Features the ability to turn the screen slightly from left to right. There are only 2 hdmi ports. Note that there is no signature required for delivery and box (clearly showing what is inside) will be left at your door (or garage) when delivered so make sure someone will be home to get it inside!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doodle24
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV, wonderful picture.
12/8/2012

Customer review by GotTractor

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by GotTractor
by GotTractor

The LG 55 LS4500 is a great buy, it has a very clear picture 1080p 120 HZ moves very well with little or no distortation. The ultra slim design makes it a great unit for the wall. It was well packaged and was easy to unpack and assemble, even for a senior. Two people are required to safely position the screen without worry or damage. The only short coming is the sound, because the design is so compact the speakers are small and point down towards the floor or stand and do not broadcast well into a large room. I simpley added a sound system and now it's like watching TV in a movie theater. This is a great general service unit. I wasn't looking for 3d , WIFI and a lot of extras just a great TV.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GotTractor
Nashville, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't like picture auto dimming function.
12/6/2012

Customer review by KCdeadeye

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by KCdeadeye
by KCdeadeye

Overall TV is fine. Auto dimming function is quite irritating. In a darkened room, the picture automatically gets way to dark.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KCdeadeye
Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value less a few features
12/7/2012

Customer review by Walmartin2940

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Walmartin2940
by Walmartin2940

The picture quality is satisfactory but not exceptional. Energy saver mode is distracting at best as it changes brightness settings if turned on based on room conditions. Turn this off and set an expert mode setting with your preferences. I found the preset modes Cinema, sports, etc. a little lacking in black level or contrast. Cinema mode is close but color saturation and contrast a little lacking but may work for most people. Sports mode has to much contrast and loses detail in my opinion. The limited two hdmi inputs is a limitation but if connected through a A/V receiver it is a non-issue. Sound quality is adequate for most situations. Cinema mode enhances sound quality to better than standard quality. This set does not have smart TV options but this can easily be overcome by connecting a smart wireless blu-ray player, for around $100. Overall I am very satisfied with the value when comparing size and image quality.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmartin2940
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value LED TV
12/6/2012

Customer review by fccrunch

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by fccrunch
by fccrunch

I purchased this set on Cyber Monday for less than $800 however after receiving it I would pay the full $898. Great picture, outstanding HD. I wanted something straight forward without all the "smart tv" bells and whistles. I replaced an old RCA 36 inch TV that weighted a ton, still with a good picture, and this TV blows it away. I also purchased a LG Blue-Ray player model BP620 that is Wifi, blue ray 3d, with dolby etc for $99 and that makes this a 'smart tv" for less than $1000 total. I don't need the 3D feature since the TV is not 3D but who cares, it was the highest recommend Blue Ray player in Consumers Report and less than the $149 list price. , Out of the box, installing the stand, connecting the Uverse DVR and the Blue Ray, doing the initial programing, all for under 60 minutes, and I am not a techie! The 120 Hz True motion on the TV is fantastic. I watched the Expendables 2 in blue ray last night and it was a clear and spectacular as being in the movies. Also the 55 inch was perfect since I have a normal family room and any bigger would probably be too big and somewhat overwhelming. We watched a HD recording on my Uverse of the Celtic Woman singing and you can actual see the small strands of hair that frizz a bit around their head! Unbelievable! You can pay more for another "smart model" but why would you! This is great great great. as a note, I will buy a LG sound bar to up the sound some and I would have liked a 3rd HDMI but nothing is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fccrunch
miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Picture, Needs a Sound Bar, Good No Frills TV
1/2/2013

Customer review by reviewer263

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by reviewer263
by reviewer263

Picture is very good, just noticed some vibration/buzzing problems with high levels bass in the sound. We remedied this by hooking it up to external speakers (which we were planning to do anyway). Overall satisfied for a $700 price tag (Holiday Deal).

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewer263
Centreville,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dont 'Buy
2/18/2013

Customer review by RAC20

1.0 stars 2/18/2013 by RAC20
by RAC20

I bought this TV and spent the next day and a half trying to get the picture to look somewhat decent. I called Direct TV to make sure it wasn't my service, I called LG three different times to complain and see if there was a solution. I also went back to Walmart three more times to buy different HDMI cables to try those but nothing worked. The picture was very grainy and pixel-ed. I also tried my Blue Ray player which also looked like trash. The picture was worse than the TV I was replacing which was a five year old Samsung 720 plasma. The picture was not much better than a tube TV. Horrible experience. I had to take it back off the wall pack it up and bring it back. Walmart was great and had no problem taking the TV back but what a nightmare! I bought a Samsung instead, it was $90 more and well worth it. The TV has an absolutely beautiful picture and Blue-rays look like your on the set! Get the Samsung 55" LED UN55EN6000 and stay away from the LG. Don't be duped by the low price for a 55"!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RAC20
Haverhill, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV, great value, exceeded my expectations
12/9/2012

Customer review by SDPacman09

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by SDPacman09
by SDPacman09

This is my second LG TV. Great energy effieciency. Picture quality is awesome. *Tip make sure you setup your cable boxes to 1080i to utalize the maximum picture quality.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SDPacman09
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent value for price.
12/9/2012

Customer review by Everygoodnicknamewastaken

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Everygoodnicknamewastaken
by Everygoodnicknamewastaken

Overall I am very pleased with this TV. A lot of reviews complained about having to turn the sound way up to hear it. What? For a TV this thin I think it sounds pretty good. Still needs a theater system for deep bass. The picture is great except a little motion blur with sports. The stand is more sturdy than I expected and swivels which is cool.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Everygoodnicknamewastaken
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great till it broke!
3/29/2013

Customer review by CooCooCachoo25

1.0 stars 3/29/2013 by CooCooCachoo25
by CooCooCachoo25

Bought this TV because of the great price. We weren't concerned with having a smart tv so we didn't care about it not having any apps or anything like that. The tv was great with the exception of only having 2 HDMI ports, but after just 2 weeks the HDMI ports stopped working. Then a week later it would just turn itself off and on repeatedly. Walmart was great and took it back for a full refund with no problems, but I won't be buying another LG tv. After looking it up online, this seems to be an issue with LG so buyer beware!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CooCooCachoo25
Powder Springs, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quality product!
11/27/2012

Customer review by BoyJohn

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by BoyJohn
by BoyJohn

Shopping experience superb!

Was this review helpful? (12) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoyJohn
Montpelier, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome picture!
12/13/2012

Customer review by CJS25

5.0 stars 12/13/2012 by CJS25
by CJS25

we did buy a sound bar to make the sound better. Only 2 HDMI ports, but I knew that when I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJS25
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/8/2012

Customer review by Hardbody24

4.0 stars 12/8/2012 by Hardbody24
by Hardbody24

I didn't realize the TV only had 2 hdmi ports. That would've probably been a deal breaker but the picture quality was so amazing that I just couldn't return it. The sound is not that great but I have a sound bar which negates that. Very clean look and very fair price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hardbody24
North Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Picture is awesome but needs RCA outputs for audio
12/10/2012

Customer review by ColumbusChuck

4.0 stars 12/10/2012 by ColumbusChuck
by ColumbusChuck

Really mad because 3 weeks after buying this set it went on sale again. Picture is great HOWEVER be warned only has digital output for surround sound so my current system won't work. TV has NO RCA output jacks!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColumbusChuck
Columbus, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 312 total reviews
1-20 of 312 reviews