Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 451 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

451 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

451 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
321
4 stars
104
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
11
1-20 of 315 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 315 total reviews
1-20 of 315 reviews
Bad rattle at higher volume
10/20/2016

Customer review by TomTexas1

2.0 stars 10/20/2016 by TomTexas1
by TomTexas1

I purchased the LG for the brand-name because the ones I've seen always performed well this one however rattles when the sound is above barely audible. No discernible audio outputs except for and optical digital connection. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

TomTexas1
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome TV for the price!
4/17/2013

Customer review by Clint

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by Clint
by Clint

This is my second 55" LG and I love LG. I think it has just as good picture quality, if not better than any other brand. I was surprised this LED did not have a more clear picture than my 3 year old 55" LCD LG. But the quality on that tv is simply amazing. Pretty hard to beat that. It did take some tweaking in the settings but I think I have it where I like it. My older LG is in the basement too whereas this one is in our front room with higher light...All things considered, this TV is by far the best one in it's price range without question. My biggest disappointment with the tv is that it only has 2 HDMI ports. With today's technology, that doesn't make sense. But I ordered an HDMI port adapter with 3 extra ports to fix that. Overall, great TV and even better for that price!!!!

Clint
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Value Ever...
5/14/2013

Customer review by E-Unit

5.0 stars 5/14/2013 by E-Unit
by E-Unit

I bought two of these when the guy told me the price... My year-old LG suffered LCD damage from an accident and I needed a replacement. Wanted something in the same size and thought LED would cost more than regular LCD, but this one was $250 less than the old one!!!! I decided to also replace a 50" plasma that I had in my bedroom since I was expecting to pay the same price for ONE set... I must admit... the old LG had some better features, such as FOUR HDMI ports, multiple TruMotion settings, and a better looking menu interface. But for the price I will not complain - the picture is great on this model and I love the slim profile. Highly recommendable product. LG is always my brand of choice and here again I was thouroughly impressed.

E-Unit
Central MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best of everything for TV viewing
4/26/2013

Customer review by colorpro

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by colorpro
by colorpro

I tried many brands of televisions, and this was the only one that met all of my expectations. I was concerned about screen reflection from windows etc. but this TV had the least of any, and it faces large windows, but I can still watch it comfortably with little glare. The controls are easy to operate, and it has an outstanding image on any channel I view.I shopped many stores, and many brands, and this unit excels on all levels....and is extremely cost effective in every category. I can highly recommend this television for sharpness, beautiful images, and extremely affordable price. As a professional photographer I'm very selective when it comes to color and high image quality, and this television excels on every level.

colorpro
racine, wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mesmorizing Experience
2/15/2013

Customer review by TomViewer

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by TomViewer
by TomViewer

This TV is how can I say just awesome!!!---The picture is stunning, and often times I am amazed at how vibrant and crisp the colors and overall picture quality is. For features I rated it a 4 due to the lack of 1 additional HDMI port if it had 3-ports this TV would have been a homerun hit right out of the park. Watching the Superbowl on this TV was just fantastic the colors just jumped and popped off the screen. For product quality and price..this TV and LG quality is hard to beat. Oh one last thing I do have a LG soundbar, as that is a huge improvement to the overall audio experience as the speakers within the TV do not produce very good sound....they are just ok though.

TomViewer
Orlando, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth the money
3/19/2013

Customer review by Not Satisfied Customer

1.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Not Satisfied Customer
by Not Satisfied Customer

I bought this television thiking I was getting a good deal from a reliable company. Instead what I got was a television that has all the bells and whisles along with an annoying vibration in the speakers. When I returned my original purchase and had it replaced with another, it was to my disappointment the second TV had the same annoying vibration. When I reported the problem I was told "you should change the way you listen to your television, by purchasing a soundbar or other audio system." For what I paid for this teleivison I should not have to invest more money to mask the problem in the original product. I would not buy another LG television!

Not Satisfied Customer
Syracuse, NE 68446, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love the TV
10/19/2014

Customer review by GamerMom

4.0 stars 10/19/2014 by GamerMom
by GamerMom

Love the TV, and I only have 2 real complaints, well, not even really complaints. My first "complaint" is I wish there was at least 1 more HDMI. This one only has 2 and I wish I could plug in my DVR Xbox and PS3 into HDMI but can only have 2. Moved my DVR to the AV cables. So not really a big deal. My second "complaint" is the sound isn't as good as I was hoping. Going to be getting a sound bar soon. Some movies I'll have to crank it up to around 60 to hear parts, then when the action starts drop it down to around 20 so we don't wake the neighborhood. But for day to day use on cartoons and news it works perfectly.

GamerMom
Beaumont, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best value & quality for the price
1/27/2013

Customer review by SDJoe

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by SDJoe
by SDJoe

This television is extraordinary in its picture quality and ease of use. Our only complaint (and that's a very harsh word in this discussion# is that we wish there was an A/V out connection #besides the HDMI) that we could have used for our component audio system and DVR. I guess we'll need to upgrade the DVR to an HDMI unit - that was the only comment regarding this set. The picture is one of the best in this screen size and refresh rate, and the overall quality of construction and physical size were great. We did not want a 3D TV - that's why we went with this model.

SDJoe
San Dimas, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice refrigerator
2/26/2016

Customer review by bruce627

4.0 stars 2/26/2016 by bruce627
by bruce627

bought the stainless version with freezer on top. Works for our situation because we could not use the two door. This was the largest version we could find. A little disappointed the salesman did not point out this model was not energy star but we are happy with the purchase. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

bruce627
Brownsburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great for everything you need it to
3/27/2013

Customer review by sparky8265

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by sparky8265
by sparky8265

Bought this tv for a wonderful price! This is my 1st LED/LCD Tv and Ive owned many LCD Tv's in the past and everything about this Tv blows them out of the water! Would have given 5 stars across the board had it allowed more digital adjustments the film mode and motion eye care are all analog features, but when using regular analog inputs to the Tv if increases the enjoyment of watching Tv! Would have liked to see these features when using the HDMI cords but gotta have some give and take. The colors on this Tv are awesome, blu-ray and video games are crisp and clear and i dont notice any jutter, blurring, or ghosting. Compared to other 55" Tv's Ive had before the best part I've noticed is there is not any lag when playing video games like I noticed with other models and this is all in great thanks to the processer in this Tv, compared to other Tv's that use regular slower ones #think computer graphic cards and better motherboards#. Sound what do you expect? Its a Tv its not a stereo, if you have a sound bar or reciever then you'll get the great sound you want. Inputs on the Tv are ok I use my reciever to add HDMI ports and this allows me to increase what can be hooked up to the Tv so I feel there are plenty. It is not 3D but on some movies and shows the image pops off the screen like you are watching 3D. All in all I have to say for the money and the time I've owned it I think this is a great Tv and expect many years of enjoyment from it!

sparky8265
Inver Grove, MN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Quality/Great Price!!
4/10/2013

Customer review by sknewell

4.0 stars 4/10/2013 by sknewell
by sknewell

If you're on a budget and not looking for a TV with all the bells and whistles then this TV is for you. I didn't need a smart TV or 3D so I chose this TV. The picture quality is great when hooked up to HD programming. I put this in my living room and put my older 55 inch rear projector in my bedroom. I always thought my older TV looked good. Now, after watching HD programming on my new TV, I can see how much I was missing out. I don't even want to watchTV in my bedroom. I got this at a good price and I am very happy with it.

sknewell
Princeton, ME, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Im impressed.....
3/30/2013

Customer review by Jimbo7

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by Jimbo7
by Jimbo7

This TV isnt just good, its really good! A family member has a LG unit simillar to this that I was able to use, which left me with a favorable opinion when I became serious about acquiring one of these new flatscreen wonders. All the features are right, and the picture just blows away anything other TV we have ever had. For the price, this model is a top contender. Now if this will stand the test of time I will be a very satisfied LG customer. If your in the market, this TV is well worth considering.

Jimbo7
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
big bang for your $$$
3/25/2013

Customer review by Orangeman

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by Orangeman
by Orangeman

The LG55LS4500 is perfect for me. The picture is superb and the audio quality is excellent even without a sound bar. When movies, shows or sports are transmitted out in 1080p, the video quality of this product is unsurpassed by anything that I have seen in my life!!! Highly recommend for use in a den, a smal theatre room or even a master bedroom suite (where I have mine!) I am not a gamer but I do watch many sporting events and the pixels hold together very well. My wife and I LOVE this TV!!!

Orangeman
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great set for nice price!
4/16/2013

Customer review by Mrs. Townsend

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by Mrs. Townsend
by Mrs. Townsend

We spent a lot of time hemming and hawing about what (if any) new TV to buy. We knew we wanted bigger but we didn't know how much we could afford without sacrificing quality. We love our older, smaller LG TV, so we thought we'd look into the same brand. It's a good thing we did! We got exactly what we wanted and we don't feel we spent too much. Definitely the best TV purchase we've made. As long as the quality and affordability remain high, LG will continue to be our preferred brand for TVs.

Mrs. Townsend
West Virginia, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
For that price - BUY IT!
4/18/2013

Customer review by 1and0

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by 1and0
by 1and0

It's a pretty good TV. Compared to other TV Brands it's a great deal! Of course the Quality could be better, but for normal TV users they probably don't even realize a differenz. There are not really any great featuers like in a SMART TV but the light dimming is wonderful. To set up the TV with the correct settings was easy! I would recommend that TV for that price if you don't need Netflix and all that internet stuff. We just took a blu-ray player which includes all that anyways.

1and0
Tuscaloosa, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is the best TV experience of my life
12/19/2012

Customer review by Larry 48

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by Larry 48
by Larry 48

i love watching natgeo and other nature oriented channels on my directv. the images on the screen really come alive on my 55" LED 120 hertz LG HDTV. Now the wife and kids want to watch all their favorate programs on this tv exclusively. I guarantee that you will find a sharper more crisp LED on the market. I also have my tv paired with an awesome LG surround sound system. This combination maximizes my viewing experience and take to levels I never thought possible at these prices.

Larry 48
Raleigh, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good value
4/5/2013

Customer review by bruc

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by bruc
by bruc

very easy to set up and get going. The only issue I had from the start was the energy saving feature was turned on and it made the picture very dark. Took me a couple of days to figure that out. Did not get the internet feature and so far have not missed it since we all seem to have internet access on computers, tablets and phones. Have now had for one month with no issues. Satisfied with purchase. Great picture. Bought for the NCAA tournament. Can't wait for the Masters!

bruc
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a great Tv
4/10/2013

Customer review by Julie

4.0 stars 4/10/2013 by Julie
by Julie

The only thing I don't like about this tv is it only has 2 HDMI connections and 1 av connection. My family ownes a WII and uses plug and play systems also so more av connections would of been nice. With only 2 HDMI connections we had to connect our cable and blueray player thru our sound system but we can't have our Wii plugged in with it. Picture is great but has some glare problems that we were told we wouldn't get in a sunny room. Kids can work the features easily.

Julie
Jordan, MN 55352, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV
12/14/2012

Customer review by Chicmim

4.0 stars 12/14/2012 by Chicmim
by Chicmim

I bought this item from Best Buy. You really can`t tell what your getting at the store until you try it at home. I bought a Blue Ray player since this is the first 1080p tv i have owned. I subscribe to a satellite company and the combination of that and my new player showed me the best picture I have ever seen. Though it has only two HDMI inputs, its all I need since I`m not a gamer. One for the Blue Ray player and the other for the satellite input. I`m quite pleased.

Chicmim
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This LG TV is great for the price.
5/8/2013

Customer review by STEVESTV

4.0 stars 5/8/2013 by STEVESTV
by STEVESTV

While looking for a new TV,I noticed that most makers are now facing their speakers down instead of facing outwards to the viewer. I find everyone is pushing their new soundbars to fix the poor quality of the speaker locations. There also seems to be an awful lot of screen reflexion which wasn't as bad in older LCD models.I think the manufacturers need to use a non glare coating on there screens. This LG 55" works very well & I'm happy with it.

STEVESTV
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 315 total reviews
1-20 of 315 reviews