Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 778 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

778 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

778 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
343
4 stars
211
3 stars
82
2 stars
46
1 stars
96
1-20 of 768 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 768 total reviews
1-20 of 768 reviews
Great quality except..
10/20/2014

Customer review by crazygeckolady1

4.0 stars 10/20/2014 by crazygeckolady1
by crazygeckolady1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This rack shipped very quick and it high quality. It is easy to assemble. The reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars is because I hate the corners of this thing. You have to have a shelf right in the middle of this rack and it ruined my plans for where I wanted to put a shelf. The corner posts come in two separate pieces so it requires beams right in the middle to hold it together, it's kind of a pain. If the corner posts were one solid piece and I could put my shelves where I wanted, I would have given it 5 stars. Overall, good quality and easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crazygeckolady1
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Shelfs
8/30/2014

Customer review by TGP57

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by TGP57
by TGP57
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love these, not only are they huge but very sturdy, as you can see in the pictures they hold lots of stuff...and also excellent price on the roll backs.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TGP57
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
VERY disappointed
10/9/2013

Customer review by theRareReviewer

1.0 stars 10/9/2013 by theRareReviewer
by theRareReviewer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered five of these shelves. Every single one of the boxes that were delivered was damaged and open upon arrival, with parts falling out of two of them. One of the boxes was apparently so badly damaged that Federal Express did not even leave it at my house; they returned it to Walmart, of their own accord. All the particle board shelving was damaged on the corners due to the boxes being open. Overall, it was not a complete loss, considering the price paid, but I was most definitely very disappointed in the condition that the merchandise arrived. (see pictures) PS. I tried at least 8 times to upload photos, but was only able to upload successfully one photo. Keep getting a Gateway timed out error - 504. So, disappointed in this review site also. :/

Was this review helpful? (165) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theRareReviewer
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Big & Sturdy
7/24/2014

Customer review by JamieLuLu

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by JamieLuLu
by JamieLuLu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Thought it was too good to be true for such a great product at such an inexpensive cost. It arrived on time - the box corners/edges a bit mangled due to the heavy weight. This concerned us and after opening, some corners on the board shelves had broken off. We considered returning it, but after assembly, the shelves still fit perfectly and we couldn't see the missing corners. All-around, this is a cosmetically and durably sound product. Very quick and easy assembly. The dimensions were spot-on and our two shelving units fit perfectly in the garage space. It’s tall, it’s deep, and it's beautiful (see photo). Definitely buying more! Way to go Walmart!!

Was this review helpful? (89) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JamieLuLu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
VERY upset
11/15/2013

Customer review by humifierlady

1.0 stars 11/15/2013 by humifierlady
by humifierlady

I ordered two of these as they were being advertised all over the internet for the sale they were having. BOTH boxes arrived opened and crushed. Fedex quickly left them at my front door and ran off as I was trying to call them back about it. I couldn't believe they would be delivered in such condition!!! All of the shelves were destroyed on the sides and corners. Pieces of the shelving unit (crumbles) were falling out of the sides. I was very excited ordering these, and now am just frustrated and upset. They are VERY heavy to move, so bringing them back anytime soon... yea. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE product and TERRIBLE quality control.

Was this review helpful? (76) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
humifierlady
Fort Hood, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Can't believe the bang for the buck!
4/6/2014

Customer review by BigFriendly

5.0 stars 4/6/2014 by BigFriendly
by BigFriendly

1st of all, I agree to it being heavy, but if the shipper/handler treats it well (like they did mine), it arrives fine and in a manageable way. I put it together by myself in about an hour or less. It was simple and can't believe how well this thing is made! The wood sits flat and snug. No tools required except to tap the ends down (way easy). I still don't understand how they ship it for free. It says 102lbs shipping weight, but mine said 82lbs. Anyways, buy these non stop until they run out! You will not regret it! PS, the photo provided was done today after I put my motorcycle stuff on it.

Was this review helpful? (27) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigFriendly
Amarillo, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to setup & sturdy!
6/26/2014

Customer review by Occraigslist

5.0 stars 6/26/2014 by Occraigslist
by Occraigslist
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Exactly as described! Great for garage organization! Would recommend and buy again!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Occraigslist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Quality :Very Disappointed!
9/20/2014

Customer review by Yanzy

1.0 stars 9/20/2014 by Yanzy
by Yanzy

DO NOT PURCHASE! This is of POOR quality made with bagasse board. It came damage with the bagasse board shelling apart.

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yanzy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Heavy duty shelf a little hard to assemble.
1/20/2016

Customer review by Uncertain7476

4.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Uncertain7476
by Uncertain7476

I bought 3 of these shelves from Walmart.com, although shipping it to my local store was delayed a few days, and they still can't find one of them at the store. The parts seem substantial. The actual shelf is 1/2" pressed board, supported on all 4 edges by a formed steel rail that connects to the vertical posts with rivet heads that have large heads which fasten via keyhole slots in the vertical posts. The only thing where I think they cut a corner on design is that the posts are 3 feet long, so they require 2 of them end to end to make each 6-foot post. Assembling them end to end is a bit tricky, as they have to be held butted together while you assemble the rails, one rivet in the end keyhole of each 3-foot post. It's difficult to do without extra hands. Also, this forces one shelf to be at the 3-foot mark (middle). So the shelves are not quite as flexible as I expected. Typically, you'll end up with one shelf at the bottom, one in the middle and one at the top. Only the remaining 2 shelves will be "adjustable." Once assembled, it seems acceptably sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Uncertain7476
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Recommend Item but Not Shipping It To Home
5/12/2014

Customer review by CentralGeorgiaGal

1.0 stars 5/12/2014 by CentralGeorgiaGal
by CentralGeorgiaGal

I already have one of these shelves and wanted two more for my garage so I order them to be shipped directly to my home. The 1st delivery was aborted by the shipper due to package damage. They attempted the 2nd delivery but the shelves were crushed and framing sticking out of box so I refused the delivery. I contacted Walmart CS and they kindly expedited out a new delivery. I informed the CS Associate that the corrugate was inadequate for direct shipping that advising the warehouse of that might prevent further loss but when the replacement was received, it was the original packaging with the framing sticking out of both boxes and both ends of each box was open and crushed. I refused the delivery and Walmart suggested we cancel the order. IF you can handle 103 pounds per box, I recommend trying the Store to Store delivery (Assuming it would be in better shape however, I have no way to transport that weight so won’t be ordering this product further through Walmart).

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CentralGeorgiaGal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product, Good Price, Poor Packaging
3/24/2014

Customer review by AZgrammaToo

4.0 stars 3/24/2014 by AZgrammaToo
by AZgrammaToo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like almost everyone else who reviewed this item the product itself is awesome but the packaging could definately use some improvement. Item was delivered in a damaged box. A few of the shelf corners were crunched. None of the metal pieces had any type of paper or plastic protecting them. resulting in some minor scrapes and scratches in the paint from the pieces shifting during shipping. (There is no internal packing materials at all, just pieces in a box) Some metal pieces were sandwiched inbetween two of the shelves and left impressions in the shelf that was sitting on top of them. On a good note, the shelves themselves are very easy to assemble. The shelf with the indentations was flipped over for use, and the minor scrapes in the paint were in areas that were not noticable when unit was assembled. Bottom line, great shelves at a great price and easy to assemble...as long as you don't plan on using them for anything other that storage and don't mind the few bumps and scratches it aquires from the poor packaging.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZgrammaToo
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke one the first use
1/8/2016

Customer review by BARUAH

1.0 stars 1/8/2016 by BARUAH
by BARUAH

The steel frame is good but the boards that make up the shelf are cheap and can't take load. okay if you want to put light stuff such as cloths. the first thing I put was a big full paint bucket and the board broke into 3 pieces! so, bottom line don't go for this one if you want to put more than 15-20 lb in each shelf

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BARUAH
Would recommend to a friend? No
You get what you pay for
3/13/2014

Customer review by Elark

4.0 stars 3/13/2014 by Elark
by Elark
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

While the shelf isn't the super-durable, it is a pretty good value for the size and price one pays, and depending on the application should work just fine. It could probably hold the stated 4000 lbs if the weight were pretty evenly spaced. The frame seems pretty good, but as in many shelves of this type, particle board is used. So don't use this in an application where shelves will get wet. I'm using the shelf for a seedling starting shelf with shop lights hanging from the frame, so I may cover the shelves with plastic to avoid getting them wet. Painted particle board white to protect boards a little more (and reflect more light). So far, shelf is working quite well for this application. Note: Using the shelves as two separate shelves (side by side), so I can't comment on the stability of the shelf at full height. (There are 8 corner pieces, so to extend the shelf upwards, four of the corner pieces are stacked on the lower four and fitted into the frame.)

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elark
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent price but manage expectations
1/23/2016

Customer review by AZMark

4.0 stars 1/23/2016 by AZMark
by AZMark

Overall these are excellent shelves for storage challenges, they're decent size and hold up over time with light to moderate use. However, I own eight shelves like this which I've acquired over a several-year period – just bought three more – and I've noticed a visible change in quality over the years. You can tell which ones I bought five years ago, three years ago, last year and most recently. The wood shelving has gotten much thinner (it'll likely break if you put your weight dead-center while mounted in the frame) and the steel frame pieces are quite bendy and don't align out-of-the-box. I had to use my mallet to gently shape the corners so they would align and mate properly. This was very disappointing and compared to the identical shelves I bought years ago, they look like two separate models – years ago the same model was truly heavy duty, and has devolved into light duty application shelving. However, I still like them quite a bit and they have their purpose in my storage system. I still recommend them, just don't exceed the specifications, and definitely don't get the wood wet or spill any cleaners/oils on them or they'll swell up first and then disintegrate like cheap cardboard.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZMark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Middle Shelf Connects 2 part Verticals
2/4/2016

Customer review by CountryFiddler

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by CountryFiddler
by CountryFiddler

The other shelves can be moved up or down, but the middle shelf needs to connect the to halves of the vertical supports. The shelf rails are strong, but the shelving material is thin particle board or chipboard which is strong until it gets wet. I would not use this shelf in my damp basement. I paid 118 USD for a two pack at Walmart and delivery to my house was FREE. That's 59 USD each with free shipping. I paid a little less, 55usd on sale from 59usd, for a Room Essentials chrome wire shelving unit at Target, but those shelves are only 18" deep while these are 24" deep. The chrome looks better than the particle board.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CountryFiddler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Shelf capacity deceptive
12/31/2015

Customer review by Fred

4.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Fred
by Fred

This is the second set of Edsal shelves I have purchased recently. The other was purchased at Home Depot. Although they are basically the same, the one from Home Depot had sliding brackets to hold the bottom vertical uprights to the top vertical uprights. This one has no such brackets and relies on the horizontal shelf supports to hold the two parts together. Does not appear as stable or secure but time will tell. A similar set of shelves manufactured by WorkPro and purchased from Lowe's has even a different connection method. All components were received in good shape with no damage. I agree with many other evaluations of this product that that shelf rating of 800 pounds per shelf is way overrated. Perhaps if you spread that weight over the entire shelf you could get that rating. But that's not the way storage is realistically. For general basement or garage storage these products appear adequate. Just be aware of the limitation on the shelving. Paint finishing on all components was excellent. No complaints. For the money, I'd say you get what you pay for. For me they're exactly what I needed to help organize the basement.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not as good as smaller version 18"w
2/1/2016

Customer review by indey

2.0 stars 2/1/2016 by indey
by indey

1st, pkg had damaged, when i open the box i saw a long deep crack line on 2 boards, doubt it could hold heave stuff anymore 2nd, when i start assembling i noticed it has no connection part between legs (not sure how to call it, but if you also have smaller one you know what i am talking about), it gives me hard time to build. i could build 18"w one all by my self, this one i need at least 3 people to hold legs 3rd, when you move them, pls. be extra careful not to hold the upper part leg, you could disconnect them and upper part might fall, i almost got that, so, hold the lowwe part leg and move slowly with extra careful

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
indey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Product was Destroyed in Shipping
11/19/2013

Customer review by LewyL

1.0 stars 11/19/2013 by LewyL
by LewyL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received my order on 10/14/13... The comment I have is the way the product was packaged. First the box weighs close to 100 lbs. each, there was no strapping or hand holes for anyone to grab to lift it. I don't know how the UPS driver ever got to my front door. I know I struggled to get the boxes into my house. Secondly the box itself did not have any corner protection and consequently the corners on all the MDF shelves were broken. I don't know how this could be resolved because if I returned the units for replacement, I am certain the new units would show up in the same condition. I guess I will have to go to Home Depot to replace the (10)2'x4' MDF shelves, (3) 4'x8' sheets cut into quarters . The cost is approximately $60.00. Again, I can not blame UPS, either Edsal or Walmart should have made sure the packaging was adequate for shipping and lifting. Sign me very disappointed ...

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LewyL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I bought three!
2/13/2016

Customer review by GrammyLou

5.0 stars 2/13/2016 by GrammyLou
by GrammyLou

These are rugged and easy to assemble. I'm a 67 year old woman and did the work by myself. My son also bought a unit after he saw mine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrammyLou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great size and very sturdy
2/8/2016

Customer review by Leesha

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Leesha
by Leesha

Warning: The box is very heavy, and it will take two people to move it inside after delivery. Yet, I easily put it together by myself (assemble in the spot you want the shelf). So far, I have used these to hold a combination of bins with clothes, purses and shoes. I purchased three of these shelves almost two years ago and am still very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leesha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 768 total reviews
1-20 of 768 reviews