Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 490 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

490 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

490 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
167
4 stars
161
3 stars
59
2 stars
36
1 stars
67
1-20 of 392 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 392 total reviews
1-20 of 392 reviews
Great laptop for the price
11/10/2012

Customer review by AJSPC391

5.0 stars 11/10/2012 by AJSPC391
by AJSPC391

I bought this laptop several days ago when my old Asus died & I use my laptop for work/school purposes. This is a GREAT laptop for the price. I absolutely love it. It has plenty of memory for my personal use, it's fast, very light, and doesn't seem to heat up like my other laptop, even after extended use. It also has pretty good battery life. I bought it in store, and compared to a few other computers in the same price range, the screen/display quality is amazing. Windows 8 is taking a bit to get used to, but the laptop itself is just fantastic. There is only one downside, and it's not even a big deal, but it's worth mentioning. The touch pad has an odd rough texture and it feels weird compared to the usual smooth touch pad. I'll probably buy a wireless mouse so I don't have to use the touch pad as much. Otherwise, great purchase!

Was this review helpful? (386) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJSPC391
Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for the amount spent..........
12/5/2012

Customer review by bidaddy01

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by bidaddy01
by bidaddy01

My kids have purchased Tosh before and I am usually a Dell guy. I decided to give Tosh a try and I am glad I did. Great product for a a good price. I will buy again. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bidaddy01
Jersey Shore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Windows 8,,, too bad
12/4/2012

Customer review by Borsia

4.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Borsia
by Borsia

I have several Toshiba laptops and this new one is nice and a very good value. My only complaint is that it came loaded with Windows 8. I've just received it today so have only a few hours playing with it so far but I am not impressed. This laptop is not a touch screen but that wouldn't make the OS any better. Microsoft tried to mimic the Ipad touch but for a laptop that is a complete failure in use. Personally I still prefer XP Pro to any of the newer incarnations. It was simple logical never crashed and did exactly what you told it to do without any extra clicking. 7 isn't too bad and I'm hoping that this new laptop can be set up to run on 7, but that adds to the price!

Was this review helpful? (61) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Borsia
Huntington Beach, CA / currently Medellin Colombia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Toshiba laptop
11/29/2012

Customer review by NANAMERNIE

1.0 stars 11/29/2012 by NANAMERNIE
by NANAMERNIE

Reading the description it seemed this would be the ideal laptop. Even the ratings had about a four star. Unless this was a lemon, I am a top notch typist and quite experienced in various computers/laptops. This model I purchased missed half the letters as I typed. I was constantly having to correct spelling of words. I felt like I was back on a manual typewriter! One has to strike the keys hard and slow to get all the strokes to appear. I'm returning this to purchase a Dell or HP. The sidebar windows were a major nuisance too - they seemed to appear when I did not want them to and hide when I needed them. Ugh!

Was this review helpful? (103) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NANAMERNIE
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good price
12/10/2012

Customer review by misskita

3.0 stars 12/10/2012 by misskita
by misskita

I bought this because of all the features. I liked the separate number pad, the dual core, the apps, and the multi-function touch pad. The windows 8 has been very frustrating but I'm trying to catch on. They really need to send a more detailed quick start for windows 8 since it's a whole new system. Almost everything is different. The concept of using apps is nice though and that's why I'm trying to work with it. After using it for two weeks, I find that the touchpad is not functioning properly. From day one i couldn't get it to work unless I used two fingers and very hard. After days of trying to set it up, I contacted Toshiba and they remotely took over my computer (which was good but then again I didn't really like it because I wondered about my private info being compromised). They uninstalled the driver for the touchpad and reinstalled it twice. After a very, very long time, they came to the conclusion that something is wrong with the computer and recommended that I return it for another one or send it in for repair. All the work that I put into this computer and now take it back!!! AWWW!! Now I need to reset the computer to it's original settings and hope no one can recall the info that was put on it and start all over. Again, I like the concept of the computer and I'm willing to learn but goodness!! Whose testing these machines before they leave the warehouse? There's no way around it, you have to set the thing up totally before you can use it. The set up can be very long. After I get the new one, I'll update my experience.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
misskita
Jackson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/3/2012

Customer review by CPSY

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by CPSY
by CPSY

Good laptop for the price. It is fast and easy to use. I would recommend this to others. Only downside it that the speakers don't go up very loud for listening to music.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CPSY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer!
12/3/2012

Customer review by Kimewun

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Kimewun
by Kimewun

I bought this computer because when my HP was in the shop for repairs...I got my husband a Toshiba with not a lot of whistles and bells, and was so impressed with it that when it came time for new laptop for me, I got Toshiba Too. Great computer for a great price AAA+++

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kimewun
Random Lake, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing
12/27/2012

Customer review by chocolatelover12345

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by chocolatelover12345
by chocolatelover12345

I like windows 8. It is fun to download and play the apps. Webcam is easy to use and fun to take pictures and videos. I like the feeling of the touchpad. Very fast. The keyboard sometimes misses some of my letters when I type but that is okay because I am used to it because my old computer missed my letters. An old friend got a Toshiba and I knew I wanted one. Very light weight. The screen is HD and works awesome as a DVD player. When I open my computer it automatically turns on. That is very cool. Very large screen. When the battery is on 38% or around that it still has an hour and a half. WOW. The battery life goes down slow which is great because it make my computer portable unlike my old one where I had to have the charger in at all times.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chocolatelover12345
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Brand New and Broken
11/26/2012

Customer review by JanesGrl

1.0 stars 11/26/2012 by JanesGrl
by JanesGrl

This computer was broken before I took it out of the box. There seems to be a loose connection between the mother board and the screen. This is the fourth Toshiba laptop that I bought in the last six months. All but one were broken in a 'brand new' state. Toshiba customer service was no help at all. They refused to give me a refund. They insisted instead that I send it in for repair.

Was this review helpful? (48) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JanesGrl
Gloucester, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/7/2012

Customer review by lci15

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by lci15
by lci15

Nice laptop, just not used ti windows 8, hard time learning, wish a easy book came with it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lci15
wildomar, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fine laptop
12/2/2012

Customer review by GrandmaJulz

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by GrandmaJulz
by GrandmaJulz

This is the first laptop I've purchased and I am satisfied with it. While I am not very computer literate and have not yet read the instructions so far I've had no problems figuring out how to use this machine. I ordered the laptop through walmart.com and am also satisfied with that experience. The only problem I am having is getting used to Windows 8 - I'd much rather have Windows 7 back.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandmaJulz
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for first time laptop owner
12/20/2012

Customer review by Crystalsip

4.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Crystalsip
by Crystalsip

Good laptop, but encountered problems with pages freezing and certain sights that wont load the first time. Speakers are not the best either so would recommend using headphones when listening to music. It's light in weight, so that's a plus though.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crystalsip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Toshiba's Blue Screen- Nice Touch- NOT Comforting!
12/21/2012

Customer review by alittlenerdy22

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by alittlenerdy22
by alittlenerdy22

The unit started having problems after the 4th or 5th boot up. I already have had multiple freezes on the system and two blue screens. The frowny face is a nice touch by Toshiba but it does not comfort me through the fact that that the expensive computer that I just bought is already giving me such a hard time. This is not the quality that I had expected.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alittlenerdy22
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Junk! Do NOT waste your money on this laptop!
12/25/2012

Customer review by fadedone

1.0 stars 12/25/2012 by fadedone
by fadedone

I have an older Toshiba Satellite laptop, and it works OK still, it is just falling apart from going on travel with me, and thought this laptop looked like a good deal. It's extremely slow, for a new laptop in 2012 this laptop CRAWLS to do even basic things like watch a video on YouTube. The playback was horrible and the CPU was maxed out. It's impossible to do anything with this computer, get something else. Windows 8 is pretty useless without a touch screen. The multi touch trackpad is decent, but you can't scroll with it, I even went and disabled the gestures, and enabled scrolling in the Synaptics menu.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fadedone
Martinsburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Faulty Laptop
12/12/2012

Customer review by Krissy0529

1.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Krissy0529
by Krissy0529

The screen kept freezing the FIRST day I turned it on. The screen also faded out to only a color and would not do anything. I tried resetting it to factory setttings and it completely failed and wouldn't restart correctly. The only thing I got to do with it was TRY to customize it. For this to be a completely new NON refurbished product, it acted as though it was. I returned it as soon as I was able.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Krissy0529
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Computer
12/13/2012

Customer review by Gemini3174

5.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Gemini3174
by Gemini3174

It's light weight and easy to use. For what you get and the price I paid, I can not complain. Would recommend for any age.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gemini3174
Bardstown, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Computer is great, do not like Windows 8
1/6/2013

Customer review by Greenvilleman

4.0 stars 1/6/2013 by Greenvilleman
by Greenvilleman

I just wanted to let other people know about a free program you can download for Windows 8 to make it function like windows 7.Do a Google search for a program called Classic Shell.I installed it on my Toshiba C855D laptop and have not had a problem after that.I hope this helps others.I was going to put Windows 7 on it,put everyone wanted at least $200.00 to do it,so this is a better solution for me.I hope this helps others who dont like Windows 8.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greenvilleman
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great computer for the price..
1/22/2013

Customer review by prcombs54

4.0 stars 1/22/2013 by prcombs54
by prcombs54

I bought this computer for my grandson because he needed a computer "to do his homework on"... I was reluctant to get the Windows 8 version at first because I had heard numerous bad things about the OS but the grandson seems to like it - but I really don't think he's used it for any homework so far (wow,,what a surprise)...this computer has a good size hard drive and enough memory to get the job done and with the "n" network card it has a good deal of speed moving files also. The big problem I've found, if there is one, is letting Microsoft's system do the set up. I would recommend you set your own preferences.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
prcombs54
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far I overall like this computer
11/27/2012

Customer review by viper71285

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by viper71285
by viper71285

Never had any serious issues with Toshiba's and this one stays right there with the others (so far) i have not had it long but seems to be built pretty well. Out of the box the 4GB of ram is enough but like always more is better. If i see any changes or issues i will update my review in the future

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
viper71285
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/10/2012

Customer review by Foxhoundkemist

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Foxhoundkemist
by Foxhoundkemist

Great laptop at a great price. Meets all of my expectations and has plenty of memory for my everyday uses.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Foxhoundkemist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 392 total reviews
1-20 of 392 reviews