Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

11 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

11 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-11 of 11 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

12/31/2012

Customer review by bitrunner

1.0 stars 12/31/2012 by bitrunner
by bitrunner

I bought this phone as a replacement for a landline phone. What attracted me to the phone was the potential savings and the triple minutes. Considering that I don't make or receive a lot of phone calls, this phone makes a lot of sense and will have a payback period of less than 6 months. That being said, one has to be disciplined about using the phone. You start using your minutes from the time you press the send key until the time you press the end key. If you dial a number and get a busy signal or wrong number,or dial your voice mail, you get your minutes docked a minute. So you could easily use your monthly minutes up very quickly if you are careless. It is also less costly to send text messages than to make phone calls; sending a text message docks your minutes about .05 instead of a full minute for a phone call. Making a phone call also rounds up your minutes, so if you make a call, that is 1.05 minutes, you will get charged for two. Cons: Web Browser – will consume your minutes without giving you anything in return. You cannot type anything into search fields, so you could not do do a google search. Nor can you log into your facebook account. Wasted 20 minutes of phone time with nothing to show for it. I consumed 20 minutes of phione time trying to get it to work. Response time is extremely slow. Clicking on links to the predefined links also very slow. Email – though there is a wizard to ease setting up accounts, when I use the values it set up, I could not login to my account. Have yet to download email, yet still get charged for the attempt. Bluetooth – I tried to use bluetooth to transfer images from the phone to my PC. You have only 3 minutes for the pairing to take place, and if there are problems, you have to start over. Would get connection failed messages; The only way I could transfer files back and forth between phone and pc was to use a USB data cable.samsung support was of no use, and good luck getting a technical explanation of how to get it to work from tracfone. Phone – even though the phone is supposed to work for my zip code, and I can call my landline, during busy periods, I get “check call restriction -34 “ messages. So there is little guarantee that when I actually need to use the phone, I will be able to get service. Also, in there service booklet, they tell you that in an emergency, you should search for a landline. Anybody try that scenario out recently; really negates the point of having a mobile phone to begin with. Tracfone support – you can obtain support from tracfone, but only if you fill out a support request. If you just have a question on how to do something, they will not answer the question without a support ticket. And generally speaking, the kind of answers you get is very uneven. Also, when I filled out a support ticket complaining about the call restrictions, they said I needed a new phone, but the phone I am receiving is only a double minutes phone that is $20 cheaper than the one I purchased. When they replace a phone, you have absolutely no choice on what phone you receive. They also make up the difference in the price of your replacement by adding minutes at their fullfilment center, so you don't get the advantage of triple or double minutes.

Was this review helpful? (59) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bitrunner
Marietta Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great slider phone.
12/2/2012

Customer review by m2mo

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by m2mo
by m2mo

I got this for an early Xmas gift. The person I gave it to loves it. They enjoy texting and talking on it. It is just hard to find a soft skin case that fits it.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
m2mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Quite Everything
10/26/2012

Customer review by jusumguy

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by jusumguy
by jusumguy

This phone is nice but since it has so many features... I have to wonder WHY THERE IS NO OWNERS MANUAL included in this item ? There is a bi-lingual summary book to get you started, but nothing that tells you about the important features. It's a struggle even for an experience geek. The keyboard is symbol driven so on a "per minute" phone... you are wasting your airtime trying to get it done.

Was this review helpful? (48) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jusumguy
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone
5/10/2013

Customer review by JoesGarage11

5.0 stars 5/10/2013 by JoesGarage11
by JoesGarage11

My wife and I bought this phone for our son, so he can stay in touch after school. It's perfect for our simple needs.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoesGarage11
Clinton, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/26/2013

Customer review by overnightsensation

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by overnightsensation
by overnightsensation

I'm not someone who lives on their phone, so I don't need anything too fancy. This is perfect for me to send texts and place occasional calls.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
overnightsensation
Clinton, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
8/31/2013

Customer review by GrayBeardFL

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by GrayBeardFL
by GrayBeardFL

Bought two T425G TracFones for my wife and myself. Best features slideout qwerty keyboard, display, signal and battery life. I was a little disappointed when I tried to take a picture of my HDTV display, very high, contrast, no detail but my wife likes the normal pictures she has taken.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrayBeardFL
Granby, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible..... Keeps DEDUCTING 5 - 9 SECS..EA. HR.
1/3/2014

Customer review by 100puddys

1.0 stars 1/3/2014 by 100puddys
by 100puddys

I WAS liking this phone, HOWEVER.... You sold me a "DEFECTIVE" Samsung T425G Trac Fone which cost me $64.49 !!!!!! NOT HAPPY WHAT-SO-EVER. I've been on the phone with Trac Fone for the past Three (3) Days trying to stop "5-10 Seconds DEDUCTING" (from my exsisting Minutes) - EVERY HOUR ON THE HOUR". Trac Fone is NOW SENDING ME A REPLACMENT OF THIS EXACT SAME PHONE, which I should be receiving w/in 3-5 Business Days. I am SOOOOOO FRUSTRATED BY NOW & DEFINITELY "NOT HAPPY" WITH WALMART.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
100puddys
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One of the BEST Basic Phones I've had
5/14/2014

Customer review by drinxx

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by drinxx
by drinxx

Despite the fact that Walmart's site says this phone won't work in my area (NY#, the Tracfone website says it does. I got it for $39.99 #$20+ cheaper than Walmart's site#, set it up and it's great. Also note, it is compatible with Safelink use. The slide out keyboard sliding mechanism has strong springs which makes it a little hard to slide in the natural way your hands will want to do it, but the keyboard works great. Has lots of features like speakerphone, voice recorder #very clear), Bluetooth, a 2mp camera, and a slot for a micro-sd card to expand the memory. It also has triple minutes for life which is awesome all on it's own. The savings on minutes will pay for the cost of the phone in no time. Very happy with it. Only thing I would have liked is some normal phone-sounding ringtones instead of the preloaded musical ones. Seems to have every feature a basic feature phone could have. Lots of bells & whistles for what it is.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drinxx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Basic phone for daughter
5/4/2014

Customer review by Billybob354

3.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Billybob354
by Billybob354

This is a reliable phone with a decent screen, and a qwerty keyboard. She doesn't get on the internet much, but she really likes the slide out keyboard because she texts a lot. Good phone for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Billybob354
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good for the price
10/17/2013

Customer review by milesama

4.0 stars 10/17/2013 by milesama
by milesama

When I needed a new phone, I wanted to get something as close as possible to my old phone, also a Samsung. I couldn't find the exact phone, but this one is very close. Very easy to learn ans operate. It's a super good deal for the price, and I really like it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
milesama
Sun City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Tracfone Samsung T425 cell phone
7/9/2014

Customer review by RobertHoudin

4.0 stars 7/9/2014 by RobertHoudin
by RobertHoudin

Huge complaint is that it took several DAYS to get Tracfone to activate this new phone! Unable to set up my Gmail email account, battery life seems pretty good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RobertHoudin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.