Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

62 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

62 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
13
1-20 of 60 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
Samsung s390g with WiFi
9/20/2012

Customer review by goodbear

4.0 stars 9/20/2012 by goodbear
by goodbear

I like this phone Because it has Wif and you don't need a unlimited data plan you can use a $25.00 750 minute plan.You can use the Mp3 player if you buy a micro sd card and download mp3 ringtones and wallpaper for your phone.I tried to get the Wifi setup thinking it was setup. Seing the Wifi symbol on the top I used the internet and found out it wasn't on it took off alot of my minutes off my phone. Searching youtube I found out that the Wifi is not connected inless it turns green then it is connected .Then I got my Wifi working it turned green so I new it was setup.The internet is slow without Wifi on but with Wifi it works good. You can get ringtones and wallpaper at net 10 but I got my ringtones at Funtonia.com and my wallpaper at mytinyphone.com don"t expect to get ringtones or wallpaper by text message it is being blocked by net 10.I used the Wap at mytinyphone.com.But Funtonia.com has 3 ways to download ringtones and wallpaper the ringtones are 30 seconds long at Funtonia.com

Was this review helpful? (111) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goodbear
Arnold,Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
S390G great except for trackpad
1/21/2013

Customer review by bestprep11

4.0 stars 1/21/2013 by bestprep11
by bestprep11

A great texting WiFi QWERTY phone. The only thing I found difficult to use was the new trackpad instead of navigation keys.

bestprep11
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great Phone
11/11/2012

Customer review by ORIGINALirishhandyman

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by ORIGINALirishhandyman
by ORIGINALirishhandyman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First off, Walmart needs to update their data base as to whether or not ANY phone will work in your area. I went to Net10.com to double check if it would work. It did. As for the phone, it is great. Its not a droid and it wont do apps, but as a phone with some neat goodies its got it. It has WiFi and with a good range. The micro SD is on the side, no pulling the back and battery to install or remove SD card. The sound quality is very good. This goes for phone and music playback. The menus are easy to understand and well thought out. The camera and camcorder is ok. Its not great, but in a pinch it does a good job. Depending on how you use it, the battery life is very good. There is very little you cant customize on the phone. This is the phone I have been looking for. Has every option that I wanted and no extras that I dont need. Also this is about the best phone deal that doesnt require you to get the $50.00 a month plan. If you have to plunk down $50.00 a month you might as well get a contract phone. I thought that was the whole idea of Net10, no contracts with monthly billing. Non the less, great phone.

Was this review helpful? (60) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ORIGINALirishhandyman
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
911 Anyone?
3/27/2014

Customer review by JCob86

2.0 stars 3/27/2014 by JCob86
by JCob86

I have had this phone for over 1.5 years, it works ok, I just have really bad service at my house. However, My biggest complaint is that when a phone is "locked" you shouldn't be able to make phone calls. Well the state police have me on speed dial because this cell phone has the ability to call emergency on it's own in my pocket. The worst part is, is that when the phone is locked all you have to do is hit send 2 times and voila you have 911 on the line. Not cool.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JCob86
Lowell, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SGH-S390G is a below-average instrument
8/8/2013

Customer review by Conversation

1.0 stars 8/8/2013 by Conversation
by Conversation

Although features and value are average compared to other phones of this type, I have to give the phone one star (poor) because it fails in one important area: dependability. I have been using this phone for miserable three months on Net10. Thank goodness I can now afford to get a real smartphone; I have ordered a Samsung Galaxy S III to replace this phone. I love the Samsung brand! My concerns with the SGH-S390G model have to do primarily with unreliability of the "lock" feature. The phone will randomly but frequently unlock itself in my pocket or purse, resulting in "butt-dialing" 911, or initiating the web browser and also actually powering down. These problems are embarrassing (911 operators have more important things to do!), costly (web minutes are killing my prepaid plan), and dangerous (I have missed very important text messages and calls because the phone doesn't have a power light) since the phone is off without my knowledge. I do not recommend this phone for these reasons alone.

Conversation
Dublin, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
Dont buy this one!
1/28/2013

Customer review by Lexie8

1.0 stars 1/28/2013 by Lexie8
by Lexie8

They didn't have the one I previously had that was like a blackberry. This one I have problems with the cursor not moving when texting, I have to shut down and start over. Also the keylock doesn't work well at all and being in my purse even against flat surfaces it will still either become unlocked or it will call emergency SOS many times. It's awful. Don't know why it wouldn't be securely lockable, kinda misses the point.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lexie8
WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WORST PHONE EVER!
3/18/2014

Customer review by saraelip

1.0 stars 3/18/2014 by saraelip
by saraelip

We got this phone 1.5 years ago. When texting it goes like this "Hey.What.Are.You.Up.To.?" Space button = . And it calls 911 at least 4 times everyday! Soon I'll be looking at a $150 fine from EMS services because of this stupid phone. Worst Phone. DONT BUY.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saraelip
pittsboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Phone keeps dailing 112 or 911 in my pocket
8/11/2013

Customer review by steveh1966

1.0 stars 8/11/2013 by steveh1966
by steveh1966

I have a big problem with this phone calling 911 in my pocket. It even does this with the keypad locked!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steveh1966
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone but It calls the police all the time
2/6/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/6/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Great phone but It calls the police all the time in my pocket. So you have to get a case for it . It gets email and tells you when you are receiving it You can text and send email and do some web functions. It has wifi

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pocket Dials 911
12/25/2013

Customer review by Agray0205

1.0 stars 12/25/2013 by Agray0205
by Agray0205

This phone pocket dials 911 several times a day even though the keypad is locked.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Agray0205
New Lebanon, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/25/2013

Customer review by katieeeeeeeee

3.0 stars 3/25/2013 by katieeeeeeeee
by katieeeeeeeee

It always called 911 which I see others have problems with. Mine takes a while to call people and tends to freeze up before calling them. Still works the same after 6 months of use and I've dropped it many times so defiantly a good phone for a first phone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katieeeeeeeee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Great Phone (especially for the money)
1/6/2016

Customer review by Gr8ValueHunter

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Gr8ValueHunter
by Gr8ValueHunter

This is the most reliable phone I ever had (and I have been using it for about a year). All of the built in features (including wifi, texting, email and some downloadable apps) work smoothly. The internal browser works pretty well, but I would recommend downloading the Opera Mini 8 browser for java-based mobile phones, as well as Google Maps (2.3.2). Battery life is very good (markedly better than smartphones), though I would classify this as an apps phone which functions like a smartphone in many ways. But I can't recommend this for anyone who absolutely needs the full functionality of a smartphone.(One shortcoming is that it does not have nearly as many available apps as a smartphone-- as well as a rather small viewing screen, among other things). But it is excellent for what it is.

Gr8ValueHunter
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Poor Choice in Phones
1/24/2013

Customer review by Rar0165

1.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Rar0165
by Rar0165

Purchased phone at other retail outlet. have had phone less than 24 hrs. Spent 2 hrs. on phone with tech support TRYING to resolve issues. Unable to log onto Google (phone takes you to email via messaging setup that provides NO security for your accounts if phone is lost). Took forever (and a dozen attempts) to get wifi to link to router. Not enough memory for what phone is marketed (and advertised) to be able to do.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rar0165
Chattanooga TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Basic product.
12/10/2014

Customer review by Gemma01

1.0 stars 12/10/2014 by Gemma01
by Gemma01

The S390G meets all the basic needs of a phone with the added bonus of Wi-fi and data yet I would not recommend it. I read numerous reviews about the phone accidentally calling 911 and the owner ending up with fines but because it seemed like such a good deal I bought it anyway. Now, I've lost track of how many times it has dialed 911, even when I have turned the phone off. The camera doesn't produce clear pictures and the internet connection is so basic I can't access my email through gmail.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gemma01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't waste your time
11/30/2014

Customer review by Chump567

1.0 stars 11/30/2014 by Chump567
by Chump567

This phone is defective. Cannot manually dial numbers as the last four digits keep reversing and it will not let you fix by backing up. The numbers must be put into 'contact list' first.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chump567
Would recommend to a friend? No
"Special Feature" Special Trouble!
1/2/2016

Customer review by Scibba

1.0 stars 1/2/2016 by Scibba
by Scibba

I hate this phone. I have had it for over a year and it has dialed 911 more times that I can count. If it's in my purse and my purse gets bumped, the phone calls 911 - "LOCK THE PHONE" I am told. THE PHONE IS IN LOCK!! The special feature is that it can dial 911 even in locked position. DON'T BUY IT! It's dialed 911 just from tossing it on my car seat - being in my pocket and reaching for my keys. I am actually going to find a new phone right now because it dialed 911 three times yesterday. I can't leave the phone off because I have children that are in school and I need to be able to be contacted when I am not home.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scibba
Would recommend to a friend? No
good phone for the $
8/11/2012

Customer review by whowhatwhen

4.0 stars 8/11/2012 by whowhatwhen
by whowhatwhen

This is a good phone for its price range. Pros: It has WiFi allowing internet access without carrier charges, the sound quality is good, has Bluetooth, lightweight but seems of good quality. Cons: buttons are a bit small. I am constantly double clicking the space bar which gives you a period and a space (frustrating), the screen is small for internet use (but I really only intend to use it for needed searches while away from a PC), My biggest gripe and I think its substantial is that it comes loaded with "Samsung PC Studio" which is needed to transfer contacts and for whatever reason, though Samsung sells this phone to my provider they don't support the provider and therefore supply no driver for this phone to be used with their own software. Incredibly lame and leaves you typing them in one by one with the phones keypad.

whowhatwhen
Finger lakes, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
I'm Not A Smartphone Snob
10/25/2012

Customer review by Meme316

4.0 stars 10/25/2012 by Meme316
by Meme316

This little beauty is a great starter phone for those that has not used one b4. U can't beat the value. Been using it only for 2 1/2 weeks;I like it alot. I'm previous owner of 1 of the first smartphones with WIFI 06' & wanted something similiar with a keyboard & not a touchscreen. With 1 of those contract providers for 15 yrs paying 4 service I didn't use. Unfortunely couldn't take my old phone with me. Small issue trying to use WIFI on secure sites. I'm sure I'll get it worked out just hadn't had the necessary time to research the problem. Alarm function is different from what I'm use to (I use my phone as personal wake up alarm.) I like the navigation button. Too bad I'm gonna have to manually enter my addressbook. Haven't used camera/video yet. great signal & volume "no drop calls"

Meme316
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Pocket dials emergency
11/14/2013

Customer review by Techtheman1

2.0 stars 11/14/2013 by Techtheman1
by Techtheman1

I bought this phone about a year ago and have found some good things in the phone, BUT there is a crazy flaw in the design. In the lock menu screen it can pocket dial 911 without you knowing at all. This has happened to me 5 times now. Once even happened during school and I almost got into some serious troubles with school and 911. Luckily we sorted it out and all was well. After this happening I never wanted this to happen again so I bought a case for the phone. It still does it. Trust me on this guys, it is an alright phone you can't have a phone that pocket dials 911 constantly. You think that it wont happen to you? well guess what it will. Look for another phone before purchasing this phone. Not worth the stress and hassle of pocket dialing an emergency number.

Techtheman1
Earth
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
It is what it is
7/15/2012

Customer review by 0711

3.0 stars 7/15/2012 by 0711
by 0711

The phone's "browser" isn't exactly a browser but you can get on the internet in a round about way. There doesn't seem to be any possibility of adding necessary applications such as a password vault which I find to be one of my most important features on the Blackberry I am replacing. I tried an Android but the screen was hard on my eyes. I am thinking about using this as a backup and going to an Android with a larger screen to have access to applications. Samsung offers game downloads for a fee but I don't use a phone as a mobile game station. I do use the calendar, tasks memo and of course the password vault I am sorely missing. If it was available I would be willing to overlook the sorry browser and give this phone high marks as it does perform very well

0711
KCMO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews