Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 71 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
Lacks some key features. Recommend? Kinda.
3/7/2013

Customer review by EyePasteMe

3.0 stars 3/7/2013 by EyePasteMe
by EyePasteMe

Pros: beautiful screen, fast Cons: no drive mode or text to speech, voice commands inconsistent (and I speak pretty clearly), notification light useless, older version of Android If you want to use this for gaming and web surfing, great. But if you want to use it as a phone it has some major drawbacks. There is NO "drive mode" on this phone. Drive mode enables you to have the phone read you caller ID and text messages so you don't have to look at the phone when your driving. You also can't have it auto-respond to texts, so you can't notify anyone that you're driving and can't read your messages. Hands-free is the law in CA and I now have to search for an app that will handle these for me. The Galaxy S3 has drive mode and so do older LG flip phones, so it's been left off deliberately. Not such a smart move for a smart phone. Also, the notification light is around the power button (not on the front like most) and it only blinks once every 30 seconds, so be sure to keep staring...

EyePasteMe
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast
8/16/2013

Customer review by cje

5.0 stars 8/16/2013 by cje
by cje

I am not into apps, toys, and facebook. I use the phone for business so I am most concerned about call quality, internet speed, e-mails, and GPS when I fly into a new airport and rent a car. Best I've had for all of these things. My work is frequently outside in the sun and the screen does pretty well with that. The camera is good. I get sharp pictures that I can enlarge. But mostly this phone is fast. I often need to research a topic on the internet in the field, and this phone saves me time. Also, the screen is very sharp. I can enlarge the screen to look at drawings and maps and still retain resolution. The SD card is good also. I can put each client on a separate card and reference documents as I need them. It is becoming an essential feature for me. The music is okay on long airplane rides, but its a phone, not an audio system, so I don't expect much. The SD card is good for music, also. I put each genre on a different card and switch as my mood changes. So this phone works very well for me.

cje
SF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't download anything, phone doesn't work.
12/21/2015

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 12/21/2015 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

Phone doesn't work, big waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
ok...not as good as my cheaper,lower model LG
12/10/2015

Customer review by wink

3.0 stars 12/10/2015 by wink
by wink

This phone uses AT&T towers which are very inefficient in my geographical area.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wink
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pretty good (for the novice)
10/29/2015

Customer review by tjnhi

4.0 stars 10/29/2015 by tjnhi
by tjnhi

Well recieved the phone in excellent condition , That being said, I know i am kinda "hard" on my equipment, this phone held up a lot better than others i have had in the past. Again.... that being said soon after Rooting it, all sorts of issues starting happening . (and of course AT&T cant have anything to do with me or the phone.) other than that an excellent gift, dont know if i would pay the asking price for it in the store.

tjnhi
San Francisco, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Refuse to upgrade
10/9/2015

Customer review by LGfan15

5.0 stars 10/9/2015 by LGfan15
by LGfan15

This is my third LG phone. I've had the Optimus G for 2 years now. I can easily upgrade but this one works so well that I do not see a need to. I cannot count the number of time i have dropped this phone, sat on it and more... but it just keeps working! Love this product.

LGfan15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THE BEST PHONE I'VE EVER OWNED!!
2/27/2013

Customer review by Seafan13

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by Seafan13
by Seafan13

I have only had this phone for a week...and I gotta say that his is the best phone EVER!! I have big hands and big fingers, so, naturally I need a fairly large sized phone to accommodate. Well, after weeks of online research of the latest and greatest Android phones... this phone turned out to be the one I was looking for. It is big enough and comfortable enough in my hand, and is a great size for me to text with..of course I turn it sideways for maximum keyboard size. With it's enormous 4.7" screen, watching Youtube videos and taking pictures is great!! I especially like the panoramic feature in the camera app..very cool! The battery life is very good as well. I use this phone from the time I get up, roughly 5am until we go to bed around 11pm, and the battery still has about 20-25% left..this is after using it to play one of the many games I've downloaded, listen to music, go online, and watch videos, newscasts, etc. This will be the last phone I purchase for quite a while, and, after owning it for a week, would DEFINITELY recommend it to anyone!! And, I am picking up a case with kick stand and screen protector on eBay for it!! Way to go LG!!! You have found a loyal customer in me!!

Seafan13
Oklahoma, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Bad
12/13/2013

Customer review by Yogi1Bear

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by Yogi1Bear
by Yogi1Bear

Well I was using a Pantech Discover before this phone and I miss the options I had with my Pantech plus the camera had better megapixel 12.4 and it was great for videos but the LG Optimus G does have a quad core and the 2meg of ram is really nice but I hate not being able to change what dial pad to a color I want and when sending texts I have to send them ugly droids for smiley faces and half the time I can't even see what they are but oh well, other than that it is a good phone so far but time will tell not sure about the way the battery is on these phones because I believe they are part of the back cover and if you put a hard case on these they cover part of the screen because they don't waste any space on this phone.

Yogi1Bear
Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good, but with some small problems
2/28/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 2/28/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Pros: Great screen Good Value Very Fast Cons: Slight problems with customization Some small problems indicative of the first generation of a new product Not very popular, so information pertaining to problems are hard to find Not very popular so aftermarket accessories aren't plentiful Battery is not removable I didn't like the stock messaging app, so i purchased ChompSMS but that app wasn't configured to the Optimus G and it couldn't use the quick compose function The autocorrect is not very good. It didn't change "Rjght" to "right" even though the words are one letter different and that letter is next to the correct one. I couldn't get the stock texting app to be silent and the 3rd party app to notify me. Either both would or neither would. Whenever I google a problem like "How do I put the battery percentage in the status bar of my Optimus G" it is very hard to find websites discussing my phone specifically. Bottom line: It's an impressive first foray into the iPhone fighters market, but I would recommend waiting to see how the market responds. If sales continue to lag, aftermarket options will remain limited. But I really hope it does well because the market could use another competitor. I have high hopes for a second generation of this phone.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A powerful and sleek slab of technology
11/30/2012

Customer review by esron

4.0 stars 11/30/2012 by esron
by esron

I've had the LG Optimus G for around 3 weeks and I am extremely impressed. The phone is incredibly quick, loads everything buttery smooth, and the display is big, bright and crisp. The phone has an excellent in-hand feel and feels like a solid slab. The appearance of the phone is extremely stylish with the completely flat glass back and squared off corners. The only drawback to this design is the glass back. The glass is too slick, allowing the phone to slide of surfaces with even the slightest incline. The back glass is also very fragile, Mine developed a small crack from a <2ft drop onto hardwood floor. Overall, the phone is excellent although I wish LG would have designed a little stronger back panel.

esron
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Never
3/20/2014

Customer review by Apollo

1.0 stars 3/20/2014 by Apollo
by Apollo

I have never had problems with a phone like I do with the Optimus G. I'm on my second one this year because of software problems. and I had to pay MORE money to get the second one than the first one. It has been only two months since I got the second one in the mail and it is already having software issues. It randomly shuts off, gives me a black screen when I click the unlock button, and doesn't have a removable battery so I can't even reset the battery to get it to work again. LG did not live up to my expectations when I got this phone, and I would not recommend this model to anyone else except the employees who made it so that they can see what I have been through with the product.

Apollo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Simply amazing
11/21/2012

Customer review by Lifelesslump

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by Lifelesslump
by Lifelesslump

This phone is incredible. The speed, the performance, the overall feel of the device is amazing. It multitasks like a charm, plays almost every game without flaws, and the screen is perfect for being big, but not uncomfortable in the hand and pocket. Not only competes, but beats the competitors best efforts. My only problem is the battery is average, which does not meet up with the way above average phone's other features. I would like to see the ability to transfer games to the micro sd card (which can go up to 64 GBs!) in a future update. The phone is very easy to navigate. The 16 GBs of internal storage is plenty for my many games. Overall very satisfied with this phone.

Lifelesslump
Idaho, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mostly Good
10/1/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Love the design, although it's a little slick to hold, you need a case to prevent dropping the product. My three gripes are the design of the messaging app - don't like the split screen thing and I don't like and don't understand why you need to have your mobile data on to send/receive pictures. That is one reason I got rid of the iPhone. Last gripe, this phone forces you to use the AT&T phone book app, making you put your personal info & that of your friends & family out somewhere else to be backed up. I back that up with my Google account. But those are quirks that bother me personally. My husband and I both have this phone and overall, it's an excellent product.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautifully Fragile!
11/15/2012

Customer review by erica99

4.0 stars 11/15/2012 by erica99
by erica99

So I love this phone!!! But I am really sad that its soo fragile! If you get this phone dont drop it I dropped it from the high of my hip to the ground (concrete) and the back is now spider webbed shattered!! I've dropped my old Iphone tons of times and it never shattered! I am only 5 foot 3 inches so i'm not that tall to begin. pros - fast beautiful amazing phone cons - super super fragile I thought gorilla glass was supposed to be able to wistand some impact... Oh and the ironic part was I dropped my brand new (1 week old) android phone after switching from apple at the google campus and the back shattered!

erica99
san francisco
Would recommend to a friend? No
EASIEST PHONE TO BREAK
2/14/2014

Customer review by maddy

2.0 stars 2/14/2014 by maddy
by maddy

the quality of display and speed are amazing. it has amazing battery life and a high quality camera, the problem I have is that I have had the phone for 2 months, and have broken it three times, I went outside it was hot came inside it was cool, looked and the back had shattered, not cracked, shattered. then another time I dropped it and the screen cracked. not a problem right? well the half with the crack would not respond to touch. then today it fell out of my pocket and the screen shattered and the phone wont respond at all, so its a great phone if you never take it anywhere.

maddy
Denver, CO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great phone, but not the greatest.
6/25/2013

Customer review by billya742

3.0 stars 6/25/2013 by billya742
by billya742

While this is an extremely fast phone it's not the best. I have had many problems with mine. First of all, after a long days use of the phone, the standard LG keyboard starts to lag a lot! It can be very hard to text with at night. Also, for some odd reason, the original settings app on my phone has stopped working. I haven't done anything that would put my phone at risk but for for some reason, it has stopped. Every time I click on it, a notification will pop up saying, "unfortunately settings has stopped". But, if you can live with that, like myself, then it is a great phone!

billya742
Orlando, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
One of the worst phones I've ever had!
5/28/2014

Customer review by rikki.d

1.0 stars 5/28/2014 by rikki.d
by rikki.d

I can't stand owning this phone. At first, it seems like a great phone, but don't let it fool you. My husband and I both have this phone. He has trouble with the battery lasting throughout the day. I have cracked the screen twice to where it is not operable, and the second time was from three feet up, and it fell onto carpet. Pretty sad. Also, we cannot find adequate cases for this phone. We got hard shells for them, but they overheat the phones within 5 minutes if you are using the phone. I'm really disappointed and can't wait to get a different phone.

rikki.d
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fast and Gorgeous!
11/4/2012

Customer review by Krzyleo

5.0 stars 11/4/2012 by Krzyleo
by Krzyleo

This is a top of the line smartphone. It blazes! The display is really really nice. It feels good in the hand. Solid. Doesn't have that cheap plastic feel like some of the other smartphones out there. I own one of the newer LG smart 3d tvs, I was able to project what was on my phone to my tv easily and seemlessly and was still able to do other things on my phone. The phone itsself is great! I just wish it would have come with headphones and with Jelly Bean. Currently, it has Ice Cream Sandwich. LG don't forget to upgrade us to Jelly Bean here in the USA! Love your products!

Krzyleo
Gaithersburg, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad!
1/16/2013

Customer review by Kyle

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by Kyle
by Kyle

Bought an LG Optimus G to replace an LG Optimus Black I had. This thing has more juice than my first computer which is not all that surprising but pretty impressive nonetheless. Overall a great phone, only downside is battery life. Can offer a few tips though for anyone out there using right now. Download Juice Defender, turn off data/wifi when not in use and use 40% screen brightness if you're sitting down using it for an extended period of time. You will see a major improvement. I'm a fairly heavy user and i'm getting 3 days from a full charge now instead of 1 1/2 - 2.

Kyle
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fan of android approved
12/30/2013

Customer review by my69opelgt

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by my69opelgt
by my69opelgt

I was at first apprehensive of a phone i was forced into through an insurance loss. Very pleasantly surprised by the responsive screen and snappy processors. However the hype of the 2 gb ram was short lived once two widgets were on the home screen it was less than half ram available. Running a graphics intensive app it shows another red flag and the temperatures rise considerably, to a point i am forced to put it down and find burn cream. Overall everyday tasks are taken care of with ease but still not convinced it can take much more than email and social apps.

my69opelgt
Boise, ID, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews