Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

56 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

56 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
17
1-20 of 50 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Very pleased, works with the $30 plan
12/9/2012

Customer review by Canopyfan2

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Canopyfan2
by Canopyfan2

I love Samsung quality and S390G did not disappoint. The case is non-metallic but feels cool to the touch like metal. The form is slender and wide making it easy to hold and text with one hand. 3G and WiFi work flawlessly, can surf without burning your minutes on the $30 plan. S3905G has enhanced security to password each or all applications and contacts, however security does not block Internet access. Youtube videos look good, can upload from the phone. The 2.4 (diagonal) display is beautiful, bright, with dark blue background for soothing contrast, love that the clock and battery meter are easy to see at a glance. QWERTY keypad is wide, with a message key, calendar key, shortcut menu key stores up to 12 favorites from main menu and submenus. The scrollpad is feathery and lightening quick on menu options. Microsoft Exchange, Yahoo and Gmail are easy to setup (Gmail has a security setting you have to change online first), including several intervals for downloading. I've downloaded and used several apps from getjar.com including Google Maps, Platinum Mahjongg, Opera Mini, Accuweather, Microsoft Messenger. Bluetooth works great with FIAT's Blue&Me, let's me transfer my contacts to it and make calls, plays music thru the TomTom media center. I purchased a Samsung brand bluetooth ear piece and quality is good. Speaker phone is easy to activate, the microsd slot is conveniently located on the outside left and takes up to a 32 GB card. Phone books holds 2000 entries with many options including 4 types of phones, memo, email, default #, speed dial, groups, URLs, company, title, street address, picture, ringtone. Battery life is very good, comes with a 1000 mAh battery and wall-charger. One drawback is it easily pocket dials and browses the web...I advise anyone to use the keypad lock at all times. This is not a smartphone, nor a touch screen, not for the simple mind, the spoiled teen, nor the bored genius. $49 is a good price and I give this phone five-stars for doing everything it's supposed to do. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (130) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Canopyfan2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 10 contributor
Great phone
4/9/2013

Customer review by Kiki25

4.0 stars 4/9/2013 by Kiki25
by Kiki25

Straight Talk never suggested that the s390g was a smart phone, so I don't know why people are complaining that it doesn't have all the features of smart phones do. It's a simple messaging which happens to have wifi. For a messaging phone, I think it has more to offer than most. It's also very easy to set up, and I can get to everything I use regularly with the shortcut key on the bottom right of the keyboard. Speaking of, the keyboard is very easy to type on, spacious, and tactile. I don't have to fight with the phone for every word I'm trying to text. The only slight problem is if I press the right side of the space key it tends to enter a period where I didn't want one. Minor flaw compared to all the frustration I get by trying to text on a touch phone. It's a phone with buttons, so if you don't keep the keyboard locked of course your going butt dial the local police department, but that's also not much of an issue. To unlock, you press the right hand key, then the left. Difficult? Not at all. You can also set it to lock by holding down the Alt key. I think the phone gets a fair few of those bells and whistles every body wants for half the price. I still listen to music, check my email, scroll through Facebook, check the weather, and read the news. I even stream youtube on there if I'm that bord. The video quality is excellent for a simpler and inexpensive phone. I can do all of this for free using wifi. If you really feel you need more than that then waste your money on an expensive smart phone, but for the average user I think this phone is great.

Was this review helpful? (65) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kiki25
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
REVIEW
11/11/2012

Customer review by NonnaD

4.0 stars 11/11/2012 by NonnaD
by NonnaD

Better then I expected for just a good old regular text messaging phone. Good Sound and connectivity. Runs on AT&T Towers, nice. Bigger and easier to handle. My favorite phone for a $30 account.

Was this review helpful? (63) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NonnaD
Akron,Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellant phone
5/20/2013

Customer review by IdahoJack

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by IdahoJack
by IdahoJack

My daughter and I researched phones for several weeks before we narrowed our search to two phones. Both of the phones were Samsung phones. We settled on the Samsung S390G because it gave us the perks we were looking for. We needed a phone that was similar to a smart phone, we wanted a QWERTY key pad, a phone that we could download ringtones, pictures and other content that is important to us such as music. The S390G does all of this and more! and it does it well. We have downloaded ringtones and wall papers for our phones; have assigned ringtones to friends numbers and a ring tone for text messages. We aren't sure if you can assign individual ringtones to an individual text sender but that would be nice if you could. The skins we purchased for our phones gave us access to all the ports the phone has plus the protection we want for our phones. Call quality is great! It is a little different from the former system we were on but the sound is just as good. We are getting used to the fact that we get a running total on minutes and minutes used but we are liking it. As a whole, my wife, daughter, and I are glad we bought the S390G it is a good phone for anyone that doesn't want or need a smart phone.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IdahoJack
Rupert Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty cool basic phone
12/17/2012

Customer review by ZanKing

3.0 stars 12/17/2012 by ZanKing
by ZanKing

I don"t normally write reviews..but my experience may help others. When considering a Straight Talk Phone plan ..go to their website FIRST...you HAVE to enter your ZIP CODE...THEN the phones that work BEST in your zip code will only be offered. DO NOT rely on Wal Mart store inventory..This phone was awesome (was...) It was a step up from my BlackBerry Curve that had the track ball but no browser capability. That said, it is BASIC..and the browser function is NOT very user friendly...had awesome sound during calls..better than my BlackBerry Torch..BUT the internal memory chip failed on day 6!!! I had NOTHING downloaded or entered..i.e. music/contacts, etc. If you want a BASIC phone to talk/text...and maybe a browser in an emergency, this will work..it is one of the few that are offered on the $30/month plan...the more sophisticated "smart" phones will HAVE to have the $45/month plan....FYI...cases are easily found use. the Samsung "chat 527" as a search option...many on Ebay or amazon..but the go under the chat 527 name, which is the SAME phone...

Was this review helpful? (53) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZanKing
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good nearly-smart phone
6/20/2013

Customer review by katannepoet22

4.0 stars 6/20/2013 by katannepoet22
by katannepoet22

I got this phone because I wanted a smartphone, but didn't want to pay for one. You can view most web pages, download some apps, play music, take photos and video, as well as call and text. My only complaints are that sometimes the wi-fi or touch-pad decide not to work properly (turning the phone off and back on has fixed it every time so far), and the battery doesn't last as long as I'd like (probably due to my addiction to games on my phone). In my opinion, this is probably the best phone you can get with StraightTalk's $30/month plan, which is a great price for phone service. Overall I love the phone and would recommend it to anyone who wants a smartphone, but not the bill that comes with one.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katannepoet22
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Think of this phone as a hybrid
10/10/2013

Customer review by jtb333

3.0 stars 10/10/2013 by jtb333
by jtb333

I bought this phone from Straight Talk's site and it had free s&h to my home. I bought the All You Need Plan. I'm in my 50s so I probably won't use all 1,000 minutes of talk time or 1,000 texts that I get with this plan. It's what I consider a hybrid type of phone. It has some smart phone features and some features that are like the most basic cell phones out there. I was excited to find that it uses AT&T and Tmobile towers in my area. Thinking I would be with the AT&T towers most of the time would give me great coverage. No, they assigned my home address the TMobile towers. I was previously on T Mobile 5 years ago when I moved to this state. I had lousy coverage then. It may be the phone or they might have upgraded slightly but I have 2 bars and sometimes 3 in my house compared to 5 years ago when the whole house was 1 bar and I had to go outside and up the street to get a decent signal. All in all, it's OK, I use my house phone when home so I may not be needing the 3 bars I'd like to have all the time when home.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jtb333
Calabash, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/18/2012

Customer review by MyTen

2.0 stars 11/18/2012 by MyTen
by MyTen

I purchased this phone for my smarttalk account. However, I really didn't check out all of the reviews, but wished I had. This phone and maybe it because I bought the $30.00 phone plan, but the features are 'killing' me. Too many steps to get to what you need, but hey, this plan is saving me 1100.00 per year since I've left SPRINT. I was with SPRINT for over 12 years and they never gave me any credit or anything...just the upgrade to a better phone, which I never used all of those features anyway. Well now, I don't have a family plan, just an individual and this is going to save me money. Eventually, I may upgrade to a better phone and a different plan, but for right now, this works and saves me $$$$$.

Was this review helpful? (48) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyTen
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A poor choice for a cellphone.
2/13/2013

Customer review by AlanBV

1.0 stars 2/13/2013 by AlanBV
by AlanBV

This phone has several problems that stem from what it looks like and what tries to do. It looks a bit like a Blackberry, a Palm Treo, or a hybrid smartphone with a keyboard. Having a color screen suggests that you can browse the web... but it's so small, that it's actually useless to try to read anything on it. The keyboard looks like it came from a classic PDA... but interaction between the keyboard and the tiny screen is very slow and awkward. A task as simple as trying to enter contacts was very frustrating. I've had simple, old-fashioned cellphones that worked fine with simple menus and controls, but this hybrid tries to combine so many different features that nothing actually works well. It makes phone calls fine, but a simple, cheaper cellphone would be easier to use. I suggest you skip it. If you simply need a cellphone to make calls, just buy a plain cellphone. If you need to check email or browse the web, then step up to a real smartphone. That's what I finally did, buying a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim through Walmart's StraightTalk plan after returning the Samsung S390G.

Was this review helpful? (21) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlanBV
Bella Vista, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I do not like my phone...
5/1/2013

Customer review by PCBmommy

1.0 stars 5/1/2013 by PCBmommy
by PCBmommy

I really didn't think I was that picky about my cell phone, but I really do not like this phone. It would probably be fine if I just needed it for basic calling. For texting, the only indicator you receive that you have a new message is a little envelope icon that silently appears. There is no sound or screen to let you know that someone has texted you. Also, if you text a long message, it does not let you continue typing until completion so that it can send the entire message automatically as more than one text like most phones. You have to either fit it all into one message, or you have to type the first part of the message, send it, and then type the rest, and send it. This causes a delay between when the recipient receives each part of your message. This is the first time I've had internet access on a phone and I was excited. I really don't need it, but it would be nice to have occasionally. However, the screen functions for the internet are so "user unfriendly", that it is more of a hassle to use the browser than helpful, so I really don't use it at all. Also, the screen lock is very annoying. It's necessary so that you don't make accidental calls, but you have to push "unlock" then spacebar to unlock it. It makes sense to have a two-button unlock function, but most times that I push "unlock", it doesn't give me a chance to push the spacebar before flashing a message again that the screen is locked. This results in me having to push "unlock" many times before it works, which gets very frustrating. Long story short... I'm really considering ditching this phone and finding a better one.

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PCBmommy
Panama City Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/14/2013

Customer review by Itzynicole

3.0 stars 5/14/2013 by Itzynicole
by Itzynicole

this phone does what i need it to do, I would recommend it, the only thing about is the company it works with which is straighttalk. I have been with them for a while but customer service can be a hassle!. the phone works great.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Itzynicole
Rogers Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not buy not worth the money!
4/24/2013

Customer review by ashng14

2.0 stars 4/24/2013 by ashng14
by ashng14

At first, I was thrilled with this phone which I purchased through Tracfone. I was happy with the wifi and the Facebook app that was available. But, after a week of using it, it became clear that the phone has issues. After it made 3 calls in a week to 911 on it's own, I did some research and came to find that Samsung is aware of the issue. Apparently the key pad lock doesn't work when the keys are bumped too rapidly (say in your purse or diaper bag etc.) the phone will automatically call Emergency. Now, my local 911 center knows my number and is becoming irritated, so I guess I will be getting a new phone. In addition, while I have good signal and should have no problem sending or receiving text messages, there is a long delay and by long I mean I have had it take 6 hours to receive a text.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ashng14
Bedford, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buy it.
6/14/2013

Customer review by S390G

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by S390G
by S390G

Set-up was a breeze. My Bluetooth headset paired perfectly. I found that this phone in my area uses Verizon. Accesses Gmail perfectly. Fairly intuitive to use. Buy it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
S390G
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful for a beginner, relatively simple to use
3/14/2014

Customer review by value2seeker

5.0 stars 3/14/2014 by value2seeker
by value2seeker

I just ventured into the world of texting and am not a big fan of technology. I did have some assistance from my kids getting everything set up but have been able to use it quite successfully for the most part. I still have many things to learn I am sure but the phone has all of the features I will need. The screen is not easy to see outdoors though so that may become an issue at some point.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
value2seeker
Greeley, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice phone with $30 plan
4/24/2013

Customer review by valpoman

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by valpoman
by valpoman

Phone works well overall. Opera mini program is great. Can run a lot of Java Apps from getjar.com. Wifi also works well. I don;t have any complaints.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
valpoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Defective phone- long delays- hours on the phone
1/4/2013

Customer review by Bdddd

3.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Bdddd
by Bdddd

Don't know if the phone is okay yet. It was defective from the beginning, and it was clearly defective. I spent hours upon hours on the phone going thru the same tests and procedures. Each Time It was clear th phone was defective. Finally after at least four hours on the phone, company agreed to send a new Working phone. It has been 11 days snd I still don't have the replacement. I hope it works.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bdddd
Atl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Strange Phone
8/13/2013

Customer review by dmdavis

3.0 stars 8/13/2013 by dmdavis
by dmdavis

This phone was just a little too sensitive to the touch. The slightest touch would unlock it, like so many other reviewers said. It has a fatal flaw. The unlock button is on each end of the phone, like a teeter totter, to unlock it all you have to do is swipe it, or bump it, or let the puppy step on it, or anything and it will unlock. Another thing I noticed is that the period is on the space bar button so every time you type a letter and push space, it makes a period after each word. I. lost. my. money. on. this. one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmdavis
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
The perfect phone
7/18/2013

Customer review by candyman85

5.0 stars 7/18/2013 by candyman85
by candyman85

Item was purchased to replace my parents old phone. Very sturdy and up to date phone. Would recommend item to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
candyman85
miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/5/2013

Customer review by Zaayy

1.0 stars 9/5/2013 by Zaayy
by Zaayy

This phone may be ok in general, but the particular one I received is a dud. Keyboard malfunctions and touch navigation is oversensitive, returning immediately.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zaayy
Bridgewater, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wouldn't buy
12/2/2013

Customer review by Phonelady45

2.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Phonelady45
by Phonelady45

The ophone scroll bar is way to sensitive. Also the browser button is easily started when you aren't trying to. There is no lock button so again if you aren't carefully handling the phone you will accidentally dial the web. So it's like you have to treat this phone with extra care or you will use all time buy dialing or getting on the web when you didn't know it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phonelady45
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews