Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 145 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

145 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

145 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
33
3 stars
10
2 stars
16
1 stars
20
1-20 of 135 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 135 total reviews
1-20 of 135 reviews
Good phone, ok reception, not so good battery life
10/25/2012

Customer review by mkm47

3.0 stars 10/25/2012 by mkm47
by mkm47

I got this phone as a graduation gift from my parents. I really wanted a smart phone but didn’t have the money to buy one or the monthly payments. I decided to go with this pre-paid smartphone and it’s more than I ever wanted! It's fast, responsive, and the screen is awesome! My friends always think its an iPhone from a distance. However, since this phone connects to Sprint towers (I believe), I would recommend using this phone if you live in larger cities or if you know your town has good reception with Sprint. It’s good where I live now, but it’s completely useless if I visit my family and friends that do live in smaller towns. Also the battery life is not that impressive. I get that it’s a smartphone and it uses a lot of battery but it’s getting to the point where even in the middle of a day I’m down to 20% battery life. I am happy with this phone, but I feel that I will probably upgrade phones after a year.

Was this review helpful? (210) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mkm47
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Started off great, Ended up terrible.
10/30/2013

Customer review by Casadilla

2.0 stars 10/30/2013 by Casadilla
by Casadilla

I've been with Straight Talk for a few years now and I got this phone about a year ago, with it being my first smartphone, I was pretty excited about what I could do with it and some of its great features! The first couple of months were great and I was really excited about it. Then after that it would randomly restart, which was annoying but I dealt with it. Now after a year of having it I have to get a new phone because of all its problems. Apps and function such as the camera crash or freeze and I have to force close them just about every time. The battery life last about 2 hours with minimal use and I have to take my charger with me everywhere I go. When I do place it on the charger it spazzes out like it has a mind of its own, sliding the screens and opening apps and closing them back out. It freezes, I don't get some messages that are sent to me, and its just a pain to deal with at this point. Which is disappointing after all that money and only a years worth of use. Save yourself time and hassle and get a different phone if you plan on keeping it for a while.

Was this review helpful? (135) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Casadilla
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Verizon
11/8/2013

Customer review by BaBaBaBabbbb

4.0 stars 11/8/2013 by BaBaBaBabbbb
by BaBaBaBabbbb

Blue map on the front of the box means "AT&T" network. Ordered because a review said it was on the Verizon network. Buyer beware.

Was this review helpful? (75) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BaBaBaBabbbb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great Phone In My Opinion
5/3/2014

Customer review by Callenz

5.0 stars 5/3/2014 by Callenz
by Callenz

I've read many bad reviews about this phone and some of them I just don't understand. I don't have any problems with the battery running low quicklyor it taking forever to charge and I have A TON of Apps and things that would be sucking it dry. Maybe they just got a defective phone I guess. I used to have the LG Optimus Logic and the upgrade to this is mind blowing. So much space! I haven't even put a dent in it yet. Finally no more dark and fuzzy pictures. The camera on this is awesome. The screen is so big a bright even with the brightness set low. It's fast and it's just great for me. It's definitely worth the money. I wish I had upgraded sooner. I'm in phone heaven right now.

Was this review helpful? (67) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Callenz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Resembles Iphone 4
3/14/2013

Customer review by TaraM86

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by TaraM86
by TaraM86

So far so good. The camara is AWESOME!!! the battery life is AMAZING!!!!! The memory is GREAT!!!! all of these words cannot describe this phone. Prior to me getting this phone I had the ZTE Merrit, which held no memory, no battery life. This Phone is a nice look. The weight is perfect, the size is perfect. It actually resembles an Iphone 4. The only thing I find negative is its kind of hard finding a cell phone face/cover for it. But I am pretty sure with time, and internet access that would be in the making of locating one. Wheter its on Ebay or somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TaraM86
decatur,al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good with one problem
3/14/2014

Customer review by SuperShopperLCinAZ

4.0 stars 3/14/2014 by SuperShopperLCinAZ
by SuperShopperLCinAZ

I bought this phone for my daughter. It has more than met her needs, and she loves it. The only problem is that at least several times a week it will freeze and the only way to unfreeze it is to take the back off and take the battery out and then restart it. I don't if that's a typical problem or not. maybe we just got a bad unit. It is irritating though. Other than that it's a great phone.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuperShopperLCinAZ
Gilblert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone.........
4/28/2013

Customer review by Winnepooh

5.0 stars 4/28/2013 by Winnepooh
by Winnepooh

Bought this for my son. He really wanted an Iphone, but they are just crazy expensive. This phone gives him everything he needs. He loves it and I do also.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Winnepooh
Metter, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This smart phone is really nice.
3/25/2013

Customer review by freakbeak

4.0 stars 3/25/2013 by freakbeak
by freakbeak

This is my first smart phone, so I'm not able to compare it with any others. However, as time goes by I am finding more and more that I can do with this great phone. The screen is large and easy to read. It is fairly user friendly and I am having fun with it. I can take great photos (and edit them too) and videos, then send them to my gmail account. I can check out my face book account easily and keep in touch with friends. There are plenty of other features I haven't even used yet. It is easy to find my contact and set up speed dial on the touch screen.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
freakbeak
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Definitely a smartphone!
5/19/2013

Customer review by ILiveInTheDesert

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by ILiveInTheDesert
by ILiveInTheDesert

I've been with Straight Talk for quite a few years and have gone through several phones. This is an awesome phone, truly a smartphone. It uses Verizon towers, so make sure you have coverage in your area. I'm thrilled with it. It's very easy to use. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILiveInTheDesert
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Frustratingly Slow
7/17/2014

Customer review by TunaTunes

1.0 stars 7/17/2014 by TunaTunes
by TunaTunes

I bought this phone in late March - it is now mid July. I take great care of it, and I don't have a bunch of extra apps (email and facebook are really about it). I haven't had the phone for a full four months yet, and I already want to replace it. At first it was great, but it began to go downhill very quickly. It is incredibly slow. Rather than taking seconds to read a text message, it takes minutes. Forget about replying to said text unless you have some time on your hands. In recent weeks it has also begun freezing. I can't use the phone at all (not even to unlock it) unless I physically take the battery own and force it to restart, which I'm sure is not good for it. It's particularly frustrating because nothing happened to it -- no drops, no spills, nothing. It's just a bad phone. I love the monthly savings that come along with Straight Talk, but this is my second bad phone. I'm starting to wonder if I'm really saving money if I have to keep replacing phones.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TunaTunes
Peoria, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Phone
6/8/2014

Customer review by blu0102

4.0 stars 6/8/2014 by blu0102
by blu0102

I've had Straight Talk for a few years now and knew I needed to get upgrade my phone to a smartphone. I choose this one after wanting a querty keyboard because I hate using the phone vertically for texting.... I bought the phone around tax time and it worked like a dream. I chalked up the overheating to my over use of a phone that was well over needed. It worked great with gaming apps I wanted and even allowed me to download Pandora so I could listen to it at work with decent sound quality. Then about 2 weeks after I got the phone I ended up dropping it x3 in 1 day at work.... Of course the 3rd time cracked the screen. I still decided to preserve because I didn't want to go back to my backup phone.... Flash forward to the middle of last month (so about 2 months of using this phone with cracks on the screen) I'm working and go to turn off the music and I find that the screen is now barely visible! So now I have to send back the phone and am waiting to buy another one...... Overall I would recommend this phone... Just be careful not to over use it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blu0102
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not as good as I expected from an android
3/11/2013

Customer review by TylersBaby

2.0 stars 3/11/2013 by TylersBaby
by TylersBaby

There were some key features missing on this phone for example the swipe to text and voice to text translation that I want if I have an android. I took this back the same day I bought it. The back is also not glass like a lot of these comments mention. It is plastic and the edges surrounding the back are like paper cut-sharp hard to explain I just was not happy at all. This phone was no match compared to my Husbands Samsung Galaxy Showcase which he also bought for $250.00. Basically keep looking if you expect everything from your android, this phone doesn't hold up

Was this review helpful? (26) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TylersBaby
Conway, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
3/22/2013

Customer review by 10952

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by 10952
by 10952

I bought this phone for my nineteen year old daughter with the straight talk bundle and she is loving it. Thank you for a smart and affordable product. She is loving all the amazing features. Wonderful phone!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
10952
Monsey, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor performance compared to other Samsungs
4/29/2014

Customer review by Mysweetieandme

2.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Mysweetieandme
by Mysweetieandme

I previously used the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. Though the Optimus has some extra features, the phone is a poor performer. Often, I find that the phone has turned itself off. Each time you turn the phone off for any reason, you must go to the 'date and time' feature and reset the time. If you do not, within a short while, it will set itself to the time zone of origen. For me, that is a five hour difference. Many times in making a call, though I tap the phone to proceed, nothing happens. I might have to try 8 or 10 times. I have sometimes given up, only to finally hear the person answer when I'm not prepared. There are other concerns but this should be enough for anyone looking for a decent performer. Try another model.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mysweetieandme
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Had the phone for THREE YEARS!
8/4/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/4/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Honest to God I had the phone for that LONG! Three years with NO problems. I bought the screen plastic and dropped a million times. It never shatter! Its like same condition. The problem is that the battery is used up fast when I use Yahoo application. It could be the battery is THREE years old! I am upgrading but I say this phone is WORTH it and its great when you need a back up or a phone you want to get first or good for older people who are afraid of these type of phones. When I get an upgrade phone an iPhone. I will use my old phone as a back up cause I can depend on it. I kid you not And when I see people look at it. I stop and share how great the phone is. This is the BEST phone I ever had. I had a vrigin phone that survives a washer machine.. I am not gonna test my LG phone. LOL

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice phone, HORRIBLE battery life!
4/26/2014

Customer review by dparkerd

3.0 stars 4/26/2014 by dparkerd
by dparkerd

This is a nice phone if you a way to charge several times throughout the day, even after shutting apps down manually. It has a nice size screen, and many apps compatible. I have T-mobile version of this phone (GSM) on family mobile, other than having to charge it A LOT. I have enjoyed this phone, I just don't let it get below 50% battery life. Takes to long to recharge it if you do. When I'm on WIFI I plug it in. It does has an sd card slot and the Instien kit I purchased worked well. I bought extra battery's on e-bay for this phone and swap them throughout the day. Wanted to try the extended life but decided to give this to my son and have moved to the moto g under Verizon.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dparkerd
Baltimore, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Good Phone
7/3/2014

Customer review by KornDawg

5.0 stars 7/3/2014 by KornDawg
by KornDawg

I bought this phone for my daughter after buying one for myself. Great phone, good speed, functions well, and would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KornDawg
Tallahassee, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Apps are slow, poor battery life
3/11/2014

Customer review by 545668585711

3.0 stars 3/11/2014 by 545668585711
by 545668585711

Not a great phone if you want to load and play apps. Runs very slow (especially game apps). The battery life is terrible when running apps and I feel as though I am constantly plugging the phone in. Phone looks nice and will do what I want it to for the most part. I would not pay to have this phone again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
545668585711
Middlebury
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Verizon SIM card
11/12/2013

Customer review by MomOfAWildBunch

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by MomOfAWildBunch
by MomOfAWildBunch

This phone has fallen into the snake river while fishing, and came back to life. Zero problems very durable phone. With verizon this phone has outperformed the more expensive I-phone that my wife has. Still no problems!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOfAWildBunch
Blackfoot ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hate
3/3/2014

Customer review by red0325lou

1.0 stars 3/3/2014 by red0325lou
by red0325lou

I hate this phone I no reception at all. It is not what I expected. I want my money back on both phone. Hate, hate, hate.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
red0325lou
Blytheville, Ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 135 total reviews
1-20 of 135 reviews