Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 656 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

656 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

656 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
396
4 stars
141
3 stars
32
2 stars
34
1 stars
53
1-20 of 507 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 507 total reviews
1-20 of 507 reviews
Love It!!
2/12/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I absolutely LOVE this phone!! I can use it practically everywhere I go and it works great!! I can even use it on the lake!! I love the front facing camera and the multi-tasking it can do as well and the pictures and videos are great. With the video recording you can't zoom, but that's fine still. I love this phone.

Was this review helpful? (116) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ukiah, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Samsung 2 and Straight Talk
4/18/2013

Customer review by civillady

3.0 stars 4/18/2013 by civillady
by civillady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I actually was hooked on Straight Talk because a friend had it and it worked great. I upgraded phones from a Proclaim to an LG to the Samsung 2 all within a month on Straight Talk, as I 'd come from Verizon on HTC Incredible and wanted something similar. The phone itself is OK, meets expectations etc, it's Straight Talk that has got me concerned. Because I switched phones all in first month, I guess I downloaded a lot of APPS and they cut off my internet!!!! Said I was overusing the band. I tried to complain, but their only resolution to "over use" and "abuse" of "UNLIMITED DATA" is to have you listen to a recording telling you how bad you are overusing their system and then cutting off your data until the beginning of your next payment cycle. So hopefully they will reconnect. I still get WIFI when at a fixed location. So be sure you don't "abuse" the system or you'll be stuck without internet. Walmart was great about exchanging phones within the 14 day return period.

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
civillady
Redlands
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice first Smart Phone
7/11/2013

Customer review by Airyelle

4.0 stars 7/11/2013 by Airyelle
by Airyelle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was concerned about this phone using AT&T towers and was hesitant to purchase but I actually get better reception than what I got with my old Straight Talk phone that ran off of Verizon. This phone is pretty neat for a first-time Smart Phone user. Pro's: Nice large gorilla glass screen SWYPE technology Voice to text and voice to internet search (usually pretty accurate) Nice built in apps Ease of use Con's: Built in ringtones and wallpapers are poor No individual setting for text alerts (In other words, if you want a text alert sound, you also have to choose the same sound for email and social media alerts. You can't just choose to have a text alert alone) Battery life is poor if you use apps and social media (Averages around 5 hours with medium usage) Overall, I am very satisfied with this phone and hope it lasts for a few years to come. Make sure to buy a nice sturdy rubberized case for this phone. I bought mine from Cell Nerds on Amazon for about $10.

Was this review helpful? (63) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Airyelle
Homosassa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Galaxy SII Straight Talk is wonderful! No Contract
4/24/2013

Customer review by Sailgb

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by Sailgb
by Sailgb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Galaxy SII has it all. I have had my phone for almost 2 weeks and I love the features & the AT&T service. I can call anywhere..always have plenty of bars. The customer service people at Walmart were fantastic, they called ST directly, activated the phone & ported by phone number. I walked out of Walmart with my new Galaxy SII fully loaded & activated. Now that is customer service. The GSII has (7) easy to use screens and the Apps were a snap to download. The display screen is large and easy to read. I love the energy saving tips to save on battery life. The voice to text feature is awesome, a quick text message is faster than ever now. I can also place calls via voice and name as well. I added the 32GB Memory Card right away so I have plenty of room for lots of photos & music. The front & back facing camera is the real plus, it even has a flash, the pictures are wonderful. Yes, I am very happy with this phone. It was hard to swallow and pay $349.00 for just the phone, but in the long run it will pay off.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sailgb
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First smart phone...
10/31/2013

Customer review by TopgunRealtor

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by TopgunRealtor
by TopgunRealtor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first smart phone. Very happy with the quality and features, but was shocked at how quickly the battery depletes. Just not used to such a frequent recharging of the battery. Size and weight are very comfortable. Found it to be next to impossible to find a case for the phone. Not sure why they don't indicate within the website which provider's towers the phones are serviced by, so the only way I found out that it uses the AT&T towers is by reading the reviews made by others. I think it would also be nice to disclose which number the phone is for the case that we had to purchase after the fact. Would be nice to have been able to see and purchase the case at the store, but learned that the phone is old enough that they do not carry the accessories for this phone any longer in stores. So far, I would recommend this phone to anyone who finds that AT&T has the best coverage in there area. Obviously I do not have the ability to compare this to any other phones since again this is my first smart cell phone.

Was this review helpful? (56) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TopgunRealtor
SW Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone but not what I wanted.
11/14/2013

Customer review by ChesapeakeMickey

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by ChesapeakeMickey
by ChesapeakeMickey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking to get a cdma cell phone from Walmart. I went to the Walmart web page and entered the Electronics Department and then entered "cdma cell phones". The first phone that came up was a "STRAIGHT-TALK-SAMSUNG-GALAXY-SII-PREPAID-CELL-PHONE" for $199.99 as a special buy. No where in the description of the phone did it say the phone was CDMA cell phone. Nor did it say that it was a GSM cell phone. I ordered this straight talk cell phone expecting to get CDMA cell phone. When I received my phone it was a GSM cell phone which uses different cell phone towers than does the CDMA phones. I have had good service on my previous CDMA cell phone towers and knew what to expect. I did not get from the Walmart web site what I expected to get. I am trying out the phone and GSM service for a few months but if I do not like it, I've wasted my money on this phone. So far the phone seems to work in my local are but I haven't taken a trip yet to try it on the road.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChesapeakeMickey
Chesapeake, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/4/2012

Customer review by IApproveOfWindows

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by IApproveOfWindows
by IApproveOfWindows
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This phone is fantastic! It is lightning fast and very responsive. The screen is absolutely beautiful and easily one of the best phones that Straight Talk has. Out of all the previous phones I've had, this one has great storage space. This phone takes great photos/videos and using the internet on it is a breeze. Get some awesome live wallpapers for this phone, because the display makes it look amazing. If you can afford an unlimited plan, it's totally worth it for this phone. Wished it were cheaper though. I'll bet if the price came down, it would sell like crazy. Overall, this is a great phone all around and battery life is excellent. If you're looking for a new phone, give this one a try, I promise you won't be disappointed. The only real disappointment for me was the speaker on the rear of the phone. If it is covered, you can't hear a thing. I would definitely invest in a good pair of headphones if you're going to use this for any kind of media.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IApproveOfWindows
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Phone impressive; Straight Talk less so
10/19/2012

Customer review by src233

4.0 stars 10/19/2012 by src233
by src233

The phone works very well; very bright display that's not as good as a Retina display on an Apple device, but still very attractive. I also like the display size; it's comfortable to hold, but the larger size makes it easier to use several of my apps. Though the Straight Talk service is priced very well, a couple of things annoy me. First, the new phone number I got from Straight Talk gets several nuisance calls and/or texts every day. Also, Straight Talk has started sending me reminder texts AND e-mails every 2 days about refilling my minutes. Hopefully, when I do renew, they'll go away for a while. On the plus side, the voice quality is good, and the Internet service, while relatively slow, is certainly priced much lower than any competing service I could find. For what it's worth, I did try putting an AT&T sim card from another smart phone in this phone; didn't work. I don't know if I care about this enough to try to root the phone. General

Was this review helpful? (42) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
src233
North Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Phone is Amazing!
10/29/2013

Customer review by Papi24

1.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Papi24
by Papi24

First I want to say that the phone is great. Unfortunately the customer service at Straight Talk is so bad, I cant even begin to say how horrible it is. I'm still with ST because I'm very cheap. I pay 47 dollars with my auto-fill discount(dont think that discount is still available. Without the discount, you'll pay about 50 dollars and some change with all the taxes and fees.) I'm on wifi a lot so thank goodness I don't have to deal with customer service AS MUCH. But if I could afford paying 60 dollars a month with ANYBODY else, I would pay the extra money because of the horrible customer service. It's not merely bad, they are mean, rude, unprofessional, and dont care AT ALL. I'm a very patient person, but these people drives me to the breaking point. Dont have many problems with calls dropping or call quality. The phone is more than I could ask for. The camera is excellent in my opinion. Of course, newer and better phones are coming out everyday. This phone is quick and dependable. BUT BE WARE, STRAIGHT TALK PHONE SERVICE IS GOOD, BUT THE "PEOPLE SERVICE" IS REALLY REALLY REALLY BAD!

Was this review helpful? (154) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Papi24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good phone needs an update for ICS
11/22/2012

Customer review by foxstarrs

4.0 stars 11/22/2012 by foxstarrs
by foxstarrs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The phone is aweasome its fast and great for a straight talk phone. The only thing i don't like about this phone is its still rocking Gingerbread and has no official ICS update. Every other Samsung Galaxy 2 has updates galore. The other downfall is the $349.99 price tag, that is a lot of money for a phone. I will tell you though if you are like me and like new technology and want the latest gadgets this phone is a whole lot better than all other straight talk phones. It has a good processor and good screen size to watch movies and youtube on. I think this is an aweasome phone and you will love it and have a lot of fun with this. The only other reccomendation i can make is make sure you get a case or a screen protector because if you drop this device the screeen will crack or scratch and for that kind of money you won't be happy and i am pretty sure they won't take it back. But this phone does rock and does pretty much anything you can do with a contract phone. If you are like me and are never going to get a contract and you like paying $45 a month here is the device for you.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
foxstarrs
Martins Ferry, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke after 4 months
6/3/2013

Customer review by oneyelove

1.0 stars 6/3/2013 by oneyelove
by oneyelove

I've only had this phone for about 4 months. A few days ago it just wouldn't turn on anymore. Tried all the tricks but no go. This is the most expensive phone I have ever had and the only phone I have ever had a problem with!!! Contacted straight talk and they said they would fix it or send me a refurbished one and would send me a fedex shipping label within 24 hrs. I called them 29 hours later and was told again that a new ticket order would be put in and I would receive the label within 24 more hours. Not seeing it in my inbox yet. I was told it would be 3 to 5 days once they received it. The phone went bad on a Friday afternoon. Their agreement with fedex is shipping only mon - fri. So I may be without a phone for 7 to 10 days at this rate! Not acceptable. Straight talk is disappointing when you need service. Seriously considering switching phones and services!! Buyer beware!!

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oneyelove
St. Augustine, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Phone
11/5/2013

Customer review by TrustThis

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by TrustThis
by TrustThis
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've researched every android phone on the market, and for the price this is the best deal available. I was already a straight talk customer and wanted to upgrade to a smartphone. The galaxy S2 is a great phone... I was concerned about the operating system because its an older version (gingerbread 2.3.6) but no problems... It does everything the latest system does. Its the perfect size screen 4.3, not too big but big enough. The newer models have 5 inch screens and larger... which is more like carting around a tablet. The phone is fast and has way more storage space than most the others... This one has 16gb. Camera is fantastic !! 8 mp.... and takes great photos and videos. With the price drop of 199.99 and unlimited plan on straight talk... you can not beat this deal.

Was this review helpful? (77) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrustThis
Hendersonville TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overheats, discharges when it supposed to charge.
4/22/2013

Customer review by Burnedtechie

1.0 stars 4/22/2013 by Burnedtechie
by Burnedtechie

I thought I had found a great phone and a great MP3 player combined that would work better than the Ipod which I refuse to buy because of Apples policies. I was very impressed with the Samsung brand to start with. It works great sometimes. Then it started overheating while charging and I noticed it was actually discharging while it was supposed to be charging. I tried another charger and no help. I tried another battery and no help. Some times it heats up in my pocket until it's uncomfortable. I have to turn it off to cool it down. Sometime I go to make a phone call and there is no bars in a place where it should have full bars on antenna. I have to power off and on. I guess I have a very pricey mp3 player that works on wifi pretty good. I am going to try to return it if I can. Otherwise I learned an expensive lesson about Samsung products which I won't forget.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Burnedtechie
Aiken, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone for the money!!
10/23/2012

Customer review by mrbill4

5.0 stars 10/23/2012 by mrbill4
by mrbill4

I purhcased my phone on line and I live in south central Pa. This is the first smart phone I've owned so I can't speak to how it compares to other high end phones of its kind. This phone is a dedicated Straight Talk phone to be used with their $45.00/30 day unlimited everything plan. The phone is an S959G so if you want to learn more about the phone other than the very limited instruction manual that comes with it, you need to Google S959G and there you'll find all the necessary info. It works on the AT&T network that has excellent coverage in south central Pa. I recently traveled to Baltimore & south Florida where it also worked very well. My phone does everyting it says it does. I have not experienced any problems with any of its functions. My main reason for purchasing this phone is to be able to watch tv, especially football games & movies while at car shows.....the watch ESPN mobile ap & the xfinity player app both work very well on this phone lol.......the battery life leaves a lot to be desired, but I purchased a portable pocket size battery charger to take care of that....There are a multitude of accessories available from various vendors...I'm very happy I purchased this phone.

Was this review helpful? (77) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrbill4
South Central Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
what a phone
10/12/2012

Customer review by dylster

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by dylster
by dylster

I picked up this phone a couple weeks ago to replace an older nokia smartphone. And I've gotta say " WOW" . This phone is incredible ! I love tinkering with it, the things I can do with this phone are amazing. The only reason I gave it only an average value is it is quite pricey for an older model, and being on the straight talk plan you have to pay full price for the phone. That being said, I love it ! The only negative thing I could say is I was playing a flying combat game and the phone heated up quite seriously. Now this is a full 3-d game with lots going on onscreen,so I shouldnt of been surprised. I turned the game off and it cooled down quickly. All in all this is a phone that can do it all and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants a fun toy that also makes good phone calls.

Was this review helpful? (85) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dylster
auburn ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Best Android phone ever!!!!!!!!!!!!
11/23/2012

Customer review by JediMasterTaban

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by JediMasterTaban
by JediMasterTaban
Walmart associate

If you are looking for a great phone please, please check into this one. yes it is a little expensive but it's so worth it. I have no complaints with this phone it's everything I could want in a phone. I love the battery power saver option no other phone ever offered that, you had to buy a program. It also comes loaded with apps and I put even more apps on it and it still has tons of room. So many cool apps to chose from in the android market compared to apple. Plus you have all the cool live wallpaper which Apple does not offer. I have hands free technology in my Ford and it was so easy to set up that I didn't need instructions and the sound is so clear. It's such a beautiful phone! I'll never go back to a contracted phone ever again, thank you Straight talk, thank you! I love you guy's!

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JediMasterTaban
Hermiston, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Awsome phone
11/3/2013

Customer review by walmartshopperty

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by walmartshopperty
by walmartshopperty
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great phone, great camera, all around great. I've read a bunch of reviews on this phone before I got it and was a little worried. I read the battery life isn't good, the camera freezes up, the phone overheats, it being slow. But all I have to say is that is not true. my phone works like a charm and is one of the best phones out there for straight talk. My area doesn't even pick up on the AT&T towers all that well and I still have perfect service with this phone. The OS is a little older than some but still runs just as fast believe me. If your going with straight talk, you'll want this ohine. You wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (55) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartshopperty
Gaylord Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cool phone, but not for my neck of the woods!
11/8/2012

Customer review by Luciro

2.0 stars 11/8/2012 by Luciro
by Luciro

I so wanted this phone to work, especially after paying over $400 with taxes and a month of unlimited air time, but for the 64424 zipcode, it doesn't work! I called Straight Talk and they had assured me that this phone would indeed work for me and it does to some point. I can make/receive calls/texts, and sometimes an email will come thru, but as a mini computer, forget it. Never could get any apps to ever download, even when I was hooked up to a wi-fi hot spot. I was hesitant on buying as Net10 said it wouldn't work for my zipcode and that's why I called and talked to CS at Straight Talk. I loved the features on this phone; big screen, etc...........but since it won't work for anything other then a non-smart phone, it will be going back to WalMart within the 15 day return period. Just waiting on a SIM card from Net10 to go in an old phone so I can have service again.

Was this review helpful? (35) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luciro
64424
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
S959G Straight Talk
10/3/2012

Customer review by NursesLuv2help

5.0 stars 10/3/2012 by NursesLuv2help
by NursesLuv2help
Top 500 contributor

I finally found a phone that is worth writing about. I upgraded my phone from a LG Optimus Q to this lovely Samsung Gallaxy SII. It has a large 4.27 inch screen with 1.2 dual core processor. It is very fast and In the Sarasota/ Tampabay area it runs off AT&T towers at 4G. I get 8-10 hours talk time before it needs charging. 2.3.7 gingerbread OS, I can read everything easily with the larger screen. Netflix, youtube, do not lag one bit. Straight talk switched it over from one phone to the other and I kept the same phone number, all within an hour. $45 A MONTH YOU GET EVERYTHING UNLIMITED. Thank you walmart and straight talk..

Was this review helpful? (906) (84)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NursesLuv2help
Sarasota, Fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Samsung is of a much higher quality than others
10/30/2013

Customer review by wilderfreesurf

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by wilderfreesurf
by wilderfreesurf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I tried the ZTE Majesty and the Huawei H881C Ascend both of which I found too many flaws with for my liking. The ZTE had a very poor headphone jack that made static noise when listening to internet radio on external speakers. The Ascend lacked a speed dial for the phone. Both had a finicky touch screen that worked only ok. The SII is by far superior on all counts hands down. The only draw back is the older operating system Android 2.3. However that is not a big deal for me. It is fast and the screen is responsive. It handles multitasking the best also. I tried the Apple I phone 4 but had difficulty making it work with my computer so, other than that it was of good quality also. I am sticking with the SII and glad to have it for such a reasonable monthly price.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wilderfreesurf
Coos Bay, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 507 total reviews
1-20 of 507 reviews