Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 656 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

656 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
396
4 stars
141
3 stars
32
2 stars
34
1 stars
53
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 507 total reviews
You won't be disappointed!
11/16/2012

Customer review by Markfothebeast

4.0 stars by Markfothebeast

I've been an iPhone user for about 5 years. Also had a Blackberry. Blackberry is completely out of the ball game - forget I mentioned Blackberry. The iPhone is a great phone but Apple lacks freedom like the Android operating system offers. The hardware in this particular SII blows away most of what Apple has to offer. It just seems that everything in this phone from the interface, smooth operation, ease of use, and freedom to root/crack the phone is just appealing to me. Android is an open source operating system, meaning anyone out there can create software for it without having to answer to king Apple (Apple pun intended). I really like the fact that I can simply take one of the apps for Android (.APK file) and install it through the SD card, internet browser, or simply email the file to myself and open it and install it. Just like the iPhone, there is an application to browse for apps. And you will most likely find your popular iPhone app available for Android. I want to go over the hardware a bit. When the dual-core processor for the PC was released we were stunned by how powerful it was! But a dual-core processor on a phone?! Put it this way, it pretty much has enough power for anything I expect to do on a phone. The internal storage I believe is 12GB on this particular model. I won't be using 12GB of storage anytime soon, even after taking hundreds of photos. There's also an SD Card slot which supports up to 32GB of additional memory. The camera is a huge 8 mega-pixel, which is more than enough as far as image quality for what the average person is going to need. For shooting live action video footage I am very surprised at the clarity, response, resolution, and frame rate. I can also submit my videos to Facebook or email in the push of a button. The flash is a tiny LED which is actually very bright when snapping images. You will get somewhere between 4-6 hours of battery use when consistently playing a graphically demanding game. With casual use and web browsing the battery should last you a whole day. As with any smart phone, I would expect to plug it in in the morning and once again at night. I am excited to have the ability to physically remove my battery and replace it with another while the other is charging (external charger not included). Another upside vs. the iPhone is that you have the option to close applications from memory with much ease. At the main screen you can easily move your icons and main feature bars. This screen also contains battery-saving options including turning off Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, GPS, and changing brightness settings. The phone multi-tasks applications like a high-end PC does. The screen is actually very large but it very comfortably fits in my palm. The phone is also very thin. The screen is the famous Gorilla glass just like the iPhone. Reception/Network: With StraightTalk, this phone is a "GSM" phone. Meaning you will either receive a SIM card for T-Mobile or AT&T. StraightTalk is contracted to both providers. So expect one or the other if you are looking at your coverage area. This is a huge advantage over all service providers. As far as reception, I have a typical signal, not bad nor great. It supports the new high-speed GSM network which I won't go into much detail about. I will just say that it utilizes the "4G" network. Depending on your area, your speeds will be limited to your areas network. This is not a limitation of the phone but rather the cell service providers equipment and how much data is being transferred on the network during that time. The downsides: There are very few that I have noticed. The first I would have to say is the microphone speaker. In the 2 weeks I have owned this phone only a few people have had difficulty hearing me. Battery life isn't so great on this phone. But don't fret, there are several aftermarket batteries that boost your phones battery capacity up to nearly 4x the current capacity. The battery cover, which covers the whole backside of the phone, is a cheap flimsy thing which is more flimsy than I imagined than when I purchased it. Not that it's a bad thing but more of a mental note if you haven't had a chance to examine this phone. The operating system is an older version of Android but that doesn't bother me and most likely won't bother the average phone user either. Overall: This phone is the best of both worlds, SII + StraightTalk. That means cheap plan, great coverage, and an excellent phone. This phone is now my lifeline - I make calls, text, check email, browse the internet, Facebook, etc. I really don't use my home PC as much because of this. I give the phone 4 stars! Why? 4 stars is pretty darn good but 5 stars would be a perfect phone. If I was reviewing a StraightTalk Samsung Galaxy SIII it might just receive 5 stars! Tips: If you plan on ordering any accessories keep in mind that there are 2 different models that differ in physical appearance. One model which is this unit, has a horizontal camera. The other has a vertical camera and a few other different features. If ordering a case for this SII look for the case that has the horizontal slot on the back for the camera opening.

Was this review helpful? (1558) (72)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Markfothebeast
St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 100 contributor
S959G Straight Talk
10/3/2012

Customer review by NursesLuv2help

5.0 stars by NursesLuv2help

I finally found a phone that is worth writing about. I upgraded my phone from a LG Optimus Q to this lovely Samsung Gallaxy SII. It has a large 4.27 inch screen with 1.2 dual core processor. It is very fast and In the Sarasota/ Tampabay area it runs off AT&T towers at 4G. I get 8-10 hours talk time before it needs charging. 2.3.7 gingerbread OS, I can read everything easily with the larger screen. Netflix, youtube, do not lag one bit. Straight talk switched it over from one phone to the other and I kept the same phone number, all within an hour. $45 A MONTH YOU GET EVERYTHING UNLIMITED. Thank you walmart and straight talk..

Was this review helpful? (906) (84)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NursesLuv2help
Sarasota, Fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Phone is okay, but Straight Talk is not
2/11/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I don't understand why Straight Talk would want to promote sale of this phone, since it's use would automatically violate their Terms of Service section 6 and 7. Been a Straight Talk customer for about 8 months now, and this will be my last month with this carrier. What initially made Straight Talk attractive to me was their promise of unlimited talk, text and web for only $45/month, and being able to use my AT&T branded/locked Motorola Atrix HD Android powered smartphone. The big problem with Straight Talk is that their service is NOT unlimited. If you exceed an unknown daily data/web usage limit, they will cut your Internet speed down to a crawling halt, making simple emails almost impossible. Some people claim it's 2GB/month before it happens - that's a myth. They have computers setup, that automatically calculate your usage on a daily basis, and the usage threshold is pretty low. I have had this happen to me after one weeks use, and all I did was write emails, check Facebook, read news articles online and download a few app off the Google Play Store. The next problem occurs when you call their support department. First you speak with a customer rep, who's accent is so thick you'll barely understand the person. They'll next tell you that you violated section 6 and 7 of the terms of service - which basically says they have the right to cut your Internet speed (throttle), or terminate your service if your data usage is 'excessive'. Problem here being that they won't tell you exactly what 'excessive data usage' means, or at what point you reach that limit. When I asked them what the daily or monthly data usage limit is, and what amount of use would be considered 'excessive', the Straight Talk customer rep's answer was simply that the service is unlimited as long as your usage for data/Internet/text/calls is not excessive. So there you have it folks - It's unlimited talk/text/data/Internet…Except it's not. And you'll have no idea when they'll cut you off, because they won't tell you, and it's not mentioned anywhere in their 'Terms of Service' (TOS). For folks with dumbphones, this might be a good option for you, since you probably won't consume much data if any. However, if you have an Android, iPhone, Windows Phone, Black Berry, Nokia Symbian, or any other smartphone, you'll probably want to think twice, or trice, before going with Straight Talk, since you'll more than likely get into trouble with them sooner or later. For the smartphone user who wants a cheap prepaid service, there are many other options than Straight Talk, and all of those alternatives will outright tell you what your data usage limit is before throttling occurs - if it occurs. Both Boost Mobile and Virgin Mobile offer plans with 2.5GB of high-speed data before throttling, and T-Mobile just launched GoSmart Mobile, which offers a whole 5GB of data before slowing you down. With those companies, you'll at least know where you stand, and how much data you can consume before being throttled...

Was this review helpful? (797) (99)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Beverly Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Top 500 contributor
10/8/2012

Customer review by mamma2005

5.0 stars by mamma2005

I know several people that have this phone and I am getting ready to get it my self I have played on there's and I love it! The camera is great, it works very fast on everything you do. I have Been with straight talk for 5 years know and I love it I have had no problems with them or there phones that I have had thanks Walmart and straight talk you are great!!!

Was this review helpful? (432) (70)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mamma2005
64466
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Phone!
11/15/2012

Customer review by ChanteAnisha

5.0 stars by ChanteAnisha

I upgraded to this phone because my Galaxy Precedent was just terrible! There was never enough space on the phone and whenever I downloaded a new app, I had to delete another one. But the S2 is GREAT on space. I can upload as many apps as I want. I bought a 8gb micro sd card for this phone, giving me a total of 12gb because the SIM card already has 4 on it. The view on this phone is so clear, it looks like HD to me, and I love the Gorilla Glass Touch screen, it's sooo smooth. If you are new to straight talk or want to upgrade, then this is the phone you want to get! It's amazing

Was this review helpful? (139) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ChanteAnisha
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/16/2012

Customer review by Bl3ss3d

4.0 stars by Bl3ss3d

The first Samsung Galaxy phone I purchased had a defected charger. But I love the phone so much instead of getting my money back walmart actually replaced the phone because i hadn't had it a month. The phone is expensive but you save money in the long run. The features are great and to my surprise the battery life is long considering all of the apps I have downloaded. I like that the phone actually gives you advice on how to save battery usage..... Highly recommended if you don't want to be on a contract phone.

Was this review helpful? (112) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bl3ss3d
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Nice BUTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT
11/3/2012

Customer review by JB1953

3.0 stars by JB1953

To Pay this much for the Outdated Android 2.3 Gingerbread is like buying a New PC with Microsoft Windows XP installed ONLY. The performance of Android 4.0 ICS is almost double the 2.3 Gingerbread but if you don't use a lot of apps you may not notice this. Bottom line is they SHOULD PROVIDE AN UPGRADE TO ANDROID 4.0 at this price I feel.

Was this review helpful? (318) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JB1953
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Top 1000 contributor
10/17/2012

Customer review by GiGi42539

5.0 stars by GiGi42539

Bought 2 of these phones a couple of weeks ago and switched to Staight Talk (from AT&T). I have been very happy with the phone. I love the text messaging features such a voice to type your messages for you. It is great to be able to get your email, keep up with social media, and do Google searches and much much more. My daughter and I both love our new phones.

Was this review helpful? (195) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GiGi42539
Liberty, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Phone is Amazing!
10/29/2013

Customer review by Papi24

1.0 stars by Papi24

First I want to say that the phone is great. Unfortunately the customer service at Straight Talk is so bad, I cant even begin to say how horrible it is. I'm still with ST because I'm very cheap. I pay 47 dollars with my auto-fill discount(dont think that discount is still available. Without the discount, you'll pay about 50 dollars and some change with all the taxes and fees.) I'm on wifi a lot so thank goodness I don't have to deal with customer service AS MUCH. But if I could afford paying 60 dollars a month with ANYBODY else, I would pay the extra money because of the horrible customer service. It's not merely bad, they are mean, rude, unprofessional, and dont care AT ALL. I'm a very patient person, but these people drives me to the breaking point. Dont have many problems with calls dropping or call quality. The phone is more than I could ask for. The camera is excellent in my opinion. Of course, newer and better phones are coming out everyday. This phone is quick and dependable. BUT BE WARE, STRAIGHT TALK PHONE SERVICE IS GOOD, BUT THE "PEOPLE SERVICE" IS REALLY REALLY REALLY BAD!

Was this review helpful? (154) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Papi24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Phone
11/5/2013

Customer review by TrustThis

5.0 stars by TrustThis

I've researched every android phone on the market, and for the price this is the best deal available. I was already a straight talk customer and wanted to upgrade to a smartphone. The galaxy S2 is a great phone... I was concerned about the operating system because its an older version (gingerbread 2.3.6) but no problems... It does everything the latest system does. Its the perfect size screen 4.3, not too big but big enough. The newer models have 5 inch screens and larger... which is more like carting around a tablet. The phone is fast and has way more storage space than most the others... This one has 16gb. Camera is fantastic !! 8 mp.... and takes great photos and videos. With the price drop of 199.99 and unlimited plan on straight talk... you can not beat this deal.

Was this review helpful? (77) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TrustThis
Hendersonville TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone.
10/7/2012

Customer review by Samsungs2

5.0 stars by Samsungs2

I am very pleased with the service. Never had call drop and great data speeds from AT&T.

Was this review helpful? (125) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Samsungs2
Kansas City, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone for the money!!
10/23/2012

Customer review by mrbill4

5.0 stars by mrbill4

I purhcased my phone on line and I live in south central Pa. This is the first smart phone I've owned so I can't speak to how it compares to other high end phones of its kind. This phone is a dedicated Straight Talk phone to be used with their $45.00/30 day unlimited everything plan. The phone is an S959G so if you want to learn more about the phone other than the very limited instruction manual that comes with it, you need to Google S959G and there you'll find all the necessary info. It works on the AT&T network that has excellent coverage in south central Pa. I recently traveled to Baltimore & south Florida where it also worked very well. My phone does everyting it says it does. I have not experienced any problems with any of its functions. My main reason for purchasing this phone is to be able to watch tv, especially football games & movies while at car shows.....the watch ESPN mobile ap & the xfinity player app both work very well on this phone lol.......the battery life leaves a lot to be desired, but I purchased a portable pocket size battery charger to take care of that....There are a multitude of accessories available from various vendors...I'm very happy I purchased this phone.

Was this review helpful? (77) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mrbill4
South Central Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It!!
2/12/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I absolutely LOVE this phone!! I can use it practically everywhere I go and it works great!! I can even use it on the lake!! I love the front facing camera and the multi-tasking it can do as well and the pictures and videos are great. With the video recording you can't zoom, but that's fine still. I love this phone.

Was this review helpful? (116) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Ukiah, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Upgrade phone
10/9/2012

Customer review by Bre22

5.0 stars by Bre22

This phone is great. It is much faster than my previous phone and does everything that it says it does.

Was this review helpful? (213) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bre22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awsome phone
11/3/2013

Customer review by walmartshopperty

5.0 stars by walmartshopperty

Great phone, great camera, all around great. I've read a bunch of reviews on this phone before I got it and was a little worried. I read the battery life isn't good, the camera freezes up, the phone overheats, it being slow. But all I have to say is that is not true. my phone works like a charm and is one of the best phones out there for straight talk. My area doesn't even pick up on the AT&T towers all that well and I still have perfect service with this phone. The OS is a little older than some but still runs just as fast believe me. If your going with straight talk, you'll want this ohine. You wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (55) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
walmartshopperty
Gaylord Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice first Smart Phone
7/11/2013

Customer review by Airyelle

4.0 stars by Airyelle

I was concerned about this phone using AT&T towers and was hesitant to purchase but I actually get better reception than what I got with my old Straight Talk phone that ran off of Verizon. This phone is pretty neat for a first-time Smart Phone user. Pro's: Nice large gorilla glass screen SWYPE technology Voice to text and voice to internet search (usually pretty accurate) Nice built in apps Ease of use Con's: Built in ringtones and wallpapers are poor No individual setting for text alerts (In other words, if you want a text alert sound, you also have to choose the same sound for email and social media alerts. You can't just choose to have a text alert alone) Battery life is poor if you use apps and social media (Averages around 5 hours with medium usage) Overall, I am very satisfied with this phone and hope it lasts for a few years to come. Make sure to buy a nice sturdy rubberized case for this phone. I bought mine from Cell Nerds on Amazon for about $10.

Was this review helpful? (63) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Airyelle
Homosassa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
what a phone
10/12/2012

Customer review by dylster

5.0 stars by dylster

I picked up this phone a couple weeks ago to replace an older nokia smartphone. And I've gotta say " WOW" . This phone is incredible ! I love tinkering with it, the things I can do with this phone are amazing. The only reason I gave it only an average value is it is quite pricey for an older model, and being on the straight talk plan you have to pay full price for the phone. That being said, I love it ! The only negative thing I could say is I was playing a flying combat game and the phone heated up quite seriously. Now this is a full 3-d game with lots going on onscreen,so I shouldnt of been surprised. I turned the game off and it cooled down quickly. All in all this is a phone that can do it all and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants a fun toy that also makes good phone calls.

Was this review helpful? (85) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dylster
auburn ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Samsung 2 and Straight Talk
4/18/2013

Customer review by civillady

3.0 stars by civillady

I actually was hooked on Straight Talk because a friend had it and it worked great. I upgraded phones from a Proclaim to an LG to the Samsung 2 all within a month on Straight Talk, as I 'd come from Verizon on HTC Incredible and wanted something similar. The phone itself is OK, meets expectations etc, it's Straight Talk that has got me concerned. Because I switched phones all in first month, I guess I downloaded a lot of APPS and they cut off my internet!!!! Said I was overusing the band. I tried to complain, but their only resolution to "over use" and "abuse" of "UNLIMITED DATA" is to have you listen to a recording telling you how bad you are overusing their system and then cutting off your data until the beginning of your next payment cycle. So hopefully they will reconnect. I still get WIFI when at a fixed location. So be sure you don't "abuse" the system or you'll be stuck without internet. Walmart was great about exchanging phones within the 14 day return period.

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
civillady
Redlands
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful value. Replaced a few other gadgets.
11/1/2012

Customer review by Apollumi

5.0 stars by Apollumi

Let me tell you what this phone replaced. video camera: I have a $600 1080p video camera that I rarely use because it's a pain to charge up and tote around. My Samsung S2 has arguably better quality and it's with me all of the time. Handheld video can be pretty shaky but the quality is impressive and you can purchase a tripod mount for smartphones if you want to be more professional. kindle: I love reading my kindle daily during lunch and I'll use it in the future. It's just much easier to put the kindle software on my phone though. The text was a little small for my 48 year old eyes but "pinch" and bam, bigger text. So far I really like kindle on this phone. Yeah, the screen is smaller but it's not limiting me that I can tell after a few weeks of reading. still camera: This phone takes outstanding pictures. My last phone was a smart phone and the first I considered worthy of taking stills with. It was 5 mega pixel. This one is 8 mega pixel and just better.. :) The video camera mentioned above was supposed to take stills but took "muddy" looking pictures which looked terrible IMO. No problems whatsoever on the Samsung S2. This phone is faster, snappier, decent to web surf on, etc.. They'll come out with something better I'm sure at a later date. I'm a bang for the buck kind of person though and couldn't be happier for now.

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Apollumi
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phon
10/24/2012

Customer review by MrMorris33male

5.0 stars by MrMorris33male

I LOVE THIS PHONE OMG ITS THE BEST DEAL ON THE MARKET IVE HAD THE IPHONE 4 AND THIS PHONE TOWERS OVER THE IPHONE4 AND ITS WAY FAST AND EXTREMELY RELIABLE I HOPE YOU PURCHASE THIS ITEM I PROMISE YOU ITS MONEY WELL SPENT I WILL NEVER CHOOSE A DIFFERENT CELL PHONE OTHER THAN SAMSUNG PRODUCTS!!! ITS A KILER PHONE!!!

Was this review helpful? (84) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MrMorris33male
FORT SMITH ARKANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 507 total reviews