Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 38 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Review of HP refurbishment program
12/3/2012

Customer review by peggysnotion

3.0 stars 12/3/2012 by peggysnotion
by peggysnotion
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seeral months ago I purchased an HP refurbished compter. When received it turned out to be bad. The video when watching a movie was broken up and the color was all wrong. I returned the computer to the store where my money was refunded without any problem. I then purchaed a secod HP refurbished computer and it has worked just fine. Two weeks ago I decided to purchase a computer for my wife. Again I order an HP refurbished computer. Agan upon receipt it computer was bad. Each time it was turned on after sitting over night, it would reboot the BIOS. This is not normal. Agan I returned the computer to the store and was refunded my money. Agaln I purchased an HP refurbished computer for my wife and so far it has worked just fine. Whoever is refurbishing your compuiter is not doing a good job of it. You need to review their work.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
peggysnotion
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Should've Known
11/1/2012

Customer review by Itsoup

1.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Itsoup
by Itsoup
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I think purchasing a refurbished computer is a "hit and miss" situation. The computer worked fine and I was happy for the first 4 hours. After shutting it down and starting it up again later on, the computer had an error stating the fan wasn't working. After calling HP, they said for a fee they would try to help. It's not considered "new" therefore, they wouldn't warranty it. The only consolation is that Walmart has a good "no hassle" return policy. Lesson learned and I should have known... You get what you pay for. Would be nice to know the reason the computer was refurbished before purchasing. It would help in making an informed decision. Buyer Beware.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Itsoup
Warren, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Refurbished Hp laptop
11/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The laptop arrived 2 days after I ordered. Great This product appears to be totally satisfactory even though operation is different than the old windows operating system. Still getting used to touch pad operation which seems very touchy, wanting to almost automatically go to links inadvertently passed over. The Hp has a full operators manual embedded which will help everyone understand the functions of the unit. Of course the 17" screen for video streaming gets rid of the need for that bedroom second TV and the sound quality is good even for the hearing impaired. The embedded security program is a little annoying and I expect the windows 7 operating system to have all the security I need rather than having to buy further annual subscriptions to these applications. Microsoft needs to keep working towards the ability to thwart viruses and malware that the Apple computers are known for.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
St George Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/15/2012

Customer review by drmt

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by drmt
by drmt

I got this laptop for my son to go to college with and have been using it since it came (testing it for him). It seems to work great, stays cool loads up quickly, was in perferct condition with no visible damage. I did have some problems conecting to the internet and had to spend hours on the phone with at&t because it wouldn't recognize the wifi password. Changing it was a pain as we have 6 other wifi connected devices that all needed to be changed and were connected with out a problem. However, it is working better than the brand new Hp laptop which needed a new fan within a month. I would suggest an extended warrenty I have used walmarts warrenty for an xbox and they were very good. We got our money back and he was able to replace the broken one with a new xbox. HP's warrenty service has been excenlent also but much more expensive than walmarts extended warrenty. This is the 2nd referbished Hp laptop I have purchased the other one I got for my 16 year old daughter. It was the hp g-7 with the amd quad core. I bought her that one 3 months ago and she has used it everyday with no issues. I would have got my son the same computer but it was out of stock and this was only $30 more. They both seem equally fast. I do not know how this one will be for games, hers has been used to surf the web, go on facebook listen to music and type papers for her AP English and History classes.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drmt
Chico Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT LAPTOP!!!
9/21/2012

Customer review by Kimberley

5.0 stars 9/21/2012 by Kimberley
by Kimberley

I just got my new laptop and it is great!!! I had a hard time deciding what computer to get because I just wanted to get if for school. I had only had a desktop, but I wanted to be able to bring my computer with to school to be able to work on my homework in between classes and not to always have to run to the computer lab, so this semester I started looking for a computer and this one caught my eye and then I had a family member look for me because I have never ordered my own computer before and we both agreed on this computer. It was a reasonable price and when I got it in the mail it was a little bit bigger of a computer then I thought, but when I started to use it I learned that I love it!!! It is big enough so I don't have to squint at the computer. I would definitely recommend this computer to others. It is a great computer for a reasonable price and it has been a great investment for school!! Another bonus was that it came almost a week earlier then it was suppose to, so that was very exciting!

Kimberley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
SLOW AS POND WATER GOING UP STREAM!!!!
9/13/2012

Customer review by Ben31027

2.0 stars 9/13/2012 by Ben31027
by Ben31027

This was a replacement to a g7 which went to the repair facility 3 times.. motherboard, keyboard, screen, hard drive and graphics issues!!!! it was 10 months old and HP decided to give me this laptop in place of it.. due to the computer messing up for the 4th time.. my old machine had an amd-e350 processor in it.. this one has a i5.. amazingly my old machine would run laps around this one.. this computer takes so long to boot up anything... you can barely play sims3 on this machine.. and even just to bring up programs like word seems to be a challenge if you are listening to windows media player.. Most of the time I get tired of waiting and use my phone.. even its faster and its over a year old!!! :( one disappointed customer... This machine is a great machine if they could get the slowness worked out.. it always seems like something is running.. but i have checked the ram and such to see what is being used and nothing is running.. maybe its the harddrive in this machine because its only rateda 5.8 I am not sure but would love for them to figure it out!!!!

Ben31027
Asheville NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
My first Refurbished experience
12/5/2012

Customer review by woodie11

1.0 stars 12/5/2012 by woodie11
by woodie11

I have ordered two, I received 1st one just now , started it and am ready to take it back to Walmart. The laptop makes lot of continuous noise, like a jet is flying next to you. I will update when I get the second one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
woodie11
Lemont, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great after setup
9/15/2012

Customer review by JessicaM

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by JessicaM
by JessicaM

Having tried other companies computers, when it comes down to it, I've always used HP, Compaq, and Windows computers since they are dependable. My last PC's hard drive crashed (my fault), which is why I bought this laptop. Initially, by initially I mean the first couple of days, I was getting impatient and started regretting the purchase. But I had to keep reminding myself that with every new Windows computer, you have to download all the updates and it takes time. So after installing service packs and updates, the computer was ready to use. And its amazing. I've had it for almost a month, which I know is a little short of time, and it's really fantastic. My most favorite part about the computer is the loading and saving time. It is so fast. Editing programs open in seconds and videos that used to take 25 minutes to save now literally takes 2. Overall, I am greatly happy with this purchase and I still haven't been disappointed with a HP product. Being and student, website designer, and having a hobby of video editing, I need computers I can trust, which is why I only buy HP.

JessicaM
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Simply Amazing!
11/28/2012

Customer review by Pheebs

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Pheebs
by Pheebs

I got this laptop to play World of Warcraft on, do my school work on and to do my actual work on. It does all of that plus so much more! The AMD in it is awesome, for gaming purposes, I can sit in Stormwind on Fair to High settings and still get approximately 30 frames per second. Out in World it gets upwards of 80 fps. Did the Sha in Kun Lai summit - dropped it down a little and was still averaging 20 FPS. The speakers on this beast are amazing. I didn't realize that when I got this thing, that the speakers were going to be that good, or the volume actually worth a dang. It came with Windows 8 which at the time, was a little of a draw back, but now I am used to it, and I love it on this machine. The track pad is dual touch so it makes a touch pad OS seem acceptable. The only complaint, and I think this is more on my end as I have left it plugged in all the time, the battery life isn't that great. Which again isn't a problem, as I am constantly plugged in. So all in all, if you are looking for a gaming laptop, that isn't expensive, right here! If you are looking for an Entertainment laptop at all right here!

Pheebs
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good value for money, but...
8/8/2012

Customer review by xtrip37

4.0 stars 8/8/2012 by xtrip37
by xtrip37

I have only 2 complains that I wanted to share, and these are very elementary, critical and frustrating issues with the production of the laptop. First, the spacebar requires an extra punch otherwise it doesn't respond well. I have used PCs & laptop for years, never had to re-adjust to punch my thumb this hard. RIDICULOUS! Second, and equally annoying is the built-in flat mouse. It's very sticky and when browsing gets locked often, resulting in changing the browser font size %. How annoying is this, I have to resort to using external mouse..but common, this is a laptop. These things should be the most elementary design from usability perspective. Otherwise, the laptop is very good - great power, good display, very quite and light.

xtrip37
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
g7z-2100
8/27/2012

Customer review by Learymale

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by Learymale
by Learymale

I was extremely skeptical about buying a g7z-2100 but it turned out to be one of the best computer purchases I've made in years. Great performance, and the A-10 4600m is an amazing APU, set it up with a 7670m for dual graphics and you can run just about any game out there on med/high settings. I had no intention of using this machine for games, I had only wanted something that I could do homework/email on. I did upgrade the memory to 16GB vs. the standard 4GB that it comes with. Overkill? yes, but that's me... I wouldn't plan on taking this machine all over the place. It's pretty big, Standard desktop replacement size.

Learymale
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This product is encredible.
8/24/2012

Customer review by Jcruz567

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by Jcruz567
by Jcruz567

This is one of the best laptops i have bought. The screen is huge (17.3 for a laptop is awesome) and the resolution is great too. I got the upgraded graphics card and games no longer lag, which was awesome because i am getting about 100 fps on high settings. The keyboard is very easy to type with, but i dont really like the small lettering for fn keys. The sound is great, and the battery life is great. I wish it had less pre-installed applications, but they can be easily removed. I recommend this laptop for anyone, who wants a great laptop, with a huge screen size, and works great for everything. Thanks a lot hp!

Jcruz567
Manhattan, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Light for 17" laptop. Works great.
9/22/2012

Customer review by Stan50

4.0 stars 9/22/2012 by Stan50
by Stan50

Difficult to remove some of hte plastic protective pieces. Still have a piece stuck down by spacebar. Wish I had ordered the lighted keyboard. Still trying to get use to the "two-finger" scroll on the pad. Preferred the previous pad with scroll function on the right side of the pad. Would like more USB connections. Previous HP laptop had four instead of just three. Very light for 17" laptop. Easy to transport. Still looking for good sleeve or pouch for travel. No reasonable ones found at HP store. Overall, very pleased so far.

Stan50
Milford, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Overall a great computer.
9/5/2012

Customer review by MattF312

4.0 stars 9/5/2012 by MattF312
by MattF312

I bought this computer mainly to replace my old Dell computer for school purposes. I got the 1gb radeon 7670m to game on the road or at school. This computer is great for me, it's fast and boots in little time. However, it is a bit on the bulky side, so if you're one of those people who need the actual text book to haul to class, this probably isn't the best choice. But, if you have all your books in the e-Version, this is a great buy!

MattF312
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
HP Paviilon g7-2010nr laptop
7/10/2012

Customer review by Broncobill

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Broncobill
by Broncobill

I have owned this laptop for about 2 weeks and I am very impressed with it's performance. The boot time of the laptop is exceptionally fast. It does take some time to get used to using it considering it is running the OS of Windows 7; It is a more of a learning curve compared to Windows XP. I have had some trial and errors with being able to make certain programs work with the laptop but all in all I was able to "tweek" and get them running. With the touchpad, the feature that impresses me is the fact you can turn the touchpad on and off and are able to use a seperate mouse. I also like the fact that it has the two different speeds of USB (2.0 & 3.0) along with an HDMI port so you can hook it up to a high definition monitor such as a television. The laptop also works very very well wirelessly (I have it hooked up to my "network") and does not drop the wireless signal like my previous laptop. I am also able to print to my network printer with the laptop......It is so cool that I can place an order on the laptop and send the receipt information to the printer. One thing I don't like is the fact it comes pre-loaded with things such as Norton Internet Security (trial-version). The Norton program keeps popping up wanting you to register it and ultimately use it.....I would rather pick my own internet security software for the laptop. It comes with a 640 Gig hard drive, DVD read/write drive, etc. I cannot tell you about battery life since I mostly keep it plugged in but I do cycle the battery every now and again. It is truly a very decent laptop and would highly recommend it.

Broncobill
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The product is great but...
12/6/2012

Customer review by wawynn54

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by wawynn54
by wawynn54

The computer itself is great BUT the Microsoft Windows 8 (which is preloaded) has a bug that causes a configuration update problem. It sticks at 13% and that is a problem with a brand new computer. The customer shouldn't be bothered with this problem on a brand new computer. Fix that problem with Microsoft and it's a great computer.

wawynn54
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great features
9/16/2012

Customer review by ChuckDemi

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by ChuckDemi
by ChuckDemi

Pro: Works as expected, looks great. Shipped faster than expected. Only Con is took some practice lifting screen up. No easy place to lift. The unit was advertised as an AMD 3GHz/2.1GHz Quad Core. Came with Quad but only 2.8GHz/1.9GHz. HP made good with credit as I decided nothing really worth sending back for since working great.

ChuckDemi
Hiawatha, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice computer for the money
8/22/2012

Customer review by shortwolf

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by shortwolf
by shortwolf

I simply needed a faster processor and more memory, and a friend suggested HP. I spent a lot of time doing comparisons of HP comupters with others (Lenovo, Acer and Samsung), and HP offered the best bang for my buck. I'm thrilled to have a modern laptop now, compared to the old, slow, clunky one that will soon be put to sleep.

shortwolf
Monmouth County, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Keyboard issues
9/21/2012

Customer review by sst1

2.0 stars 9/21/2012 by sst1
by sst1

The display is very good, but its keyboard is not working properly. The SPACEBAR is not working at all. I thought this is an issue only with my computer, but later realized from the reviews that the keyboard has issues. I returned this product with Pavillion dv6, which is much better with more features for the same prize.

sst1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Product good, customer service wanting.
9/7/2012

Customer review by BigAngus

4.0 stars 9/7/2012 by BigAngus
by BigAngus

The product is fine; setup went well. The Norton protection extension activation that I paid for is nowhere evident. Customer Service fumbling resulted in a couple of weeks delay in delivering the computer. In my past purchases, customer service was always excellent so this might be some kind of aberration.

BigAngus
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews