Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 38 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Should've Known
11/1/2012

Customer review by Itsoup

1.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Itsoup
by Itsoup

I think purchasing a refurbished computer is a "hit and miss" situation. The computer worked fine and I was happy for the first 4 hours. After shutting it down and starting it up again later on, the computer had an error stating the fan wasn't working. After calling HP, they said for a fee they would try to help. It's not considered "new" therefore, they wouldn't warranty it. The only consolation is that Walmart has a good "no hassle" return policy. Lesson learned and I should have known... You get what you pay for. Would be nice to know the reason the computer was refurbished before purchasing. It would help in making an informed decision. Buyer Beware.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Itsoup
Warren, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Review of HP refurbishment program
12/3/2012

Customer review by peggysnotion

3.0 stars 12/3/2012 by peggysnotion
by peggysnotion

Seeral months ago I purchased an HP refurbished compter. When received it turned out to be bad. The video when watching a movie was broken up and the color was all wrong. I returned the computer to the store where my money was refunded without any problem. I then purchaed a secod HP refurbished computer and it has worked just fine. Two weeks ago I decided to purchase a computer for my wife. Again I order an HP refurbished computer. Agan upon receipt it computer was bad. Each time it was turned on after sitting over night, it would reboot the BIOS. This is not normal. Agan I returned the computer to the store and was refunded my money. Agaln I purchased an HP refurbished computer for my wife and so far it has worked just fine. Whoever is refurbishing your compuiter is not doing a good job of it. You need to review their work.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peggysnotion
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/15/2012

Customer review by drmt

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by drmt
by drmt

I got this laptop for my son to go to college with and have been using it since it came (testing it for him). It seems to work great, stays cool loads up quickly, was in perferct condition with no visible damage. I did have some problems conecting to the internet and had to spend hours on the phone with at&t because it wouldn't recognize the wifi password. Changing it was a pain as we have 6 other wifi connected devices that all needed to be changed and were connected with out a problem. However, it is working better than the brand new Hp laptop which needed a new fan within a month. I would suggest an extended warrenty I have used walmarts warrenty for an xbox and they were very good. We got our money back and he was able to replace the broken one with a new xbox. HP's warrenty service has been excenlent also but much more expensive than walmarts extended warrenty. This is the 2nd referbished Hp laptop I have purchased the other one I got for my 16 year old daughter. It was the hp g-7 with the amd quad core. I bought her that one 3 months ago and she has used it everyday with no issues. I would have got my son the same computer but it was out of stock and this was only $30 more. They both seem equally fast. I do not know how this one will be for games, hers has been used to surf the web, go on facebook listen to music and type papers for her AP English and History classes.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drmt
Chico Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Refurbished Hp laptop
11/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The laptop arrived 2 days after I ordered. Great This product appears to be totally satisfactory even though operation is different than the old windows operating system. Still getting used to touch pad operation which seems very touchy, wanting to almost automatically go to links inadvertently passed over. The Hp has a full operators manual embedded which will help everyone understand the functions of the unit. Of course the 17" screen for video streaming gets rid of the need for that bedroom second TV and the sound quality is good even for the hearing impaired. The embedded security program is a little annoying and I expect the windows 7 operating system to have all the security I need rather than having to buy further annual subscriptions to these applications. Microsoft needs to keep working towards the ability to thwart viruses and malware that the Apple computers are known for.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
St George Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My first Refurbished experience
12/5/2012

Customer review by woodie11

1.0 stars 12/5/2012 by woodie11
by woodie11

I have ordered two, I received 1st one just now , started it and am ready to take it back to Walmart. The laptop makes lot of continuous noise, like a jet is flying next to you. I will update when I get the second one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
woodie11
Lemont, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great deal
12/9/2012

Customer review by hogfanJ

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by hogfanJ
by hogfanJ

Works great, no complaints

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hogfanJ
Cove Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HP g7-1338dx laptop
12/10/2012

Customer review by Kones

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Kones
by Kones

Ordered online and was returned within a week. Took out of box and hit the power button and all it did was turn on and off. Never went beyond the start up mode. I am happy with the HP product and will try to find another deal like this one. I just wish the people in charge of the refurb's did their job correct. Thankfully Walmart does a great job in customer service when items have to be returned.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kones
Woodbury, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value, Great computer
12/13/2012

Customer review by kathgarry

5.0 stars 12/13/2012 by kathgarry
by kathgarry

Due to budgetary and lifestyle changes, I had to choose carefully as my HP Desktop is dying. I have had great luck w/HP, as have my friends. I decided to gamble on a refurbished computer, and this one is freaking awesome. Way fast, great connectivity and plenty of memory for a middle-aged retired piker like me. I do not need Windows 8 and the 7 is fully loaded. The 17" screen is perfect, and the weight is just fine. Fantastic deal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kathgarry
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy for the money.
12/14/2012

Customer review by Machineit

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by Machineit
by Machineit

Everything as described and works great. I just have to get used to the longer keyboard (with the right side number keys) which I wanted for cad work. I have always had the smaller screens without the extra number keys, so I have to adjust my typing style. I love this nice large screen :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Machineit
Florida-USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HP Paviilon g7-2010nr laptop
7/10/2012

Customer review by Broncobill

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Broncobill
by Broncobill

I have owned this laptop for about 2 weeks and I am very impressed with it's performance. The boot time of the laptop is exceptionally fast. It does take some time to get used to using it considering it is running the OS of Windows 7; It is a more of a learning curve compared to Windows XP. I have had some trial and errors with being able to make certain programs work with the laptop but all in all I was able to "tweek" and get them running. With the touchpad, the feature that impresses me is the fact you can turn the touchpad on and off and are able to use a seperate mouse. I also like the fact that it has the two different speeds of USB (2.0 & 3.0) along with an HDMI port so you can hook it up to a high definition monitor such as a television. The laptop also works very very well wirelessly (I have it hooked up to my "network") and does not drop the wireless signal like my previous laptop. I am also able to print to my network printer with the laptop......It is so cool that I can place an order on the laptop and send the receipt information to the printer. One thing I don't like is the fact it comes pre-loaded with things such as Norton Internet Security (trial-version). The Norton program keeps popping up wanting you to register it and ultimately use it.....I would rather pick my own internet security software for the laptop. It comes with a 640 Gig hard drive, DVD read/write drive, etc. I cannot tell you about battery life since I mostly keep it plugged in but I do cycle the battery every now and again. It is truly a very decent laptop and would highly recommend it.

Broncobill
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Large screen is wonderful
9/4/2012

Customer review by ht2007

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by ht2007
by ht2007

Only change I made was from Internet Explorer to Foxfire. Found Foxfire to run better with Microsoft 7

ht2007
Harmony, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
so far it's a good buy
7/11/2012

Customer review by taja222

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by taja222
by taja222

Had this HP for 2 weeks and I'm happy. One small thing...you have to hit the space bar dead center...well, on mine anyway. Also I made one visit to the HP chat support and what should've taken 5-10 minutes took 20.

taja222
Redford, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
what I like best is the 17 inch display
8/25/2012

Customer review by compaq

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by compaq
by compaq

my new HP Pavilion g7z-2100 Notebook PC was easy to setup and is working great. I’m using it to surf the web, stream audio/video, play games and store pictures.

compaq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This product is encredible.
8/24/2012

Customer review by Jcruz567

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by Jcruz567
by Jcruz567

This is one of the best laptops i have bought. The screen is huge (17.3 for a laptop is awesome) and the resolution is great too. I got the upgraded graphics card and games no longer lag, which was awesome because i am getting about 100 fps on high settings. The keyboard is very easy to type with, but i dont really like the small lettering for fn keys. The sound is great, and the battery life is great. I wish it had less pre-installed applications, but they can be easily removed. I recommend this laptop for anyone, who wants a great laptop, with a huge screen size, and works great for everything. Thanks a lot hp!

Jcruz567
Manhattan, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fast, Quiet, & Great For Gaming
8/30/2012

Customer review by Trapp

5.0 stars 8/30/2012 by Trapp
by Trapp

I just got it yesterday 8/29/12 and i have installed a few games and it works pefect for gaming and i hope it works the same for this up in coming school year. I customized it to basically have the best everything like best processor, best ram, best graphics card, and 1 tb harddrive. It's simple amazing.

Trapp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
g7z-2100
8/27/2012

Customer review by Learymale

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by Learymale
by Learymale

I was extremely skeptical about buying a g7z-2100 but it turned out to be one of the best computer purchases I've made in years. Great performance, and the A-10 4600m is an amazing APU, set it up with a 7670m for dual graphics and you can run just about any game out there on med/high settings. I had no intention of using this machine for games, I had only wanted something that I could do homework/email on. I did upgrade the memory to 16GB vs. the standard 4GB that it comes with. Overkill? yes, but that's me... I wouldn't plan on taking this machine all over the place. It's pretty big, Standard desktop replacement size.

Learymale
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This product has so many great features.
8/15/2012

Customer review by Terrance60

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Terrance60
by Terrance60

The CD/DVD burner on our Pavilion g7 has allowed us to make DVD's from our pictures and vidios. We are able to watch our grandchildren as they grow again and again. My wife and I are beginners with this technology and find it easy and fun to use.

Terrance60
Lewiston, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice computer for the money
8/22/2012

Customer review by shortwolf

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by shortwolf
by shortwolf

I simply needed a faster processor and more memory, and a friend suggested HP. I spent a lot of time doing comparisons of HP comupters with others (Lenovo, Acer and Samsung), and HP offered the best bang for my buck. I'm thrilled to have a modern laptop now, compared to the old, slow, clunky one that will soon be put to sleep.

shortwolf
Monmouth County, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great after setup
9/15/2012

Customer review by JessicaM

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by JessicaM
by JessicaM

Having tried other companies computers, when it comes down to it, I've always used HP, Compaq, and Windows computers since they are dependable. My last PC's hard drive crashed (my fault), which is why I bought this laptop. Initially, by initially I mean the first couple of days, I was getting impatient and started regretting the purchase. But I had to keep reminding myself that with every new Windows computer, you have to download all the updates and it takes time. So after installing service packs and updates, the computer was ready to use. And its amazing. I've had it for almost a month, which I know is a little short of time, and it's really fantastic. My most favorite part about the computer is the loading and saving time. It is so fast. Editing programs open in seconds and videos that used to take 25 minutes to save now literally takes 2. Overall, I am greatly happy with this purchase and I still haven't been disappointed with a HP product. Being and student, website designer, and having a hobby of video editing, I need computers I can trust, which is why I only buy HP.

JessicaM
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great features
9/16/2012

Customer review by ChuckDemi

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by ChuckDemi
by ChuckDemi

Pro: Works as expected, looks great. Shipped faster than expected. Only Con is took some practice lifting screen up. No easy place to lift. The unit was advertised as an AMD 3GHz/2.1GHz Quad Core. Came with Quad but only 2.8GHz/1.9GHz. HP made good with credit as I decided nothing really worth sending back for since working great.

ChuckDemi
Hiawatha, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews