Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 189 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

189 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

189 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
134
4 stars
38
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
1-20 of 184 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews
Great zoom and great quality photos at great price
12/8/2013

Customer review by Lagarto7

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Lagarto7
by Lagarto7
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My previous camera was the Canon SX40, with a 35x zoom and I really loved it. I got this one as an upgrade and it met my expectations. It is a great point and shoot camera, if you don't want to worry about any specific settings. But if you like to modify some of them, it allows you to play with it. It's not a substitute for a DSLR, but it shouldn't be. The 50x optical zoom let you take photos of things you can't even see on plain sight. Great for photos of the Moon! (I have even been able to see Jupiter and it's four biggest moons, as bright spots; don't expect so much detail on those!). The flash is more powerful than the SX40, so the SX50 is improved for dark conditions. Just be careful when taking photos too close to individuals; they can seem too bright. Another improvement is the anti-shake technology while taking video. Very useful for people like me, with not a very steady grip. It doesn't include the mini-USB cable, so that's something you might need to get if you want to transfer the photos directly from the camera, instead of removing the SD memory card.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lagarto7
Addison, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!!
6/20/2013

Customer review by KCKayak

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by KCKayak
by KCKayak
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have several Canon cameras, including the 5dii. But I got this one both for the super zoom, and for ease of carrying while hiking. I also take it out with me in the kayak. My other cameras have 18-21 mp, and this one is only 12.1, so I hesitated. But the shots are beautiful!! Very rich color, especially in good light. Auto does a decent job, but I also use the manual, aperture priority, and shutter priority. And I admit to enjoying the toy camera option. It's fun. I did buy a cable release for this camera, which makes tripod use even better and easier. The swing out viewfinder also makes tripod use much easier. I also bought a hood, although I don't really notice much difference now that it's on. I also appreciate that the battery lasts quite a long time. But I did buy an extra one, because it's hard to recharge when you're in the boat. I was really very pleasantly surprised at how much I like this camera!!!

Was this review helpful? (86) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KCKayak
Damariscotta, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camera, easy to use
1/5/2013

Customer review by raves1013

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by raves1013
by raves1013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This by far is the BEST camera that I've owned. I was using the PowerShot S5is, that I bought 4 years ago. I love taking sunset pictures and anything nature, so the decent zoom worked out well for those pictures. When I first saw the PowerShot SX50 at my local Walmart, I fell in love with it, and knew that I would own it when I could. Finally, that day came. Nature and sunset pictures are easier than ever to capture, because it has a GREAT zoom. I consider myself a professional amateur. The PowerShot SX50, makes me look like a professional. The colors of the sunset pictures are amazing!! Great detail!! If you need to zoom in on a pelican, this zoom will get you so close, you think you're standing in front of it. I have not tried recording a video yet, but I'm sure it will be just as great as the pictures have been. So, if you're looking for a camera that takes great pictures, has a great zoom to get you close to everything, and is easy to use, then look no further, the PowerShot SX50 is that camera.

Was this review helpful? (72) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raves1013
Ocean Springs, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing features, and long zoom
1/19/2014

Customer review by awolmodel

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by awolmodel
by awolmodel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the side-swinging, tilting view screen, which is something I required in a new camera. 50x optic/200x zoom is really impressive and the stabilization really works. Photo here of small bird was done, handheld, through glass, from second story, across back yard and has not been cropped or adjusted. Has amazing features such as recognizing when someone's eyes are closed, and being able to recognizing a designated face and focus on it. Only criticisms so far are that the controls on the back are too easy to bump when pickup/handling the camera, and that it does use a rechargeable rectangular battery, so you cannot substitute common AA batteries when you are low. However, this does make the camera smaller and lighter.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
awolmodel
Aurora, Colordo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Got this camera for wildlife pics, It does the job
1/2/2014

Customer review by xpdsniper

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by xpdsniper
by xpdsniper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted an ultra zoom camera to take along on my hunts and just to keep in my truck. I have the Cannon S5-IS and was happy with it, but the powerful 50x zoom on this camera was something I could not resist. The zoom gets me great shots, and the detail I could not see as I took the shot. Stabilization is a must and works pretty well. The photo attached was taken of a deer approx. 100yds from the road, I shot thru the cab as I was sitting on the passenger side through the driver side open window with the vehicle running.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xpdsniper
Northern AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/25/2013

Customer review by vzarnold

4.0 stars 8/25/2013 by vzarnold
by vzarnold
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted something to get close ups on birds and buterflys. This works great.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vzarnold
south caroline
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little camera
5/3/2014

Customer review by Pd4049

5.0 stars 5/3/2014 by Pd4049
by Pd4049
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great camera but a little over priced!

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pd4049
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/18/2012

Customer review by canonreview

4.0 stars 11/18/2012 by canonreview
by canonreview

I planned to use this camera to record a wedding in HD. After trying a few practice videos, I noticed the video kept cutting out less than 20 minutes into the recording. I contacted Canon customer support about it and received the following response: "Unfortunately, the SX50 HS has built in clip limitation when shooting videos. Your camera will stop recording automatically once the clip reaches 4GB in size or 29 minutes and 59 seconds in length when shooting in high definition or approximately 1 hour when shooting in standard definition." It is a nice camera and easy to use. The pictures look great and the zoom is amazing, just don't plan on taking long HD videos with it.

Was this review helpful? (129) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
canonreview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Very Impressed With This Camera
5/25/2015

Customer review by PHCM USN

5.0 stars 5/25/2015 by PHCM USN
by PHCM USN

My son-in-law used this camera on an African Safari and I was very impressed with his imagery - this is especially true since he is an inexperienced photographer. I have been needing (wanting) a small "carry everywhere" camera which produces decent imagery and has a fairly wide focal range. I visited a local cemetery for a Memorial Day dedication and did not feel like lugging a DSLR with a couple of lenses. I decided that this would be the camera I should have had and purchased the SX50 HS as soon as I arrived home from the ceremony... It is mandatory for my camera to have an eye level viewfinder and to be able to capture RAW imagery. This model fills both requirements. I realize that at longer focal lengths, the aperture is fairly small so I will use a tripod/monopod when shooting at those longer focal lengths. However for short to medium focal lengths, the IS capability is all I need. The HSS capability is another plus for this little camera. I plan to match this with a Canon 270EXii Speedlite...

PHCM USN
Escondido, CA
12/8/2012

Customer review by travelred

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by travelred
by travelred
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great camera with all the bells of the g-series Canon but with 1200 MM lens. Works great in low light and you can use the hot shoe if needed.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
travelred
Blue Springs, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One of the best cameras so far
12/30/2015

Customer review by Shingwedzi

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Shingwedzi
by Shingwedzi

I have owned this camera for over 2 years and it has traveled to Africa, South America and Europe with me. The zoom range of 24-1,200mm is amazing, and the quality of the images are wonderful. You have to use good technique when shooting at the longer zoom range so sharp clean images are the result. I have found if I set my f stop to 7.1 when shooting at the 1,000-1,200 range, my images are nice and sharp. Once you learn the capabilities of this camera you will be very pleased with the results. I find the accessibility of the exposure comp and macro buttons very useful. I am very happy as well that Canon has kept the video button right where it is quick to hit with my thumb, along with allowing the feature of snapping a still shot while recording. And the image stabilization works very well. I have been very happy with the quality of images even at high ISO's (800 and at times beyond). The saturation of color is very nice as well. And one of the best features is the articulating LCD screen. Once you use this screen at all it's available angles to get interesting and creative images, you won't consider another camera without this feature! For the next generation of this wonderful camera, I would enjoy an easy panorama mode that didn't require post processing and a longer zoom range would be over the top amazing! In conclusion: this camera produces terrific results, it's fun to use, the zoom range is WONDERFUL, and the size and weight is such that you won't ever think twice about carrying it around at all times.

Shingwedzi
Pennsylvania, United States
Nice camera for the price.
2/7/2013

Customer review by casper82

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by casper82
by casper82

This is an excellent camera for capturing photos at a distance. For me, as a birdwatcher, it takes great pictures for identification and documentation. It's not intended for the professional photograhper. The camera's ability to focus rapidly after the full extension of the Zoom, either optically or digitally is lacking. I still think it's a great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
casper82
Laredo, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome upgrade from the SX30 IS
12/3/2012

Customer review by TwitnFain

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by TwitnFain
by TwitnFain
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really enjoyed using my old SX30 and captured some amazing photos with it. When the SX40 came out, the reviews and comments indicated that Canon had made notable improvements in the SX line. But, I couldn't justify getting a new camera so soon. But when the SX50 was released with the longer zoom, I knew that would be my next camera. I did some comparisons with other similar cameras, but jumped for the Canon when Walmart dropped the price. In the end, the two reasons I picked Canon over Nikon and Sony were: 1. My familiarity with Canon SX cameras and 2. That incredible 50X zoom. I have only used the camera for a few weeks mostly to capture backyard birds and the full moon. When possible, I took the same shots with my old SX30 to make comparisons. The photos have always been better with the SX50... sharper, brighter and better color. I am very pleased so far. The range of this lens is similar to my SX30 and it provides very good macro shots as well as zoomed shots. I haven't taken enough test shots yet to give a detailed analysis, but the range of this lens is simply amazing. In the dSLR world, you would need to buy several (many) heavy and expensive lenses to get the same range. Without a doubt, the dSLR will deliver much better quality in the photos. But unless you are a pro or a very serious hobbiest, it would be hard to justify the extra expense. And if you do have great dSLR equipment, you can probably justify having an SX50 (or other megazoom) as an everyday carry around camera when you don't want to drag the heavier stuff around. I seldom take video and haven't tried this feature yet. Sorry. But other reviews I've read think the SX50 is very good at this. I guess there are some great video uses for the 50X lens, but does it make sense to buy this camera for movies when there would be no way to capture sound at a 50X distance? But like I said, I don't do video very often. The SX50 controls have been shuffled since the SX30. In my opinion, the new design works about the same as the old. It just took me a few days to get used to the new locations. The power button is the one thing that still troubles me. The location is probably better and lowers the chance of accidental on/offs. But, I find that I have to be very deliberate when pushing the button. Several times, I've grabbed the camera, pushed that button and moved the camera to my eye only to see that the camera hadn't turned on. This might be a deliberate design to further prevent the casual button press??? The articulating LCD screen is one of the coolest features of the SX cameras. This makes it possible for you to keep good control of your camera in some very awkward situations... around corners (being sneaky :^), on the ground, over your head, etc. Other than those type of situations, I seldom use the LCD to compose a photo. But I can't imagine having a camera without that feature. I have only used the flash once, just to make sure it works. The image stabilization works great... but hand holding this camera at 50X is still an issue. I use tricks (leaning into something, holding the camera on something, etc) for most long shots, but I think I will use a tripod a lot more than I did with the SX30. If you have always used a point-and-shoot camera, the SX50 is a great way to start using some manual techniques. I've only tinkered a bit with these on the SX50, but have used aperture and shutter priorities quite a bit on the old camera. A big complaint of mine with both cameras is when using manual focus. Ughh. Focusing is a fine tuning function which is almost impossible to do by spinning the control wheel. Luckily, the autofocus works pretty good as long as you can get it to focus on what you want. Should you buy this camera? The zoom is awesome for wildlife, birds, sporting events, etc... anything that you want to bring up close If those type of photos are low on your priorities, there are many other cameras on the market that will give you excellent photos at half the price. For me, I am VERY happy with the SX50.

Was this review helpful? (137) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TwitnFain
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
5/14/2013

Customer review by Diz62

4.0 stars 5/14/2013 by Diz62
by Diz62
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to use and quality of pictures are very good. I have grandchildren in sports and this as been wonderful for action shots.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diz62
Vevay IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Zoom! Zoom! Zoom!
2/24/2013

Customer review by IaWalmartShopper

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by IaWalmartShopper
by IaWalmartShopper

I got this for Christmas & love love love it! I love Canon products & it's similar to my other Canon camera when it comes to it's "functions". It's easy to use. I'm not a professional at all, just use it to shoot everyday life. The zoom is AWESOME!!! I'm sure there is so much more to the product than I even know how to use and can't wait to learn more. You won't be sorry you made the investment. If you can, get a case with it #included with price#.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IaWalmartShopper
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Love the camera
2/5/2014

Customer review by LocationOne

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by LocationOne
by LocationOne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a little complicated for a beginner. I read the manual for two evenings and made some progress then I went on youtube and watched 3 or 4 videos on how to operate the menu's, buttons, flash, etc. and the light bulb went on. It all made perfect sense and I have been really happy that I bought it. I highly recommend this camera/recorder, the 50x zoom is incredible it's like having a telescope that is a camera/video recorder. You can zoom the moon so close you can see minute details.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LocationOne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Camera for Price
2/2/2014

Customer review by Tiger1001

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by Tiger1001
by Tiger1001
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am definitely a bargain shopper but sometimes you get what you pay for when buying cameras which is what has happened to me the last three times I have tried to buy a camera that was less than $100. I decided to bite the bullet and purchase a more expensive camera but I still didn't want to buy a professional end camera. My main goal was to get a camera that would do action shots in burst mode and not be blurry. This camera is perfect for that and wasn't really that pricey considering all the features included within it. I am still learning all the details but so far it has been pretty easy to use and the picture quality is great. I definitely recommend this camera to others.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tiger1001
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Run and buy this camera, it's fantastic
11/9/2014

Customer review by Patty

5.0 stars 11/9/2014 by Patty
by Patty

I bought this camera last April 2013, I also purchased the polarizing filters, 64GB 10 memory card and remote release & secure shoulder harness . This camera took exceptionally beautiful shots in very low light in Venice and crisp shots inside the Vatican. It's extremely quick to capture clear shots from a busy street, without getting traffic into the image. Rarely need a flash. The button is quick, responsive & smooth, I rarely get blurred photos. I can take multiple photos without degrading consecutive shots. The telephoto lens experience proved to render breathtaking shots of the lagoon in Venice. Macro are good too, Camera is VERSATILE. I have more than 5500 photos in less than 1 yr. For my first year as a member in a Camera Club, I won award ribbons for 95% of my images in judged competitions, They moved me up to the next level because of the quality of my images. Although they call this a bridge camera, it's great for any level of expertise.

Patty
Cheektowaga NY
Good Optics
8/4/2013

Customer review by night train

4.0 stars 8/4/2013 by night train
by night train

I have been using Cannon Cameras for close to 20 years and have used the SX50 HS for just over 3 months shooting close to 750 photos already. For point and shoot camera the sx50 hs pretty good for average day to day use and have been happy with it. The optical zoom is phenomenal for telephoto and has very good day time image quality. For the most part I have found the controls pretty easy to use. For low light I have found the image quality to be good, however when in comes to night photography the camera is a bust. Any time exposure for more then a minute the camera changes the ISO to 80. This has been a very big disappointment for me and if I had known this beforehand I would have most likely considered a different cannon camera. I would recommend this camera looking to shoot photos of family and friends or vacation. For someone looking to do more advanced stuff such as low level or time laps photography I would not recommend this camera.

night train
Northwest, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
I Thought It WAS b
11/30/2015

Customer review by Dave

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by Dave
by Dave

I Thought It Was Bran New Boy was I Surprise'd I would buy another!!!!

Dave
Moravia Iowa
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews