Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 108 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

108 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

108 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
8
1-20 of 97 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
Great camera for beginner or a camera buff.
1/23/2014

Customer review by Outdoorcowgirl

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by Outdoorcowgirl
by Outdoorcowgirl

I have had this camera 3 weeks now. I have tired to do as much with it almost every day, as I can. I have taken photos and videos and it so far has done everything the book says it can do. It has given me very crisp and clear photos. The videos have turned out really good. I am having fun with this camera so far. It' takes great indoor and out door photos. I had to print out the booklet to get into the camera to figure out how to use the black and white and sepia and blue modes with it. the getting started booklet that comes with it, does just that. It gets you started how to use the camera, but you need the whole book to know how to get into the camera to use all the things it can do. You can go online and print it out or just look it up each time you want to learn more about this nice little camera. I have tried to use it every day incase it didn't work out and so I could return it to the store. But so far I love this camera. I also love that I can use AA batteries. I spend a lot of time out in the mtns. in the summer, mostly and it's easier to take batteries than trying to recharge them. So Yes this is a great camera for the money I paid for it. A real good bargain I think.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Outdoorcowgirl
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too long to charge flash
2/4/2013

Customer review by mommajeankins

3.0 stars 2/4/2013 by mommajeankins
by mommajeankins

I bought this camera as a replacement for another Canon camera I had. My experience with Canon has been good so I purposely looked for that brand. I read reviews online about how long it took to charge the flash, so I went to a store and tried it. It was fairly fast in the store, not true when I got my camera. Takes a full 6-7 seconds to charge the flash in between pictures (in the store it was only 2 seconds). I thought that since the camera was faster in the store that it must be the AA batteries that slowed it down. I read many reviews and looked for quality rechargeable batteries. I ordered some and hoped they would make my camera faster...didn't work. Also, I set the date, time, and time zone but every time I turned on the camera it wanted me to reset it. I was taking pics of 3 of my boys sports and it was frustrating that the camera screen kept asking me to set it and I missed my shot. I later learned that the date battery needed to be changed (even though I had just barely got the camera). I bought a new battery for the date/time and it worked fine after that. I ended up taking the camera back. It was so frustrating to have to wait to take the picture and didn't work well for what I needed to take pictures of. If you want to take pictures of things that are still and can wait between pics, then this will be ok. It also took a good picture in low-light (gymnasium). I was trying to take pictures of basketball and wrestling, and this was not a good camera for that. Even when the team sat and posed at the end of the game I had to make them wait for my camera...and that picture didn't turn out the greatest, but I couldn't make them wait for the flash to charge again. I read many reviews again and just ordered the Canon PowerShot ELPH 110 HS. I'm hoping it will work better for my needs.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommajeankins
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Camera!
1/11/2014

Customer review by tozie

5.0 stars 1/11/2014 by tozie
by tozie

this camera is just amazing! even someone like me with little talent in photography can take great pictures. the filters are great fun. some reviewers said the LCD was 'grainy' but i think it is crystal clear. my friend, an experienced photographer, even found it to be a great point and shoot. I personally LOVE the AA batteries. i want that convenience of running into the store and grabbing some batteries in a pinch. i do use the rechargeable ones for economy and they last nearly as long as a lithium battery. unfortunately the videos are saved in a format my older computer doesn't recognize so i've not found a way to view them, yet. the software cd that comes with the camera is not exactly user friendly for us less-computer savvy folks. and i wish it had a printed manual rather than the electronic PDF file. but the camera itself has been living up to its name as a 'point and shoot'. it does all the thinking for you, if you want it to. which leaves you to enjoy your adventures as you take pictures.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tozie
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/17/2012

Customer review by 1snoopy01

4.0 stars 12/17/2012 by 1snoopy01
by 1snoopy01

WELL, IT DOES TAKE GOOD PHOTOS AND IT WILL TAKE THEM PRETTY FAST IF YOU DON'T HAVE TO USE THE FLASH. IF YOU TURN ON THE FLASH, IT WILL TAKE A FEW SECONDS AFTER YOU PRESS THE BUTTON, FOR THE CAMERA TO TAKE THE PICTURE. I AM STILL TRYING TO GET USED TO IT.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1snoopy01
JESUP, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SX 160 still uses AA batteries
1/13/2014

Customer review by LFnickname

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by LFnickname
by LFnickname

I've been a Canon power-shot fan for years and look forward to using this camera after my current power-shot gives out. Some things to note: this is the last model of smaller point-n-shoot cameras that still uses AA batteries. If you get the newer model, you'll need to deal with Canon-proprietary battery packs. (I've always had two sets of rechargeable AA batteries, and a backup lithium battery set when I travel -- works fine). Another thing: the old-fashioned view-finder is gone: your only choice is to look at the back of the camera, instead of holding it up and taking your picture. Finally, the hand-grip side of the camera isn't as pronounced as in the earlier versions, but is still there to help stabilize your grip for one-handed pictures. This camera will still slide easily into your pocket. My trial pictures all look great, I haven't tried out the more powerful zoom yet.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LFnickname
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/2/2013

Customer review by Bikermonk

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Bikermonk
by Bikermonk

I wanted to upgrade for my daughter's camera for landscape photography; she has limited epxerience and this product provides a good bridge to more advanced digitals. After comparing I bought the SX160 because it is better recommended than most in its class by photography experts. Quick operation, fairly easy and detailed menu. The 16X zoom lens and 16MP are an upgrade from the SX150 (which actually cost more), but not quite as powerful as advertised. The included SD card and case made it a great value package. Had to order the red body online; wish it was in stock at the store, but the online expereince was pretty good for the holiday season. I would recommend the SX160 or the SX200, which has a 20X optical and more advanced features but the body is more compact and not as solid a feel or function to it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bikermonk
West Lafayette, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Big Bang for the Buck
1/7/2014

Customer review by CousinJoeFROMaequus1

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by CousinJoeFROMaequus1
by CousinJoeFROMaequus1

My needs were: 16Megapixels for print layout quality and 720P video for my band, aequus1.com. This camera also had 16x optical zoom (don't even consider digital zoom) and stereo audio. And, the software loaded into my old PC running Windows XP. I only saw the black version available and when I went to checkout an ad for the red one (which I really wanted anyway) was $20 cheaper. Could not be happier with the whole deal. 32Gig memory card was $20 but gives me 8 hours of video and/or a bazillion pictures. The GoGuide was all I needed to get through the menu in the camera and the full User Manual is on the supplied disk. Pop in the batteries (someone else called it appropriately a battery vampire) and the memory card and get at it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CousinJoeFROMaequus1
Branson, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great camera for the price
12/30/2012

Customer review by violator420

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by violator420
by violator420

i got this as a gift for my wife, have only used it a few tines seems to take good pics. only fault ican find is the flash doesn't pop up manually. if you use the flash you hyave to raise it and lower it your self. if that's the only problem we have with this camera than i would highly recommen this one to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
violator420
24348
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT CAMERA TO LEARN WITH
1/20/2014

Customer review by JOECAMERA

4.0 stars 1/20/2014 by JOECAMERA
by JOECAMERA

YOU MUST READ USERS GUIDE TO KNOW WHAT DIALS AND BUTTONS TO PUSH TO SET UP CAMERA AND KNOW HOW TO GET AROUND THE DIFFERANT MODES. I SUGGEST YOU BUY A PACK OF AA ALKALINE BATTERIES, CAUSE YOU WILL NEED THEM. MAYBE RECHARGABLE IS THE WAY TO GO. CAMERA FEELS SOLID IN HAND BUT SHOULD HAVE NECK STRAP AS WRIST STRAP IS CHEAP. I FOUND TELEPHOTO LENS IS NO PROBLEM AND CAN ZOOM WITH NO EFFORT WHILE TAKING PICTURES. MY BIGGEST PET PEEVE IS USING TOO MANY BATTERIES! PICTURES ARE GREAT, HAVE NOT TAKEN ANY MOVIES YET. YOU WILL NEED TO BUY A CLASS 10 HD CARD AS THIS WILL SPEED UP PICTURE TAKING. IT WAS'NT EASY TO LEARN ALL IT CAN DO, BUT CONTROLS AER POSITIONED PRETTY MUCH LIKE OTHER CAMERAS. .IF I CAN LEARN IT YOU CAN.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JOECAMERA
LOCKPORT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Camera
12/18/2013

Customer review by RkBaker

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by RkBaker
by RkBaker

I have used my camera and I love love love it. I certainly recommend it to others. Much better then the Nikkon Coolpix that I bought last year. It took terrible pictures.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RkBaker
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For the price you can't go wrong!
12/30/2013

Customer review by Seedog

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by Seedog
by Seedog

This camera gets very god reviews and for the excellant price it can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Seedog
Southport, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of features in a small package!
1/19/2014

Customer review by Redsuperduty

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by Redsuperduty
by Redsuperduty

I had a SX130 previously, it got lost. I was so mad at myself for losing a camera. Mostly because of the photos on the card, but it was a great little pocket camera. Most of the time I use my T4i. I have been looking for a replacement for a few months. I kept finding myself going back to the newer version of my original camera. So far I'm not disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redsuperduty
Southcoast Mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very easy to operate, excellent pictures and video
1/18/2014

Customer review by dj26

5.0 stars 1/18/2014 by dj26
by dj26

Still learning all the things this camera will do, very pleased so far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dj26
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good camera to start with as a beginner
1/19/2014

Customer review by DaJD

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by DaJD
by DaJD

I am very satisfied with the ease in operation, the functioality of the camera, and the features of which there is plenty to use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaJD
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent long zoom. great price
1/19/2014

Customer review by TuckaBucka

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by TuckaBucka
by TuckaBucka

Arrived fast, easy to use ,long zoom, good manual and low light. Price was great!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TuckaBucka
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Takes great pictures, easy to use
1/21/2013

Customer review by butterflygirl2878

4.0 stars 1/21/2013 by butterflygirl2878
by butterflygirl2878

I searched online and read many reviews for many different cameras before deciding to purchase the Canon PowerShot SX160 IS. Overall I am satisfied with this camera. It is easy to use, takes regular AA batteries, the zoom is strong and pictures are crisp and true to color. Battery life is poor, but that is expected when using the flash for every shot and reviewing each picture on screen. My only real disappointment is in the speed in which the flash re-charges between shots, it is quite sluggish. Pros: Regular AA batteries, 16 megapixels, 16 optical zoom, easy to use, crisp pictures, true to color, strong flash in low light settings, great price. Cons: Burns through batteries, sluggish re-charge of flash between shots, does not include full manual- it must be downloaded from the disk or website.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
butterflygirl2878
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
battery run out fast
1/1/2013

Customer review by 1FLNANA

3.0 stars 1/1/2013 by 1FLNANA
by 1FLNANA

Dont know if ill keep it

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1FLNANA
jax beach fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS
1/13/2014

Customer review by Kimberly14787

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by Kimberly14787
by Kimberly14787

The camera takes beautiful pictures! I had the AS1400 and the camera wouldn't automatically focus the way that I wanted to. The auto focus along with all of the other modes of taking a picture is awesome! The Panoramic views are very easy to take. The video function takes good video as along as you are in a lighted room. All in all, if you are looking for a great camera to take excellent pictures and you are new to the many functions it has, you will be pleasantly surprised and will learn quickly. Then later on down the road if you want to get a Canon SLR you will already know how to take great pictures in any kind of light!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kimberly14787
Westfield, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Camera!
2/13/2013

Customer review by AlleyBob

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by AlleyBob
by AlleyBob

I haven't had this camera long but for the short time I have used it, I have loved it. It has great zoom and good picture quality. The flash does take a few seconds to charge before taking another shot. I have bought other brands but was never satisfied. Canon is one of the best!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlleyBob
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good camera for price
1/15/2014

Customer review by Mrmarty1111257

4.0 stars 1/15/2014 by Mrmarty1111257
by Mrmarty1111257

Camera heavier than I expected

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mrmarty1111257
Delray beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews