Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 356 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

356 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

356 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
169
4 stars
114
3 stars
24
2 stars
28
1 stars
21
1-20 of 331 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 331 total reviews
1-20 of 331 reviews
Its a cool camera
12/10/2013

Customer review by BigdogBrian

4.0 stars 12/10/2013 by BigdogBrian
by BigdogBrian
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm not a camera guy by any means. I like a good photo as much as anyone but I'm not gonna spend $500 on a camera for as little as i use one. However this little camera takes some nice shots. I found this on sale for black Friday and decided to pick it up. Pros: Good photos easy to use not heavy uses batteries cons: uses batteries depends on memory card wait after flash for recharging battery drainer I got this from fed ex around noon, and began playing with it (with the batteries included). By the end of the day it was showing low battery. i had been using it off and on throughout the day so that wasn't to bad. its been about a week or so since i got it, and periodically i pop it on to take a few shots, and I'm still rockin the original batteries. so I'm getting really close to having to change them In my opinion this is a nice little camera for taking on a trip. you can just take a few changes of batteries so when you run one set out pop a new set in and your good to go. Ill enclose some pictures i have taken with this camera, one picture will be a comparison with my old camera (don't remember what type it was) and the second will be a photo taken just with the camera.

Was this review helpful? (44) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigdogBrian
Edwardsville Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good camera, for me.
12/14/2013

Customer review by 2slickful

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by 2slickful
by 2slickful
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

I've only had it in use a couple of times and I'm pleased overall. The photo's and video I've recorded so far has all been with Auto settings. The pro's: 1. Feels good in my hands, not too large, or small. 2. Zoom is pretty clear as I took a moon shot and a fair amount of details were seen. 3. Image stablazation was apparent as seen during a live action stage show. 4. One button video is super easy. The con's: 1. Zoom is very quick. Going to take some practice to get the shots in the frame correctly. 2. Eats batteries. Ordered rechargeable Sanyo Eneloops from Walmart online to reduce costs.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2slickful
Rocklin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Love it.
1/13/2014

Customer review by mommainVaBeach

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by mommainVaBeach
by mommainVaBeach

So, I got this while on sale during Black Friday for Christmas. I am still trying to figure out all the options, as this is a upgrade from what i am use to using. But once you figure out how to use it I think it is easy and takes wonderful photos. I love the vivid colors and the way it shoots so very clearly. The only thing I would say that would be negative for this camera, no matter what setting i put it on for the focus button for my fast moving kids. It will be so off focused. I tried changing the option to auto and it still doesn't focus. But, it is to be expected when you have someone moving.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommainVaBeach
Virginia Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very satisfied with my purchase
12/10/2013

Customer review by Tonymarie

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Tonymarie
by Tonymarie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I will give this camera 5 stars, I have owned over the years the previous models sx120 and sx130 and never any issues with them and when I saw this newer model camera on Black Friday going on sale for such a great price even though I was not looking for one camera , I did not thought twice, I had to buy it , I will not change models as long as Cannon makes this SX series. Great pictures, Wonderful colors, lots of optical zoom will bring your subjects closer to you and the captured details are impressive, lots of extra features like the professional cameras do but for far less money and easy to use.. I have received many complements on my previous SX models I have owned, I would still expect many more compliments on my new SX160, it just looks very nice and 1expensive and well made , it might be little bigger than other point and shot cameras but in reality is not , It has improved from the previous SX models. Cannon did not sacrifice on extra features found on more expensive cameras, which also include video recording, lots of features for the money even if not on sale , it will be a great price for this camera , Manual flash is not a big problem once you get used to it. it will let you know on screen to raise the flash when needed. Battery life not a problem since it uses AA batteries, found anywhere, but I would suggest to buy the rechargeable AA batteries for around 10 dollars and they will last a very long time so you will be able to recharge them and reuse them , is worth it. You will not be disappointed. I love this camera. Cannon is the way to go..

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tonymarie
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great camera if your used to an slr
12/16/2013

Customer review by cmsjt

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by cmsjt
by cmsjt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use my hubby SLR but wanted something smaller for me. and this is what i asked for so far so good. you cant selected the scenes only auto that selects the scenes for you,portrait,fisheye, quite mode. but every thing else is like an SLR with an added Hd video recording action on it. so far i like it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmsjt
Little rock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Big on options, terrible on basics
12/31/2013

Customer review by poe10

1.0 stars 12/31/2013 by poe10
by poe10

I bought this camera for Christmas and took over 200 pictures on it the week of Christmas. I am not sure if I will be able to salvage 60 of them. In fact, I was convinced there must be something wrong with the camera, and after returning home and reading more reviews than I did previously, it seems that with this camera you either get a good one or you get a bad one. I definitely got a bad one. Even Consumer Reports said this camera is good! On AUTO, one pic taken shows our interior walls as white, the very next shot, taken 5 seconds later, shows them a dark yellowish color. Faces are whitewashed, then in the next shot they are so dark the pic is useless. I am experienced in manual settings, so I attempted to set the camera myself with the hopes that all the pics wouldn't turn out like that. Again, less than poor results. The delay between pics is abysmal, with the camera lagging at least 3 seconds between shots (even in continuous snapshot mode!). The flash takes longer to charge with Duracell Lithium batteries than my 15 year old Kodak digital on regular alkalines. I just honestly cannot tell you how aggravating and frustrating it was to take a simple photo of people opening presents. Even some of the photos of family sitting still were fuzzy! So, I am returning it for another camera. Whether I will ever try another Canon again is still unknown. However, when I tried to remove the camera's software from my computer, it crashed upon uninstalling and said it was trying to erase a startup folder that could not be deleted. I reinstalled the program with the hopes that I could get a clean removal the second time around... NOPE. Now Canon's half-baked program for their half-baked camera is only half-uninstalled on my computer.

Was this review helpful? (18) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poe10
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this camera!
5/18/2013

Customer review by shopgirl416

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by shopgirl416
by shopgirl416
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I absolutely love this camera! I've had it for a little more than a week and have taken over 600 pictures. The shutter speed is a little slow, BUT there is a setting where you can hold down the shutter and it'll keep taking pics as long as you hold the button down! Videos are great and have great sound. I've been taking videos and pictures of my kids playing softball and the videos came out clear. You can switch from video to photos easily since there is a separate button to start/stop recording. There's tons of features I haven't even worked with yet. I have a friend who had a Canon EOS REBEL T3 who has lens envy after we went out to take pics together. I was able to zoom in and get closer pics that she could even though she has a big lens on her camera. If I had to say anything negative about this camera, it's that it is a battery vampire. I bought a pack of rechargeable batteries and I keep an extra set in my camera bag. When taking videos it seems to use more battery power than just taking pictures so if you don't plan on taking a lot of videos you might want to find something else.

Was this review helpful? (96) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopgirl416
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/24/2013

Customer review by 28cwan

5.0 stars 9/24/2013 by 28cwan
by 28cwan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ok first off I have read people down grade this camera because of battery life and true if you try and use regular alkaline batteries you will not like it, but with rechargeable nihm batteries are enelope batteries you will have a great experience! I love the clarity of pictures and the hd videos are nice as well! Hands down Cannon is the top of the line whether you buy their affordable cameras are the expensive ones! Cannon delivers!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
28cwan
Opelousas,La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AWESOME carmera
12/10/2013

Customer review by GatorIsle

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by GatorIsle
by GatorIsle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This camera was recommended to me by a friend .. Im not one bit sorry .. I LOVE IT !!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GatorIsle
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good camera
1/2/2014

Customer review by Amos44

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Amos44
by Amos44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This camera is replacing my SX 150 that was broken recently. I think it is a very good camera for this type camera. It does use the regular AA batteries instead of the battery pack which is what the SX 170 requires and can get you in a bind if shooting a lot of pictures without another battery pack. Have been pleased with it thus far (about a month).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amos44
Laurel, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Great learning Camera!
2/4/2014

Customer review by JamesJimmy

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by JamesJimmy
by JamesJimmy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use. Very clear photos. Great zoom.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JamesJimmy
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little camera
12/20/2012

Customer review by Rushv

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Rushv
by Rushv
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: Size- small enough to carry around without being burdensome. - Excellent zoom - Takes great high resolution pics - superb video capabilities - with a high Speed SD card, has a good refresh rate Cons: Flash must recharge before another pic can be taken. Takes anywhere from 2-5 seconds to charge between shots. Without flash, no problems. Overall, I am very pleased with this litte camera. I took the family to DisneyWorld for two weeks (I know-long time) and didn't want to carry my SLR around all day-every day. This camera was perfect and will now be my "carry along" camera and the SLR will be reserved for scenery and family pics. The zoom is outstanding for a camera this size and the stabilizer helps to substantially reduce blurry photos. When using the flash, don't expect to catch multiple shots within seconds, because the flash must recharge, which takes 2-5 seconds. Still, for the money, it was a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (89) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rushv
Guthrie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent for the price.
8/26/2013

Customer review by MightyElRondo

4.0 stars 8/26/2013 by MightyElRondo
by MightyElRondo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not much to say here, but I upgraded to this one from a Samsung Digimax D53 (Google it if you wish), and it's a world of difference. Some of the stuff takes getting used to, but this thing has a lot of features I never thought I'd see in a supposed point-n-shoot camera. One such feature is manual focus, yes, MANUAL focus! In addition to that, it has auto-focus and macro auto-focus, but the manual focus is a dream come true. The macro on it is nothing short of awesome as well. I also love that it works with SD, SDHC and SDXC cards, and that I can get an additional AC wall adapter for it (for long shoots) also. The HD video is 720p, but it also does 480p and iMovie formats. Regardless, it's a great product and I'm rather satisfied with it. One negative I do have, however, is that when recording video, the stereo microphones are so sensitive that they also pick up the sound of the zoom motor in the lens. That tends to be annoying, but if you plan to dub audio over the video and replace the original audio track, then that's fine, but beware of this one weird issue regardless. Other than that, not much I can dock it for. :)

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MightyElRondo
Northern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Might be okay
12/11/2013

Customer review by Vickkkkki

2.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Vickkkkki
by Vickkkkki
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I don't like writing negative reviews ... or reading them for that matter, however, I did return this camera. Even though it's almost unheard of for me to return anything, photos are important to me especially to have record and memories at hand of our children and family. That written, the idea of often blurry pictures is not acceptable for me. Children don't always stay still to pose for shots, and this camera just left too many blurry shots. Plus, it took a considerable amount of time to charge up the flash for the next shot. I missed some good shots of the family putting up the Christmas tree and decorations. So, I got the refund and put it toward a camera that better suited my needs/wants. I like my old Canon camera and thought I'd be returning to Canon. I'm sure they have a camera for us, but not at a price we can afford. For a positive note, though, when the pictures weren't blurry, they were extremely clear and the color was VERY true.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vickkkkki
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
disappointed with Canon
1/7/2014

Customer review by targetis

2.0 stars 1/7/2014 by targetis
by targetis
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The positives: 16x optical zoom, uses AA batteries, fits nicely in hand and flash is in a convenient spot unlike a Nikon (which is right above your left finger), can zoom while doing movies, movies are very nice and convenient to start and stop. I rated value Good because it was on sale for a vg price. Neutrals or Negatives: eats alkaline batteries BUT if you use Duracell rechargeable you will be very happy. Initial flash charge is average, next charges are ok. Autofocus takes awhile and delays pict when you press button for pict. No memory card to start with. The Canon program for your computer is a joke ! 1st you have to transfer using one program and then you have to import to another program to view. I don't see an easy way to rename a file , they all are set just by date. Canon could learn a huge lesson from Kodak Easyshare which is one click and can easily name files. Overall disappointed with supposedly one of the best, making it difficult for the average camera person.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
targetis
St Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad Quality Control Ruined This Camera
12/26/2013

Customer review by Keith74

2.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Keith74
by Keith74
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to use, and takes above average quality photos and videos for it's price range. HOWEVER, the camera arrived with dust covering the internal lens. This cannot be cleaned. So, particularly when taking photos when using the flash or low light, you can see the dust particles reflected on the finished photos. Cleaning the lens will likely require taking the entire camera apart by a professional to even get to it (which is probably more expensive than buying the camera new), or I'm going to have to attempt to exchange it for another one. Canon obviously has some major QC issues in their manufacturing facilities, or major design flaws with the camera, if the lens is already covered in dust straight out of the box. I'm very disappointed in Canon, Walmart, and this camera for that reason alone. A dirty internal lens effectively renders the camera unusable. I would not recommend purchasing anything from Canon or any items heavily discounted by Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keith74
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Bang for the Buck
1/12/2013

Customer review by ComputerNerd

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by ComputerNerd
by ComputerNerd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I don't have too much experience yet with the camera, but seems to be a good one. I suggest reading the pdf manual that comes on the DVD. Appears to eat batteries quickly, so either carry spares (although if you are going for this type of camera, then spares are a necessity). A lot of features! One of the key benefits is that you can open the box, install the batteries and memory card, and just go for it! The lens does pop out a bit at telephoto/macro, and the macro does need some getting used to. For the price, it's a good starter camera for the novice. It even features adjustable aperature and spped settings. All the controls on the camera body are easily accessible and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ComputerNerd
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/13/2012

Customer review by Iamirish

5.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Iamirish
by Iamirish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Better than the Nikon Coolpix I purchased previously, except had a problem with software. Could not direct print image nor share to facebook. Tech Support said it was because my printer was an older model (4 years old) - that should not be. Also the manual needs to be expanded to show what the various icons are on the camera - I had a flashing red icon that I don't know what it meant - looks like a red TV - only way to get rid of it was to turn the unit off. However, it is easy to handle, screen is easy to view and fits your hand very comfortably. Just wish I had more info on the ISO options and icons - don't understand them.

Was this review helpful? (42) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iamirish
Highland, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for a beginner!
12/26/2012

Customer review by harrysgurl

3.0 stars 12/26/2012 by harrysgurl
by harrysgurl

Overall I really like this camera. It's just the battery! It eats up batteries horribly! I can't even go a whole day on one set of batteries! 2 double A's won't last for as long as I want them to! ):

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
harrysgurl
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great small auto focus camera.
12/13/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The AA batteries are to be inserted in with different polarity. Check its printed polarity or else it won't power up. Don't use regular AA batteries as it doesn't last long. Other than this short coming this little acts like SLR camera. AF is great for me as a amateur photographer. It's coordinated with the zooming and make sure you had the image focused before clicking. To do that is press half way the trigger button. Big led screen helps. It has 16X mechanical zooming AND can zoom digitally upto 64X in either still pictures or video taking. The video has that special non shaking effect even when you move your hand. Awesome. Plus when taking a night scenes do it on a stand and set on self timer so you won't shake camera. The result is fantastic. . Big smile. Xoxoxo

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
houston Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 331 total reviews
1-20 of 331 reviews