Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 351 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

351 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

5 stars
167
4 stars
114
3 stars
24
2 stars
27
1 stars
19
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 326 total reviews
Great little camera
12/20/2012

Customer review by Rushv

5.0 stars by Rushv

Pros: Size- small enough to carry around without being burdensome. - Excellent zoom - Takes great high resolution pics - superb video capabilities - with a high Speed SD card, has a good refresh rate Cons: Flash must recharge before another pic can be taken. Takes anywhere from 2-5 seconds to charge between shots. Without flash, no problems. Overall, I am very pleased with this litte camera. I took the family to DisneyWorld for two weeks (I know-long time) and didn't want to carry my SLR around all day-every day. This camera was perfect and will now be my "carry along" camera and the SLR will be reserved for scenery and family pics. The zoom is outstanding for a camera this size and the stabilizer helps to substantially reduce blurry photos. When using the flash, don't expect to catch multiple shots within seconds, because the flash must recharge, which takes 2-5 seconds. Still, for the money, it was a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (81) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Rushv
Guthrie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this camera!
5/18/2013

Customer review by shopgirl416

5.0 stars by shopgirl416

I absolutely love this camera! I've had it for a little more than a week and have taken over 600 pictures. The shutter speed is a little slow, BUT there is a setting where you can hold down the shutter and it'll keep taking pics as long as you hold the button down! Videos are great and have great sound. I've been taking videos and pictures of my kids playing softball and the videos came out clear. You can switch from video to photos easily since there is a separate button to start/stop recording. There's tons of features I haven't even worked with yet. I have a friend who had a Canon EOS REBEL T3 who has lens envy after we went out to take pics together. I was able to zoom in and get closer pics that she could even though she has a big lens on her camera. If I had to say anything negative about this camera, it's that it is a battery vampire. I bought a pack of rechargeable batteries and I keep an extra set in my camera bag. When taking videos it seems to use more battery power than just taking pictures so if you don't plan on taking a lot of videos you might want to find something else.

Was this review helpful? (89) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shopgirl416
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good
12/9/2012

Customer review by cajunlady723

5.0 stars by cajunlady723

So far I am loving this camera. Pictures are sharp and clear. so easy to figure out the settings..

Was this review helpful? (70) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cajunlady723
South Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice camera for the price.
1/7/2013

Customer review by convvette

4.0 stars by convvette

Would like to see a battery charger with lithium batteries included. Instead this camera does not have a charging port. Not a big deal to replace depleated batteries, but the option to charge would be nice.

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
convvette
Orange, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/13/2012

Customer review by Iamirish

5.0 stars by Iamirish

Better than the Nikon Coolpix I purchased previously, except had a problem with software. Could not direct print image nor share to facebook. Tech Support said it was because my printer was an older model (4 years old) - that should not be. Also the manual needs to be expanded to show what the various icons are on the camera - I had a flashing red icon that I don't know what it meant - looks like a red TV - only way to get rid of it was to turn the unit off. However, it is easy to handle, screen is easy to view and fits your hand very comfortably. Just wish I had more info on the ISO options and icons - don't understand them.

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Iamirish
Highland, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Its a cool camera
12/10/2013

Customer review by BigdogBrian

4.0 stars by BigdogBrian

I'm not a camera guy by any means. I like a good photo as much as anyone but I'm not gonna spend $500 on a camera for as little as i use one. However this little camera takes some nice shots. I found this on sale for black Friday and decided to pick it up. Pros: Good photos easy to use not heavy uses batteries cons: uses batteries depends on memory card wait after flash for recharging battery drainer I got this from fed ex around noon, and began playing with it (with the batteries included). By the end of the day it was showing low battery. i had been using it off and on throughout the day so that wasn't to bad. its been about a week or so since i got it, and periodically i pop it on to take a few shots, and I'm still rockin the original batteries. so I'm getting really close to having to change them In my opinion this is a nice little camera for taking on a trip. you can just take a few changes of batteries so when you run one set out pop a new set in and your good to go. Ill enclose some pictures i have taken with this camera, one picture will be a comparison with my old camera (don't remember what type it was) and the second will be a photo taken just with the camera.

Was this review helpful? (42) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BigdogBrian
Edwardsville Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for a beginner!
12/26/2012

Customer review by harrysgurl

3.0 stars by harrysgurl

Overall I really like this camera. It's just the battery! It eats up batteries horribly! I can't even go a whole day on one set of batteries! 2 double A's won't last for as long as I want them to! ):

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
harrysgurl
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Bang for the Buck
1/12/2013

Customer review by ComputerNerd

5.0 stars by ComputerNerd

I don't have too much experience yet with the camera, but seems to be a good one. I suggest reading the pdf manual that comes on the DVD. Appears to eat batteries quickly, so either carry spares (although if you are going for this type of camera, then spares are a necessity). A lot of features! One of the key benefits is that you can open the box, install the batteries and memory card, and just go for it! The lens does pop out a bit at telephoto/macro, and the macro does need some getting used to. For the price, it's a good starter camera for the novice. It even features adjustable aperature and spped settings. All the controls on the camera body are easily accessible and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ComputerNerd
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/24/2013

Customer review by 28cwan

5.0 stars by 28cwan

Ok first off I have read people down grade this camera because of battery life and true if you try and use regular alkaline batteries you will not like it, but with rechargeable nihm batteries are enelope batteries you will have a great experience! I love the clarity of pictures and the hd videos are nice as well! Hands down Cannon is the top of the line whether you buy their affordable cameras are the expensive ones! Cannon delivers!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
28cwan
Opelousas,La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very satisfied with my purchase
12/10/2013

Customer review by Tonymarie

5.0 stars by Tonymarie

I will give this camera 5 stars, I have owned over the years the previous models sx120 and sx130 and never any issues with them and when I saw this newer model camera on Black Friday going on sale for such a great price even though I was not looking for one camera , I did not thought twice, I had to buy it , I will not change models as long as Cannon makes this SX series. Great pictures, Wonderful colors, lots of optical zoom will bring your subjects closer to you and the captured details are impressive, lots of extra features like the professional cameras do but for far less money and easy to use.. I have received many complements on my previous SX models I have owned, I would still expect many more compliments on my new SX160, it just looks very nice and 1expensive and well made , it might be little bigger than other point and shot cameras but in reality is not , It has improved from the previous SX models. Cannon did not sacrifice on extra features found on more expensive cameras, which also include video recording, lots of features for the money even if not on sale , it will be a great price for this camera , Manual flash is not a big problem once you get used to it. it will let you know on screen to raise the flash when needed. Battery life not a problem since it uses AA batteries, found anywhere, but I would suggest to buy the rechargeable AA batteries for around 10 dollars and they will last a very long time so you will be able to recharge them and reuse them , is worth it. You will not be disappointed. I love this camera. Cannon is the way to go..

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tonymarie
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent for the price.
8/26/2013

Customer review by MightyElRondo

4.0 stars by MightyElRondo

Not much to say here, but I upgraded to this one from a Samsung Digimax D53 (Google it if you wish), and it's a world of difference. Some of the stuff takes getting used to, but this thing has a lot of features I never thought I'd see in a supposed point-n-shoot camera. One such feature is manual focus, yes, MANUAL focus! In addition to that, it has auto-focus and macro auto-focus, but the manual focus is a dream come true. The macro on it is nothing short of awesome as well. I also love that it works with SD, SDHC and SDXC cards, and that I can get an additional AC wall adapter for it (for long shoots) also. The HD video is 720p, but it also does 480p and iMovie formats. Regardless, it's a great product and I'm rather satisfied with it. One negative I do have, however, is that when recording video, the stereo microphones are so sensitive that they also pick up the sound of the zoom motor in the lens. That tends to be annoying, but if you plan to dub audio over the video and replace the original audio track, then that's fine, but beware of this one weird issue regardless. Other than that, not much I can dock it for. :)

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MightyElRondo
Northern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good camera, for me.
12/14/2013

Customer review by 2slickful

4.0 stars by 2slickful

I've only had it in use a couple of times and I'm pleased overall. The photo's and video I've recorded so far has all been with Auto settings. The pro's: 1. Feels good in my hands, not too large, or small. 2. Zoom is pretty clear as I took a moon shot and a fair amount of details were seen. 3. Image stablazation was apparent as seen during a live action stage show. 4. One button video is super easy. The con's: 1. Zoom is very quick. Going to take some practice to get the shots in the frame correctly. 2. Eats batteries. Ordered rechargeable Sanyo Eneloops from Walmart online to reduce costs.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
2slickful
Rocklin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/4/2013

Customer review by pnoman

5.0 stars by pnoman

I just ordered this Canon SX160 to replace my trusty old Canon SX100 (same basic camera, just an earlier version) that I've used for 5 years and over 125,000 photos. The old SX100 never gave me a minute's problem, even though I traveled with it on my motorcycle taking thousands of photos every year, plus over 25,000 photos per year as the webmaster at a car dealer, taking 40-50 photos of every vehicle to post online. The old SX100 has been dropped, soaked in rain, left in hot cars, etc and still worked fine up until today, when I dropped it "just right" on the cement and broke the front lens assembly. Totally my fault. I love the fact it uses AA batteries, since I have about 6 sets of rechargeables. Each set of rechargeables gets me up to 500 - 600 photos (without flash). It takes good video, except that it has a 1-hour limit. Maybe the new SX160 can record longer??? The only complaint I really had on the old SX100 was the shutter delay between the time you push the shutter and the photo actually takes. It looks like they have improved that. We'll see. I replaced my old Nikon 35-mm film camera and multi-lenses with this one easy-to-carry camera. It does nice macro, is good in low-light settings when you don't want to use flash, and even has a nice photo-stitch program to make nice panoramas. Very versatile, easy to use, uses AA batteries, and is durable!! I hope this new SX160 lasts as long as my SX100.

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pnoman
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointing camera
9/23/2013

Customer review by IMMMJ2

1.0 stars by IMMMJ2

I did much research for a good point and shoot camera and read many online reviews. The reviews on this camera were decent so I purchased it. One of the cons on other reviews was the terrible battery life...this is absolutely true. I had made a total of 96 pictures on the brand new camera when the low battery signal came on! The 16x zoom was a laugh. EVERY picture that I took with the zoom with a moving subject was blurry even though it advertised a stablizer!! I did like the feel of the camera because I don't like the small cameras. I ended up returning the camera after using it twice with terrible results. Wal-Mart showed great customer service when returning the camera for a credit without any problems. I had such good hopes that after looking at so many cameras that this one would be the one I really liked...it wasn't.

Was this review helpful? (26) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
IMMMJ2
Joliet, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AWESOME carmera
12/10/2013

Customer review by GatorIsle

5.0 stars by GatorIsle

This camera was recommended to me by a friend .. Im not one bit sorry .. I LOVE IT !!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GatorIsle
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it.
1/13/2014

Customer review by mommainVaBeach

5.0 stars by mommainVaBeach

So, I got this while on sale during Black Friday for Christmas. I am still trying to figure out all the options, as this is a upgrade from what i am use to using. But once you figure out how to use it I think it is easy and takes wonderful photos. I love the vivid colors and the way it shoots so very clearly. The only thing I would say that would be negative for this camera, no matter what setting i put it on for the focus button for my fast moving kids. It will be so off focused. I tried changing the option to auto and it still doesn't focus. But, it is to be expected when you have someone moving.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mommainVaBeach
Virginia Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/3/2013

Customer review by yeocat

1.0 stars by yeocat

Disappointed with the camera. Went through 2 sets of batteries in one day. Could not get the audio to work either. Returned the camera.

Was this review helpful? (18) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
yeocat
Helena MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/11/2013

Customer review by HTDcustomer

2.0 stars by HTDcustomer

If you do mind the inconvience of having to replace batteries after 15 pictures or having to buy high priced lithium batteries.......this camera is for you. Has been a pain for us.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HTDcustomer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Big on options, terrible on basics
12/31/2013

Customer review by poe10

1.0 stars by poe10

I bought this camera for Christmas and took over 200 pictures on it the week of Christmas. I am not sure if I will be able to salvage 60 of them. In fact, I was convinced there must be something wrong with the camera, and after returning home and reading more reviews than I did previously, it seems that with this camera you either get a good one or you get a bad one. I definitely got a bad one. Even Consumer Reports said this camera is good! On AUTO, one pic taken shows our interior walls as white, the very next shot, taken 5 seconds later, shows them a dark yellowish color. Faces are whitewashed, then in the next shot they are so dark the pic is useless. I am experienced in manual settings, so I attempted to set the camera myself with the hopes that all the pics wouldn't turn out like that. Again, less than poor results. The delay between pics is abysmal, with the camera lagging at least 3 seconds between shots (even in continuous snapshot mode!). The flash takes longer to charge with Duracell Lithium batteries than my 15 year old Kodak digital on regular alkalines. I just honestly cannot tell you how aggravating and frustrating it was to take a simple photo of people opening presents. Even some of the photos of family sitting still were fuzzy! So, I am returning it for another camera. Whether I will ever try another Canon again is still unknown. However, when I tried to remove the camera's software from my computer, it crashed upon uninstalling and said it was trying to erase a startup folder that could not be deleted. I reinstalled the program with the hopes that I could get a clean removal the second time around... NOPE. Now Canon's half-baked program for their half-baked camera is only half-uninstalled on my computer.

Was this review helpful? (18) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
poe10
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent choice for needs
10/22/2013

Customer review by ValueShopperCortland

5.0 stars by ValueShopperCortland

This camera has high resolution , is very portable and easy to use. The pictures download easy to my computer and are of high quality. It has many features that are more complex for a fine camera, however you can easily get the first shots without having to read much in the manual. My only negitive is they should have been a bit more clear that you absolutely need a scan disc to get started.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ValueShopperCortland
Cortland, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 326 total reviews