Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 356 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

356 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

356 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
169
4 stars
114
3 stars
24
2 stars
28
1 stars
21
1-20 of 331 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 331 total reviews
1-20 of 331 reviews
This is our third sx160
11/30/2013

Customer review by lifelongcanonfans

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by lifelongcanonfans
by lifelongcanonfans

My wife and I went from "wasacanonfan" to lifelongcanonfans" because of the excellent customer service Canon has given to us. This is our third sx160 camera. We also have Canon a3100, a4000 and sx40 cameras. Our sx160 cameras are the "in between" cameras in terms of size and zoom potential that we carry when we want more zoom than the a3100 or a4000 can give us but want to carry something smaller than our sx40. When we look at the picture quality from these cameras we cannot tell them apart either when we view them on our computer or when we print them and frame them. For a relatively small hand held zoom camera the sx160 is hard to beat. The number of shots we can take varies with the quality of the batteries we use and have had zero problems with the battery system. If we could only have one camera, I suspect we would choose one of our sx160 cameras because they give us the best size (relatively small) and zoom (adequate for most of the shots we take of people, scenery and wildlife) capability. The smaller "a" series cameras have their place as does our larger "sx" camera.

lifelongcanonfans
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Much better than expected
10/13/2013

Customer review by steve

4.0 stars 10/13/2013 by steve
by steve

I spent 25 years as a professional wedding/portrait photographer so was not expecting much from any digital camera, much less a so called point & shoot. However, I was, and am, happily surprised with my SX160 IS. Image quality, even in auto mode, is so much better than expected. Action photos, even in somewhat low light, are crisp and clear and the wide to zoom capability is exceptional. I'm just starting to 'play' with the advanced features and am having a field day. Complaints about battery consumption are way overstated - heavy sessions will go through a set of two - but not an issue worth mentioning. Even the built-in flash is good enough for most non-critical work but don't expect to get more than about 10 feet of effective distance. My onlly negative comments are that 1) complete owners/operators manual should be included and 2) sales info should state that memory card is not included and is necessary for camera to function. Sounds simple, but for those not familiar with digital cameras maybe not so obvious. After all, I didn't need to buy a card for my phone before I took pictures.

steve
Lynbrook, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent except for the display
7/3/2013

Customer review by Carolina Tar Heel

3.0 stars 7/3/2013 by Carolina Tar Heel
by Carolina Tar Heel

I've owned the SX 110, 150 and now the SX 160. It's an excellent camera with lots of features, but there are some serious flaws on this model that Canon should address. The most glaring drawback is the inferior 3" display which has only 230,000 pixels- it appears muddy and dim. All of the competing cameras in this price range- including Canon's own models- have a brilliant and crystal clear 460,000 pixel 3" display. (Your pictures, however, will be much clearer than they display on this camera's dim display.) The SX 160 has two attachment points for a neck strap, which you'll need, but sadly, they only ship the camera with a one point "wrist strap." Wait for Canon to upgrade the 3" display to 460,000 pixels and supply a two point neck strap before ordering this excellent camera. These upgrades should be coming soon if Canon is listening to customer feedback.

Carolina Tar Heel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not as good as previous canons
1/21/2013

Customer review by gatta

2.0 stars 1/21/2013 by gatta
by gatta

I own an EOS350 rebel xt(love it), an A520, and had a A1000IS(loved it) until it was stolen. Replaced the A1000IS w/ this model. The auto mode shooting is poor. Even the slightest motion in the subject comes out blurry, never happened former model. Have tried using Tv mode raising the shutter speed, which works well in bright room with close up subject, but otherwise (at distance) it comes out too dark. I am not a pro, know something about camera features, but I am disappointed with this camera compared to the perfection and ease of former A1000IS. SX160 does not come with detailed user manual as did previous models(the manuals truly helped understand all the functions and take good pics. They were small and fit in my purse too). so I am having a hard time overcoming the blurry thing.

gatta
new york, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Camera for the Money
12/5/2012

Customer review by dusgalan

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by dusgalan
by dusgalan

My 5-Star rating is due because of the high quality of photos and long list of features available for the price. I have not found a competitor's camera with the capabilities of the Canon PowerShot SX160 IS for the same price. Therefore, to me that equals value because this camera does what I need it to do. I need a camera that is lightweight and allows me to control the exposure I desire. The color balance is excellent. It captures what I see quite effectively. I enjoy capturing sunsets in my photos--where the light changes every second. The PowerShot SX160 IS records this most effectively. I have been a Canon customer since 1983 when I bought my first A-1 SLR who enjoys the technological advances in their products over the years.Once again a GREAT camera for the money.

dusgalan
Provo UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera, Low price
1/5/2014

Customer review by Cody

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by Cody
by Cody

I got this camera for christmas, I picked it out after looking at a few different ones and I am glad i made that choice. I am very happy with the quality of the camera and the pictures it takes. It is very easy to use and has so many great features. I had a powershot A530 when i was younger and it made me a canon fan from the start and the sx160-IS just ensured that will not change anytime soon. As for the battery life, I use ultimate lithium batteries and they last forever, of course if you use cheap batteries you will get short battery life, that's just common sense. I could not be any happier with this product. The zoom and Image stabilization are great, however with full zoom it is kinda touchy if you move the slightest little bit but that's what tri-pods are for.

Cody
Keyser, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Pictures
7/5/2016

Customer review by Johnny D

5.0 stars 7/5/2016 by Johnny D
by Johnny D

The picture quality is amazing! I used this camera for my photogaphy class and it was so so easy to carry around and took good quality pictures for such a low price. This is not a video camera since the quality for video aint that good! The batteries do tend to run out quickly but for the quality of the pictures I dont mind!

Johnny D
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice camera
11/29/2012

Customer review by Happy One

4.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Happy One
by Happy One

I've owned a Canon Sure Shot 610A digital camera for a number of years and have used it to the point that the shutter button stopped working all together. After getting quotes on repairing it, it made financial sense to simply replace it. I naturally gravitated to the Canon brand and found this one. It has many of the same features as my 610A, however, there are two things I am not crazy about on the new unit. One, you have to manually press a button to activate the flash and two, the on/off button is very sensitive to touch as I've found the camera turned on without knowing it. Other than that I really enjoy the larger screen and the fact that it only uses 2 "AA" batteries - not as hungry as my 610A.

Happy One
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This camera is Great for Close-ups & Etc
7/23/2013

Customer review by BrumbleBee

4.0 stars 7/23/2013 by BrumbleBee
by BrumbleBee

This is a great quality camera, one reason for that the clear crisp pictures it take is a good quality. The only downer to it is, some of the pictures that I have taken have a big pixels shown. Since I do photography has a hobbie it's a good starter for someone who wants to have a DSLR camera, Because it has the grip and feel to one and and a optical Zoom. It makes your pictures very professional looking. And lastly it does take Battery's and since my parents didnt know that , since my parent got it for themselfs, we didnt knew it took AA+ battery's and the battery life goes bone dry within eiter a hour or half an hour. Overall it is a good investment , and anyone will enjoy this camera.

BrumbleBee
Annapilos, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
20 year Canon user
9/20/2013

Customer review by DRN

5.0 stars 9/20/2013 by DRN
by DRN

I have used Canon Cameras for the past 20 years and I have enjoyed the quality and workmanship of their products. I have just purchased the SX 160 IS and it is as usual a very good quality product. The only problem is with the software. The SX 160 software is only compatible with Windows XP and newer operating systems. What about us older citizens who still have Windows 98, 2000, and Millenium? We need image browsers too. Would it cost that much more to write code for these older operating systems. You are a quality manufacturer and should realize that there are a lot of potential customers over 50 that have need of your services and quality products.

DRN
Burton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Huge disappointment
6/5/2013

Customer review by karen r

1.0 stars 6/5/2013 by karen r
by karen r

Imagine my disappointment when I presented this camera to my daughter as a graduation gift this afternoon and all we see on the screen is "snow". It's broken. I am beyond angry. I actually purchased the camera in December as a Christmas gift, but decided to get her a laptop for Christmas and save the camera for graduation. It's been in its original packaging, never touched. We put the batteries in, turned it on, set the date (that part works) but there is nothing but "snow" on the on the screen. Hope I can get a replacement or my money back (since I'm not sure I want another.).

karen r
Baltimore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
A camera to grow with..
12/30/2012

Customer review by Oldskool

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Oldskool
by Oldskool

I purchased this camera to replace my former PowerShot camera. This one has 16MP max resolution, and a whole wealth of features that I will need some time to get used to. So far, am impressed with the picture quality, some artifacts on higher ISO settings, but that is to be expected. Shot a quick video with it, and quality is good as well. I like the ability to pop up the flash unit on this camera manually. The viewfinder is a good size as well. The build quality seems like it shall endure much use.

Oldskool
East Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent for a digital
8/31/2013

Customer review by Kitty

4.0 stars 8/31/2013 by Kitty
by Kitty

This camera is okay for a digital. It has the potential to take good photos, and it does have some nice features. Plus it is very easy to use. I have had problems with the autofocus on it, sometimes it acts up. This is a great camera for someone who is new to photography. I would get it if it is your first camera, or you are new to photography, and eventually get an upgrade after you get really good with this one. Overall it is a great camera for its price.

Kitty
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good camera with a couple exceptions
2/7/2014

Customer review by Cardinal

3.0 stars 2/7/2014 by Cardinal
by Cardinal

I bought this to replace an older digital camera after dropping it on cement. It takes good pictures, but out in the daylight, it is hard to see with the LCD screen. Also, the batteries don't last very long. Actually, I tested the batteries after the camera shut down and told me to "replace batteries." They tested still very strong. I do like the 16X optical zoom and the good macro feature and the ability to manage my own picture taking experience.

Cardinal
Springfield, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/27/2013

Customer review by Nell

3.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Nell
by Nell

Was very satisfied with the quality of pictures, but not impressed with it taking AA batteries instead of a rechargeable battery. I purchased this camera while my regular camera was in for repair and I take a lot of pictures in a day and went though a lot of batteries. I would recommend this camera to those who don't use it on a regular basis. Other than my dissatisfaction with it being battery operated it did take good pictures.

Nell
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this camera!
11/15/2013

Customer review by prsimoneau

4.0 stars 11/15/2013 by prsimoneau
by prsimoneau

I love most features of this camera! It takes amazing pictures and is really easy to use once you take the time to figure it out. The only issue I have is that I can not upload my pics to my computer. I uploaded all the software it said I needed but still won't upload. I have tried on several computers and am told on all of them they can not find the camera when it is plug into them. Very frustrating.

prsimoneau
Claremont, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall A Great Camera
7/15/2013

Customer review by Simpleton

5.0 stars 7/15/2013 by Simpleton
by Simpleton

Personally I find the Cannon Power Shot SX160 IS to be a great camera. I have tried out all its features, even though in the beginning it took a little time for me to learn, since at 68 years old I'm still an amateur picture taker. The 3" LCD screen is large enough to see what a person wants take a snapshot of, plus I found it easy to us the menu and tool options in this camera. A person can control the LCD brightness by going into the menu function. I can't believe how clear pictures come out even from using the Zoom lens feature. I like manually using the flash function, because having too many auto functions on a camera uses up too much batter juice. Camera comes with 2 Alkaline batteries I find lasted me up to around 30 pictures. I bought an Energizer NiMH Battery Charger, which came with 4 rechargeable batteries. I called Cannon Customer Service for a manual book to look over while I'm away from home. This camera equals some other name brands I have already tried out, but a few of those other brands had one or more features that couldn't cut the mustard this one does. I find that it's not always the higher the price the better the quality of something. I look at the middle range to find just as good or even slightly better, with all the features I want and not to out do anyone else. I found out from a few individuals not to over charge my rechargeable batteries. The batteries I have bought are 1300 mAh which charges up in 6hrs time. So if I go up to the highest number of hours, which is 9 from a 2300 mAh batter, no doubt I'll be able to take a higher number of pictures.

Simpleton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst Canon Product purchased
5/12/2013

Customer review by makeyesup

2.0 stars 5/12/2013 by makeyesup
by makeyesup

Purchased this camera 10/2012. For 2 months, it worked fine. Now, every time I turn it on, I have to reset the date as it goes back to 00/00/2012, time is 00:00 and zone does not show . I have missed many photo opportunities because of this. All of my photos are kept in date folders and it is important for the date I set to hold. This is my 5th Canon camera and very disappointed with this one.

makeyesup
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value
5/12/2013

Customer review by Gus

4.0 stars 5/12/2013 by Gus
by Gus

The compact package makes it easy to handle anywhere. The zoom gets in nice and close to get the details. The HD video adds versatility and eliminates the need to carry two cameras. The pixel quality is at the top. Unfortunately, the battery life only gets you around 20 pictures, and you need to have spare sets on hand. The software is a little difficult to navigate and save pictures to disc.

Gus
Bethlehem, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't send pix thru yahoo e-mail
11/21/2014

Customer review by IZZY

1.0 stars 11/21/2014 by IZZY
by IZZY

I am not satisfied with this power shot sx 160 is because I cannot send any of my photos thru my yahoo e-mail! I always get Windows Life Mail which I don't and never used. Non of my friends do not use this service either, they say they don't like not being able to enter Windows Life Mail, why can't I send my photos thruyahoo mail like everything else that I use???

IZZY
Maine
1-20 of 331 total reviews
1-20 of 331 reviews