Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

21 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

21 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 20 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Bionaire Electric Fireplace Black Stylish Heater
10/9/2015

Customer review by SenoritaC

4.0 stars 10/9/2015 by SenoritaC
by SenoritaC
Top 250 contributor

Bionaire Electric Fireplace Black is stylish and sleek looking. Easy to assemble. I used the freestanding view. Comes with metal feet you attach with winged thumbscrews by hand. Screen is glass so suggest wearing gloves when handling it so you do not get fingerprints on the screen. Heat temperatures include 65, 70, 75, 80 and 85. Fan has settings 1 and 2. Timer: 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 & 12. Flame light has 4 settings to increase the width of the faux flame. Flame can be turned on without the heater being on as well. Units come with remote control – you will need to supply 2-AA batteries. Remote lights up showing selected feature setting for brief moments, as does the unit itself. (Unit has small display on side and behind glass). Unit beeps when features are activated. Fan forced hear. Actual heat comes from the top of the unit behind the glass. When the 40w bulb needs to be replaced- removed the glass and unscrew the small panel that houses the bulb. Rather quiet compared to my other freestanding heaters. I can just hear the heat blower very softly so perfect for my bedroom. Be cautious with picking up the unit, as the glass will come off. Glass is not permanently attached to the unit; instead, it sits on two brackets on each side of the heater and lifts off. Nice heavy power cord. Not too long, but I would not consider it short either. Does take a while to heat up the area ( max 500 sq. feet –Bonaire spec) or as an add-on to take the chill off a space. One-year warranty. 1500watts and draws 12.5 amps. User manual: http://demandware.edgesuite.net/aamb_prd/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-bionaire-Library/default/dwcf165785/documents/instruction-manuals/BEF6500-UM_43_11580683.PDF

Was this review helpful? (84) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SenoritaC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 250 contributor
So far, so good
11/1/2015

Customer review by Lbnole

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by Lbnole
by Lbnole

I've had the fireplace for two days and I love it! The flame looks real. It took 5 minutes to put together and all of the pieces (needed for assembling) were in the box. Also, the fireplace arrived days earlier than the expected delivery date. Wonderful! I'll update my post, if my opinion of the unit changes.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lbnole
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AMAZING VALUE FOR THE MONEY
10/16/2015

Customer review by Bandag21

5.0 stars 10/16/2015 by Bandag21
by Bandag21

I recently purchased this fireplace and am extremely happy with it. Almost no assembly required. I took 2 center doors off a large cabinet that my TV is on and put it in that cabinet. I will not be using it for heat just for the flame effect. Exactly what I was looking for. It does seem heavy to hang on the wall as it is larger than a lot I have seen and the glass is heavy. A very nice looking flame that has remote that adjusts brightness.

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bandag21
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
looks nice, heater is weak.
10/23/2015

Customer review by GMAN123123

4.0 stars 10/23/2015 by GMAN123123
by GMAN123123

We are using it instead of our propane insert that isn't efficient. It looks very nice flames look great.Heater not so great its late October and it is on full blast and not warming room.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GMAN123123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The dimensions are wrong.
10/22/2015

Customer review by Ihavenonickname

1.0 stars 10/22/2015 by Ihavenonickname
by Ihavenonickname

I bought this to replace the outdated gas insert for our 1950's fireplace. I measured OUR FIREPLACE and the dimensions of it are 34.5"W x 29"H x 10" L. According to the dimensions given ON THE WALMART.COM WEBSITE, which are posted as 34.7 W x 25.6 H x 9.5 L you would think it would be a perfect fit right? Of course not. I took THE ACTUAL PRODUCT dimensions and they are 32.75"W x 22" H x 5" L. It looks amazingly small in our fireplace and I am not pleased. Now guess who gets to haul this back to Walmart and spend more time trying to find a replacement? So two inches missing on the height, 7 inches missing on the width and half an inch on the length. My husband suggested putting it up on a block that matches the stones around the fireplace, but I am afraid it will be too top heavy. I looked on the box and could not even find the dimensions. Nor could I find them in the instructions. I don't know where they got their dimensions from, but they are wrong. I'm so disappointed I'm not even going to plug it in because it looks so stupid sitting in my fireplace, if the view is as pretty as I think it's going to be, I'll just get even more mad than I already am

Was this review helpful? (37) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ihavenonickname
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Purchase
11/23/2015

Customer review by rmac704

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by rmac704
by rmac704

I had looked at many electronic fireplaces but this was the only one that had multiple temperature settings, 2 fan speeds, multiple flame choices and the best price. It arrived within a few days and was easy to setup since I was using it free-standing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rmac704
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best electric fireplace at any price!
1/20/2013

Customer review by donzter

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by donzter
by donzter

Did lots of research before buying an electric fireplace this is the best one hands down! Great flames, Big display window, 4 different brightness levels, Nice Dual color glass stones, clear and opaque. Slightly curved front glass is great for a corner. Heat comes out if the top, so can be placed on a dresser like we wanted. Heat and/or lighting have separate controls. This thing is awesome, and adds just the romantic ambiance any couple should desire! The soft flames lull my wife to sleep every night, instead of the TV! Thanks Bionaire!

Was this review helpful? (84) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donzter
Lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautiful High Quality Fireplace!
11/28/2012

Customer review by moonfireangel

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by moonfireangel
by moonfireangel

I researched electric fireplaces extensively before I purchased this one and this is the best value and quality for the price. I was very pleasantly surprised when it arrived to see that it has 4 thermostat settings which most up to the price have none. The remote adjusts the thermostat to what temperature you desire or by the length of time you would like it to run and also the brightness of the flames which has 5 settings. They are separate adjustments so that you can have only the flames for atmosphere or heat only or both. The artificial flames are very real looking and certainly provide the ambiance of a real fire burning. I love the clear and opaque rocks that come with it and they create a sparkle reflection to enhance the artificial flames. The two fan speeds are very quiet which was also a very nice surprise. It also came with a 1 year warranty which many don't come with any warranty or a max of 90 days. I also purchased the 2 year extended warranty with it which makes it a total of 3 year warranty for only $19! This fireplace is so attractive and high quality that I recommend when you are purchasing it that you design the location where you intend to put it as the focal point of the room, otherwise it could look awkward because it is so attractive. Unfortunately that was my problem and I had to return it. We have a 66" big screen which takes up the focal point of the room along with the surround sound and it did it no justice to put it along a sidewall. I am a designer so maybe I am being too critical but it is just that nice of a fireplace and fairly large with it's 35" width. I am volunteering this information because I am one that makes my judgements to purchase heavily based on the reviews that others post. I am very impressed with this electrical fireplace and I highly recommend if you are in the market for a very nice one that you consider this one. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised at the quality and appearance as I was. It shipped very fast to my home the only problem was that the warehouse messed up the shipping label and it was returned to Walmart. They made it right by placing the order again and then sent it expedited shipping and did not charge me the additional cost. I hope this helps others with making their decision.

Was this review helpful? (234) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moonfireangel
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Fireplace
10/31/2012

Customer review by parentadvocate

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by parentadvocate
by parentadvocate

My husband put it on the wall of our bedroom & it looks great! Heats up fast & has a timer & several settings for the flames. LOVE IT

Was this review helpful? (106) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
parentadvocate
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks Great but not as described
11/22/2015

Customer review by Omni

3.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Omni
by Omni

The product looks great, was at a great price. Unfortunately, the dimensions are not as described. The dimensions were critical to me because I was actually planning to put it in front of an existing, but unused, fireplace. I needed 25" high, and that is what was described. However, it is only 22" high. If dimensions are not critical to you, then this is a nice attractive item.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Omni
Would recommend to a friend? No
NOT ADVERTISED SIZE!!!
11/17/2015

Customer review by Eddie

1.0 stars 11/17/2015 by Eddie
by Eddie

I had purchased for a specific area and the product size is off by several inches. It is less wide by a full 3 inches... The listed size is for the BOX!!! It is being returned.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eddie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for the cost.
11/22/2015

Customer review by WDH3

3.0 stars 11/22/2015 by WDH3
by WDH3

Pros: Looks well finished and easy to put together. Flame size control is a plus and the fire is realistic enough to warm you. Ability to have flame on without heat is a bonus. Cons: It's not whisper quiet. Fan noise is louder than I'd like. Heat departs from the top, and since heat rises, perhaps a bottom heat design would produce a better effect. Therostat seems off; 85 degree setting results in a 72 degree room. $99 is not a lot of money for what you get.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WDH3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth removing from the box
11/24/2015

Customer review by chadsing

2.0 stars 11/24/2015 by chadsing
by chadsing

I was expecting a heater that would heat. This unit blows the heat out the top, it cycles about every 2min. I placed a fan above the heater to circulate the heat but it seems with the cycle time, it never gives enough heat to circulate. I am moving this unit into the closet & bringing out my old heater that will warm my bedroom. PS The bedroom is only 10'x10'. I would NOT recommend this heater to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chadsing
Would recommend to a friend? No
Semi pleased
11/22/2015

Customer review by Sharper

3.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Sharper
by Sharper

The fireplace arrived very quickly and the price was great. The unit looks very nice and was easy to assemble. The "flames" keep locking up and stay on steady instead if flickering and we've only had it a week. It does heat nicely but it isn't enough to heat the room on a 40 degree day. The other reviews also said it was more for ambiance instead of heat so I was prepared for that. I'm just not happy that flames keep locking up. I

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sharper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bonaire electric fireplace
11/28/2015

Customer review by Lilypad

5.0 stars 11/28/2015 by Lilypad
by Lilypad

Very nice touch to my living room. Well built and many settings for flame effect. Quiet

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilypad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
We got this item on sale ..
11/23/2015

Customer review by ZZBolt

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by ZZBolt
by ZZBolt

and for the money have already found it certainly worth what we paid for it .. It heats well and certainly adds to the decor of the room that most heaters do not .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZZBolt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
doesnt work
11/22/2015

Customer review by grammatick

2.0 stars 11/22/2015 by grammatick
by grammatick

I loved the look of this fireplace but unfortunately will be returning it as it is defective...only stays on for about 20 seconds

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grammatick
Would recommend to a friend? No
excellent
11/22/2015

Customer review by Jdbc

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Jdbc
by Jdbc

Love it! Just ordered another one for my parents. Very relaxing. Great buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jdbc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love it!
11/19/2015

Customer review by Jonesgirl1

5.0 stars 11/19/2015 by Jonesgirl1
by Jonesgirl1

I received the fireplace intact. I have not yet used it, however I have a friend who has one. I love hers so I am sure it's going to make my new bedroom even more beautiful!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jonesgirl1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice
11/20/2015

Customer review by Good

4.0 stars 11/20/2015 by Good
by Good

Very stylish I'm pleased with my purchase as well as the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Good
Would recommend to a friend? Yes