Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 113 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

113 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

113 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
10
1 stars
28
1-20 of 108 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews
Warm and Toasty
11/25/2012

Customer review by ARealConsumer

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by ARealConsumer
by ARealConsumer

My husband loves this heater. He uses it daily to warm the family room while he relaxes in his recliner, actually uses it like his own little fireplace. It has two fan speeds plus you can choose your level of heat from low to high. Also, it will turn itself off if tipped over. Very good product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (75) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ARealConsumer
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great
11/29/2012

Customer review by KWC12

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by KWC12
by KWC12

I have a large room and it does well. Keeps the chill off. Worth the money spent. Thinking on another one for the dining room. Both living and dining rooms are together, so it's a bit too large of rooms to have one heater.

Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KWC12
maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Thermostat issues
10/17/2013

Customer review by ijustneedtoknowthis

2.0 stars 10/17/2013 by ijustneedtoknowthis
by ijustneedtoknowthis

These heaters put off a great amount of heat so for that I gave it 2 stars. The problem that I have found with these heaters is the thermostat. I purchased 3 of these heaters from 2 different Walmart stores. I needed the heaters for a hunting camp, gets cold in the back bedrooms so I figured these heaters would help. They definetly help keep a room warm for sure. There are a total of 10 dot settings from low to high on the thermostat, if set above 4 dots the heater never shuts off. 4 dots and lower the thermostat acts properly and the heaters shut off and turn on as it should. That leaves 6 settings higher that will not work properly. That kind of makes this heater not useable in the sense that my hunting cabin can get quite cold and I cannot set this heater any higher, if I do set it higher it will never shut off which means there is a possible chance of causing a fire. As I said earlier these heaters do put off a great amount of heat so would be good for someone who just wants to kick it on and warm up and then either shut it off or turn the thermostat down low, but for my needs these heaters just do not work.

Was this review helpful? (72) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ijustneedtoknowthis
WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked fine for a week
10/28/2013

Customer review by Ty1220

1.0 stars 10/28/2013 by Ty1220
by Ty1220

Several reviewers mentioned a bad thermostat. I'm not sure that was the problem with mine, but it seems pretty likely. It was working fine earlier this morning and then it just quit. No noises, no smoke, just went dead. I sure wouldn't be in a hurry to get another one. I will say that for the week that it worked it worked well and as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ty1220
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great!
12/25/2012

Customer review by ShopsCompulsivly

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by ShopsCompulsivly
by ShopsCompulsivly

Bought this when my furnace quit working and had an issue getting in contact with my landlord. It kept one room warm, and the next room was not as chilly. :) I was able to get a peaceful nights sleep. It has two controls, one for the amount of heat it puts out and the other is 2 settings for the fan. I used the high setting on the fan as my livingroom is average size. The heat control has many different *dots* for heat settings so it is easily adjusted as to how much heat it will produce. Set it on the highest one and when room temp is where you like it, slowly turn it down (twards the smaller dots) till it turns off. Then it will do its best to maintain that temp. Warning: the front grill and metal bar near the top DO get hot. Small children or pets who MAY touch that could get a burn.....just saying, take safety precautions as u would with any such equipment.

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopsCompulsivly
New Castle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
High Heat Output
2/26/2013

Customer review by Ronaka

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by Ronaka
by Ronaka

Pros: This heater puts out a beastly amount of heat, much more than any ceramic or other type of electric portable heater (all examples set at 1500W). It has far exceeded expectations with regards to heat output. Fan is loud, which may be something to consider depending upon which room it's used. Grill area is very hot to the touch, so might not be ideal for usage around children and pets. Cons: There are a lot of reviews all over the 'Net that this heater is basically a throw away item, no replacement parts are available and does not last long. Time will tell, but so far this appears to be an excellent item and would definitely buy again even if it only lasted a couple of years. Build quality looks to be OK.

Was this review helpful? (47) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ronaka
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing Little Heater
10/30/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased my heater about 5 years ago and it still works amazingly today. When I initially bought it I was living in a studio apartment that only had gas heat. I couldn't afford the gas deposit so instead of messing with it I bought this heater. I immediately fell in love with it when it only took about a half hour to get the entire apartment to the temp that I was comfortable with and then all I had to do was turn it down to where it would keep the apartment at that temperature. My electric bill barely fluctuated from the constant use and the automatic shut off is a priceless safety feature. Since it's purchase I have moved several times and I have not always needed it but I will never get rid of it.

Was this review helpful? (51) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Works good Temporarily
2/17/2013

Customer review by CityGirl70

1.0 stars 2/17/2013 by CityGirl70
by CityGirl70

I have had 4 of these and they all stop working after a couple of months. Very poorly made.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CityGirl70
WVC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sunbeam: Keeping Floridians Warm in Nebraska!!!
11/8/2013

Customer review by GtrBt3

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by GtrBt3
by GtrBt3

This unit puts out a ton of very warm air. I tried a Lasko tower heater and it never got very warm, plus the digital display didn't work on several of those units (had to keep returning them#. Sunbeam's heater is nothing special--no fancy digital display to tell you the temp. etc., but all I want is a heater that gets super hot so I can sit in front of it and work on the computer/watch tv/etc. I am a Floridian unhappily living in a cold climate and this is the only thing that keeps me sufficiently warm. It heats up large rooms quickly and has a "thermostat" so that you can set it to turn off when it reaches a temp. you are comfortable with and turns itself back on when it gets too cold. I keep it on full blast all the time, though. This unit is noisier than the Lasko heaters, but it isn't unreasonable, especially considering it does the job quicker. I don't know how energy efficient it is compared to other heaters. I am guessing that since it gets so hot and heats up rooms so quickly it probably isn't super energy efficient, but I've never had high electric bills when I use mine on a daily basis for about 7 months out of the year. Plus, it is much more efficient than keeping my whole house at 85 degrees using the central air system. I think these are durable, well-made heaters. I had one for about 6 years #heavy use# and had to replace it recently because the electrical cord got damaged. I highly recommend this brand and this model.

Was this review helpful? (27) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GtrBt3
NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Heater
11/12/2013

Customer review by 60tigers

2.0 stars 11/12/2013 by 60tigers
by 60tigers

I owned a heater just like it made by Holmes still under Sunbeam, but I haven't even had this 2 weeks and both heater coils are not working right. I lost 6" of coil on both sides. I'm now returning it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
60tigers
Gerber, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't work out of the box.
12/30/2012

Customer review by Bagelhd

2.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Bagelhd
by Bagelhd

This is the second heater purchased. Purchased first from Ace Hardware. This one although identical to the first did not work. Believe the thermostat was defective as initially it would try to heat on lower (750) setting and quit and would not heat at all on higher setting (1500W). Will try to exchange see what 2 out of three is like.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bagelhd
olthe, ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Uses a lot of power to only turn off.
12/18/2013

Customer review by CrimsonNecrosis

1.0 stars 12/18/2013 by CrimsonNecrosis
by CrimsonNecrosis

Right off the bat I got this heater for the price. I ended up getting one more since our central heating unit broke in our home and thought they worked great. Then as the weeks went by we learned how fragile and/or weak these things really are. I have a walking problem and stumble or lose my balance often. But, I bumped into mine and it hit the floor. Not even hard at all either, it was hit no harder then you would sit in a chair and it fell onto the carpet in my room. Now, it never stays on. It unplug it and leave it unplugged for 5+ hours and plug it in and it turns on, heats up for maybe half an hour, then shuts off and won't come back on. I was highly disappointed with Sunbeam on these as now BOTH of these things are broken in my home.

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrimsonNecrosis
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You will get better with Lasko for the same price
12/31/2013

Customer review by auld

1.0 stars 12/31/2013 by auld
by auld

The Lasko med does the same job as the Sunbeam large. I bought a Lasko for a medium room. It was not big enough to warm the room I was trying to heat and the box did not give better room size but other than that it was a great heater for the same money as Sunbeam's large room. It had digital and could be set to shut off by itself. I bought a Sunbeam by mistake but since it was for large room, I decided to keep it. What a let down. It does heat but as others have said it is hot to the touch. The settings are just dots in a circle and it is trial and error to get the right setting. You can only set it at four small dots as the higher settings will make the heater run continuously. The instructions say to turn the heater all of the way up and when the room gets warm enough, turn it back until it shuts off. When I did that it would shut off too soon and the room was not warm enough. Finally the large room did not heat my room which is a small living room so I ended up using both heaters turned low to heat the room. I did not read the reviews first and could kick myself so I have nobody to blame but myself. I am not saying the Sunbeam is not good but it certainly does not do a large room and is not as nice as the same priced Lasko.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auld
Banson Hills, Branson MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
junk
12/24/2013

Customer review by betty3917

1.0 stars 12/24/2013 by betty3917
by betty3917

I am on the second unit in just a little over 45 days. The first didn't last a week before it's reset started to die. It would stop working and you would have to unplug it wait a while then plug it back in. It would not make it through one heat cycle before you had to do it again. We returned it for a new one thinking it was just a one unit problem. Well it's not the replacement unit is now doing the same thing. So today it's going back to the store and I am not even going to go with a sunbeam this time.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
betty3917
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great when it works
11/15/2013

Customer review by CCNA

1.0 stars 11/15/2013 by CCNA
by CCNA

Cannot run for more than 2 minutes without it turning itself off. Must turn off switch for about a minute before turning on again. would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CCNA
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lasted for 3 years
3/16/2014

Customer review by MyDogIsMyLife

3.0 stars 3/16/2014 by MyDogIsMyLife
by MyDogIsMyLife

Reading most other reviews, I guess I'm lucky in that my heater lasted for 3 years and 1 month. When I initially got it, I think it did run pretty well on High heat, but within a short period of time, it would automatically shut off after a minute or so if I tried to run it on High. I assumed this was a safety feature, but after reading reviews, it sounds more like a flaw. It ran well on Low heat (on the maximum thermostat setting# the entire time I had it, and kept my small 10'x12' bedroom warm. About a week ago, my 50 lb. dog fell off the bed, right into the heater #thank goodness it was off at the time!#, putting a huge dent in the face plate. It didn't appear to damage anything behind the face plate, and continued to work afterwards. Until today. It will not come on at all now. The price of this heater is the most I've ever spent on a "space" or room heater. I've purchased others for less that are smaller but still have a great heat output, and I think I'll go back to one of those for my next purchase. All in all, my opinion of this heater is "meh"

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyDogIsMyLife
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellant
11/22/2012

Customer review by blueeyedapache

5.0 stars 11/22/2012 by blueeyedapache
by blueeyedapache

Excellant product. It arrived promptly; in good shape and is working just fine.

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blueeyedapache
75760
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great space heater/NOT NOISY
10/12/2014

Customer review by MaMitchell

5.0 stars 10/12/2014 by MaMitchell
by MaMitchell

I am so tired of reading bad reviews of people storing them in the summer in a storage building, people tripping over them & all the abuse I have been reading & then they expect them to work,. Store them in YOUR HOUSE stop knocking them over. If you get one that makes noise or something take it back & get a good one. I have 4 & I am pleased with mine & I am very picky. They are light weight & put out good heat for one good size room. But, if you abuse them ,NO they will NOT last. Some of the bad reviews was made before they even went & got another one or had their mind set on something made 20 years ago. They are not going to last forever & they are NOT going to last at all from some of the reviews I have been reading on storage & knocking them over & calling them junk & NOT returning & getting another one! Go & pay $100 if you have the money for one,(see if they last longer or heat more) but for the price my 4 got me through the winter & I would say to ANY BODY these are great little heaters if you do not abuse them.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaMitchell
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Top 50 contributor
Great heater for the price!
10/23/2013

Customer review by cmh5561

4.0 stars 10/23/2013 by cmh5561
by cmh5561

This heater works greats! Really heats up the room nicely and I love the auto shut off especially needed for the senior parents!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmh5561
Freeehold, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't use around kids
10/6/2014

Customer review by JKT1832

4.0 stars 10/6/2014 by JKT1832
by JKT1832

This is not a good heater for use around kids. The front gets really hot the grab bar in the front gets really hot and it's meant to sit on the ground at kid level. So just don't use it around kids. However... this is a great heater for adults (aside from the hot front grab bar issue) there is a second grab handle in the back that does not get hot. Warms well, has a safety over heat feature, if it gets tipped over it shuts off. It will warm a small room fast, a larger room more slowly. But your going to get more power than with one of those smaller 10" box units that's for sure. I note that if you let this unit sit for a long time and collect dust, it's going to short out or whatever so you do have to clean it/blow it out when you first use it again after storage. Or barring that store it in a dust free area.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JKT1832
Iowa, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Top 10 contributor
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews