Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 153 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

153 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

153 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
27
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 stars
34
1-20 of 148 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 148 total reviews
1-20 of 148 reviews
Good Heater
12/3/2015

Customer review by buba1

4.0 stars 12/3/2015 by buba1
by buba1

I have owned this product since 11/13, and it worked great, until yesterday. We use ours in the garage as a place to have our coffee in both the morning, and afternoon. The unit has always worked as designed, and has never given us any trouble. However, as luck would have it, it quit last night, after already running about 2 hrs. The power light was even out. I suppose that some safety circuit probably went bad. While I am disappointed that the unit quit, I cannot say it was a bad unit at all. The thermostat works just as designed, it puts out more heat than we needed, and, it is fairly quiet operating (unless someone knocks it over) If it is tipped over, the safety circuit will turn it off. However, sometimes, ours would still be running even when tipped over. Still, I have to say that while I wished that it would have lasted longer, it still is a great unit, and I will consider another one again, in spite of some folks that have had problems.

Was this review helpful? (23) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buba1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Heater for the Money in My Experience
1/11/2016

Customer review by ggrc

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by ggrc
by ggrc

I see that a number of reviewers say they have had poor service from this unit ( shutting down , etc. ) , but can only say that I purchased 2 of them which I ran all of last winter and am using again this year with no problems whatsoever . Covers a larger area than anything else I've found in this price range. Someone also, I believe, commented that the high/low heat setting did not do anything. On the ones I'm running the coils glow much more brightly on the higher setting, and the heat output is correspondingly increased .

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ggrc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great space heater/NOT NOISY
10/12/2014

Customer review by MaMitchell

5.0 stars 10/12/2014 by MaMitchell
by MaMitchell
Top 50 contributor

I am so tired of reading bad reviews of people storing them in the summer in a storage building, people tripping over them & all the abuse I have been reading & then they expect them to work,. Store them in YOUR HOUSE stop knocking them over. If you get one that makes noise or something take it back & get a good one. I have 4 & I am pleased with mine & I am very picky. They are light weight & put out good heat for one good size room. But, if you abuse them ,NO they will NOT last. Some of the bad reviews was made before they even went & got another one or had their mind set on something made 20 years ago. They are not going to last forever & they are NOT going to last at all from some of the reviews I have been reading on storage & knocking them over & calling them junk & NOT returning & getting another one! Go & pay $100 if you have the money for one,(see if they last longer or heat more) but for the price my 4 got me through the winter & I would say to ANY BODY these are great little heaters if you do not abuse them.

Was this review helpful? (43) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaMitchell
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Top 50 contributor
Good for larger rooms, but really bright
10/17/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/17/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this heater last year for my bedroom and it worked really well, but I later had to move it to my garage. Pros: It heated up the whole room really quickly and it turns off automatically if it's knocked over. It also turns off once the room is at the temperature you want it at. There's also a low and high setting so you can adjust how strong the fan blows. Cons: It was too big for my room, it got hot really often and as soon as it shuts off the room would be freezing within a few minutes. The heating coils are REALLY bright. I couldn't sleep at night because they were shining right in my face. I ended up buying a smaller heater for my room and putting this one in the garage, and it did a really good job of heating such a large space.

Was this review helpful? (22) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
high heat does not work
12/29/2015

Customer review by Dissatisfied

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Dissatisfied
by Dissatisfied

Not worth the money. High heat setting does not work so what's the point of having a high heat setting?? This is the 2nd heater I have had like this and both would shut off within 5 minutes after turning it to the # 2 setting. Have tried it with different plugs in different houses with the same results.

Was this review helpful? (12) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dissatisfied
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it
12/10/2015

Customer review by Kyneshia

5.0 stars 12/10/2015 by Kyneshia
by Kyneshia

This heater is everything! I purchased this particular heater because my boyfriend's Mom has 3 of them and she's had them for a long time so I know that it will last me for years and years. I love the fact that it has the safety mechanism where if the heater is knocked over it will immediately turn itself off. There has been time I want to move the heater and when I pick it up it turns off. My one and only complaint is that I wish that the hand grip in the back was more secure, it feels as if the heater is gonna slip off of my fingers and that makes me very nervous especially carrying it when it's hot. Other than that this heater was a great buy and we have been using it everyday, the dog even loves it lol!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kyneshia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great!
12/25/2012

Customer review by ShopsCompulsivly

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by ShopsCompulsivly
by ShopsCompulsivly

Bought this when my furnace quit working and had an issue getting in contact with my landlord. It kept one room warm, and the next room was not as chilly. :) I was able to get a peaceful nights sleep. It has two controls, one for the amount of heat it puts out and the other is 2 settings for the fan. I used the high setting on the fan as my livingroom is average size. The heat control has many different *dots* for heat settings so it is easily adjusted as to how much heat it will produce. Set it on the highest one and when room temp is where you like it, slowly turn it down (twards the smaller dots) till it turns off. Then it will do its best to maintain that temp. Warning: the front grill and metal bar near the top DO get hot. Small children or pets who MAY touch that could get a burn.....just saying, take safety precautions as u would with any such equipment.

Was this review helpful? (73) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopsCompulsivly
New Castle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap design, top heavy, fan is very noisy
1/14/2016

Customer review by Millwright

1.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Millwright
by Millwright

Ive owned 3 of these heaters the past 2 winters, 1 stopped working last winter & 1 stopped working this winter. I have 1 currently still working. House bedroom use only.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Millwright
Would recommend to a friend? No
Thermostat issues
10/17/2013

Customer review by ijustneedtoknowthis

2.0 stars 10/17/2013 by ijustneedtoknowthis
by ijustneedtoknowthis

These heaters put off a great amount of heat so for that I gave it 2 stars. The problem that I have found with these heaters is the thermostat. I purchased 3 of these heaters from 2 different Walmart stores. I needed the heaters for a hunting camp, gets cold in the back bedrooms so I figured these heaters would help. They definetly help keep a room warm for sure. There are a total of 10 dot settings from low to high on the thermostat, if set above 4 dots the heater never shuts off. 4 dots and lower the thermostat acts properly and the heaters shut off and turn on as it should. That leaves 6 settings higher that will not work properly. That kind of makes this heater not useable in the sense that my hunting cabin can get quite cold and I cannot set this heater any higher, if I do set it higher it will never shut off which means there is a possible chance of causing a fire. As I said earlier these heaters do put off a great amount of heat so would be good for someone who just wants to kick it on and warm up and then either shut it off or turn the thermostat down low, but for my needs these heaters just do not work.

Was this review helpful? (113) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ijustneedtoknowthis
WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Used to Work
11/7/2015

Customer review by MrKincaid

1.0 stars 11/7/2015 by MrKincaid
by MrKincaid

Several years ago, I was strolling through Walmart a few days after Christmas. I spotted this item and purchased it because it was marked down. I gave it to my mother as an additional Christmas gift for her work space in her basement. It heated the vast area very well, to the point where she would have to turn it off. Well, in recent weeks as the weather has started to change, she fired up the heater, it came on, and within a few minutes, went RIGHT BACK OFF! Tried to turn it back on, unplugged it and plugged it back in . . . NOTHING. A few days later, it got cold again, and she turned it on again. It worked fine, but again, not 4 or 5 minutes later it shut off again. So the disappointment is you buy what you think is a quality and reliable product, and instead of lasting for years, it only lasts a few years. They don't make products like they used to. My dad had an Arvin heater that he bought in the brand new in the early 1970's. He had that same heater for more than 30 years before it finally went out! And a few years before he passed, he bought another Arvin heater. So, NO MORE SUNBEAM HEATERS!

Was this review helpful? (5) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrKincaid
Would recommend to a friend? No
Made it one winter
1/23/2016

Customer review by minibigler

2.0 stars 1/23/2016 by minibigler
by minibigler

This heater puts off a good amount of heater. Nice enough to heat a medium sized room with doors shut. It's not loud or noisy. It does have a tip over sensor where it kicks off if it is tipped over even tilted some which is a nice safety feature. We ran this heater daily for one winter. Recently and a huge new issue --- It keeps shutting off. There is power to the unit & power light is on, knobs on "2" and highest heat level but it keeps turning off. The back even had a label with a note " if it shuts off unplug heater and settings to off for 30 minutes. Refer to manual for additional..." Well this doesn't work still after 30 min...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
minibigler
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does it's job
2/8/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bigger than pictured and does it's job. Heat is strong and spreads well. I bought this online for about $8.00 cheaper than in-store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Heater
2/8/2016

Customer review by Philly86

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Philly86
by Philly86

I tried several heaters for a large room area. this one is the best. Powerful when you need it. Lightweight. excellent buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Philly86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent
2/8/2016

Customer review by ebbyw09

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by ebbyw09
by ebbyw09

I have had a sunbeam heater for the past 6 years. I love how they heat up my whole bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ebbyw09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best small portable heater
2/1/2016

Customer review by Effie

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Effie
by Effie

I absolutely love this portable heater. It is very cost effective. It has thermostat controls. that enables you to set the heat you desire. If the unit falls over, it shuts off automatically. If I am going to be in one room and do not want to run the central heat for the entire home, this heater works WONDERFUL. I highly recommend this heater.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Effie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
heater
2/6/2016

Customer review by moonlady

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by moonlady
by moonlady

excellent

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moonlady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bought 2 heaters
2/4/2016

Customer review by Eutopia

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Eutopia
by Eutopia

Works great shuts off when knocked over good to use if u have children or pets we love them keeps house very warm

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eutopia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sunbeam Tower Radiant Quartz Heater
2/4/2016

Customer review by Bobby

4.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Bobby
by Bobby

Works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sunbeam tower radiant quartz heater
2/2/2016

Customer review by Muffin

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Muffin
by Muffin

This heater really puts out a lot of heat. Thinking about purchasing another another one. Good product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Muffin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lasted for 3 years
3/16/2014

Customer review by MyDogIsMyLife

3.0 stars 3/16/2014 by MyDogIsMyLife
by MyDogIsMyLife

Reading most other reviews, I guess I'm lucky in that my heater lasted for 3 years and 1 month. When I initially got it, I think it did run pretty well on High heat, but within a short period of time, it would automatically shut off after a minute or so if I tried to run it on High. I assumed this was a safety feature, but after reading reviews, it sounds more like a flaw. It ran well on Low heat (on the maximum thermostat setting# the entire time I had it, and kept my small 10'x12' bedroom warm. About a week ago, my 50 lb. dog fell off the bed, right into the heater #thank goodness it was off at the time!#, putting a huge dent in the face plate. It didn't appear to damage anything behind the face plate, and continued to work afterwards. Until today. It will not come on at all now. The price of this heater is the most I've ever spent on a "space" or room heater. I've purchased others for less that are smaller but still have a great heat output, and I think I'll go back to one of those for my next purchase. All in all, my opinion of this heater is "meh"

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyDogIsMyLife
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 148 total reviews
1-20 of 148 reviews