Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 214 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

214 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

214 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
156
4 stars
37
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 163 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews
11/16/2012

Customer review by OregonNonna

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by OregonNonna
by OregonNonna

This cast iron pot is fabulous. I now have all the plusses of cast iron, and REALLY easy cleanup, without all the chemicals to worry about. I've wanted one for a long time, and this is as good, if not better, than the fancy french one that costs more than $250. Thankyou, WalMart.

Was this review helpful? (75) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OregonNonna
Siletz, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great cooking assistant and a great price!
11/24/2012

Customer review by bonsai8

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by bonsai8
by bonsai8

These pots ARE Good! I always heard they were ...so, decided to try one for myself. Everything I've cooked in it so far is great. I wonder..........could the pot be helping? Yes, I recommend this way of cooking. Don't forgret to season it though.....a little oil in the body and around the edge.....in the oven for an hour and its ready to go. Only thing the knob came loose but I tightened it up and its been okay. The Trivet is handy to have too.

Was this review helpful? (58) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bonsai8
Laguna Woods, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fabulous!
2/24/2013

Customer review by sondesara

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by sondesara
by sondesara

I waited a very long time before finally deciding to purchase a cast iron dutch oven with the enamel finish. I didn't actually 'need' one and as a frugal person had difficulty justifying the expense. I did considerable research and read at least two hundred reviews/testimonials. I am a fan of America's Test Kitchen. ATK has never once let me down. ATK recommended Le Creuset as the number one and Tramontina as a very decent number two recommendation. I went for the Tramontina and for Walmart. On a scale from one to ten, I would rate the Tramontina dutch oven a number TEN! I have quickly recovered from the 'I-don't-really-need-one' issue. I use it at least once per week. I have cooked soup, stew, paella, arroz con pollo, congri, rope vieja, picadillo, fricase de pollo, black beans, navy beans, etc. etc. It is very easy to clean (I wash and dry it by hand) and I've slowly adjusted to the weight (it is quite heavy). I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sondesara
Coral Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
11/27/2012

Customer review by AllsWells

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by AllsWells
by AllsWells

Used right away and it performed perfectly (after "seasoning" it in the oven as recommended). Cooked pasta sauce with sausages for hours on top of the stove. I washed it by hand, but admit to bumping my sink and no chips! Can't imagine why anyone would spend hundreds of dollars on Le Creuset when this dutch oven was just as good. Can't wait to use it again. Got the blue color and it's really a nice shade of dark blue.

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AllsWells
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Everything I was looking for!
2/19/2013

Customer review by Mom2Littles

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by Mom2Littles
by Mom2Littles

I am in love with my new dutch oven. I threw out my old non-stick pots because the surface was beginning to peel away and really wanted something different. I could not be happier with the pot. I am the kind of cook who likes to use the same pot for everything; therefore, I have made hamburgers, boiled eggs, cooked soup, prepared rice, prepared a casserole, and more in this dutch oven. Each time it has cleaned up beautifully and looks wonderful gracing my stovetop! My one concern before purchasing was regarding the fact that the pot was manufactured in China. I e-mailed Tramontina and received a prompt reply. Here is a portion of their representative's explanation regarding lead & cadmium: "All of the Tramontina Enameled Cast iron is made in China. One good thing is that it is NOT farmed out to a Chinese company but made in OUR plant in China. They have to meet all of the same rules and regulations that our plants in the USA and Brazil have to meet, so there is a lot more control over our products. All of Tramontina products must pass the Prop 65 regulation regarding Cadmium and lead so that they are safe when taken to market."

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom2Littles
Atmore, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Dutch Oven - Very easy to use
10/22/2013

Customer review by Redpot

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by Redpot
by Redpot

Used this dutch oven twice this first week to make dinner. It is perfect for one pot meals. Cooked a chicken meal one night - browned the chicken removed it, prepared saute and sauce in the pot after removing the chicken - then returned the chicken to the pot to finish cooking - no leftovers. Another night used the pot to cook pasta, removed pasta to drain in colander- made alfredo sauce in the pot, added shrimp cooked them until pink, then returned the pasta to the dutch oven to cook an additional 5 minutes with the alfredo sauce and shrimp - dinner was done. Tomorrow going to make a Coffee Pot Roast in the dutch oven. I have two of these pots one 3.5 quarts for soups or for cooking for two and this 5.5 quart oven for family meals. These are extremely versatile cookware.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redpot
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding value!
11/16/2012

Customer review by clancysoda

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by clancysoda
by clancysoda

Exactly what I have been wanting at a VERY reasonable price. Was delivered about 3 days sooner than I expected also.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clancysoda
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice but not detailed properly.
1/21/2013

Customer review by 22Mabel

2.0 stars 1/21/2013 by 22Mabel
by 22Mabel

This product looked great. However, the details on the website appear to be incorrect. It specifies that it can be used in an oven at up to 450 degrees. When I received the Dutch oven the product information says 400 degrees. The knob is plastic, thus why it can only be used up to 400 degrees. Will be returning and will lose the S & H I paid.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
22Mabel
Marion, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/8/2013

Customer review by wrinkletoes

1.0 stars 1/8/2013 by wrinkletoes
by wrinkletoes

I must have gotten a dud since most other reviews are stellar. I ordered this with the triply clad bundle. I was so excited to get this deal because the price was amazing and the reviews for the items were great. However, the inside of my cast iron dutch oven had big bumps all around the sides. The inside was not fully covered with the enamel coating either. I definitely returned the item and am not going to buy another one. If the cast iron was sold in stores I would buy it again because I could inspect it myself. If it's in your local walmart I would suggest going in the stores to purchase it. The colors are fabulous and the value is spectacular. Too bad I got a defective one. :(

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wrinkletoes
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Initial use was very good.
11/23/2012

Customer review by JGfromSTL

4.0 stars 11/23/2012 by JGfromSTL
by JGfromSTL

Seems durable and holds heat well. Finish was better than I expected for the money. Medium heat was all that was required. Worked as well as a 250 dollar pot made by a french company. No complaints so far and this shipped fast for standard shipping. Clean up was average.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JGfromSTL
STL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great price, not so great performance
1/28/2013

Customer review by StuStew

3.0 stars 1/28/2013 by StuStew
by StuStew

Wanted to replace a similar pot that had been recalled. Price and size were what I was looking for, and the online purchase and in-store delivery process went well. Upon opening, I noticed a small chip in the lid. Then after I followed the seasoning instructions, the enamel cracked in a few places afterwards, though no chips came off. White interior is discolored tan after just two uses.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StuStew
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
12/17/2012

Customer review by gaild001

2.0 stars 12/17/2012 by gaild001
by gaild001

i used the dutch oven for the first time to bake bread in the oven and the knob broke off of the lid

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gaild001
montville, nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I absolutely love this pot.
11/27/2012

Customer review by NYRose

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by NYRose
by NYRose

Great size & great value for the money. As good as any of the pots like this that are twice the price ( or more). It works for so many things, at least for me, that I don't know how I went without this pot for so long.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYRose
Longwood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Dutch Oven
4/6/2013

Customer review by walkingencyclopedia

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by walkingencyclopedia
by walkingencyclopedia

This is an excellent Dutch oven. I previously purchased a 6.5 quart capacity Tramontina Dutch oven because America's Test Kitchen's magazine rated it as a best buy. (Le Crueset is the best, but it's too pricey for my budget, around $300 for a 5 quart Dutch oven). I had to return that 6.5 quart capacity pot because it was way too heavy. I'm almost 60, and I found I had trouble lifting that one when it was full of water, never mind a pot roast. The 5.5 is much better. I can lift it. It fits evenly on my stovetop. It looks great and the matching trivet will come in handy. Make sure before you buy one of these enameled cast iron pots that whoever will be doing the cooking can lift it. You may be younger than I am, but does your mother ever come over and help you cook? If so, she may not be able to maneuver the pot, if need be.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walkingencyclopedia
Littleton, Coloraddo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
FANTASTIC!!!!!
12/10/2013

Customer review by dennis04

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by dennis04
by dennis04

This is a wonderful dutch oven at a fraction of the price of other name/chef brands. I love the green color. It matches my kitchen. Cooked in it for the first time yesterday and believe this is one of the best pieces of kitchen cookware I have ever bought. Very sturdy and just as good as the higher price ones. It will outlast my lifetime.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dennis04
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
12/3/2012

Customer review by thecust0mer

3.0 stars 12/3/2012 by thecust0mer
by thecust0mer

The main reason I purchased this was because it says on here •Oven-safe up to 450 degrees Fahrenheit. However on top of the box and written on the paper inside that came with my dutch oven it says "Oven-safe up to 400 degrees Fahrenheit". I'm really disappointed but I know I'll try to find some use for this thing.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thecust0mer
Dixon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Better than Expected
11/29/2012

Customer review by CountryDesigner

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by CountryDesigner
by CountryDesigner

From stove top to oven, this dutch oven is exactly what I was looking for. I kept looking at other more expensive dutch ovens but the price always stopped me. I did a search on Tramontina and found rave reviews so I purchased this dutch oven and am happy I did. My first pot roast in it came out so good I knew I made a wise purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CountryDesigner
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Why pay $300 when this is just as good?
2/10/2014

Customer review by Brokerma

4.0 stars 2/10/2014 by Brokerma
by Brokerma

I have other high end dutch ovens in different sizes and wanted an all purpose, everyday size. This fits that bill, no problem. But now that I've seen it and used it, it seems ridiculous to pay $300 for an enameled dutch oven like Cuisinart or Le Creuset. This one looks great and works well. I had a little more sticking while browning items, but still came clean easily. The included trivet was a nice bonus. This is an excellent value.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brokerma
Bumpass VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice set
1/12/2013

Customer review by crw1952

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by crw1952
by crw1952

This is my second set of Tramontina cookware. I am satisfied. All the benefits of cast iron cooking without having to worry about seasoning. And it's easy to wash. My only disappointment is that the cover does not fit the dutch oven perfectly, almost as if it's not perfectly round. It seems to work OK because the lid is heavy, but some steam does escape while cooking. No big complaints, though, especially considering the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crw1952
Covington, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding value
1/12/2013

Customer review by bald15

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by bald15
by bald15

No need to spend 5x as much for a French named Dutch Oven. Tramontina delivers just as several reputable online cooking sites have reported! Some may want a larger capacity but for us this size is perfect for a 5 pound pot roast, pork shoulder, or similar meal.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bald15
Black Hills of South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews