Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 35 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
This Camera has loads of options not listed....
10/16/2012

Customer review by angel4animals

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by angel4animals
by angel4animals

You wouldn't even believe what this little camera can do, and how small it is. It DOES take some time to learn though because it DOES come with so many extra features that aren't even listed. If you look up the GE 500 (black and white# Pro series- This camera does everything that one does and then some.Look up the features to that, This has all those, they just aren't listed. This one even films in HD. The only difference is the zoom isn't 15, its only 8, and this camera is more compact. But it has 20 scene modes; even sketch mode which is super cool, you can see this in action on Amazon.com under the GE 500 and I will try to take some pictures with my camera #THIS MODEL) in most modes and leave them at Amazon for all to view under this model the silver model. It takes amazing pictures but the trick is to hold the trigger button for a fraction of a second and THEN take the photo. It has BLINK tech. It has a "frame" mode that you can send Happy Birthday pics in a pre birthday frame, It even has 4 different song modes for viewing your photos on slideshow. I was amazed when fiddleing with it last night how much it had. I actually dropped this camera in a river when I was walking my dogs and it dried out after 4 days and STILL takes amazing photos! You will not be sorry with this purchase! But trust me....TAKE THE TIME TO LEARN THE FEATURES IT HAS, AND 2. ALWAYS DEPRESS THE "TAKE" BUTTON FOR A FRACTION OF A SECOND TO LET THE CAMERA "CLARIFY" AND.....THEN....TAKE THE PICTURE FOR IT to come out clear.

Was this review helpful? (72) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
angel4animals
Billerica, MASS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great camera..great deal
1/14/2013

Customer review by vfox4

5.0 stars 1/14/2013 by vfox4
by vfox4

After ordering this camera online, I expected it to be the usual quality of something in this price line...functional but poorly made. I am VERY pleased to announce how wrong my assumptions were. It's NOT a flimsy plastic camera...it's a soundly made metal camera with serious power (16 megapixels and 8x zoom). PLUS they gave me the carrying case and memory card. The pictures are crisp and clear. Seriously, you CANNOT go wrong with this camera.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vfox4
small town, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camera
1/14/2013

Customer review by AlienDrone

5.0 stars 1/14/2013 by AlienDrone
by AlienDrone

Comes with rechargeable lithium battery. More functions than most people would ever use, inexpensive, but not cheap. Quality camera. I like it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlienDrone
Earth's core
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for everyday or even special events
1/26/2013

Customer review by TCR1

4.0 stars 1/26/2013 by TCR1
by TCR1

This camera takes great pics! I was very leery when I saw all the stuff this camera has to offer for the price, however the reviews are great! The zoom is awsome on this thing! Compared to some of the other brands that are $100 or more and they have the same options, I could not see spending the extra money. I have a 12yr old kodak easyshare 5.0 megapixel that still works and takes great pics and paid $300 for it. It was just time to update and for the price I couldn't pass it by. The only reason I gave it a 4 star (would have given it a 4.5 it possible) is the that buttons are really small, however the smaller cameras all seem to be like that now.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TCR1
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheapened to an unconscionable Level
2/17/2013

Customer review by GeoffBatman

1.0 stars 2/17/2013 by GeoffBatman
by GeoffBatman

Here is the gist of my experience. The battery only holds a charge for 10 pictures. When you open the compartment to take the battery out, the storage chip that is stored next to it shifts and erases all the photos. I drove back to Wal-Mart and got a new chip, and I though at first, maybe it was a faulty chip which is what the woman on the 1-800 line at GE suggested (Same thing a 2nd time). Then I thought maybe, I didn't charge it right, so I charged it for 12 hours. Then took 10 pictures and it was dead, open the battery cover and chip pops out. Wal-Mart took it back and gave me my money back.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeoffBatman
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Takes good pics. Very compact.
1/24/2013

Customer review by AE1DD

4.0 stars 1/24/2013 by AE1DD
by AE1DD

I've used this camera to get some very good pics of my kids and their animals. Also taken it on a couple of hikes which is why I bought it to begin with so I could get better pics than my cell phone. The photos are good but it seems that the battery does not like the cold. Temps in the minus single digits, battery discharged sooner than expected for a lithium ion. However it does charge back up quickly. Overall I am very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AE1DD
Concord, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GE E1680W pictures are blurry but value good value
3/16/2013

Customer review by Flickerfly

3.0 stars 3/16/2013 by Flickerfly
by Flickerfly

I have owned several digital cameras. The pictures lack definition for 16 megapixels. They remind me of cameras of about 5 MP. The long zoom adds to the image loss as does low light levels like indoor pictures. The battery runs down very fast, expect to charge it frequently. I get about 20 exposures per charge with no flash. The best feature is the pencil sketch mode. I am keeping this camera because of its small size and ability to set manual exposures ( I can't do manual exposures with the Nikon S series cameras, It also has spot and center weighted metering which the Nikons do not.). It is a good value but expect it to be the quality of a lesser camera. I paid $59 usd. for the black model and got free site to store shipping. It is the best camera for the low budget buyer like me.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flickerfly
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wonderful camera
12/25/2012

Customer review by Igotdoggies

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Igotdoggies
by Igotdoggies

great price fits in pocket great options

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Igotdoggies
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/25/2013

Customer review by JOINAZ2

4.0 stars 2/25/2013 by JOINAZ2
by JOINAZ2

Unsure about the battery. After about 6 pictures it is starting to indicate partial discharge. Otherwise everything seems to work and is more intuitive than a Cannon.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JOINAZ2
Tucson AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very convient size
3/25/2013

Customer review by flipitout

2.0 stars 3/25/2013 by flipitout
by flipitout

Camera has an 8x zoom but it does not take clear pic if u zoom in on a flower bloom vs the whole plant. I have to trick it to upload pic to facebook as being a album vs a single photo. I like that it is a rechargeable battery.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flipitout
travelers rest, south carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Poor Quality...
4/4/2013

Customer review by korymay625

2.0 stars 4/4/2013 by korymay625
by korymay625

Although this camera sports plenty of pixels, options, and features, the overall quality is far below what I would've expected. Images aren't defined and are pretty low-quality for such a high number of megapixels, comparable to a smart-phone camera (1.5 megapixel quality), the flash is too much, and the macro is terrible! Pictures are usually too bright, or too dark, there isn't a happy medium. The brand-new battery hardly holds a charge, and after only about 15 - 20 photos, it died. I only had it for a day before I sent it back. Definitely not worth $60. A Vivitar in the clear packages would probably perform better!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
korymay625
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great and enjoying
3/25/2013

Customer review by Jsmv22

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by Jsmv22
by Jsmv22

Reading some review's about this camera was a little scary but getting my camera a couple of weeks ago the bad review's were certainly proven wrong. The 8x optical zoom work's out amazing and the picture still come's out looking amazing. The battery was very exceptional I saw a few review's saying that the battery lasted a couple of picture's and then died. I have had the camera going on 3 weeks now and have not charged it since I took it out of the box and take at least a couple of pictures everyday. All in all I am hugely happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jsmv22
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great general purpose camera
2/11/2013

Customer review by Paoli

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by Paoli
by Paoli

Bought this for pics of some new additions to the family.Now use it for all issues and opportunities. Great quality photos and ability to correct easily. Simple to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Paoli
Springfield Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome camera for the price
4/15/2013

Customer review by Rennix

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by Rennix
by Rennix

Takes great daytime photos, 8x optical zoom is amazing, low light photos tend to be a bit washed out of color when using flash as the main light source but raising other lighting if available, fixes this. Overall it's a great camera and the red eye reduction works 100% effectively. Some great technology in this camera, I really like it. Controls/menus are also easy to use and figure out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rennix
Sparks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simply Put - an Outstanding Buy
2/25/2013

Customer review by GregorT

5.0 stars 2/25/2013 by GregorT
by GregorT

The summary says it all. Next to my Canon, it shines spectacularly. Wonderfully crisp, high quality, well done.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GregorT
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Superb little camera
3/31/2013

Customer review by Joel99

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by Joel99
by Joel99

This camera is about the same size as one of the older cell phones. NOT big, so it fits in a small pocket someplace, or a small purse but and it is loaded with features. The size is critical. Somehow you need to pick up a handle that you can screw into the bottom of the camera which will let your big hands control all that power. At some point, you realize you have to stop and read the instructions slowly, but that is fine.. the instructions are clear. Again.. loaded with features although they are not mandatory so you can use it right of the bat doing point and shoots. Excellent optical zoom and clear photographs. It is an excellent size if you get the handle, and the features will give you just about anything you want. Very good camera at any price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joel99
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth every penny.
3/9/2013

Customer review by ORIGINALirishhandyman

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by ORIGINALirishhandyman
by ORIGINALirishhandyman

I really like this camera. This is the 3rd I have gotten from GE. Every time I purchase one I always upgrade. I will be the first one to admit I am tough on this camera. I try to treat it well, but when you can be in a dusty attic in the morning and in a damp crawl space in the afternoon, and everywhere in between, that is the life of my cameras. I have yet to have one I haven't dropped. None the less, they hold up. I am the type of guy that can break an anvil with a feather duster. My customers are amazed at the picture quality. This camera in particular is really good. The only drawback I can see is GE needs to upgrade the battery. With all that the camera will do, its a power hungry animal. If you are thinking about a point and shoot camera, I highly recommend this camera. If you can, take one for a test drive as it were. Unless you are a pro and like spending hundreds and thousands of dollars, this camera has many features they do. HDMI is a real plus. Videos look fantastic. No its not a camcorder, but it still does a nice job. This would make a great camera for taking on vacation. With the panoramic photo feature its perfect for those BIG moments. The Micro is great for when you need specific detail. I have used it many times to have a copy of serial numbers on tools, and other things. Dollar for dollar I dont think you can beat this camera. I suggest going on Ebay or Amazon and look for the video and HDMI cables so you can see how good the pictures look on a big screen. I have to give Walmart credit. they offered the best all around deal. If you do get one, be sure to read the instructions. For such a small package, it has a LOT of features.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ORIGINALirishhandyman
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great quality for the price
4/29/2013

Customer review by SweetishBeanBall

4.0 stars 4/29/2013 by SweetishBeanBall
by SweetishBeanBall

This camera is great! It has all sorts of settings, like outdoor and indoor picture taking modes, panoramic option, and many other things I am still getting used to. The zoom is awesome, I have been taking pictures of birds and getting really great quality photos. The only thing I have a hard time with is the battery life, which I was already aware of before I bought the camera based on other reviews. What I've been doing when I take my camera with me is I'll take a couple photos, turn the camera off, then turn it back on to take another photo or two later on. It works better than to leave it on in between shots. I've taken about 20 pictures on this current charge and I've only lost one bar, compared to taking continuous shots you'll only get about 10 pictures per charge. I definitely recommend this camera to any casual photo takers because of the quality of photos, durability of the camera and the wide array of settings.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SweetishBeanBall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic value
3/27/2013

Customer review by danana

4.0 stars 3/27/2013 by danana
by danana

This was a gift for my 6 year old grandson. He automatically tore into the box to get the pieces together. Only disappointment was that the battery was not pre-charged so he couldn't use it right away! Two weeks after he got it, he's already mastered all the functions and he is taking great photos. He's the envy of his kindergarten class!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danana
Oconomowoc, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Falling in love slowly...
2/20/2013

Customer review by lovemylife67906321

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by lovemylife67906321
by lovemylife67906321

Just got it in the mail today... it came way earlier than it was suppose to which made me happy because I had a horrible day so it made the ending to my day much better. =) I'll start out with saying it takes great pictures. Took me a sec to figure some of it out but I watched a video on YouTube of qvc showing it off so that definitely helped. Love all the features, I paid 49.99 for it you can't beat what this camera has to offer. All that being said I do have to point out the battery life could have been better but all in all a great camera for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovemylife67906321
Vienna GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews