Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 100 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

100 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

100 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
26
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 stars
11
1-20 of 71 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
So far, so good. Economical new laptop
11/5/2012

Customer review by mustangstevegt

4.0 stars 11/5/2012 by mustangstevegt
by mustangstevegt

I ordered this laptop through the Wal Mart website. I am happy so far and feel this is an economical purchase. This is an entry level laptop that you don't order of you want the more expensive perks like the blue ray, ultra light weight, pretty designs painted on the body ect like more expensive computers do. I've been happy with other HP laptops I've gotten over the years and this one is no different this far. I've been using it for a week now. The new windows 8 is great and I am still learning it. I can see how Windows 8 would be great with a touch-screen interface, which this laptop is not. But you don't get touch screen at this low of a price anyways. You get 3 USB ports, VGA, 1 HDMI port (didn't expect that), mic and headphone jack and camera memory card port. The monitor is size advertised and great resolution for the pictures I've viewed/edited and word processing that I use it for. I don't play games with it, so I have no idea there. This would be an excellent school computer or overall economic laptop. Not a big fan of the textured grid style mouse touch pad, which they use on some models and I have heard complaints about. Windows 8 really wants a touch screen or good mouse. You can accidentally drag the screen into another app on accident with this touch pad. However, I do like the feel of the keyboard. It just feels right. Light enough keystrokes but not obnoxiously easy to input wrong thing. Great for typing long papers and quite typing. The on/off switch for the wireless modem is integrated into the keyboard on f12 key. The speakers on it are noticeably better than expected. I have watched DVDs on it and I can get the speakers louder than on other more expensive computers I've owned. I don't give it 5 stars only because I think they could have made it a little lighter for its thicker profile by comparison to what other manufacturers are putting out. It's as nice as it needs to be for less than $400 though and I could not find a similar trust worthy name laptop with Windows 8 for same low price.

Was this review helpful? (182) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mustangstevegt
Eureka, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/6/2012

Customer review by cjtruth4u

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by cjtruth4u
by cjtruth4u

Its a great HP laptop for the price. The windows 8 takes some time to learn, but not hard to use. The laptop performs as good as my other great HP laptops. Now if you want a performance laptop that will be good for gaming look at the laptops that are at least $400, but otherwise this product is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (116) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cjtruth4u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the beginner
11/8/2012

Customer review by GrampaB

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by GrampaB
by GrampaB

I purchased this for my wife's birthday it was a great buy, she had trouble using it at first, until I bought her a wireless mouse. The pad was hard to navigate, with the new mouse it woks great a world of differance. for the price, you can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (83) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrampaB
Ypsilanti, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Slow like a turtle.
11/18/2012

Customer review by Snuka

1.0 stars 11/18/2012 by Snuka
by Snuka

If you search the internet & read reviews about this laptop , it seems to have same issues i have had . It loads pages slowly when surfing the web , you will have to click refresh 1-4 times to get certain pages to load . Windows 8 is awful , not quite certain why they decided to change its format & confuse an entire generation raised on basic windows that has basically been the same up until this Windows 8 . Not quite certain how a laptop in the year 2012 can be slow , but this HP is . Spend a little bit more for a better & faster laptop. Even my 5 year old laptop is a lot faster .

Was this review helpful? (52) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snuka
Ocean City , Md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/24/2012

Customer review by Poohgirldk

4.0 stars 11/24/2012 by Poohgirldk
by Poohgirldk

Meets my needs. I am not a gamer. The small processor and memory are fine for me. The price and value outweigh these minor issues. PC works great and I love Windows 8. Shipped very fast.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poohgirldk
Roseville MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice looking lite weight laptop
11/9/2012

Customer review by fancypuppy1

4.0 stars 11/9/2012 by fancypuppy1
by fancypuppy1

Hate the new windows 8 but otherwise it's a nice computer.

Was this review helpful? (39) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fancypuppy1
waxhaw, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall, great laptop!!
11/22/2012

Customer review by SqueePanda

4.0 stars 11/22/2012 by SqueePanda
by SqueePanda

When I first got this laptop, the Windows 8 system was hard to use at first because it was very different. This system is definitely made for a touch screen, however if you have a touch screen smart phone it is very similar. You just have to be patient and learn before getting frustrated and returning. I love the camera aspect. I would have liked to have a number pad, but for the price so far I have absolutely no complaints!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SqueePanda
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Window 8 is the worst ever, laptop is fine
11/25/2012

Customer review by debtfinder

2.0 stars 11/25/2012 by debtfinder
by debtfinder

Windows 8 is by far the worst OS program ever from Microsoft. I may be as old as dirt but have been working with PCs all my life and consider myself well trained in daily usage at work and home. Windows 8 looks nothing like windows 7, is not intuitive or easy to use, simply tasks are extremely difficult as well. I am returning the laptop and looking for something with windows 7. I know Microsoft could care less and this may fall on deaf ears but got to put it out there. On the other hand, the laptop from HP appears fine, just wish they would ditch windows 8. I am returning the laptop for this reason only

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debtfinder
highlands, nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/4/2012

Customer review by DaMom18

1.0 stars 11/4/2012 by DaMom18
by DaMom18

Windows 8 is not working properly. It is very frustrating to work with. I think and believe Windows8 should only be used for TOUCH SCREEN computers only. Please sell Windows7 laptops only. I am very disappointed with Windows8

Was this review helpful? (63) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaMom18
Wailuku
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Windows 8 a Microsoft Failure
1/7/2013

Customer review by Teeejay

1.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Teeejay
by Teeejay

Windows 8 is NOT fit for laptops or desktops. Programs and files are not easily accessible. Navigating between programs is irritating. Microsoft misses the mark again with an OS that is not user friendly. This computer is fair for the price and would have rated 5 stars with Windows 7 as the OS.

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teeejay
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
ubelievable laptop doing the impsible. so unique.
11/25/2012

Customer review by tobangay

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by tobangay
by tobangay

price and product quality, exceptional

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tobangay
lithonia, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Former Mac person
1/24/2013

Customer review by NewberryMoose

4.0 stars 1/24/2013 by NewberryMoose
by NewberryMoose

First time using a PC in 30 years. Been in the journalism industry and am a staunch Mac person. Purchase of this laptop was a financial rather than a practical decision as my MacBook is on the fritz and I still needed a computer. Boy, was I pleasantly surprised. The PC has grown up in my absence. Although, I still prefer my Mac, this now runs a close second, instead of a distant also-ran.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewberryMoose
Newberry, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer for basic needs.
1/16/2013

Customer review by BMLC

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by BMLC
by BMLC

I really enjoy my new laptop. I just wanted something basic, that I could use mainly for storing documents, pictures, and accessing the Internet. It is wonderful for all of that. Also, I was very impressed with shipping. I was told it would be 1 1/2-2 weeks before I would receive it, but it shipped the same day I ordered it, and arrived at my home the next day.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BMLC
Ellijay, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Forgot to mention that it hangs and/or freezes
1/19/2013

Customer review by Mewho2000

1.0 stars 1/19/2013 by Mewho2000
by Mewho2000

It my last review I forgot to mention that this computer either hangs or will freeze up frequently. It is totally worthless as far as play games is concerned.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mewho2000
Pacific North West
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good starter laptop
2/5/2013

Customer review by linuxuser21629

4.0 stars 2/5/2013 by linuxuser21629
by linuxuser21629

disclamer- I work for Wal-mart i recently bought two units for my oldest kids, part in due to the fact that they were always on my wife's desktop. The price is a great value for a laptop, but dont expect to do a a lot with a system like this. The E-300 processor seems to struggle a bit under the weight of windows 8, and with only 2 gigs of ram, it feels sluggish. After installing another 2 gigs of ram into each unit, it does improve the laptop considerably, and i feel that the system should have came with 4 gigs of ram stock. This does happen to be a cheap fix. As far as the look and feel of the system goes, its down right snazzy looking, and feels pretty solid. the keyboard is crisp, and the touchpad is responsive. Plenty of USB ports for a mouse, Mp3 player, and external hard drive. Screen is bright, clear, and has an ok veiwing angle, and the video card has enough power to do light gaming.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
linuxuser21629
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT LAPTOP
12/28/2012

Customer review by HWGIRL

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by HWGIRL
by HWGIRL

THIS WAS A CHRISTMAS PRESENT FOR MY GRANDSON (A SENIOR IN HIGH SCHOOL) HE LOVES IT! EXCELLENT PERFORMANCE.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HWGIRL
LIVERPOOL, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great!!!
2/8/2013

Customer review by 4everjazzi

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by 4everjazzi
by 4everjazzi

I thought that because this laptop was a cheap price that I would get cheap quality... But I got this wonderful computer. Windows 8 is so new to me but it is very helpful!!! I love this computer, it is not heavy and has a very sleek and classy style. Please buy this laptop!!! It is worth every penny!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4everjazzi
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not for anything but web surfing.
1/25/2013

Customer review by newmanisms

2.0 stars 1/25/2013 by newmanisms
by newmanisms

Bought this for my nephew for the game Minecraft. This pc is very slow if you do anything besides check email or web surf. YouTube is slow, couldn't run half decent games. Probably (barely) ok for Farmville or something like that, but not for say, Sims. This was after I removed all the bloatware that came installed, did all windows updates, cut down on all the programs that start at boot, and updated all needed drivers. The CPU just couldn't handle anything. Guess that's abt it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newmanisms
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Is an ok computer
1/27/2013

Customer review by grandma814

2.0 stars 1/27/2013 by grandma814
by grandma814

I really was dissapointed with this computer..............I do not like the windows 8 program at all.........and it seems to be much slower than my HP with windows7..............I do not like the lack of ease with regaurd to exiting the programs, and some of the games start and then stop.......all in all, I wish I would have waited and bought a better computer

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandma814
meadville, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible
2/3/2013

Customer review by PrettyLady123

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by PrettyLady123
by PrettyLady123

Crashes and freezes constantly. The high performance alert pops up when several tabs are open. Windows 8 is annoying, if you barely swipe across the touch pad, it will switch screens so you have to be careful not to do this motion. Thought with the price, it was a good deal, wrong. Returning before the 15-day limit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrettyLady123
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews